Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson To Know You

Thomas Nelson To Know You

Julia and Matt Whittaker's son, Dillon, was born with a rare disease. Though he's beaten the odds for 13 years, he's now in desperate need of a "living liver" transplant---but his parents aren't a compatible match. Can Julia find---and ask---the two daughters she surrendered to strangers at birth to help a brother they've never known? 336 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for To Know You
Review 1 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An honest and compelling story!

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an incredible read ... hard, challenging and also very intriguing, and inspiring. I love stories that feel real to my heart and this one ranks at the top for that.
To be completely honest, I found the book a difficult read. While the story and plot were very enticing, the constant POV switches made it a challenge for me. The book is set up chronologically, based on a time clock. Therefore instead of POV changes lined up based on scenes, you find yourself whirling to a new plot thread based on the clock. There are also several flashbacks. Eventually, I did adjust to the transitions, but cannot say it was a smooth read for me.
That being said the powerful content of the story still bled through. There are many great characters, each with their own investment in the main plot of the sick boy, as well as their own individual plots that are compelling on their own. It is an immensely deep and invested read covering difficult topics such as infidelity, adoption, intimacy issues in marriage, and even more crucial, the concept of redemption and forgiveness.
A great book - not a beach/weekend read. Check it out for yourself and download the first three chapters free from Shannon Ethridge’s website.
Thanks to Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson for a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Incredible Story About Family

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel, in their new book, "To Know You” published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Julia Whittaker.
From the back cover: Julia Whittaker’s rocky past yielded two daughters, both given up for adoption as infants. Now she must find them to try to save her son.
Julia and Matt Whittaker’s son has beaten the odds for thirteen years only to have the odds—and his liver—crash precipitously. The only hope for his survival is a “living liver” transplant, but the transplant list is long and Dillon’s time is short. His two older half-sisters, born eighteen months apart to two different fathers, offer his only hope for survival.
But can Julia ask a young woman—someone she surrendered to strangers long ago and has never spoken with—to make such a sacrifice to save a brother she’s never known? Can she muster the courage to journey back into a shame-filled season of her life, face her choices and their consequences, and find any hope of healing?
And what if she discovers in her own daughters’ lives that a history of foolish choices threatens to repeat itself? Julia knows she’s probably embarking on a fool’s errand—searching for the daughters she abandoned only now that she needs something from them. But love compels Julia to take this journey. Can grace and forgiveness compel her daughters to join her?
In To Know You, Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel explore how the past creates the present . . . and how even the most shattered lives can be redeemed.
Let me start by saying “To Know You” is a tear-jerker. This is not to say this is bad just that it is highly emotional and you should have a box of tissues standing by. Julia had to give up two daughters by two separate fathers for adoption. It has been at least twenty years since she has seen either man and has never seen either daughter. Now she has a son who is dying and needs the help of these daughters if the son is ever to live. This is the kind of movie that they air on a Sunday night. It has plenty of atmosphere, great characters and an incredible story. Your chores will suffer once you start reading this book because you will not want to put it down. I do not believe I have ever read a story like this before and I am quite impressed. Ms. Ethridge and Ms. Mackel have done an outstanding job.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mommiebethers
Location:Milwaukee, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To Know You is the first of Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel's writing I have had the honor of reading. To Know You is Shannon Ethridge's debut novel. To Know You is a novel about Julia Whittaker, who years before gave 2 daughters up for adoption to give them better lives, but now needs them to try and help her son who is in need of a liver transplant. Julia never intended to meet her girls, she gave them up to give them better lives and never wanted to interfere even now that they are adults. Her 13 yr old son is dying and the only way to save him is a living liver transplant. Julia finds herself on a plane to meet her daughters, Destiny and Hope. She finds Destiny, learning her adoptive parents kept the name Julia gave her all those years ago. Julia then finds herself with Destiny in tow to meet Hope, now Chloe. Both girls very different from one another but Julia sees herself in both of them. They embark on a journey to meet birth fathers and learn about one another. As they go on this journey, tragedies bring them together.
To Know You is a beautiful novel about how our mistakes become blessings in the hardest situations. As someone who has a liver disease and knows liver transplant is something that could be needed this hit very close to home. Also as a parent, knowing that if my child was sick, the length I would go to find what they needed also made this novel real. These authors write with authority on adoption, liver disease, medical procedures, and finding forgiveness. The characters are truly inspiring as they take their brokenness and find forgiveness from one another and God. I found myself completely submerged in this novel and it has stayed with me long after I finished it. I found myself laughing out loud in parts and sobbing in others as these families go through this journey. I can't say enough about this beautiful novel. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian Fiction, you will not be disappointed. I cannot wait for the next novel in this series, from these authors. I give this book 5 Stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Book!!!

Date:November 18, 2013
I knew of Shannon Ethridge as a non-fiction writer. I was intrigued by her jump to fiction and curious as to what her story-telling style might be like. Oh my! I was completely blown away by To Know You!
While the story didn't take off and have me hanging on for dear life, I was immediately drawn into the plot. I was eager to see how Julia's story would intersect with her two daughters' lives and if the author would be able to pull off telling three distinct stories with three very diverse main characters. I loved how the author used "flash backs" to tell about Julia's past (and therefore Destiny and Chloe's past as well). And while there were a few times I had trouble making the POV switch, for the most part I was able to keep up. :)
To me, the best part of the book was the way the author made the characters come alive. I felt every bit of their emotions. At various times, I wanted to hug one character or shake another one senseless. It truly seemed as though I was reading about friends rather than paper people.
At times, parts of the plot seemed a bit unrealistic ... perhaps it was "too much" to believe that all this could happen to one individual. But that didn't keep me from loving the story. Instead, it made me empathize even more with Julia and anxious to see her get her happy ending. (No spoilers here! You'll have to read and find out for yourself!)
The author tackles a wide range of pretty serious topics, including the serious illness of a child, organ donation, adoption, and sexual relationships outside of marriage. This book is probably better suited for mature readers.
I'm happy to give two thumbs up to this incredible book. While I don't keep many books on my "keeper" shelf, this one has earned its rightful place there! Highly, highly recommend! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well crafted novel of forgiveness and hope

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a good novel it is hard to know where to begin.
Julia Whittaker has a past. A past that includes two daughters, fathered by different men, given up for adoption. That was before she met her husband Matt. Now, after all these years, she has to find her daughters.
Julia and Matt's son, Dillon, has beaten the odds on his liver disease for thirteen years. But now the only hope is a transplant and the transplant list is too long. No one in the immediate family is a match so Dillon's only hope for survival is his two older half-sisters. Julia hasn't seen either of them since she abandoned them. How can she possibly ask them to sacrifice for a half-brother they've never known? Can they even forgive her for what she did?
This is a very well crafted novel that tackles a number of issues. The temptation to infidelity is a prominent one. Birth out of wedlock is another. Forgiveness is a huge topic in this book, within an extended family and within a marriage. There is a controlling husband and a wife's desire for “freedom” of some kind, leading to the issue of openness and honesty in marriage.
The authors have created a powerful story of wrong decisions, forgiveness and hope. There are several stories within the main narrative. There is Julia, her two pregnancies by different men, and her marriage to a loving Christian man. There are the lives of her estranged daughters, one married and the other in a troubled relationship. The stories are so well developed they intertwine together to an ending that requires you have your tissue nearby.
Well written with realistic and well developed characters, this is a novel you need to read.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Know You by Shannon Ethridge

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Julia Whittaker was no stranger heartbreak. After two failed relationships that ended with giving up two daughters for adoption, she didn't think her heart could break anymore than it had in the past. But now her son Dillon was dying. Dillon was diagnosed with Biliary Artresia Liver disease at birth. Now at the age of thirteen he needed a new liver and he needed it soon. Having ruled out ever possible donor, Julia and her husband Matt knew their only hope were the two daughters she gave up at birth. Julia embarks on a journey to save her son but it ends up being so much more.
Destiny Conners has been living with Luke for awhile and things were going great until Luke let God into his life. When Luke started changing Destiny refused to accept it. She wasn't only pushing Luke away but God as well. What had a God ever done for her? When Her biological mother showed up on her doorstep asking her to be tested and save her step-brother's life she knew she would be faced with some hard decisions. Her only request was to meet her real father and her step-sister, Chloe.
Chloe Deschene felt trapped. Her whole life was planned for her by her husband. Jack was methodical. He lived his life by schedules and time tables. They even made love on a schedule. Chloe wanted passion in her marriage and to be able to do what God was calling her to do. She was bored with the way her life was going and when Julia and Destiny appeared out of nowhere, she jumped at the chance to get away from her life.
Three women, who are perfect strangers, embark on a journey together not knowing where it will lead or how it will end. But the bond they form is strong enough to weather any storm. Will they find their miracles or will their hearts be broken?
In my last review I said the book was my best read of the entire year. I can honestly say To Know You is fighting hard for that number one position. I am mostly a romance junkie but in this book romance takes a back seat. "A back seat to what?", you might ask. My only response is "to everything good". This story is about family and healing and forgiveness and discovery and, yes, miracles. It's about strong bonds and sacrifices. It's about putting someone else's needs before your own. It's about seeing God in the midst of your troubles. There is so much about this book that I absolutely loved. The way Julia insisted on supporting Destiny when she needed her even though she knew her son was only a few hours from dying. The way she cared for Chloe during a crisis just the way a mother would. The way Julia's husband Matt supported her throughout the entire story. And, most of all, the way her son Dillon smiled in the face of death. His part of the story really tore at my heart. I shed many tears during the course of this book but I love that. I love a book that has the ability to make me look into my heart and ask what I would do in that same situation. I guarantee you will love this book but make sure you have plenty of Kleenex handy while reading it. If I could give it more than five stars I would. Very highly recommended!
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions expressed are mine and mine alone. I received no monetary compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Completing The Circle

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talk about having to face your past. Poor Julia, you will be in tears for her. Twenty plus years ago she gave birth to a daughter, and gave her up for adoption. Then Julia ends up pregnant again, and again gives her daughter up for adoption.
Fast forward and she is now happily married to Matt, has a thriving business, that uses her artistic talents, and has a sick, and possibly dying thirteen year old son. Dillon was born with a bad liver, and for one reason or not all of the family, and friends have been ruled out. He is now running out of time.
Can you imagine going to one daughter, never mind two, with the same question of asking for blood type, and a piece of a liver. One we would hope never to have to do. She has to open the box of her heart and in return we hope she receives many blessings.
Will Julia be able to save her gifted son? Will she be able to find a donor in time? In between all of this, she ends up traveling all over the US. Reuniting with her daughter's fathers, can't imagine!! Also, there is a bit of trouble, and danger thrown in.
This is a heart wrenching story, a lot of love, and feeling of God's presence thrown in. Don't miss this one!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets in the Past

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is truly fabulous! The authors take you on an emotional journey with a family that has to deal with a great heartache in their current lives, but also to come to terms with secrets in the past of the main character, Julia. Is it ever a good thing to let the past remain there??? Julia discovers that her hidden mistakes have to come to light in the present, in order to "fix" the present tragedy. The characters and situations are realistic, in fact, so much so, that you begin to live the painful past with them, as well as the present.
The topics involved in this story, were sensitively dealt with and held my attention throughout the book. Adoption, birth families , siblings, half siblings, marriage- all these complicated subjects in it!! The plot has so many intertwining subplots that your attention once focused, can't be distracted. I could NOT put this book down, until I had read the last page. I lived this story alongside Julia and her family. It is a situation that anyone could encounter.
Julia shows us that although we have to make choices in our lives, that these live on deep within us, for the rest of our existence on this earth. The author uses this situation within an ordinary family to show us that God can see us through ALL hard times. He is always there to help you. Her secrets were the cause of many hurts in the present situation, however, her actions exhibited the healing and restoration that God can do, but only we allow Him. The message comes through loud and clear! God has a plan for us, BUT we need to listen to that small quiet voice, in order to let Him restore peace to our souls.
Definitely a FIVE star book!! I can hardly wait for the next book by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace-Drenched Storytelling!

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began To Know You, I was intrigued by the idea that the authors would take their experiences as writers and from counseling women on wholesome relationships and holy, healthy sexuality, and write these themes into a story.
And what a story it is! Julia's fierce mother-love for her dying son Dillon drives her to take a journey
that will leave her looking into the present face of what had been her past.
Julia is going to seek out her first two children: her daughters Destiny and Hope. All she was able to give them were their names, and Hope's name had been changed to Chloe.
Julia is in search of a willing Type O donor, someone willing to give a lobe of their liver to Dillon and save his life by doing so.
What she finds will literally change them all forever.
And I hope that reading To Know You changed me a little bit.
There is so much good in this story!
I felt like I was part of their world. I absorbed their struggles as I read, I held my breath as they navigated the darkness and confusion, and I felt like I was with them, waiting together for the light to break through.
And by the end, I loved these people.
They learn so much,
They grow so much,
They draw near to the heart of God.
And the ending is most incredibly Grace-drenched!
Thank you to Shannon and Kathryn and Litfuse for my copy of To Know You!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Story of healing

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monica
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first started this book I felt for every family out there that has a child with a terminal illness. All the worry that they go through each day of their child's life. When the story turned to the hunt for an organ donor and digging up the background of the mother I thought it was a little too much. But I hung in there and the story got better.
For a while I thought that anything bad that could happen did. But God is bigger than any situation! Although I cannot say that I enjoyed most of the story it was about as real as it could get. So many women today struggle with their "need" to be affirmed of love so they jump from bed to bed.
The two unplanned pregnancies in this story to me, were great testimonies. Julia gave them up for adoption as opposed to aborting them. Too often women abort instead of blessing another family with a child they have always wanted but could not have.
I would say that my favorite character in the book was Destiny, Julia's first born child. She has issues in getting close to anyone because she is sure they are all going to walk out on her at some point in life. She was raised to know God but does not have a personal relationship with Him now. Again, the fear of Him walking out on her no doubt. God grows her and softens her heart throughout the story. She turns out to be a wonderful young woman.
Without getting too much more into the story I would say that if you like drama this is for you. I would also suggest this for ages 16 and up due to situations involving premarital sex, drugs, and adultery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping Story

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was something of an unknown to me when it arrived. I knew that Shannon Etheridge had written some nonfiction books related to sexual issues and women. And I knew that Kathryn Mackel is a talented novelist. Thus I was willing to give this novel a try. What I didn't expect was to be sucked in by the lyrical writing and the intense struggles for identity each of the three women represents. The challenges and questions they face are real -- something many women can relate to. It is both a cautionary tale and a story of hope and redemption. It's women fiction that did something most stories like this can't do -- it pulled me in from the first page and wouldn't let me go until "the end." I highly recommend this story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for To Know You
This review is fromTo Know You - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia Whittaker’s rocky past yielded two daughters, both given up for adoption as infants. Now she must find them to try to save her son.
Julia and Matt Whittaker’s son has beaten the odds for thirteen years only to have the odds—and his liver—crash precipitously. The only hope for his survival is a “living liver” transplant, but the transplant list is long and Dillon’s time is short. His two older half-sisters, born eighteen months apart to two different fathers, offer his only hope for survival.
But can Julia ask a young woman—someone she surrendered to strangers long ago and has never spoken with—to make such a sacrifice to save a brother she’s never known? Can she muster the courage to journey back into a shame-filled season of her life, face her choices and their consequences, and find any hope of healing?
And what if she discovers in her own daughters’ lives that a history of foolish choices threatens to repeat itself? Julia knows she’s probably embarking on a fool’s errand—searching for the daughters she abandoned only now that she needs something from them. But love compels Julia to take this journey. Can grace and forgiveness compel her daughters to join her?
In To Know You, Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel explore how the past creates the present . . . and how even the most shattered lives can be redeemed.
My Review:
As an unwed mother with two daughters from different fathers, Julia wants to give them a better life. When Julia signed the dotted line, she slammed the door on ever knowing what would happen to them. Content to know they were living a better life without her, Julia goes on with hers.
But when a need for a liver transplant arise, the things of Julia's past refuse to remain there. The only hope for her thirteen year old son with current husband Matt Whittaker, is to find the girls she gave up so long ago and see if either of them are a match.
What Julia finds herself confronted with blows her away. If life is measured by our actions, she is putting everything on the line to save her son. Desperate to redeem herself in the eyes of the daughters that she didn't make the effort to save - Is it ever too late for redemption?
This book was original, refreshing, and thought provoking. The way the book told the girls' stories in addition to Julia's made me feel that there were stories within the story, and I really enjoyed that. In this novel, the character I admired the most was Matt. He was so supportive of Julia's journey through her past, and he was the cornerstone of the story in the role that he played. Without Matt's encouragement, trust and reassurance, Julia would never have had the courage to do what was right and seek to repair the mistakes of her past.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia Whittaker’s rocky past yielded two daughters, both given up for adoption as infants. Now she must find them to try to save her son.
Julia and Matt Whittaker’s son has beaten the odds for thirteen years only to have the odds—and his liver—crash precipitously. The only hope for his survival is a “living liver” transplant, but the transplant list is long and Dillon’s time is short. His two older half-sisters, born eighteen months apart to two different fathers, offer his only hope for survival.
But can Julia ask a young woman—someone she surrendered to strangers long ago and has never spoken with—to make such a sacrifice to save a brother she’s never known? Can she muster the courage to journey back into a shame-filled season of her life, face her choices and their consequences, and find any hope of healing?
And what if she discovers in her own daughters’ lives that a history of foolish choices threatens to repeat itself? Julia knows she’s probably embarking on a fool’s errand—searching for the daughters she abandoned only now that she needs something from them. But love compels Julia to take this journey. Can grace and forgiveness compel her daughters to join her?
In To Know You, Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel explore how the past creates the present . . . and how even the most shattered lives can be redeemed.
My Review:
As an unwed mother with two daughters from different fathers, Julia wants to give them a better life. When Julia signed the dotted line, she slammed the door on ever knowing what would happen to them. Content to know they were living a better life without her, Julia goes on with hers.
But when a need for a liver transplant arise, the things of Julia's past refuse to remain there. The only hope for her thirteen year old son with current husband Matt Whittaker, is to find the girls she gave up so long ago and see if either of them are a match.
What Julia finds herself confronted with blows her away. If life is measured by our actions, she is putting everything on the line to save her son. Desperate to redeem herself in the eyes of the daughters that she didn't make the effort to save - Is it ever too late for redemption?
This book was original, refreshing, and thought provoking. The way the book told the girls' stories in addition to Julia's made me feel that there were stories within the story, and I really enjoyed that. In this novel, the character I admired the most was Matt. He was so supportive of Julia's journey through her past, and he was the cornerstone of the story in the role that he played. Without Matt's encouragement, trust and reassurance, Julia would never have had the courage to do what was right and seek to repair the mistakes of her past.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A literary ride that will thrill and challenge!

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valorie M
Location:South Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To Know You by Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel holds a depth of honesty about searching and raging and grappling with life’s questions that a scrapper like me has not often found, at least not without the accompanying judgments or soapbox lecture. As the pages unfolded poignantly the mosaic of human tensions and intrigue, this “story” felt less and less like fiction to me. Its true intention rang instead through the halls of my heart like the bells of a great cathedral, announcing some happy occasion. The cause for my celebration? Understanding, acceptance and comprehension; and in a work of fiction, no less! It offered so much more than I had anticipated. Understanding of the human compulsion to seek answers to such cosmic yet mundane tensions as…
Is it okay to lift a fist to the sky, teeth clenched defiantly? Does this large and sometimes seemingly aloof God truly comprehend my human frailties? Even more perplexing, why would He stoop to do so? Can faith and frailty exist together? Does He shudder at my human passions; or does He see the deepest longings of a woman’s soul, of my humanity, if indeed He carved them into me to begin with? Is He waiting on the sidelines until I “get it together” before reaching out to me again with his love and mercy?
I am grateful to have, in large part, already settled these questions for myself. I’m even learning to let gratitude be the hue that colors the slow and painful road, through grief and heartache. Still I needed many reminders contained within the powerful themes brought to light here. And who indeed does not desire, or find that the struggles of life require, finding the God who created and accepts them now: passions, flaws, questions and all?
This is a Must for lovers of fiction, intrigue or just plain great writing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book and great marriage lessons!

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!! Shannon takes you on a journey with this family that is both breathtaking and yet so real! When we make choices in life, those choices can go on to affect our lives for years to come. No matter how long we are carrying around baggage, God is always there saying "that's not yours to carry, it's mine!" As we walk with Julia through her life we see how hard and yet how easy healing and restoration can be! There isn't a relationship in our lives that this intricate, beautiful story doesn't cover! Marriage, children, adoption, birth families, siblings, half siblings, friends, parents-you name it-it's there! I started the book and was hooked, following Julia's life and that of her friends and family! Shannon has weaved a powerful story of real life and the healing and restoration, God has for all of us!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting!

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
ETylerRowan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely riveting! The multiple layers of the story kept my heart and mind engaged, and the redemption theme throughout kept the tears flowing. This is the kind of story you stay up all night reading, because you can't bear the thought of going to sleep not knowing what happens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for To Know You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
To Know You by Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel was incredible. This is the story of Julia, a woman who has to deal with her past to help her future. She must find the children to gave up for adoption to save her terminally ill son. The whole idea of a mom giving up her children when she could not care for them but finds them when she needs something from them is intriguing. Every single party has to deal with so many complications like abandonment, forgiveness, anger, and most importantly understanding. All of which will either create a bond or completely separate them forever. This kind of struggle is real and it was beautifully written almost poetic. I felt sympathetic for every single character in this novel at different times and I do not know if that makes me a flipper but each of the characters was relatable. I think it is possible to fell like this when the characters and the story are so engrossing and exceptionally written. This is a must read for all and I have now grown my list of writers to include Ethridge and Mackel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for To Know You
This review is fromTo Know You - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a phenomenal novel

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading To Know You....and my emotions went all over the board with this one, and now I feel wrung out. Phenomenal writing. Guilt. Forgiveness. Unconditional Love, That is what the book is about, in just a nutshell. Forgiving each other, oneself. Loving enough to be willing to be hurt. Following my dream even when it is different from what others think it should be. Understanding their protectiveness as love. What can I do that an all seeing, all knowing, forgiving God will not love me anymore? Is there anything too great for God, to deep? Does a mother's love expand and work across extreme incidents?
Written with a deep love and understanding of relationships, the authors explore almost every type, from birth mother to adoptive mother, husband and wife to man and woman, siblings and non-siblings and almost siblings, health, sickness, death, the whole gamut. Written with talent and intense imagery, I felt I was walking along with Julie as she left her fourteen year old and flew across the country, almost forgetting the breath at some of the situations the characters found themselves in.
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.