Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Word Entertainment Inc Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD

Word Entertainment Inc Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD

His jealous brothers accused him of being a dreamer and cast him into a pit. But Joseph rose from the ashes of their betrayal to become Pharaoh's most trusted aide---and his family's mysterious benefactor. Academy Award-winners Ben Kingsley and Martin Landau star in this beloved biblical tale of treachery and redemption, repentance and forgiveness. Approx. 3 hours. Closed-captioned.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Review 1 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must see this movie

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ahuva
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is excellent all around! I love the actors, their character portrayals, and the acting. The movie was so well cast. The script and production are excellent. Out of all The Bible Collection, this is my favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
gramma W
Location:Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A excellent movie! Made the story of Joseph come to life and followed the scriptures so closely. I will never tire of watching it over and over again! Great family movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie version of the story is done very well.

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Prisca
Location:Celina, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
You get to see the events & times of that period. It's such an amazing story. It's a good example of God's plans, he can turn troubles into success. Usually God through the bible shows you what can happen and why if you don't follow his suggestions & I like that part that he tells you why.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
BYTHEWAY46
Location:new jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great movie about the story of Joseph and his brothers,which my family and I enjoyed and will watch again.The movie does however have a few innaccuracies.In the movie Joseph was whipped by the Pharoah's Cupbearer while they were imprisoned together.You will not find that in Genesis anywhere.The movie shows the young girl Dinah getting intoxicated at a party thrown by Shechem's people,this is also innacurate.Biblical movies are great,they can bring the bible to life,however they do not take the place of reading your bible.Other than these innacuracies the movie stayed pretty true to scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Movie

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
WAC69
Location:Erie, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bibically tells the story of not only Jacob but how their actions affected some of their brothers. It shows how Jacob 's faith inspired his captors. It is a must for all Christian libraries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nice Lady in Arvada
Location:Arvada, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story is accurate and keeps your attention. It's wonderful to see the family bond between Father-Son and Brother-Brothers. The filming location was fabulous. This makes you want to re-read the stories in the bible and get the order of things straight in your mind-- and the offspring stories. The dark ages would soon follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aliceann
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a film of the very best quality. I will agree with the other reviewers that the first scene between Joseph and Potipher's wife is way overdone and I would fast forward it if younger folks are present. The second is not "as" bad. It was not necessary to be quite so vivid however it may well be protrayed like real life. Other than those two scenes I loved it and loved being taken into life as it probably was in Joseph's day. Jacob, Joseph, and the brothers are all excellently played, as are all the other characters. Definitely puts reality into the life of Jacob and his family. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great movie, biblically sound

Date:October 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
swamprat1947
Location:Baton Rouge, La.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a well put together movie about the life of Joseph that mostly stays true to the biblical account
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Salinas
This was a very well done movie. It was Biblically accurate and enjoyable to watch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Salinas
This was a very well done movie. It was Biblically accurate and enjoyable to watch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gods Gardening Gal
Some have stated they don't believe the scene with Potpher's wife trying to seduce Joseph should be in the movie because of it's sexual content and we should not place such things before our eyes. Although it is not appropriate for children to watch that scene, it is a part of the story of Joseph, and it helps remind us of our weaknesses and that we each are faced with different temptations in our daily walk. Yet it tells of Joseph's resistance and flight from the temptation he faced. This is a wonderful encouragement for each of us to follow his example and flee from temptation and sin. This is an important truth God wants us to follow, so important that He placed it in His Word so why should it be left out of the movie. In the Bible Potiphar's wife does put her hands on Joseph and grabs hold of him, a strong enough hold to cause his shirt to be torn from his body when he pulled himself from her grip, and there she stood with his shirt in her hands. The scene differs slightly but I do not see this scene as a worldly sexual scene, but a spiritual battle and victory. We found this film to be a wonderful story of perseverance, humbleness, a deep and abiding love and faith in God even in the midst of deepest despair, brokenness, betrayal, and suffering and a beautiful story of healing, mercy, forgiveness and grace. We loved it, have recommended it to many!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Padilla
I LIKE THIS BECAUSE THE ACTING IS GOOD THEY HAVE KNOWN ACTORS WHO KNOW THERE CRAFT. iT ALSO FOLLOWS THE BIBLE VERY CLOSE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
K.W.
I remember watching this with my family when I was younger, and loving it. I was so excited to find it again now; I bought it and watched it again. I liked it just as much as I remembered. It's truly a good film that people of all ages will enjoy. The scenes with Potipher's wife can be skipped without really taking anything away from the story, and I would especially suggest screening them if you watch it with children. This is definitely one of my favourite films - of all time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendy Lang
excellent portrayal of the biblical account, great location & costume, would give a PG13 rating as it follows biblical account completely - young children may be disturbed by death of Rachel & Joseph's troubles in Egypt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Danielle Daly
This movie was done beautifully. It's been a family favorite for years. The story of Joseph is a huge encouragement when you're going through trials and hardship. It's a wonderful reminder that even in the midst of suffering you can trust that God is in it with you and there is a divine plan. We need to continue to trust him and be obedient. He will bless us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mel Bass
This is one of the best Bible movies of all time. It portrays the balance of Joseph's life - temptation and integrity. Every young person should watch this movie - at least once a year. Every older person should watch it also. You will come away with a determination to honor your God through every difficult day of your life. Please add this DVD to your family's library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
paulmcfarland
It has been said 'not suitable for younger viewers', but if it can corrupt children what makes you think that it can't corrupt adults?Gen39:10 "And as she spoke to Joseph day after day, he would not listen to her, to lie beside her or to be with her."In this movie Joseph flirts with sin and allows Potiphar's wife to touch him where he shouldn't!My DVD underwent trial by fire and it melted and went up in flames.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gus Kowalewski
This film is very well done, however some of the intensely intimate scenes when Joseph is being tempted by Pharaoh's wife should rule this out for younger viewers. The temptation scenes may even rule this out for some older viewers. Some parts of the Joseph story are omitted, but you have to do that to fit a lifetime into 3 hours. If you are ok with some explicit scenes of temptation then by all means see this film. You will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carleen Ames
Awesome!! Incredible acting, so real and so emotional. I cried; and I don't cry over movies. But this is such an incredible story and so well done, you really feel for Joseph and get to understand better the Bible story and just what he went through. A must see, incredible!! Everyone loved it, including my 14 year old son!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Joseph, The Bible Collection Series DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sara
All movies in the series are long but very accurate. It may take a couple of days to watch, but well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>