Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson An Amish Miracle

Thomas Nelson An Amish Miracle

Always in My Heart- by Mary Ellis
Hope Bowman believes God is punishing her for giving up her firstborn son when she was a teenager. She's hidden this past from her husband, who is thankful for their daughters but longs for a son. Hope prays desperately, but the son God sends isn't a new pregnancy. It's the fifteen-year-old boy she gave away years ago.

Always His Providence - by Ruth Reid
Widow Rosa Hostetler has one month to pay her delinquent taxes before the county auctions her farm. She's prepared to sell whatever is necessary to pay the lien, but she isn't willing to request money from the community's widow fund. She's embarrassed and refuses to admit she needs help. Rosa depends on income from selling eggs, but when that income is threatened, only a miracle can help Rosa accept the kindness of a neighbor.

Always Beautiful - by Beth Wiseman
Becky Byler is eighteen and obese. As she continues to grow, so does her despair. Having lost all hope, she considers taking her life, even though it goes against her beliefs. Standing before rushing water, unable to swim, Becky begs God for a miracle. Two months pass and Becky has miraculously lost over a hundred pounds. But does Becky like the person she has become? Could it be this weight loss isn't at all the miracle she thinks it is?

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for An Amish Miracle
Review 1 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW! These anthologies are a GREAT idea!

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only do you get three stories in one, you get to see the writing of three different authors – which tells you whether you like all three authors and want to buy more of their books. In my case, the answer is “YES!” And I will be hunting up books I don’t already have from these authors!
In the first story: Always in my Heart, we get to see the major differences between Amish marriages and Englisch marriages. What does the typical Englisch husband do when he finds out his wife has been hiding something from him for their entire marriage? Read the story to see what the typical Amish husband does. It’s astonishing.
This is the first novel I’ve read by Mary Ellis and her writing is phenomenal. She does have an odd habit of using the Deutsch word for wife a lot instead of having her husband call her by name and this is the first book I’ve read where this was done but I don’t know everything about every Amish community so maybe this is common in some of them… Her writing is so wonderful, even with this small oddity, I could NOT put it down. GREAT Story! GREAT Writing! Read it!
The same is true of the second.
Ruth Reid’s writing – also fantastic! She draws you right into the story and you can feel the character’s emotions so clearly. It’s so hard to let go of the story, that when it’s over you almost want to cry.
This is the first book of hers I have read also and I can’t WAIT to go hunt down more of hers!
In the second book we see a different character’s story but in the same community. I LOVE when they do this! It’s so much better than having to wait for the next book in the series to come out.
I didn’t think the story of a lonely widow would appeal to me much but it really did. It was amazing. I found myself staying up far beyond my usual bedtime to read I haven’t done that in a while.
I never could have imagined that Amish girls would have to deal with weight issues. Who could have guessed? But that is indeed the main conflict of the third story in this anthology.
Beth Wiseman handles the story beautifully. I found myself feeling Becky’s pain as I read. And yet, I could feel myself feeling the pain of other characters as well and it was enlightening and heart-breaking as well. Great writing! WOW!
I found myself thinking about how this is a wonderful story to share with my daughter and even my son. Even at a young age, I feel it is important to share stories and lessons about life with our children – especially about dating and self-esteem issues.
This story also shows us that sometimes… even if God’s answer is yes, it’s not always the best thing for us.
All three of these stories are wonderfully written and beautifully flowing one into another and I can’t wait to go back and read “An Amish Gathering”, “An Amish Love”, “An Amish Wedding”, “An Amish Kitchen” and the upcoming “An Amish Garden”. I’ll probably wait to read “An Amish Christmas” until a little closer to Christmas time this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three novellas that share characters and community and seamlessly blend with each other. Brilliantly done. Each story is an incredible read. Though compact, the authors deliver with depth and emotion and page-turning plots. If you love Amish fiction you will adore An Amish Miracle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Touching novellas

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
jj2010
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book over the holidays. An Amish Miracle is a collection of three novellas written by three different authors. I don’t typically care for short novellas, but I must admit I enjoyed these. I was surprised that all 3 authors had used the same characters and had common threads through each story. The stories were less predictable then I originally imagined, and I always enjoy reading about the Amish way of life. Each story dealt with a heart-wrenching issue.
The first, Always in my Heart By Mary Ellis, a story about Hope, who gave up her firstborn son against her will and then has kept this secret for many years. It dealt with her hidden pain, longing, reconnecting and some family forgiveness.
The second, Always HIs Providence, By Ruth Reid, is a story about a young widow who is childless and in a dire situation. It modeled for me how we must care for others and allow others to care for us sometimes too.
The last story, Always Beautiful, By Beth Wiseman, is about a young Amish girl who has always struggled with her weight. It takes us through a period in her life where even though she outwardly feels better about herself, she ends up realizing that that has not changed her inner being for the better. It is touching.
I would recommend this book for anyone looking for some short but encouraging reads. They are not high-drama but contain some simple and touching lessons for life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for any Amish fiction enthusiast

Date:December 19, 2013
An Amish Miracle is a collection of three Amish novellas by Beth Wiseman, Ruth Reid, and Mary Ellis. I really enjoyed these stories, and I loved the length of them all. I liked how all the stories connected so you could still hear about the other characters.
Always in My Heart by Mary Ellis follows the story of Hope Bowman. When she has her fourth daughter, she becomes convinced that God is punishing her for giving up her son at sixteen. Hope doesn't know if she can handle the pain of it all anymore. She decides to finally tell her husband the truth, and when she does amazing things begin to happen. I really enjoyed this story of forgiveness and hope. It was filled with so much raw emotion for everyone involved. But the ending was too abrupt for me. I really thought there would be another chapter!
Always His Providence by Ruth Reid is about Ruth Hostetler, a widower for the last two years, who is facing the loss of her farm. Determined to keep her home, Ruth does everything she can to raise the money without telling anyone, but when all her efforts start crumbling around her Ruth is left with only one option. Moving. I think this novella is my favorite out of the three. Ruth is such a believable character! Sometimes it can be so easy to rely on ourselves more than God, and this story was a great reminder to always trust in the One who never fails.
Always Beautiful by Beth Wiseman tells the story of Becky Byler. Becky has always struggled with her weight, but all that changed one day when she asked God for a miracle. Once she started losing weight, Becky began to change but not for the better. Is being thin really that important? Or should she worry more about who she is on the inside? I enjoyed the suspense of which guy Becky would choose, but this story was my least favorite.
If you are a fan of Amish fiction, you will like this book. :-)
I was given this book free from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting format, worth the read

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
LIAlleyCat
Location:Rocky Point, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The format of this book was new to me. There are three novellas from three authors, but they are intertwined as one story from 3 different points of view. I found that I really enjoyed the different authors 'speaking' for the three different characters that who's stories are told in each of the Novellas. I enjoyed being able to see the characters from their own perspective and then from the perspective of others. I recommend this book to fans of Amish fiction and/or Christian fiction.
The first novella is "Always in My Heart" by Mary Ellis and it tells the story of Hope Bowman and her struggles with her children.
The second novella is "Always His Provision" by Ruth Reid which tells the story of Hope's widowed friend Rosa who is struggling since the loss of her husband, both in her heart and financially.
The last novella is "Always Beautiful" by Beth Wiseman which tells the story of Becky, who babysits for Hope and is a friend to Rosa, but has her own struggles with her weight and her relationship with herself.
I enjoyed this format and think others may want to give it a try too. My only wish was that the book was longer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for An Amish Miracle
This review is fromAn Amish Miracle - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun read

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here is another great Amish novel called The Amish Miracle. It's a novella with 3 stories in one book. The authors who wrote this book are Beth Wiseman, Ruth Reid, and Mary Ellis.
This was a perfect book to read during my recovery from surgery. Each book didn't take me long to read. I finished the 2nd book in one day. I liked that we saw the same characters throughout the 3 books but a different main family/character that the author focused on. It felt like I got to know them pretty well.
The first story was from Mary Ellis and was called Always in My Heart. It is the first time that I read a book from this author and I will definitely read more. It's about a mom named Hope who had to give her son up for adoption after he was born because she got raped at 16 years old. She kept this secret for many years, even from her husband. She regretted her decision about giving up her son. She does eventually find peace and her miracle but you'll need to read this for yourself.
Second book is called Always His Provision by Ruth Reid, another new author to me. This story is about Rosa who is about to lose her farm due to unpaid back taxes. She lost her husband two years ago and due to cows being sick and having to destroy the heard, her late husband never paid the taxes, but Rosa didn't know it. She doesn't want to share her need with her community and so relies on her egg money to hopefully cover the cost. But that won't work. A miracle is needed for sure. Will she get it? Read and find out.
Last book is by a well-know author, Beth Wiseman. The story is called Always Beautiful. Becky is a lovely young woman of 18 yrs of age but overweight. People whisper behind her back about how big she is. She thinks she never will find love because of her weight. She then goes on a strict diet to lose that weight. Will she be happy and find true love?
If you are looking for a fun, interesting read, this book is it.
I received this PDF version for free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absorbing Into The Amish Community

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never wanted this book to end. I wanted to stay right here and keep absorbing their lives. There are three separate stories here, and each blends into the next author's story.
We begin with Always in My Heart by Mary Ellis. A story of tragedy brought full circle. Book Blurb: Hope Bowman believes God is punishing her for giving up her firstborn son when she was a teenager. She’s hidden this secret from her husband, who is thankful for their daughters but longs for a son. Hope prays desperately, but the son God sends her isn’t a new baby but the fifteen-year-old boy she gave up years ago.
I can just imagine how Hope felt, the missing piece of her life. Will she ever be able to tell her husband?? Will she be able to forgive her Dad? Strong feelings of emotion on all of the people in this story.
The next story is Always His Providence by Ruth Reid and the blurb about this book: Widow Rosa Hostetler has one month to pay her delinquent taxes before the county auctions her farm. She’s prepared to sell whatever is necessary to pay the lien, but she isn’t willing to request money from the community’s widow fund. She’s embarrassed and refuses to admit she needs help. Rosa depends on income from selling eggs, but when that income is threatened, only a miracle can help Rosa accept the kindness of a neighbor.
We find Rosa is such a proud woman, and she is still protecting the reputation of her late husband, and she is doing this to the point of possibly loosing her farm. There are so many surprises and lots of action in this read. There is even a bit of romance. Again we are with people who we met in the first book, and continue with their story.
The third and last story is Always Beautiful by Beth Wiseman: Becky Byler is eighteen and overweight. She is overwhelmed by the embarrassment she feels when comparing herself to other girls her age. Having lost all hope, she considers taking her own life. As she stands before rushing water, unable to swim, Becky begs God for a miracle. In just several months, Becky sees her prayers answered as food and temptation lose their hold over her. She’s finally pleased with how she looks, but does she like the person she has become? And has the man she has dreamed of been right beside her all along, loving her exactly as she is?
We met Becky in the first story, and now we are going to focus on her. A novelette of not seeing really what is in front of you. Having your prayers answered by God, but not really seeing his answer, because one is focused on what we want.
These are really get reads all by them selves, but especially great as they are a continuation into the lives of these beloved people, that will feel like family, by the time you finish!
I received this book through NetGalley, and the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Miracle

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AN AMISH MIRACLE is a collection of romantic novellas set in Pennsylvania’s Amish country. Three Amish women are going through difficulties, each of a different sort. Ms. Ellis’ story has Hope who is still mourning the loss of her son to adoption. Ms. Reid’s story has Rosa who is facing losing her home due to delinquent taxes, and she’s unwilling to accept help from others. In Ms. Wiseman’s tale, Becky is an outsider in her community due to her weight issues.
This collection by three very talented Amish authors is different that while the stories all have Christmas themes, they are not toted at Christmas stories. That is secondary. Also, the hardships the characters face are all overwhelming I felt the characters’ depression—which is a sign of good writing.
If you are looking for an Amish novella collection for yourself or a loved one or friend then AN AMISH MIRACLE is a book to consider. Three stories in one book. And if you like this book, you’ll want to check out Mary Ellis’, Ruth Reid’s, and Beth Wiseman’s other books. Includes Reading Group Guide and Old-Order Amish Recipes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3 wonderful personal stories

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three novella's all taking place in the same community by three different authors, all are among my list of favorite authors. Two of the main characters are good friends, Hope Bowman and Rosa Hostetler and Becky Byler is a younger person in the community. All three stories deal with modern day circumstances and tell how the ladies deal with them. I could associate with one of the stories more than the others but they were all very touching and I really enjoyed this book. These women each show their strength and their strong faith.
I would recommend this book to those who like stories that deal with personal feelings and trying to overcome those feelings, no matter what the outcome may be. "An Amish Miracale" goes on sale December 3, 2013.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Miracle

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Miracle by Beth Wiseman, Ruth Reid and Mary Ellis is a collection of 3 novellas, each one written by one of these women. They each highlight a different woman in the same Amish community of Paradise, Pennsylvania. These women are all good friends and each one is about to experience a miracle from God. Hope Bowman believes that God is punishing her by giving her only girls for children because when was a very young teenage girl she was raped and her father made her give up the boy child for adoption. Hope has 4 beautiful loving daughters whom she loves dearly but so wants a son not only for her husband but also for herself. She prays for a miracle then the day after she admits to her husband, Stephen, of her shame she awakens to a knock on her door and finds her 15 year old son, James, standing there with quite a story to tell the family of his adoption then life in foster care.
The next story continues to tell of Bowman family but the story centers on Hope’s good friend Rosa Hostetler who is about to lose the farm to back taxes after the untimely death of her husband. Rosa hates depending on anyone for anything but her pride is getting her further and further into debt and then when the English neighbor’s dog start killing her chickens that is the last straw. Those chicken’s eggs are her only means of supporting herself. Not only are her chickens being depleted but since they are now scared the ones that are left have quit laying. One day that she lost her temper and shot the dog leaving it wounded and limping back to its master. Her neighbor brought her the vet bill. It took all the money she had been saving to pay for it. She gave up. She couldn’t sleep, she couldn’t pay her bills, she would have to go live with her aunt and she didn’t want to. That night she prayed for a miracle.
The last of the novellas continues these 2 women’s stories to a minor degree and Becky Byler is the lead character. Becky had been discussed in the two prior stories as a lovely though overweight teenage girl. Everyone loves Becky but Becky has no confidence in herself or believing that her neighbors especially the boys would like her just for herself—even her overweight self. Becky learns to love herself and trust that people would love her also even if she doesn’t look like what the world see’s as beautiful.
I liked this collection of stories. I especially liked that though these stories could all stand alone that they all are also connected. These 3 writers have done a fabulous job of intertwining the stories to make this book. I would recommend this as good reading for any woman or girl of most any age.
This book was provided by Booksneeze for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for An Amish Miracle
This review is fromAn Amish Miracle - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful novella collection

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a delightful Amish novella collection by Mary Ellis, Ruth Reid, and Beth Wiseman. In Always in My Heart by Mary Ellis, Hope is given a second chance with the son she was forced to give up for adoption. God sends this young man back into her life at the age of fifteen. Will James want to stay with his birth mother and get to know his family or will Hope's heart be broken once again? Ruth Reid shares the story of a young, childless widow in Always His Providence, Rosa Hostetler is in desperate need of funds to save her home but she is too proud to ask for help from the Amish community widow's fund. The man her husband died to save has promised to look after her and he wants to help her but she does not trust him enough to share her needs. Will she let go of her pride and open her heart? Becky Byler struggles with her weight and is the laughing stock of the Amish community in Always Beautiful. Becky is pushed to the point of suicide because of her low self-esteem and asks God for a miracle. He grants it as she loses weight and has not one, but two suitors. Will she discover what both young suitors already know? Will she learn that inner beauty matters far more than outer appearance? Read the three novellas to find these answers and more. The authors do a beautiful job of portraying forgiveness, love, inner beauty and sacrifice. I love the way that the three novellas blend together and have characters who share in each others' lives. I am quite curious to know if there will be a sequel to the three novellas as I would love to know what comes next for Hope, Becky and Rosa.
I received a free pdf version of this book from netgalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Miracle

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
mamaof4
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Miracle" Three Amish Novellas, by Beth Wiseman, Ruth Reid, and Mary Ellis book review
This book includes three short stories or Novellas all set in the same Amish community and during the same time period. While the three stories have different authors, the main character of each story makes an appearance in the other stories, which ties them together.
While each novella stands alone, each also is intertwined because of the common setting and characters. The Amish community is well represented. In each story the main family sees God's provision in a unique and special way. As an added bonus, recipes are included as well as discussion questions.
This book is great for someone interested in an easy, uplifting book, quick to read and easy to finish.
Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
An Amish Miracle by Beth Wiseman, Ruth Reid, and Mary Ellis was captivating. Really magical. I am actually hooked on reading any and all Amish novels because they are inspiring and leave me feeling giddy and hopeful after reading them. This feeling lasts for almost three days, that is how inspiring these novels are to me. The closeness, the love, the hard labor, and the respect always amaze and captivate me to seek these out in my own life. Sometimes it works and a lot of times it does not but I still believe that someday the issues that I have can be resolved with the help and understanding of His guidance. And that is exactly as it happened in each of these mini novellas. They each overcome and embrace their situation all while coming closer to Him. I could say that one novella is better than the other but they are equally amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Some secrets are meant to be shared

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Novel Destination
Location:Jamestown, NY.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great story about tough topic(s)! In a patriarchal society such as the Amish, this novella covers a bevy of issues that even Englischers struggle to discuss at the dinner table. Current issues deftly described and great characters are introduced. It is a wonderful read about "big decisions" along with "what ifs" coupled with the HEALING nature of honesty and good intentions. All ages will enjoy this book. Mary Ellis' novella introduces us to each of the people featured in the other 2 novellas. Although they can all be read separately, the story-line really does flow through all three.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for An Amish Miracle
This review is fromAn Amish Miracle - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Miracle, by Beth Wiseman, Ruth Reid, and Mary Ellis, includes three Amish novellas: Always in My Heart by Mary Ellis, Always His Provision by Ruth Reid, and Always Beautiful by Beth Wiseman. Each of these charming stories were a pleasure to read.
The first novella told the story of the Bowman family, seemingly happy and complete with four daughters. But Hope had kept secret her rape and subsequent birth of a baby boy at age sixteen. Having been forced to give the child up for adoption, she has prayed for him constantly. When her shocked husband learns of this and the boy unexpectedly shows up at their door, they must travel a difficult journey together.
The second story tells of Rosa Hostetler, a young widow struggling to find a way to pay the back taxes that her late husband left. Adam Bontrager feels responsible for Rosa’s situation, since her husband died saving him from a fire. Together, they work through her situation.
The third tale tells of Becky Byler, an overweight Amish girl. She comes close to committing suicide, but instead begs God to help her lose weight. Many pounds lighter, she finds herself dating the handsome Matt King. This puts a strain on her friendship with Elam Miller, her best friend for years. Becky finds herself discovering the hard way that beauty is in the heart.
I enjoyed this book. It comes complete with a reading group guide and several recipes. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always Beautiful by Beth Wiseman
Becky Byler is eighteen and overweight. She is overwhelmed by the embarrassment she feels when comparing herself to other girls her age. Having lost all hope, she considers taking her own life. As she stands before rushing water, unable to swim, Becky begs God for a miracle. In just several months, Becky sees her prayers answered as food and temptation lose their hold over her. She’s finally pleased with how she looks, but does she like the person she has become? And has the man she has dreamed of been right beside her all along, loving her exactly as she is?
Always His Providence by Ruth Reid
Widow Rosa Hostetler has one month to pay her delinquent taxes before the county auctions her farm. She’s prepared to sell whatever is necessary to pay the lien, but she isn't willing to request money from the community’s widow fund. She’s embarrassed and refuses to admit she needs help. Rosa depends on income from selling eggs, but when that income is threatened, only a miracle can help Rosa accept the kindness of a neighbor.
Always in My Heart by Mary Ellis
Hope Bowman believes God is punishing her for giving up her firstborn son when she was a teenager. She’s hidden this secret from her husband, who is thankful for their daughters but longs for a son. Hope prays desperately, but the son God sends her isn't a new baby but the fifteen-year-old boy she gave up years ago.
Includes Reading Group Guide and Old-Order Amish Recipes
My Review:
In Always Beautiful, Wiseman portrays an all-too-common truth in America these days - too much good food. As good as Amish food is, I'm not surprised Becky ends up overweight and unhappy with herself. But I just about cried when I read she wanted to end her life - and was very relieved when she survived. I can speak from personal experience when I say I know exactly what's is like to be in her shoes, and I not only related to her as a character, but this story was a tool to remind me again that being beautiful on the outside is not important - it's what's inside that counts.
In Always In His Providence, Reid shows us that community is everything. So is love, if you'll only let God work through others to bless your life. When Rosa's husband dies in a fire trying to save his best friend, life as she knows it is over. As the surviving man in that fire, Adam feel responsible for his best friend's wife Rosa. So when Rosa is going to loose the farm her husband worked so hard for, Adam must find the courage to tell her about his feelings before it's too late.
In Always in My Heart, Ellis writes a heart-wrenching and moving story of a family affected by the past. I can only imagine telling my husband that I have a baby he doesn't know about. The characters never made me feeling that I had to choose sides, and I really enjoyed seeing relationships being repaired and restored, and lives being forever altered by ONE action. I did appreciate how Hope's husband reacted to the news...guess you'll have to pick up a copy and find out.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Here she goes again !!!!

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Juliet Grace
Location:Jamestown, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was blessed to receive an advance read copy of Mary's latest work, and as usual was not disappointed !! She has a way of gripping you with the story right from page one, and never lets go until the end.. Before you know it, you are wrapped up in the story and can't wait to turn the page. She has taken a topic that many can relate to and shows that even though most don't understand the Amish community , that they too share in the same every day problems that life throws at us. It also shows that they share the same great God who is always there by our side showing us his mercy, grace, and love. Hoping that this story will continue, and that this is just the first one in a long series !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for An Amish Miracle
This review is fromAn Amish Miracle - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always Beautiful by Beth Wiseman
Becky Byler is eighteen and overweight. She is overwhelmed by the embarrassment she feels when comparing herself to other girls her age. Having lost all hope, she considers taking her own life. As she stands before rushing water, unable to swim, Becky begs God for a miracle. In just several months, Becky sees her prayers answered as food and temptation lose their hold over her. She’s finally pleased with how she looks, but does she like the person she has become? And has the man she has dreamed of been right beside her all along, loving her exactly as she is?
Always His Providence by Ruth Reid
Widow Rosa Hostetler has one month to pay her delinquent taxes before the county auctions her farm. She’s prepared to sell whatever is necessary to pay the lien, but she isn't willing to request money from the community’s widow fund. She’s embarrassed and refuses to admit she needs help. Rosa depends on income from selling eggs, but when that income is threatened, only a miracle can help Rosa accept the kindness of a neighbor.
Always in My Heart by Mary Ellis
Hope Bowman believes God is punishing her for giving up her firstborn son when she was a teenager. She’s hidden this secret from her husband, who is thankful for their daughters but longs for a son. Hope prays desperately, but the son God sends her isn't a new baby but the fifteen-year-old boy she gave up years ago.
Includes Reading Group Guide and Old-Order Amish Recipes
My Review:
In Always Beautiful, Wiseman portrays an all-too-common truth in America these days - too much good food. As good as Amish food is, I'm not surprised Becky ends up overweight and unhappy with herself. But I just about cried when I read she wanted to end her life - and was very relieved when she survived. I can speak from personal experience when I say I know exactly what's is like to be in her shoes, and I not only related to her as a character, but this story was a tool to remind me again that being beautiful on the outside is not important - it's what's inside that counts.
In Always In His Providence, Reid shows us that community is everything. So is love, if you'll only let God work through others to bless your life. When Rosa's husband dies in a fire trying to save his best friend, life as she knows it is over. As the surviving man in that fire, Adam feel responsible for his best friend's wife Rosa. So when Rosa is going to loose the farm her husband worked so hard for, Adam must find the courage to tell her about his feelings before it's too late.
In Always in My Heart, Ellis writes a heart-wrenching and moving story of a family affected by the past. I can only imagine telling my husband that I have a baby he doesn't know about. The characters never made me feeling that I had to choose sides, and I really enjoyed seeing relationships being repaired and restored, and lives being forever altered by ONE action. I did appreciate how Hope's husband reacted to the news...guess you'll have to pick up a copy and find out.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three Novellas...one BIG Star!!

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
kksmith
Location:Florence, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was blessed with an Advance Reader Copy to read and review this book. I am so glad I was chosen!
“Always in My Heart” by Mary Ellis
Hope Bowman has a secret that she has carried for a long time. A secret she has kept from her husband, Stephen, even after being married several years, with 3 children, and one on the way. Even though the secret she held was not ultimately her fault, the guilt she carried over it affected her. Guilt can drag us down, make us feel unworthy, and affect the relationships we have with others if it is not dealt with. I think many of us know what Hope was going through. The secret she held was a son she gave birth to. A son, whom many years later, decides to show up on Hope’s doorstep. Hope had some reservations of what her father would say if he knew James had sought her out. She also didn’t know how the leaders in the community would deal with it. But she wanted to learn about and get to know this boy that was, ultimately, hers. For many years, Hope had prayed for a son for Stephen. Her 3 children were girls, and as she gives birth to the 4th in this story, that baby too, is a girl. Stephen worked so hard on their farm. She prayed for a son to grow up like his father and work with him on the farm. Little did she know, God had a son in mind, it just wasn’t what either of them expected. Miracles sometime happen in the least expected way. This story is full of hope, forgiveness and reconciliation.
“Always His Providence” by Ruth Reid
Rosa Hosteler lost her husband in a barn fire. A fire that burned parts of Adam Bontrager’s body. Rosa’s husband went into the barn to save his best friend, Adam, but was killed, while Adam lived. Adam has always felt responsible for Rosa. They lived right next door to each other, and Adam used Rosa’s barn to house his horses that he trained. It was Adam’s barn that burned down. Adam felt it was his responsibility to look out for Rosa, now that she was a widow. He took that role seriously, even to the point of losing out on relationships that he has had with other women. Rosa found out after her husband’s death, that he was delinquent on the property taxes. The only income Rosa had was what she made selling eggs to local Amish families and even some English. Rosa prayed to God to help her get what she needed to make that amount by the due date. She was doing everything in her power to figure it out. The chickens that produced those eggs, for her only income, started coming up dead. A neighbor on the other side had many dogs and she knew it was one of them killing her chickens. As more and more chickens come up dead, and eventually stop producing eggs all together, Rosa knew she would have no choice by to let the property go and move to Ohio with family. Adam feels more for Rosa than just being her guardian and looking after her. How can he make her realize that he loves her and wants to help her get the money she needs to save the farm? Miracles sometime, if not most of the time, do not show up on our timetable. I know we want them to, but that is not the way God works. God wants us to have faith and believe in Him. He will come through. This story is full of love, acceptance and definitely a miracle.
“Always Beautiful” by Beth Wiseman
Becky Byler is overweight. How many of us can relate to that, and the feelings of insecurity that come along with it? Becky was tired of hearing people talk behind her back about how big she had become. She was withdrawn, lonely, and desperately wanting to lose weight. Her insecurity was so bad, Becky had thought about taking her own life. Her best friend, Elam, loved her just the way she was. Becky was a great cook, she loved children, and would make a wonderful wife to someone. But Becky felt her outward appearance would stop her from living a wonderful married life. Who would want her looking like that? “You are so pretty in the face”, is what she would hear people say. She was just tired of it. Becky finally decides she has to do what she has to, to lose weight. She prayed that God would make her skinny. She knew God was going to give her the miracle she wanted, but she also needed to put forth an effort. Becky lost quite a bit of weight, everyone was noticing and complimenting her success. She got the attention of Matt King, someone she had a crush on since she was a girl. At first she felt like Matt was only asking her out because she had lost weight, but Matt kept telling her he didn’t care that she was big before. As she grows closer to Matt, she is more and more distant from her best friend, Elam. Elam tries to tell her that he loves her, and wants to marry her, but Becky doesn’t think she feels that way about him. Her focus was on Matt. As the story unfolds, Becky learns some things about herself along the way. Things that change her relationship with Matt and Elam. The miracle she so desperately begs God for in the beginning, was right in front of her the whole time. This story is filled with self-acceptance, God’s grace and yes, a miracle!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for An Amish Miracle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Collection of Novellas !

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Ellis deals with a topic that is well known in society today- an unwed mother who gives up the babe. She does this in a most sensitive, positive manner, dealing with all the deep feelings that are present before and after the fact. Hope Bowman truly believes that God is punishing her for giving up her firstborn son many years ago. She was a teen mom , and on top of that , was Amish! She has hidden this fact from her husband , in fear of his response, if this fact came out in the open. She has struggled with this secret, as she has given birth to daughters, but her husband greatly desires a son! Hope prays and prays, seemingly to no avail to become pregnant and fulfill his wishes. The son God sends her isn't through a new pregnancy! God's answer is evident is apparent in the appearance of the fifteen year old boy she gave away years ago.
"Always, His Providence"
By Ruth Reid
Rosa Hostetler, the main character, is a widow, who encounters a roadblock in her path to become independent. She must pay her delinquent taxes in one month or she will lose her farm to a county public auction. Her determination to save her home is shown by her willingness to sell whatever is necessary to pay the lien, BUT she will NO request money from the community's widow fund to help her. A proud woman, Rosa is too embarrassed and refuses to admit that she needs help. Her source of income is selling eggs, but before long, that livelihood is threatened. Only a miracle can help Rosa! Will she allow a kind neighbor into her heart enough to let him help her??
"Always Beautiful"
By Beth Wiseman
The third novella in this book deals with another "touchy" subject. Becky Beiler, an eighteen year old is overweight and terribly embarrassed . She is overwhelmed when comparing her looks to other girls her age. Now, this becomes a complication, because to admit this would be pride in oneself, and the Amish frown upon this. The Lord made you and why would He have made a mistake?? At one point, Becky is so desperate, that she considers taking her own life-definitely against her beliefs. As she stands beside the water,unable to swim, where she plans to end her pain, she begs God for a miracle to take place. In a few months, Becky sees the prayer answered, as food and temptation lose their hold over her. At long last, she is pleased with how she looks, however, is not sure that she likes the person that she has become. The man who has loved her all along has been there all the time but has Becky seen him and recognized his devotion??? Will God be able to change Becky's desires and soften her heart??
This book of Amish novellas is the BEST that I have ever read. Each author deals with sensitive subjects that we don't often see addressed in Amish fiction. It certainly recognizes the fact that the Amish individuals have the same very real problems that we have. The way they approach them, is what is addressed in each novella. Life becomes complicated and a true trust and faith in God is needed for each main character to win the battle placed before them. This is done in a creative, yet realistic fashion, that appeals to our deep emotions and makes the characters live within us, if only for a short time.
These three authors have managed to connect the characters in each of the novellas in a unique way. What talent , we see, exhibited in these stories!!
All I can say is WOW!!! I was so impressed!! LOVED all three of these short stories. Eagerly waiting for more!!
Definitely, put this book on your to read list! A five star book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.