Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Snow on the Tulips

Thomas Nelson Snow on the Tulips

In the twilight of the Nazi occupation of The Netherlands, the Germans have taken everything Cornelia had to give, even what was most precious to her. Now Gerrit Laninga-a man who puts God and country above all else-arrives at her house, needing help. She is terrified for herself and terrified for her family, but most of all, terrified of the pain she might feel again if she allows herself to love Gerrit. Her hope is to be free from her paralyzing fear.

Gerrit is a known and hunted Dutch Resistance member. When he comes to Cornelia's home for shelter, he's drawn to her strength and kindness. When he asks her to contact the local Resistance on his behalf, she refuses. Gerrit is determined to find a way to continue his underground work without putting Cornelia or her family in harm's way.

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snow on the Tulips
Review 1 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Intriguing WWII novel

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lady Lisa
Location:MA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this book to be an intriguing WWII novel to read. I can tell the author went to great lengths to cover the historical accuracy of the time period. I really liked the plot and Christian themes so I would give it five stars for that. But I felt like there was an overall lack of character development. Sadly, I couldn't seem to get a real good connection with who the characters were (other than with their hardships). The reading flow seemed kind of choppy too. Also a wee bit depressing, but to be expected from a WWII novel. I don't like to criticize (as I can't write a novel worth a darn anyways), but I am Just giving an honest opinion. Overall I would still recommend it for anyone who wants to read an interesting WWII novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, Heartfelt, and Deeply Moving Story

Date:May 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! I think the cover of Snow on the Tulips is breathtaking, moving, and utterly beautiful. And now that I have read the book, I can say that the story inside the cover is equally so! What a wonderful book!
The story is set in the Netherlands during WWII and is based on a combination of two true stories passed down through the author’s family. Snow on the Tulips touched my heart deeply. Then, reading afterward that it was based on real events made it even more special to me.
The characters in Snow on the Tulips feel so very real to me. Cornelia has experienced horrible pain in her life. Widowed four years earlier, she carries that pain around with her fear. Gerrit fights to undermine the Nazi’s and weaken them, hoping to clear the way for the Allies to save their people. When Gerrit and Cornelia’s paths cross and it is up to Cornelia to help save Gerrit, will she be able to put aside her fear and do what needs to be done?
One of the things I enjoyed about this book is that the decisions that the characters had to make were not “cut and dried”. Meaning, the choice was not necessarily an easy or clear one. The decision to face danger and try to help the Resistance was not an easy one to make. The characters had to weigh when to hide themselves away and when to put themselves out there to help others.
Another very interesting part of this book was the side story of Anki and Piet. Piet believed in following the laws of the land and never lying. This included doing whatever the Nazi’s set as a law, and he would not lie to protect people who were breaking the Nazi’s law. Piet believed that he was following God’s commands. These wonderful moral dilemmas are discussed throughout the book. When is it okay to lie?
One of the most wonderful things about this book is the beautiful love story that develops between Cornelia and Gerrit. Cornelia lost her husband so tragically and believes she will never love another. When she begins to have feelings for Gerrit, the fact that he routinely puts his life in danger is very scary for her. She can’t comprehend loving another man and then losing him. It is such a sweet love story.
I would recommend this book to those who are interested in a truly unique telling of a story from WWII, that is laced with a love story that will touch your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really enjoyed this book!

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
LovetoRead
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking forward to reading this book. It definitely did not disappoint. I would especially recommend it to anyone who loves reading books set during World War II.
Can't wait for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Good, But So Emotional!

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow on the Tulips is a beautiful story, but it is very emotionally in depth. This book is definitely not for the light of heart, but when finishing it a reader can look back an be in awe of the people who inspired the actual characters written!
From the beginning I really felt I could relate to Cornelia with her wanting to stay safely tucked in her home and not acknowledging the fear that secretly gripped her heart. As she grew, healed, and let go throughout her journey she slowly became the woman God created her to be all along: Brave and courageous.
My favorite quote from this novel that really defines the overall growth of the characters (and the story as a whole) is "Courage is not a feeling. Courage is an action." Spoken from one of the main characters, it really shapes the whole story for Cornelia and the sweet victory she receives. To get there though, there is a lot of suspense and of course romance endeavors as well as some hard-headness that the reader has to go through first!
Overall, I really enjoyed this novel and was truly inspired. After closing the book I reflected on my own life and how fear is holding me back from living for God. I recommend Snow on the Tulips to anyone who is looking for a great historical novel that inspires the reader personally as well as entertain!
*I received this book for free from Litfuse in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and all thoughts are my own.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical Fiction

Date:November 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Historical fiction is one of my especially favorite genres, and WWII is something I can't seem to read enough about. It is such a complex period in history, and I have never read anything that concentrated on the Netherlands during this tumultuous time in history. To make this book even better, it has its roots in reality. I love historical fiction that is based on a true story!
I honestly don't have much criticism concerning this book. it is well-written, and the Christian message is strong and clear. At times, the reality does drive the story to some places the reader may not wish, but don't worry--it has an essentially happy ending. Putting this story towards the end of WWII practically ensures that. But there is much tragedy along the way, and some will possibly surprise the reader. There was a part of me that didn't want a happy ending, but in the end, the ending was strong, emotional, and filled with hope.
This is the first book I have ever read by this author, and I can hope that I will read more in the future. Her book is well-researched, and I never found myself bored. Her characters are three-dimensional, and she seamlessly has woven the gospel story into the novel. I highly recommend this book to fans of historical fiction.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Snow on the Tulips by Liz Tolsma

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
In the Province of Friesland, Netherlands, war widow, Cornelia de Vries, spent her days simply trying to survive the ravages of the war going on around her. The Germans had taken over her city but with the Allies coming the war would soon be over. When her brother, Johan, brings home and injured man Cornelia is torn. Should she send him on his way knowing he will die or should she risk everything, even the safety of her brother, and let him stay? Once she decides to let Gerrit stay she find she is not only risking their safety but her heart as well. After the death of her husband due to the war Cornelia is afraid she won't survive another loss so she guards her heart like the Germans guard the city. But a lone Resistance worker soon finds his way into her badly bruised heart. Now if they can only survive so they can build a life together.
Gerrit Laninga knew he was going to die. After surviving his own execution he was sure he was going to bleed to death unless the beautiful woman before him agrees to take him in and tend to his wound. Fighting against her fear, Cornelia de Vries follows her heart and relies on her faith and takes Gerrit into her home. Gerrit is a Resistance worker aiding the people of the city. He never thought about the danger until he lost his heart to Cornelia but he knows he must continue the fight and trust God to keep him safe. The biggest fight of all will be tearing down the wall around Cornelia's heart. Can he help her get past the fears that are stopping her from living a happy life with him?
I can very easily say that Snow on the Tulips is the BEST book I have read this entire year! It brought out such raw emotions in me that I can't even begin to describe them. (A few Kleenex? Try a whole BOX!) This book was so descriptive I felt as if I were IN the story fighting along side Cornelia and Gerrit. I'm sure you have heard the phrase "I wish I were a fly on the wall" well I actually felt like I was. It could have been anymore real had I been in Friesland in 1945. When I was young I saw a movie that touched me so much I fell in love with it then and there and watched it every chance I got. I still haven't forgotten the way I felt watching it for the first time. That movie was The Diary of Anne Frank. I love the similarities between the movie and Snow on the Tulips, such as Dr. Boukma hiding five Juden and being discovered by the Germans. In The Diary of Anne Frank Victor Kugler hid several Juden, including Anne's family, and was later discovered as well. The Germans ravaged the countryside and the reality of just how devastating it was is brought to life on every page. I also loved the trust they had in God. They trusted Him to keep them safe no matter what situation they were in and that is a beautiful thing indeed. This is the first book I have read from Liz Tolsma and I have found a new author to love. If you love books that drag your emotions right out of you or if you're a fan of The Diary of Anne Frank you will love this book. Just make sure you have the Kleenex handy because you will need them! I most definitely recommend it!
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions stated are mine and mine alone and I received no monetary compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Moving historical romance set in WW2 Netherlands

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Liz Tolsma makes a solid publishing debut with Snow on the Tulips, a World War II novel set in the German-occupied Netherlands during the last remaining weeks of the war. This story is more action based than character driven, packed with one suspenseful scene after another. Snow on the Tulips is also a tribute to those who gave their lives for the cause of freedom. This story is an eye-opening read as Liz brings home the reality of the German occupation and danger for those who defended their homeland.
One of the story's strengths is the depth of research and rich historic detail, evident in the way Liz vividly depicts what life was like under the cruelty of the Gestapo in the small town of Dronrijp. You can almost hear the sound of Allied planes flying overhead, sense the fear as wanted men are hidden behind walls, and admire the determination and courage of those in the Resistance underground movement. And what makes this book so very special is that it is based on real-life events in Liz's family history, as described at the bottom of this post.
Having lost loved ones to the Nazis already, Cornelia is unwilling to take a risk when her only goal is to protect her younger brother, Johan. Yet Gerrit's passion about his dangerous work forces her to rethink her beliefs. "She liked Gerrit's comparison of his work to David and Goliath. God used small people to accomplish big goals."
Liz does a good job at highlighting the contrast between people like Cornelia's brother-in-law, who believed that submitting to the Germans' authority was God's will, with those who put their lives on the line to fight evil. Cornelia's question sums up the moral dilemma: "How did you know when to step aside and let God do His work and when to act on His behalf? "
I especially liked how the beauty of God's Word hidden in our hearts is shown through characters being able to draw strength from their knowledge of memorized Scripture.
Snow on the Tulips is a moving and emotional read, one that I think most readers of inspirational fiction will enjoy, especially those who like World War II settings.
This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good novel of Dutch during Nazi occupation

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being of Dutch descent, I enjoyed reading this novel about the Netherlands during the latter days of World War II. Her book is based on events that actually happened to her ancestors and that brings added meaning to the novel.
One of the main characters, Gerritt, is with the resistance so we get a good idea of the dangers involved by those opposing the Nazi regime. When he survives his own execution, he is taken in by Cornelia, a young widow who is hiding her younger brother. Young men were taken by the Nazis to work in their factories. Cornelia had already lost her soldier husband to the Nazis and she was determined to keep her brother from the same fate.
The Dutch were a religious people and there were many who would not resist the Nazis, believing it was God's will to be subject to those over you. Such was Cornelia's brother-in-law, who refused to have anything to do with the resistance. He believed they should trust God alone for their welfare.
Tolsma gives us a good idea of what life was like for the Dutch under the Nazi occupation. She portrays well the choices each of them had to make. As Gerritt said, “Sometimes he cares for us by providing the means for us to take care of ourselves.” It was a choice between faith and common sense.
At one point Gerritt encourages Cornelia to stop hiding. “I am asking you to quit acting like a tulip covered in snow. Don't hide in this house until the Allies free you.” hence the name of the book.
One aspect I felt was missing from the book was description of landscape. I could never quite get a sense of place, of being set in a typical small Dutch village. Also, although I did appreciate the use of some Dutch words, it was rather awkward to read sentences with one Dutch word, like nee for no, then the rest of the sentence in English.
Otherwise, a fine historical novel and a great debut.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WW2 Debut!

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Cornelia, a young woman who understands the cruel realities of war firsthand, waits patiently at home for the allies to deliver the Netherlands from Nazi rule. She loves her quiet routined life but that changes when she has to hide her younger brother Johan. Not content to sit on his hands, Johan seeks adventure and brings one home in the form of Gerrit, a Dutch Resistance member. While nursing Gerrit back to health, Cornelia and her family learn invaluable lessons of true courage, love, faith, and lasting hope.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story. The author crafted her characters so thoroughly they resonated with my soul. Each character, even the secondary characters, added a unique dimension to the story. They each faced personal trials that made for many personal reflections.
Liz kept the book very spiritual aligned. She portrayed many conflicting dilemmas like what is true obedience? Is it Ok to lie to save someone's life? She evenly portrayed different peoples point of view of the war, giving the reader a full picture.
Liza Tolsma crafted a wonderful WW2 novel including a gripping plot, endearing characters, and a well researched setting. The book being based on the authors family history makes the story all the more valuable and interesting.
I received this book for free, from Litfuse, in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rich WWII Story

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Liz Tolsma's Snow on the Tulips is a haunting WWII story set in the Netherlands that reminded me of Bodie Thoene's early books. A young woman is pushed outside of what she knows she should do in order to do the right thing. In the process she pulls those she loves deeper into the web of deception and danger as the Germans actively look for the resistance member she is protecting. And just as tulips peep through the snow, so hope peeps through the pages of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Snow on the Tulips
This review is fromSnow on the Tulips - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nazis still occupy part of the Netherlands, despite the fact that the war is almost over. Cornelia is a shadow her former self, and has come forth from the ashes a widow. Desperate to protect her brother, Johan, she is aghast when he brings home a Dutch Resistance member. Furious with her brother yet frightened by the implication of hiding Gerrit in her home; her faith gives her no choice but to harbor the wounded fugitive.
As Gerrit recovers in Cornelia's home, she can't help admiring him for his passion and what he stands for. She wants to be more like him; bold and unafraid to proclaim the truth. She wishes she had the courage to stand up for what is right, no matter what the consequences. So when opportunity to become part of the Resistance with Gerrit becomes a reality, will she have the courage to become the person she's always wanted to be? Will she ever get to live free and unafraid of the price it will cost?
This novel opened up a whole new side of World War I to me. I saw things in a new light, from a fresh perspective, all masterfully done by Tolsma. While most of us may never experience the political struggle and danger that the characters in the story did, we all fear something - whether we admit it or not. Tolsma carefully takes her story and weaves a tale that will work its way into your sub-conscience and will become part of the way you will forever view this war of the past. The romance between Gerritt and Cornelia will make you ache for all the people that are separated because of circumstances, other people, or fate itself.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Book!

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From Snow on the Tulips:
Johan eased the man's torso across the mattress, then swung up his feet.
Cornelia stood beside him but turned to her brother. 'Where did you find him?'
'On the road, near the bridge.'
'Do you know what happened to him?'
Johan shook his head and the man remained silent.
'Let me look at your shoulder.' Taking great care not to hurt him in any way, she pulled aside his ripped shirt and lifted a crude dressing. Red oozed from a gaping hole...
'What happened to you?'
'The Gestapo tried to execute me. They missed.'
With those words, Gerrit Laninga entered the lives of Cornelia and Johan, a brother and sister who had lived quietly beside the canal until that spot became a place for Nazi executions. Life in the Netherlands during the war had already given them enough to hide: men Johan's were wanted for work in the German factories, and Cornelia had all she could do to keep him safe and out of sight.
Now Corrie must help this stranger heal and return to the world of the Dutch Resistance, a group of heroes who didn't accept that title but continually took the risks for their countrymen.
From Snow on the Tulips: 'I never said I didn't like you. You Resistance people I mean.'
'But you are afraid of us.'
'Ja. I suppose I am. Death follows you.'
'Death follows all of us, and more so during war.'
Liz Tolsma's writing absolutely shines in Snow on the Tulips, her first full-length novel.
You can tell that much labor was put into telling this tale right, setting the stage with characters, places, and happenings, and the result makes for a wonderful novel.
This book flows along with such a current and it drew me right along with the story.
Her descriptions, from the oiled wood and stained glass rainbow inside the church where Cornelia goes to pray to the plastered walls and dust covered boxes in the attic hiding place, are extremely well crafted.
Cornelia is our main heroine, but we also get a glimpse into her sister Anki's story.
Anki is a trained nurse, whose skill draws her into the battle, and whose loving husband only wants to keep her safe.
Liz develops real characters in intense circumstances, characters who grow and change and develop over time.
Snow on the Tulips explores many powerful themes, such as the rightness of telling lies to save a life, of breaking one command to keep another.
And the character's actions raise questions.
Was Piet wrong to want to keep Anki uninvolved and protected?
Was he wrong to accept orders from the state without question as part of the Sovereign plan of God?
It isn't often that black and white is it? There is so much humanity to consider, human love and human frailty. Human courage and human fear.
From Snow on the Tulips: 'You can't do it, or you won't do it?'
"Can't. Won't. What difference does it make? People get hurt and killed when they defy the authorities.
The Allies will be here soon.'
'What if the entire world sat back and waited for someone else to free us? Where would we be then?
God uses men as His instruments to fulfill his purposes.'
What a fabulous book this is. Replete with serious scenes and also moments full of light and even joy, this book made my "Favorites of 2013" list.
Thank you Liz Tolsma and Litfuse for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Dutch Resistance Movement, World War II & Roma

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liz Tolsma in her new book “Snow On The Tulips” published by Thomas Nelson brings us to the life of Cornelia de Vries in 1945.
From the back cover: A stranger’s life hangs in the balance. But to save him is to risk everything.
The war is drawing to a close, but the Nazis still occupy part of the Netherlands. After the losses she’s endured, war widow Cornelia is only a shadow of the woman she once was. She fights now to protect her younger brother, Johan, who lives in hiding.
When Johan brings Gerrit Laninga, a wounded Dutch Resistance member, to Cornelia’s doorstep, their lives are forever altered. Although scared of the consequences of harboring a wanted man, Cornelia’s faith won’t let her turn him out.
As she nurses Gerrit back to health, she is drawn to his fierce passion and ideals, and notices a shift within herself. Gerrit’s intensity challenges her, making her want to live fully, despite the fear that constrains her. When the opportunity to join him in the Resistance presents itself, Cornelia must summon every ounce of courage imaginable.
She is as terrified of loving Gerrit as she is of losing him. But as the winter landscape thaws, so too does her heart. Will she get a second chance at true love? She fears their story will end before it even begins.
History, romance, family drama and suspense all bundled together into one very entertaining story. The Dutch Resistance Movement and World War II. Truth to tell I really do not know a lot about the Dutch Resistance Movement or I didn’t until I read this book. Wow, what people had to endure because of the war, it is incredible. Ms. Tolsma begins the book with the Nazis executing a dozen freedom fighters and the story takes off from there. This is a story about how individuals can determine the course for the many, either for the bad or the good. Corrie and Gerrit are wonderfully crafted characters that we draw very close to and root for them to succeed. “Snow On The Tulips” is a wonderful, interesting story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I recommend this book highly and I do look forward to the next book from this highly talented author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting historical fiction!

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. I could not put Snow on the Tulips down – I read it in just a few hours, finishing the book at 1 in the morning!
I can't ever resist a WWII story, and Liz's was impressive. She successfully portrayed the struggle between doing wrong...or obeying God. Or is some wrong right when it goes against evil? Is lying ever ok when it protects someone from a murderer? With God-fearing husbands and members of the Dutch Resistance, Liz artfully told both sides of the coin.
Snow on the Tulips was also a very emotional story. I had a hard time reading in several spots as my tears blurred the words on the page. I can't imagine going through the same difficulties many of those men and women had to endure. What choice would I make? Would I react passively...or would I get involved?
I most enjoyed that Liz was inspired to write her story from true accounts in her own family's history! I love historical fiction for that very reason!
If you enjoy riveting page-turners, Snow on the Tulips will not disappoint!
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely fantastic! Those were the first words I thought when I finished reading this excellent book by Liz Tolsma. The fictional story is set during WWII and centers on the Dutch Resistance Movement against the Germans and their occupation of the Netherlands. If this isn’t one of your favorite time periods, please allow your dislike to be put aside for this story.
As the story begins, Gerrit Laninga is being marched to his execution as he has been captured by the German Gestapo and found guilty of sedition against Germany, which carries the death penalty. Gerrit has maintained his faith in God throughout the many difficult trials and circumstances he has found himself in over the last few years as a resistance worker. Will the Lord deliver him yet again?
Johan Kooistra is a young, 20-year-old, Dutch male who, until recently, had been hiding on his uncle’s farm to escape the Germans, who are on the lookout for any able-bodied male between the ages of 17 and 45 to serve the Fatherland. Johan longs for adventure and thinks the Dutch Resistance can provide the adventure and he can serve his country at the same time. As the story progresses, Johan is constantly at odds with his sister, Cornelia, and others who don’t want him to join the resistance, but want him to stay in hiding. Johan is out disobeying the German curfew one night and finds a wounded man. He takes the man home to be nursed by his sister.
Cornelia de Vries is 24 years old and has been a widow for four years. Her husband was killed the day after they were married. The Germans have occupied her country for so long, and they have defeated her spirit. They have taken so much from her, but she will not allow them to take her brother. She fiercely defends him. She wants nothing to do with the wounded man Johan brings home, but knows it her Christian duty to care for him. Without her care, he will die. She reluctantly agrees to take him in, but as soon as he is better he must go. As time goes by, she discovers she cares for this man, but she can never give her heart to another, right?
This story has got romance, drama, suspense and so much more. I was just awed by the author’s “Story Behind the Story” that tells of her book being based on a member of her own family’s life. Some of what happens in the story happened in real life. I was just humbled by how much various people in the story risked to help others be free. I am so very thankful for the armed men and women who serve the United States so that I can enjoy being free. Thank you, Liz for writing this touching and heartwarming story. I learned about a subject I didn’t know anything about and was reminded that God can be trusted with all my fears as he holds me in the palms of His hands. I highly recommend this novel, and am looking forward to her next book, Daisies Last Forever, due to be released in May 2014.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a well written novel

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was for me an in depth look at the 1945 world war, told from the Dutch people's standpoint. This novel is superbly written and I was as if I saw the devastation, felt the fear, and yes the courage of the people. There are so many aspects to war...Those that go and actively fight the enemy are no more brave than those who stay at home and work in their quiet way, often behind the scenes where no one knows their involvement. But then, as is mentioned in the novel what is courage? Is it an active verb just like love is?
I really enjoyed the novel, seeing the spirit of the Dutch Resistance, reading about their bravery, how slowly, one by one they did their part. It is well written, and I learned history without knowing it.
Although I am not living on the war front as these people were, am I standing for what I know is right? It is so easy to let those who feel they have power and might over someone get away with bullying, to just be quiet and mind my own business. Am I brave enough to do my part to end it? To help the one at the bottom? These are questions I had to ask myself as I read.
I received this book free from Amy at Litfuse Communications Group and Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ for historical WW2 fans!!!

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm asking you to quit acting like a tulip covered in snow. Don't hide in this house until the Allies free you. They may not come for awhile."
Cornelia de Vries know quite a bit about the sacrifices required from being involved in the war. She has lost not only her husband Hans within the first 24 hours of being married and then widowed in the same day. Now she is struggling to keep her brother Johan Kooistra alive when the call of war is beckoning at his door. Being a onderduiker, a under-diver, a Dutch man hiding to avoid being sent away to a German work detail, he hides in a secret place when the Gestapo arrives for unexpected raids looking for men. But when he discovers a group of Dutch resistance workers taken down to the canal to be executed, he knows he can no longer sit by and just hide.
No one has survived his own execution. The Nazi's weren't that sloppy. But somehow that is the prayer that was answered as Gerrit Laninga faced down the barrel of a gun. Now if he could only pretend he was dead long enough for them to leave, he might just get that second chance at life. He is discovered by Johan who went to see if he knew any of the Dutch men who were executed and takes him back home to tend to his injuries. Surviving a bullet wound is no easy task considering that there are countless people who would turn him in rather than face making the German soldiers suspicious. Now if he can only convince his sister Cornelia to help.
In as much as ye have done it unto one of the least of these, my brethren, ye have done it unto me. Is that what someone might have offered to Hans if they found him laying wounded? How can she turn away a man clearly in need of help. Despite Hilter's pledge to respect the Netherlands neutrality, he invaded anyway. This war had a way of turning everything upside down, like a jigsaw puzzle whose pieces didn't fit together. They had lost so much. Too much. What could they do now?
I received Snow on the Tulips by Liz Tolsma compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are my own. Being a huge lover of historical WWII fiction, I was immediately drawn to this story. It had me wondering just what I would have done in the same situation that Cornelia faced. Would she turn away a wanted man and risk her own safety as well as her brothers? She knew that once the soldiers discovered that one of the men they had executed was missing, they would come looking and they wouldn't stop until they discovered him. Their own army was no match for the German soldiers and faced with food shortages and raids at any hour of the day as well as bombings from the allied planes, life for Cornelia was anything but normal. This story was based on the true story of the author's family which she does an incredible job at drawing the reader in and making them feel a part of the action. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. There is a great discussion guide included as well as a sneak peek into the next novel Daisies Last Forever from Liz Tolsma, one I will definitely be picking up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book I have read by Liz Tolsma, and I will be sure to read more! Snow on the Tulips was very well-written. I could feel what the characters were feeling. Also, it had a good theme about how God is in control of everything. This was a great book. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
SamanthaM
I have read very few historical novels. When I saw Snow on the Tulips by Liz Tolsma, I was intrigued by the setting and time period. The book takes place in WWII Netherlands. The novel was so well written and developed. I loved the strength of the main character Cornelia. She risks everything to save Gerrit but never expects to develop such a special relationship with him. The emotional battle she experiences throughout the book makes her so easy to love. Her brother Johan is a young man eager to fight for what’s right. I loved Gerrit’s faith shown and tested time and time again. Each character is developed so well, and you really feel like you know them on a deep level.
This book is such a great combination of history, suspense, and romance. Liz Tolsma does such a great job of painting the scene of WWII Netherlands. It really takes you to a different time and place. She definitely put a lot of work into studying the time period. It is such an easy read where you get caught up in “what’s going to happen next!” This is one of the best books I have read in a long time and cannot wait to see what Ms. Tolsma has out next!
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Snow on the Tulips
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good reading, well worth the effort

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nightowl
Location:Vancouver Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Found this good reading, it brought back a lot of memories sivce I lived through WWll, and wass a part of the underground...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>