Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2

Thomas Nelson The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2

Bright, sensible Patience knows what is expected of her. At twenty-five, her opportunity for a family of her own has passed, so she finds contentment teaching at her father's school for girls. When her father dies suddenly and her brother moves away to London, she is determined to keep her father's dream alive.

Confirmed bachelor William Sterling also knows what is expected of him, but mistake after mistake has left him teetering on ruin's edge. As master of Eastmore Hall he owns a great deal of land but possesses little money to manage the upkeep. He is desperate to find a new source of income, including the sacrifice of land connected to Rosemere.

Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Review 1 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Read

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Sarah's writing is poetic and flows effortlessly. Her characters are intriguing with struggles we all could encounter. I have to admit, one of my favorite persons in this book was that of the secondary character Cassandra. Sarah weaves so many truths into Cassandra's words, and they don't feel forced at all.
The pacing of the story progresses in such a manner that had me turning pages, not feeling rushed and yet eagerly anticipating what would happen next. I enjoyed watching Patience and William grow in their relationship and as individuals too. And, of course, I was rewarded with a very happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic read

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Ladd had me captivated from the very first sentence. I love the way her words transport me to another time and place. She has created an ambiance that makes it so easy to slip out of my crazy world and into a more genteel time. Not without it's share of problems, mind you, but an escape just the same. I didn't want to shake myself free from this story.
There's nothing like a reforming hero who is struggling to mend his ways. Especially when he's smitten by an upstanding lady who possesses heart and compassion and courage in spades. The dynamics between the two -- the way their acquaintance turns into friendship and finally love -- makes for a sublime read.
If you are looking for an escape read that's better than a vacation then The Headmistress of Rosemere is the book for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Truly Wonderful Regency!

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Sarah Ladd has penned an intriguing Regency era novel—reminiscent of the legendary Jane Austen—set amongst the glistening, snow-covered, windswept moors of England; with their mysterious beauty, dark secrets, and much anguish of the heart.
At the ripe old age of twenty-five, Patience Creighton has resigned herself to the fact that she will forever remain a spinster. After the death of her beloved father and desertion of her brother, the headmistress of Rosemere is left with the responsibility of twenty-nine female pupils and her severely depressed mother. Life is fairly monotonous until the handsome owner of Rosemere arrives, wounded and desperately in need of Patience's care.
William Sterling had been viciously attacked on the moors by the henchmen of a man he is greatly indebted to. Years of gambling and irresponsibility have finally taken its toll on him…will he have to sacrifice Rosemere to pay off his debts? As his attraction to Patience begins to turn into something deeper, her brother shows up at Rosemere with an old flame whose proposal she had once rejected. Can Ewan give her the security of a home, children, and the life she had once dreamed of but had cast aside? And as dark secrets come to light concerning William, will she turn her heart away from him…forever?
The Headmistress of Rosemere can be read as a stand alone, but now I am so anxious to read the first novel in the Whispers On The Moors series! Sarah Ladd is a masterful storyteller; her descriptive imagery lending an air of mystery and intrigue to the moors. My mind went instantly to Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, and William Sterling fits in quite nicely with the brooding heroes in those two savory classics. With likeable, well-defined characters, and a realistic, intriguing storyline that will keep the reader flipping those pages, you're sure to enjoy this great story even if you're not a big Regency era fan. Ms. Ladd definitely has a new fan in me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets and Romance

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah E. Ladd in her new book “The Headmistress of Rosemere” Book Two in the Whispers On The Moors Series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Patience Creighton.
Darbury, England, 1816
From the back cover: Patience Creighton has devoted her life to running her father’s boarding school. But when the enigmatic master of the estate appears at her door, battered and unconscious, the young headmistress suddenly finds her livelihood—and her heart —in the hands of one dangerously handsome gentleman.
At twenty-five, Patience Creighton is already a spinster. The busy headmistress of Rosemere always expected a dashing man to sweep her off her feet and take her away . . . but that man never came. And since her father’s death, keeping the school running and her mother happy has been plenty to keep her occupied.
William Sterling dallied his way into financial trouble and mortal danger. When he is assaulted by his creditors’ henchmen on the road home from a tavern, he guides his horse to the doorstep of his tenant, the Rosemere School for Young Ladies. After being tended to by Patience, the wounded William rides off into the dawn—but makes a point to learn more about the lovely headmistress.
As he spends more time at Rosemere, something delicate begins to develop between William and Patience. But that will not deter William’s creditors. With little money to repay his debts, and less for the upkeep of his estate, it becomes clear that sacrificing Rosemere may be the only way to preserve his legacy. But it may also cost him his happiness.
William is a character. He has led a life on a downhill path and now, it seems, all his debts are catching up to him. He has a past and he has his secrets and they almost get him killed. But Patience gets to take care of him as she takes care of Rosemere Hall for the children. Now the dreams of both of them are put to the test as they have to learn to trust each other to forge ahead. And on top of everything this is a romance. I think Ms. Ladd has done a great job with this story. Yes, there are moments when it seems a bit slow however we do need time to sit back and breathe a little before the story takes back off again. Great characters, great plot with plenty of twists and turns equals a great read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a lovely romance set in Darbury, England, in the year 1816. The two main characters are Patience Creighton, the headmistress at Rosemere, and William Sterling, landlord and owner of Rosemere and nearby Eastmore Hall. Readers first met William Sterling in the first book of this series, The Heiress of Winterwood.
Patience Creighton is 25 years old and considered by most to be a spinster. She has been running the girls’ school at Rosemere for the past six months after the death of her father and her brother’s abandonment for life in London. She is pressured with the demands of running a school with 29 students who attend and live at the school as well as her mother’s melancholy. Patience has put her heart and a great deal of effort into teaching her students and cares for them as more than a teacher. She guides their morals as well. One morning very early she is told of a man discovered unconscious in the Rosemere stable. It turns out to be the absentee landlord, Mr. Sterling, who has recently returned home from London. He has been beaten, but refuses her care. Soon thereafter a fire to the stable puts the two in contact again. Patience finds William attractive, but she has heard rumors about his past. Are they true? Why has he really returned home? Is he here to stay?
William Sterling has lived the past eight years in an alcohol-induced fog. He has made many poor decisions. He now is in debt and must find a way to pay it off or he will lose his ancestral home. He has no money for a staff or improvements to his home. He places his future in a new career of horse breeding, but that will take time. He has met the intriguing headmistress at Rosemere and finds he can’t stop thinking about her and makes any excuse he can to go to Rosemere to see her. Could she possibly be interested in someone like him, with his past?
This book starts off slowly, but keep reading as the romance will take hold of the heart and keep readers entertained. There was not a lot of talk about God, but both main characters had a parent they remembered teaching them spiritual truths as children that they now remember and lean on. There is a hint of Jane Austen type flavor and maybe even a touch of gothic with the big, drafty, old manor house and the desolate moors. A third book in the series titled, A Lady at Willowgrove Hall, is due to be released in the fall of 2014. I recommend this book and am looking forward to the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An engrossing drama

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the second book of her Whispers on the Moors series, Sarah E. Ladd focuses on Patience Creighton, the spinster headmistress of a girls' school at Rosemere, a property leased from William Sterling. It has been difficult since her father died, while her mother sank into despair and her brother abandoned them without word for London, but Patience takes the burden of running the school entirely upon herself with success. His very life threatened for the gambling debts he owes, William is in desperate need for money. The thought of parting with any land - his own home, where his stables and fine horses are, or Rosemere, the gem of his property - is detestable, but the creditors are impatient. Then one night William receives a warning from them, leaving him beaten and unconscious on Rosemere's doorstep, under the ministrations of the lovely headmistress. Suddenly William keeps finding reasons to return to see Patience . . .
While the everyday workings of the school do not play heavily in the story, I liked what there was - it is fun to glimpse the historical aspects of education. Patience's care for her pupils radiates from her in their presence, and her competence as a headmistress shines. I ached for her in how her family fails to appreciate her hard work. However, the practicality, confidence, and competence she has gained from running the school make her a good match for the irresponsible William Sterling - their personalities balance really well. I was not too sure of him at first, but William impressed me with his growth and maturity as the story went on.
I did wonder how William was going to pull himself out of debt, as his prospects are not good for most of the novel; the solution was certainly not one I had envisioned at the beginning of the book, but it was satisfactory. While the mystery of who burned the stables was not what I would consider one of the most prominent issues of the story, and therefore I did not spend a lot of time mulling over who did it, I was surprised when I found out.
If one thing could have been added, I would have loved to have found out more about Rawdon Creighton. In truth, he was probably my least favorite character (well, there were people lower than him, but they don't qualify as "favorites," least or otherwise), but what we know of him is mostly from his sister's hurt and annoyed opinion of him. He clearly has excellent taste in women - I liked both Cassandra and Lydia a lot - but there were undercurrents; I feel like there could be more story hidden there than we get to see in this novel.
While I had enjoyed the first book in the series, this one has a spark to set it apart from other regency romances. An immensely satisfying read and an engrossing drama - 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining and captivating read

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Sarah E. Ladd's first book in the Whispers on the Moors series, The Heiress of Winterwood, I was anticipating highly the release of The Headmistress of Rosemere. From the initial foray into "Rosemere," I was not disappointed. The characters have deep layers to discover as they are woven in and out of the actions in the unfolding story. Rosemere is another estate simmilar to Winterwood. The residents of Rosemere survive by hosting an academy on the premises founded by the father of Patience. But Patience's father has died and her brother William has left the estate for London. This leaves the running of the academy to Patience.
Nearby is the estate of William who lives at Eastmore Hall and is land rich and money poor. William also has enemies - those to whom he is indebeted. These are dangerous people. As William acquaints himself with Patience, he realizes she is in danger because of him and his past associates.
I found The Headmistress of Rosemere" to be an entertaining and captivating read. The romance that develops between William and Patience is somewhat predictable but it is sweet and fills a need in the overall scope of the story. You can depend on Sarah E. Ladd to write a clean book and not worry about undesirable scenes and foul language.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of The Headmistress of Rosemere by the Publicist on behalf of the author and Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for this honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own. No compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Headmistress of Rosemere..... volume two in the *Whispers on the Moors* series.
It is here!
For those of you who entered the world of the Regency English countryside with book one, The Heiress of Winterwood, you may remember the hero, Graham Sterling.
And you may remember that Graham had a brother, the younger Sterling.
William Sterling. We meet William again in this book.
When this story begins, William is already on the path to sobriety and better decisions, yet he still has a lot of growing and changing to do before he fits the role of hero.
He must learn to look outside of himself, to help others. He must find a way to make the best choices possible in the present as he faces up to the consequences of his past.
And William has a lot of past to reckon with.... like "threats on his life" and that sort of thing.
And there, stepping into his life at this point, is Patience Creighton.
In the beginning, she is in the background, as a tenant and teacher at the girl's school on William's estate. Yet soon Patience is at the forefront of William's mind, his affections, and his life purpose.
Oh, what a woman can do to a man! {Which sounds like something out of a Vince Gill song!}
And Patience and William are only the main characters, there is a whole supporting cast.
We meet Patience's grieving mother, her returning brother, and her sweet friend and fellow teacher Cassandra, as well as the young ladies from their classes, and the pet goat and unofficial mascot of Rosemere.
I have a guess about who will be the third book's heroine... I'm eager to see if I'm right!
Looking forward to The Lady of Willowgrove Hall.
Thank you Litfuse and Sarah Ladd for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Regency Romance

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Regency romance is one of my favourite genres, and one (I feel) is under-represented in Christian fiction. My favourite authors in the genre are Kaye Dacus (who also writes contemporary romance), Jane Orcutt (who has gone on to her eternal reward) and Julie Klassen (Laurie Alice Eakes and Ruth Axtell are on my to-read pile).
I was pleased to read and recommend Sarah E Ladd’s first book, The Heiress of Winterwood, and am even more pleased to read The Headmistress of Rosemere. In this, Ladd secures her place in the top tier of Christian Regency romance authors. My only reservation is that reference to God or faith was absent for much of the novel, to the point where I started wondering if this was Christian Regency or merely ‘clean’.
Miss Patience Creighton has been managing Rosemere, a boarding school for girls in the grounds of Eastmore Hall, since her father died six months ago. Her older brother disappeared off to London shortly after the funeral and hasn’t been heard from since, and her mother has taken to her bed suffering grief and depression, leaving Patience in sole charge of the school, servants, and over twenty students.
William Sterling has returned to his home at Eastmore Hall hoping to somehow raise the money necessary to pay off his gambling debts. It’s not made clear what has changed his mind, but Ladd does a commendable job in redeeming the reprobate and turning him into a hero worthy of Patience.
Patience was a very good character, although patience was not one of her character traits. She was intelligent and educated in a time when this wasn’t the norm for women, and believed that love had passed her by at the grand old age of twenty-five. As a result, she’s not quite sure what to do about the handsome William Sterling. And, of course, she’s dedicated to her students …
Recommended for fans of Julie Klassen and Regency romance. There will be a third book in this series, and I’ll be looking out for it.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rich Regency Novel.

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a slow convert to books set in Regency England, but authors like Julie Klassen and now Sarah Ladd have shown me how truly delightful this time period can be. In this novel Patience Creighton is the headmistress of a school her father started almost by default. Her mother is overcome by grief, her brother has disappeared, and she is doing all she can to keep everything working. Then she has an encounter with their landlord, after he is attacked on the moors. Maybe her safe corner of the world isn't so safe after all. The book is rich, with the redemption of William Sterling, but more than that it is Patience's story. A story of coming to grips with the reality she was doing what she thought was expected of her rather than what she was called to do. And when those burdens were lifted, she was left wondering who she was. I think many of us can relate to that struggle to learn who we really are and where our identity is truly settled.
I enjoyed this novel, and found myself squeezing in 15 minutes here and there, because I wanted to know how the characters fared. This book is a slight continuation of some characters from her debut novel because William Sterling takes the lead. A historical that will transport you back to another time and place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A little mystery in Regency England!

Date:January 21, 2014
Coming off a solid debut with The Heiress of Winterwood, Sarah E. Ladd takes readers right back into the regency era with her latest release, The Headmistress of Rosemere, the second in Whispers On The Moors series. So let’s dive right in!
Ladd definitely kicks off with some mystery and intrigue (I mean if a dashing young fellow showed up in the wee hours of the morning beat up on my doorstep, I’d be a little curious too. Not something that happens all the time in central Texas). After reading through some intro stuff and meandering through the pages, Ladd tosses in some curve balls and kids, things get real! Another aspect I really appreciate about Ladd’s novel, is it’s always more than just a story. There’s great lessons to learn from the characters too.
Once again Ladd gives us an entertaining read for fans of our dear friend Jane (Austen in case you aren’t on a first name basis with her as I am) or a more recent author Julie Klassen. Capturing the intriguing and inviting era of England society, Ladd’s latest is an enjoyable read with swoon worthy men, lovable characters and even a stubborn goat you’ll grow to love.
So you get a little Regency, a little romance and a little bit of mystery. I mean why not?! I look forward to her next in the Whispers on the Moors series this fall!
Originally posted at http://booksandbeverages.org/2014/01/21/headmistress-rosemere-sarah-e-ladd/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A favorite!

Date:January 20, 2014
Wow oh wow! The Headmistress of Rosemere is another beautiful story from Sarah Ladd! This review will most likely come across as gushing ... but I don't know how else to write it!
I was blown away by Sarah's debut (The Heiress of Winterwood) last year, but I think her latest offering is even better! The story is rich and came alive to me. It's not often that a historical novel becomes real to the point where I can almost see it playing like a movie in my mind, but this one did. I could easily imagine what the characters looked like, how their voices sounded, what Rosemere and Eastmore looked like, and the scenes played out before my very eyes. The neat thing, though, was that I didn't feel like the author over-described things. She just wrote in such a way that the story came to life for me.
The romance in this book is also one of the most beautiful I can recall reading in recent months, perhaps years (and I read a lot of romance!). It's very understated, but somehow a touch, a glance, a conversation were thoroughly romantic! I was completely giddy at points.
I loved Rosemere and wasn't nearly ready for it to be over when I turned the last page. I know it's only January, but this book is a serious contender for my "Best Of" list for 2014!
Readers who enjoy historical fiction, regency-era novels, or sweet romantic stories will surely enjoy this story. The Headmistress of Rosemere is an incredible book, and I would highly recommend you check it out for yourself! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet romance

Date:January 20, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found The Headmistress of Rosemere to be a sweet story with lots of conflict to keep the reader wondering what is going to happen next. I like that Patience doesn't really live up to her name.
The romance is secondary to the story, which made it seem a bit slow to me, but the excellent writing made it interesting enough to keep me reading.
***I received this novel from the publisher/author for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery and suspense meet

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laura of Harvest Lane
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you Litfuse for giving me this review copy.
Mystery and suspense meet in this skillfully crafted novel. While there was romance in the background, it trickled through the book and didn't really become a brook until later in the book. Instead, there was a good deal of trying to figure out who was hiding what and why.
I love it when the action begins suddenly and quickly on the very first page. It's almost as though the reader was plunged into a climax from the very first sentence. William is fleeing from danger on the moors. He knows he's being followed. His crisis brings forth a chance meeting that will set a whole chain of events into play.
William is a puzzle. It's hard to decide whether he's a good guy gone bad, a bad guy gone good, or both. His actions and his desires don't always match up because he's acting from desperation. Meeting Patience turns his world on its head.
Patience is a strange mixture of patient and impatient. She is extraordinarily patient with her 20 students, but a bit impatient with her grieving mother, though she does well to cover it. She is kindness itself, but finds herself worn thin and frustrated by the decisions others are making that are changing her future and her present.
I do wish that there had been a stronger statement of the Christian faith, but it is made clear that although William and Patience have been struggling with their relationships with God, they have a strong foundation from their parents that they are returning to. A comforting theme for parents of prodigals.
I truly enjoyed The Heiress of Winterwood, Sarah Ladd's last book. I eagerly agreed to read and review the second book in the Whispers on the Moors series, The Headmistress of Rosemere. You need not read the first book to enjoy the second, but I think if you like one, you'll want to read them both. I find that I enjoy the Jane Austenish feel of books set in the Regency period. The manners and the propriety of this clean romance appeal to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Page Turner

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book, and wanted more at the end. Having read the first book, I knew of Williams problems. William has been living a descending life toward Hell. We now find him having to start paying for his sins, and wonder if he will still be alive by the end of the book?
A tenant on Williams property is The Rosemere School, and since the death of her father, Patience has been Headmistress of the school. She has been trying to find her brother Rawdon, my opinion of him was not good, but there I go again judging. We find out why he doesn't write or let them know where he is for six months??
We walk the moors and ride around this beautiful countryside. Its sounds so perfect there, but there is a big difference in Patience a working woman...and old maid at 25, and William the aristocrat.
When her brother returns, and basically has Patience retired, he also brings along a rejected, by Patience, beau. Wow! Talk about matchmaking.
You will love spending time with the precocious children, especially Emma.
There are a lot of unknowns here, and a few that are revealed slowly. Once you pick this book, you won't be able to put it back down.
I cannot wait until the next book in this series is here, wonder who the heroine will be??
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, Vivid Imagery & a Wonderful Storyline

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Headmistress of Rosemere, we meet Patience Creighton, a woman who has had to take on the responsibility of running her family's school for girls. When her father died six months earlier, Patience's brother left home and her mother withdrew from the world. Patience is doing all she can to keep Rosemere running smoothly.
William Sterling owns the land that Rosemere sits on. The school has been his family's tenant for decades. After leading a wild and rebellious life, William is trying to dig himself out from under his debts that were brought about by his reckless behavior.
William and Patience meet under harrowing circumstances and both are drawn to the other. But there are many troubles that could keep the two from ever being able to be together. There are some great twists in this story that keep it very interesting from beginning to end.
The characters in The Headmistress of Rosemere are extremely well-written. Their back stories are developed nicely, without adding heaviness to the story. I have read a few reviewers compare this book to Jane Eyre, but would I would make the case that this book is not dark and dreary. There are dark things from William's past, but the book is hopeful and the romance sweet.
The author writes with a beautiful style in both this book and in the first book, The Heiress of Winterwood. Both can be read as stand alone books, and both are very good. As I read The Headmistress of Rosemere, I could feel the coldness and see the snow blanketing the ground. She painted a vivid picture for me that enhanced the storyline.
I highly recommend this book. I received a complimentary copy of The Headmistress of Rosemere from Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for an honest opinion, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mystery, intrigue, and romance on the moors!

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After losing her father, Patience Creighton is doing everything she can to keep the Rosemere School for Young Ladies running while caring for her grieving mother and hoping against hope that her brother Rawdon will return from London soon. But after six months, and still no word from him, Patience believes he won't be returning after all. Left with twenty nine girls, a handful of teachers and a small staff to manage, Patience is living up to her name. She has come to a decision that this is her lot in life and marriage and family are a thing of the past.
However she didn't expect William Sterling, her landlord to wind up on her front doorstep battered and bruised. Believing he was thrown from his horse, she tends to him as she would anyone who has been injured even if he is the most handsome man she has ever seen. She knows however all to well the rumors and reputation of William and it's best she keep those romantic thoughts out of her head and her heart.
All William knows is that after being warned in no uncertain terms that the money he owes to Rafferty is due in three months, he is thankful he is still alive with only bruises to show for it. His men could have left him dead but then again, how would Rafferty collect on the money he is owed. Believing there has to be an answer somewhere besides selling of the land his father has left him as an inheritance, he knows he cannot force Patience Creighton out of her home and the young girls out of the school she tends to. All he knows is that somehow he is drawn to Patience in a way he never dreamed would be possible after the women that claimed and then broke his heart again. Does God have a bigger plan in mind for all of them?
I received The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E. Ladd compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is the second book in the Whispers on the Moor series, and my first one for author Sarah E. Ladd. This novel is set in the early 1800's when it was considered that any woman over the age of twenty five who remained unmarried without a suitable gentlemen caller or interest in her life to be labeled as a spinster. How very different society is today, yet Sarah takes the readers into the strength and courage of Patience Creighton who is doing all she can to manage the boarding school established by her father, while her mother remains trapped in her grief. She finds solace in the caring of the young girls she teaches while believing her brother has abandoned them. She does what she has to do when faced with survival while maintaining all the propriety of a young woman who still has romantic notions at heart. I rate this novel a 4 out of 5 stars and look forward to reading The Heiress of Winterwood, the first novel in the series. While it has been compared to Jane Austin's novels, I didn't get that same impression but the story is still a great historical romance in its own rights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical romance and intrigue...

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY:
As headmistress of the Rosemere School for Young Ladies, Patience Creighton takes care of the Rosemere estate, the young girls at her boarding school as well as her mother who lives depressed after her husband’s death. With her hands so full, she hardly has time to take an interest in William Sterling, the dashing, albeit rebellious landlord of Eastmoor Hall and Rosemere. With lively action, eligible suitors and family matters which require immediate action, Patience Creighton must decide where her priorities and heart truly lie…
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Having recently finished the first book in the Whispers on the Moors, (please see my December post for The Heiress of Winterwood), I couldn’t wait to follow it with the next book. I loved the historical setting, the intrigue, the descriptions of the land and characters, the faith-based views and notions, along with the entire premise of the story. Sarah Ladd does an excellent job with her descriptive choices of words which add so much flavor to the novel. Though not necessary to read the books in order, it did put the characters a bit more in perspective having done so. As a newer author for me, Sarah Ladd will definitely be an author whose books I anticipate (the third book in the series will be released in fall of 2014). Very well done!
RATING:
5 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of The Headmistress of Rosemere from BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than the Downton season 4 premiere

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
lmbartelt
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in the middle of reading Sarah Ladd's latest The Headmistress of Rosemere when the season 4 premiere of Downton Abbey aired and I found myself wanting to read rather than watch. (By way of disclaimer, I received a free digital copy of the book from Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for a review.)
The Headmistress of Rosemere features the elder of the Sterling brothers, William, a confirmed bachelor and landlord of the Rosemere School for Young Ladies on neighboring property. Rosemere is directed by Patience Creighton, who finds herself running the school after her father, the former headmaster, dies and her brother disappears to London. When Sterling is found beaten and near-death in the school's stables, Patience wonders if the future of the school is at risk. And William, when he is lucid, finds himself drawn to the new headmistress, whom he hasn't seen since she was a child.
It's the second book in Ladd's Whispers on the Moors series. The first, The Heiress of Winterwood, satisfied my Downton Abbey withdrawal last spring, and even though it was an award-winning story, I liked this second offering far better. (And it's not the kind of sequel that you need to have read the first book to understand the second one. The main character, William Sterling, is a brother to the male lead in The Heiress of Winterwood but the storylines don't really intertwine.)
Patience is a wonderful blend of a strong woman who has taken what life has given her and thrived as well as a woman who longs for the traditional family life and protection of a man. She is tender yet firm in her running of the school. She takes her calling as headmistress seriously but dreams of being a wife and mother to her own family. She bears a heavy load with an inconsolable mother and absent brother. I could feel her weariness.
William has dug himself a pit of financial trouble through gambling and reckless living. His reputation precedes him from his days in London. He is desperate to restore his family's home to its former state and make an honest living but he can't seem to catch a break. Though terribly flawed and obviously haunted by his past, William Sterling is a hero I wanted to see win in the end.
Lots of drama and action and a little bit of mystery bring this romance to a satisfying conclusion, though without spoiling anything, I will say that I was a teensy disappointed with the way Patience reacted to a surprising piece of news about William. I wanted her to struggle with it a little more. But that's a minor complaint.
Overall The Headmistress of Rosemere is a to-be-read for fans of 19th century fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Headmistress of Rosemere, Whispers on the Moors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E. Ladd

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
LeAnne
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the death of her Father, 25 year old Patience Creighton tries to hold everything together and run the girls school her Father started long ago. But with her Mother in a very depressed state since her husbands death, and Patience's Brother gone in London for months claiming he needed to settle their Fathers business interests after his death, it can be hard to keep everything running smoothly.
Meanwhile over the years William Sterling has gambled and wasted his way into a huge debt and life threating danger. But with little money left he had to find a way to pay back his creditor, and soon.
But after being attacked by some men working for his creditor he finds himself to injured to ride all the way back to Eastmore Hall where he lives. So finds his way to the near by Rosemere School for Young Ladies. And there he meets Patience Creighton, a kind person who tries to help him after the people who work in the Rosemere Sable find him.
I loved the first book in the Whispers On The Moors series, and was very excited for this one to come out! And The Headmistress of Rosemere turned out to be another great book by Sarah E. Ladd! It had some very exciting parts and I love how it still has some people in it that were from the first book, yet it was a story all on it's own. Even if you have not read book one this book would still make a great book to read by itself. And it is wonderful how it takes place back in Darbury England in 1816! It is a great book and I really enjoyed it!
I received this book free from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>