Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson An Amish Garden

Thomas Nelson An Amish Garden

A Place of Healing - Vannetta Chapman
Emma discovers a run-away teen in her barn, and the bishop asks her to provide a haven for a woman and her two children. Then her mother-in-law reveals a secret about her garden. Will Emma choose loneliness or learn to accept God's gifts?

Flowers for Rachael - Kathleen Fuller
Rachael's garden is beautiful, but she is lonely. Gideon is in love with Rachael, but when Rachael finds her garden in shambles after a crisis, she rejects his help. Will she realize she doesn't have to do everything on her own?

Seeds of Love - Tricia Goyer
When a corporation shows interest in buying Sadie's heirloom seeds, she panics. They are all she has left of her Dat and Mem. Eli believes he can help Sadie, but a misunderstanding leaves her heartbroken. Will she trust him again, and will the seeds of a new relationship take root?

Planting a Future - Beth Wiseman
Rosemary is doing her best to run her family's household. She excels at all her tasks except one: gardening. Saul has been interested in her for years, but Rosemary has turned him down repeatedly. Saul begins helping with her family's garden, but someone is sabotaging his efforts-and keeping a secret that could change their lives.

Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for An Amish Garden
Review 1 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice enjoyable stories

Date:July 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough about how much I love these omnibus novels. I like that the stories are short and they usually have one thing in common which is nice. There was one that I thought had a slow start, not naming titles, lol, but it ended up being just as good as the other three. I would like to thank the authors for doing these. I like longer books and enjoy series of books, it's just nice to read something like this once in awhile. Each of these authors did a great job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four stories about gardens and 4 lessons

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by four authors - four stories. I love and have read all four authors and reviewed books for all of them.
All stories involve gardens. Each has a different message. In Rooted in Love, I felt love was endured until it was time for God's plan. In Flowers for Rachel, Rachel had a hard time accepting help. Gideon had a hard time expressing himself as a lot of men do around women. In Seeds of Love, it is about giving to others even if different from you and the giving will return to you. In When Healing Blooms, there is lots of healing to be done. Grief, women and kids needing a safe place, runaway boy, and a ministry started.
Each book could have a special review but I'm trying to cover all. You can read one story. Take a break. Read another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four delightful gardens

Date:May 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Magister
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to see this book - several of my favorite authors, and a subject that is dear to my heart - and it did not disappoint!
In "Rooted in Love," Beth Wiseman shows the age-old cost of eavesdropping. Will Rosemary miss out on the love of her life because she thinks she knows what's best for her future? The chemistry between her and Saul is true to life. I couldn't put this book down as I ached for them to experience God's best.
In "Flowers for Rachel," Kathleen Fuller writes a love story of shy and awkward Gideon and Rachel. Each chapter begins with a quote related to flowers, and they nicely summarize the growing relationship between these Amish young people. I felt this story was a bit predictable, but I like the ways the characters learned to show their love for one another.
Tricia Goyer gives us another glimpse into the Amish community of West Kootenai, Montana in "Seeds of Love"(If you haven't read her "Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series, or the "Big Sky" novels that preceded those, this is a good excuse to start!). Sadie Chupp and Eli Plank are strangers who meet in a small Amish settlement when he travels west seeking adventure...or are they? It turns out their families knew each other in Indiana, and the connection wasn't always so friendly! Eli is a scribe for "The Budget," an Amish newspaper featuring letters from writers living in scores of different Amish communities. His wit and skills of observation make him well-suited to handle Sadie and her reservations. As usual, Goyer has a few twists up her sleeve, and gives a satisfying ending to this garden tale.
Last but certainly not least, Vannetta Chapman shows us "Where Healing Blooms." This is more than a romantic love story - it also describes the deep love and friendship between a woman and her mother-in-law (not unlike Ruth and Naomi in Scripture). This story of faith and redemption and yes, buried treasure, revolves around the family garden. As wise mother-n-law Mary Ann says, "Gardens are a reflection of God's love for us," and how gently and winsomely we see Emma and Danny discover that truth in a new way. This story describes the Amish commitment to the good of the community, not just one's own prosperity. I was delighted to watch these characters lean to deal with their pasts and come together for a common future. As Chapman quotes, "There is a time for everything, and a season for every purpose under heaven." I loved that this novella was based on mature characters, and not the usual fresh-faced 'maedel.'
Any one of these authors cold have written a full book on their storyline, but I really enjoyed having these nuggets together in one book. The time you spend here in these "gardens" will be fruitful time indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Garden

Date:April 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rooted in Love by Beth Wiseman
Beth Wiseman has written a poignant Amish story of love and loss based on a conversation the main character overheard. Two people's lives are fraught with dismay that honesty, openness and trust would have assuaged. The author paints a realistic portrait of Amish life, creating characters with emotion and sensitivity. I enjoyed this short story of relationships and the developments that resulted despite a misunderstanding.
Flowers for Rachel by Kathleen Fuller
Kathleen Fuller has depicted Rachel and Gideon's friendship in a very tender and expressive perspective. The Amish lifestyle is well described, and Rachel's relationship with her "grossdaadi" is amusing and entertaining. The author used very touching quotations at the headings of each chapter, appropriate to the content and very thought provoking. I enjoyed that addition to the story. The development of Rachel and Gideon's relationship was very charming and endearing.
Seeds of Love by Tricia Goyer
Considerable loss and loneliness are pivotal factors in the life of Tricia Goyer's protagonist. Life-changing events set the mood for this expressive narrative. Heirloom tomato seeds are all that remain from Sadie's past, and a misunderstanding affects her attitude toward immediate family members. The young man depicted in this story is presented with compassion and a depth of character. The events throughout this novella are heartrending and poignant, and misconceptions are emotive.
Where Healing Blooms by Vannetta Chapman
Spring has arrived in Shipshewana, and Mary Ann's garden is once again her haven. Her daughter-in-law, Emma, joins her in weeding and tending to the garden, more expansive and prolific with each passing year. The garden haven holds secrets that no one could suspect. Vannetta Chapman weaves a story with depth and perception that places her in a category all her own. Her characters are strong and the setting picturesque. There's no guessing the ensuing events in this well-written novella. Much diversity is revealed in this extraordinary short story and I craved more, but the author wrapped up all loose ends bringing closure to this impressive novella.
Faith, hope and love are strong elements in each of these novellas, and God's timing is always perfect, making for four well-written and very enjoyable novellas in this compilation. I highly recommend this collection of Amish garden stories, each containing very enjoyable story lines in their own right.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Garden

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a collection of four different Amish stories that have the common theme of gardening. As the reader is led down the garden path in this book, one will discover that each tale is unique. The stories are: “Rooted in Love” by Beth Wiseman, “Flowers for Rachael” by Kathleen Fuller, “Seeds of Love” by Tricia Goyer and “Where Healing Blooms” by Vannetta Chapman.
The story of Rosemary and Saul is of love at cross-purposes. The two had courted as teenagers, and seemed to be in love. Then one day, out-of-the blue, Rosemary said the relationship was over. Saul had given his heart to her, and no one else has ever been right for him. Saul stills pursues her to no avail. The big question is, why did Rosemary call it off? Years pass, and she still won’t tell him. Even if Rosemary never goes out with him again, Saul needs the answer for his own peace of mind. Will he ever get it?
Hard working Rachael has left her home to nurse her grandfather back to health. She also spends a good deal of her time gardening to supply them with food to eat, as well as, items to sell to supplement their meager income. She doesn’t spend any time on social activities. Despite that, Rachael has suddenly started receiving things from a mysterious person. Gideon admires Rachael from afar. The one and only time he attempted to ask a girl out, she laughed at him. That was years ago, and he has never tried again. Can shy Gideon get the courage to tell Rachael how he feels about her? What will her answer be if he does?
Heirloom tomato seeds are all that Sadie has left as a heritage after the death of her beloved mother and father. The seeds have been carefully saved after each harvest by her mother, and the generations before her. Now it was up to Sadie to plant them, and keep the tradition going. After moving across country, she attempts to grow them in soil and a climate she is not used to. Despite her unfamiliarity with the area, she throws caution to the wind and plants every single seed–saving none of them. Eli offers his extensive garden knowledge to help her. He is hoping working together will lessen Sadie’s grief, and bring the two of them closer. But will she reject him when Sadie finds out the truth about Eli’s heritage? Was Sadie mistaken to plant all of the seeds without holding some back as a “safety net?”
Emma is a 50-year-old widow, who is taking care of her elderly, widowed mother-in-law, Mary Ann. Emma feels empty with her children grown and her husband gone. She is also overwhelmed by the enormous work involved in caring for the huge garden Mary Ann insists they keep. Then Emma discovers a runaway teenage boy has been sleeping in her barn, Mary Ann gets hurt in the garden and a new love might be sprouting in Emma’s life. Will the garden be a place for both plants and people to be nurtured? Will Emma’s love and loneliness for her deceased husband hold her back from growing in new ways?
I thought all of these tales were very entertaining, and each one included faith in God. It was enjoyable to have a different “voice” in each work. This book has four stand-alone Amish stories and they all have a garden theme, but that is where the similarities stop. The authors have all gone their own direction with each one.
The first story has a bit of a mystery concerning why Rosemary ended the relationship despite still loving Saul and vice versa. The tale of Rachel and Gideon involves is a tender and sweet love story. Eli’s other job as a traveling writer added an unexpected twist and a lot of interest to “Seeds of Love,” along with some humor.
I liked that the last story featured senior citizens as the main characters. That is a different age group than fiction normally centers on, and it added a refreshing addition to that tale. It also dealt with issues one rarely hears about occurring in Amish communities. Although this is fiction, it shows that the Amish, like everyone else, must deal with living in a fallen world–and the unhappy situations that can sometimes result. However, the solution this story gives has a distinctive Amish flavor.
This collection of stories involving gardens can be enjoyed anytime of the year, however, it is especially apropos to read it now, in the spring-time, when gardens are beginning to grow. I recommend this 5-star book to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Thomas Nelson Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful!

Date:April 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Garden is a collection of four novellas written by four outstanding authors.
Rooted in Love by Beth Wiseman
This is a story about loss and love. I enjoyed the characters in this book because they were so realistic. Rosemary is a very lovable person but I wanted to tell her to open your eyes! Open your heart!
God’s timing is always perfect as you will see in this story.
Flowers for Rachael by Kathleen Fuller
When a family member becomes ill the natural thing is to take care of a loved one the best way you know how. Rachael does just that in this story.
Also, a lesson well learned is, it is o.k. to let someone help you when disaster strikes. Will Rachael’s stubbornness ruin her chances for friendship and love?
Seeds of love by Tricia Goyer
Sadie saddened by her parents death and her sibling’s treating her like a child moves to Montana to get away from it all. Was the move the right decision?
Grief, starting over, and not having the trust of others weighs heavily on Sadie’s shoulders. So, is there room in her heart for love?
Where Healing Blooms by Vannetta Chapman
I fell in love with Emma and this storyline. Healing, don’t we all need some kind of healing in our lives? Love and acceptance, aren’t these pretty important to us too? As the story unfolds and God’s will for Emma’s life is made known, the reader can feel the beginning of the healing process.
I enjoyed living with Emma and Mary Ann. Well, I didn’t actually live there physically but I did mentally. I could feel everything they felt. I loved these characters. I didn’t want this story to end. It was that good!
I hope those who read this review will pick up a copy of An Amish Garden. You will be Blessed and perhaps your healing process will begin too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An entertaining read!

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
ConnieR
Location:ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished the "An Amish Garden" collection by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Turner, Tricia Goyer and Vannetta Chapman. This collection of 4 novellas is one sweet way to pass the time!
Each story prominently features a well-loved garden, and the importance of that place in the lives of each woman featured.
I thoroughly enjoyed each story, and it's an especially nice collection to grab when you have just a little while to spend with a book. Sometimes you just want to enjoy the time, and I certainly did, and recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved all the stories!

Date:March 27, 2014
An Amish Garden is a collection of four novellas by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Tricia Goyer, and Vannetta Chapman. I enjoyed all of the stories, but I think my favorite one was Flowers for Rachael. It was a fun, sweet read, but the other three novellas were a close second! It's unusual to enjoy all the stories so much, but I did. Each story pulled me in from the beginning and reluctantly let me go at the end.
Rooted in Love by Beth Wiseman is about Rosemary Lantz who has the responsibility of her three younger brothers and her dad's household ever since her mother died four years ago. She is just barely making it all work and wishes she didn't have to break up with the only man she ever loved, Saul Petersheim. When Saul starts helping her put her garden in, she begins to question her resolve to give him up.
Flowers for Rachael by Kathleen Fuller centers around Rachael Bontrager. Rachael has been helping her grandfather for the past year and ever since she met her next door neighbor, Gideon, she has been attracted to him. But for some reason, he is always aloof with her. Why does he help her when he won't even talk to her?
Seeds of Love by Tricia Goyer is set in a Montana Amish community. Eli Plank has been traveling around the country visiting different Amish communities and writing about it all for the Budget, an Amish newspaper. When he meets Sadie, he helps her plant her special heirloom tomatoes in the harsher, colder climate. Those tomatoes are all Sadie has left that was her mother's, and she is determined to make them grow. Then disaster strikes, and Sadie immediately runs to Eli for help. Will he be able to help the tomatoes rebound?
Where Healing Blooms by Vannetta Chapman centers around widowed Emma Hochstetter and her mother-in-law, Mary Ann. Emma's children are all grown with homes and children of their own leaving her in a big house with a big garden and lots of memories of what used to be. But when she discovers a runaway in her barn, things begin to change for the better.
I loved that these stories revolved around gardening, and I read it at the perfect time, too - when I was starting my garden! Can't get better than that. :-) Everything is beginning to bloom around here making it the perfect time to read this collection. Go grab a copy and rejoice that spring is finally here!
I was given this book free form BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great stories by 4 great authors

Date:March 25, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anytime I see these four names anywhere on an Amish book, I always get it. I have yet to be disappointed by any of these four authors. The way I see it, if you put all four together, you have a book that will be a hot sell!
This is a book of novellas, with each author taking one novella each. As the title hints at, the main focuses are the gardens. I like the new thoughts about the garden that I had while reading this book. We've always had a garden an I'll admit I haven't always enjoyed the hard work it takes to grow one, but I think I'll be reminded of these stories this summer as I'm working away.
In each of these stories, you see the characters grow and mature, in the same way that their gardens and plants are growing and maturing. They are finding out what really matters in life and in one case, learning to do something she's not so good at. Of course, there is romance within these pages. I like how even the romance never felt rushed or hurried, but was well-developed. I think it's quite impressive to develop everything quickly and rather realistically within a few pages. Each author accomplished that in their section of this book.
_____________
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful collection of Amish stories

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Garden is a collection of stories from four talented and popular authors: Beth Wiseman, Vannetta Chapman, Kathleen Fuller, and Tricia Goyer. Uplifting and encouraging, these stories emphasize aspects of faith and simple living.
I started reading this book in the middle of an extremely busy time in my life, and found it so relaxing and enjoyable, peaceful and inspiring. Each story is well written, with characters and plot that left me wanting more. This is one of the best collections I've read in a long time.
Vannetta writes: "Gardens are a place of comfort for many of us. For Amish families, they are also a source of nourishment, a family gathering place, and sometimes a place where healing can be found." And she is exactly right, because when I reflect on the word garden, this is what comes to mind: beauty, sustenance, new life, God's provision, sanctuary.
Let me first confess that I am not a gardener in any sense of the word, yet I love to gaze on the beauty of a simple daffodil that my husband picked for me. And vegetable gardens remind me of the years when my Dad came home from a long day's work and delayed his supper until he had spent several hours tilling and planting our family garden. Or working beside my mother and grandmother in the canning/freezing process. So while An Amish Garden entertained and inspired, it also brought back treasured memories with loved ones I look forward to seeing in heaven someday.
“Rooted in Love” Beth Wiseman - I was drawn to Saul and Rosemary, loved the chemistry between them. Many readers will identify with Rosemary's spiritual growth as she comes to realize that she can't have it all, but that's okay. Contentment only comes from a close relationship with God and finding that what He provides is more fulfilling than anything we could desire.
"Flowers for Rachael" Kathleen Fuller - This sweet story has a delightful twist toward the end. I also loved the way Kathleen began each chapter with a quote. This one by Martin Luther was a favorite: "God writes the Gospel not in the Bible alone, but also on trees, and in the flowers and clouds and stars."
“Seeds of Love” Tricia Goyer - An enchanting bachelor scribe character, heirloom tomato seeds passed down through generations, Amish proverbs - there's so much to learn and enjoy in Tricia's story! How true this proverb is: "A garden is a way of showing that you believe in tomorrow." This story also has a surprising twist at the end, and a lesson that we often find difficult to accept in Sadie's words: "What I tried to hold on to, I lost. What was given up - shared - is the only thing that was saved."
“Where Healing Blooms” Vannetta Chapman - I can't put my finger on how she does it, but Vannetta has a unique way of writing that makes me care about the characters on the page and feel their emotions. And she injects a subtle humor that kept me smiling as I turned each page.
I love it when an author uses an older couple as leading characters, and I don't see how anyone can help but be drawn to Emma and Danny. The relationship between Emma and her mom, Mary Ann, is touching, almost hitting a little close to home for me at times - but in a good way.
Of all the things that spoke to me in this story, I think it's the idea that no matter our age, God isn't through with us. If we can just be completely open, we might be shocked at how God blesses and uses our surrendered lives!
An Amish Garden is a thoroughly enjoyable read, one that I highly recommend.
Thank you to Vannetta Chapman and Thomas Nelson Publishing for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic collection!

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britney Adams
An Amish Garden is a fantastic collection of Amish novellas! Each of the four novellas is refreshing, unique, and a delight to read. They include:
Rooted in Love by Beth Wiseman
Flowers for Rachael by Kathleen Fuller
Seeds of Love by Tricia Goyer
Where Healing Blooms by Vannetta Chapman
I loved everything about this book! Even before I began reading, I was drawn to the beautiful cover of An Amish Garden. Endearing characters and engaging storylines drew me in even deeper and surrounded me with peace and comfort.
Hope, encouragement, and healing burst from the pages and romance blooms in An Amish Garden!
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Garden

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
LizD1
Location:AL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Garden
By: Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Tricia Goyer, and Vannetta Chapman
We have four Amish Novellas from four great authors. Each can be read alone . I think these authors have done some excellent writing on these novellas . You will read about love , hope, and trusting God through these novellas.
Rooted in Love
By: Beth Wiseman
After Rosemary Lentz mother died she takes over running the household for her father and siblings. She is good at everything except gardening . Rosemary was sixteen when she walked away from Saul , the man she loved and thought she would marry. Five years later Saul still has feeling for Rosemary and has no idea why she stopped seeing him. What did Rosemary learn that caused her to stop seeing the man she loved? You will love this story and I felt so sorry for Saul.
Flowers For Rachael
By: Kathleen Fuller
Rachael Bontrager moved to Middlefield to take care of her grandfather after he had a stroke. Now Rachael has a beautiful flower garden, but she is lonely. Gideon Beiler is Rachael's neighbor and once he see's Rachael he falls in love with her. He cannot tell Rachael his feelings. Do you like matching ? Well you will read about some in Flowers for Rachael. I loved this story and it is romantic with the matchmaking that goes on.
Seeds of Love
By: Tricia Goyer
Sadie Camp has inherited her mom's heirloom seeds. She has a beautiful garden until something happened to it one night. Eli Plank has become her friend, but can she trust this traveling bachelor again with her heirloom seeds? Eli tells her he can help her. Will she listen to him and trust him with her heirloom and her life? This was a wonderful story to read and I loved it .
Where Healing Blooms
By: Vannetta Chapman
Both Emma and her mother-in-law Mary Ann have lost their husbands. They share a home together in Shipshewana.
They have a beautiful garden that they spend lots of time in. One day Emma finds a runaway teen in her barn. The Bishop
ask Emma to take in a woman and her children. Now her mother-in -law Mary Ann has a secret about her garden that she has been keeping to herself for years. The two of them was contented with their lives , but now everything has changed. Will Emma ever find her place where healing blooms?
I was given a copy of this book by the publisher and the author for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Grea

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sunnie
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Garden
This wonderful book, which entails four Novellas, written by four wonderful authors, shows how the gardens in our lives help us to move ahead and as stated in the final novella by Vannetta Chapman, Gardens will bless your soul.
“They are a place to rest, to draw near, and to heal.” I especially loved that line and marked it as I was reading the book, because that is how I truly feel about gardens, as well.
1. Rooted in Love, Beth Wiseman
Rosemary Lantz is the main character in this story. She is a talented young woman except that gardening has its challenges for her. In her courting days, she was together with Saul until she hears a secret about him that at her age of 16, causes her to separate from him. This was a hard thing for both of them, but Rosemary knows that a life with Saul under these circumstances would never work for her. As they begin to work together in her garden, they share work and laughter together. I especially liked the interaction with Rosemary and her father and there was a part that brought me to tears as I read the feelings between the two of them.
2. Flowers for Rachael, Kathleen Fuller
Rachael has a beautiful flower garden and spent most days tending to it. She loves her garden and even finds herself talking to her flowers, perhaps because she is lonely. She apparently has a secret admirer, however, as suddenly and daily, a beautiful flower appears for her with a very short note. She has no idea who is bringing the flowers, although she hopes it might be Gideon. Yet, it appears not to be as he seems unaware of the flowers’ meanings when she gives a flower to Gideon.
Rachael cares for her grandfather and finds him collapsed one day, which leads to a hospital stay and Rachael feels she needs to be her grandfather’s caretaker. Her grandfather insists she needs to tend to her life and that God will take care of things all in their due time. Rachael still is worried about her grandfather but discovers that she must learn to trust.
3. Seeds of Love, Tricia Goyer
This novella takes place in Montana and the main character is Sadie Chupp who is a young woman whose late mother left her with a legacy, heirloom seeds that are her special remembrances of her dear parents. She seems to harbor some unhappy feelings towards her siblings, who, after the deaths of their parents, sold the family home. Sadie being the youngest was heartbroken and moves to her uncle in Montana to start fresh. She brings her mother’s seeds and plans a garden to continue to keep the feeling of her parents close to her. A company has wanted to buy the heirloom seeds, but Sadie’s mother had not wanted to do so, because the seeds had belonged to her family for generations.
She meets Eli who wants to help her with her gardening. As time passes she and Eli have a misunderstanding and Sadie is beyond sad. Her garden undergoes lots of damage and the heirloom seeds have all been planted. How will she ever be able to repair the damage that a bear cub has done?
The biggest surprise yet occurs when Sadie meets Eli’s grandfather.
4. Where Healing Blooms, Vannetta Chapman
Emma is a widow who lives with Mary Ann, her mother-in-law. Mary Ann has a beautiful garden that she lovingly tends. Emma tries to find a purpose in life now that her children are grown. She learns that a runaway Amish boy has been hiding in her barn. She tries to know how she can help him at this troubled time of his life. She leaves food and hopes that he will feel that he can trust her to help him. She also is asked by the bishop to house an abused Amish woman and her two children. They find a safe refuge at Emma’s and begin to work together.
Emma begins to find some meaning to her life and purpose
Her old friend, Danny, has returned home after many years absence. She had once hoped that they would marry, but Danny had disappointed her by moving away to pursue his life’s plans leaving Emma alone and to marry another. Emma feels she is too old now to find love again in her life.
Mary Ann’s garden holds a secret which she reveals to Emma and Danny that may just change both of their lives.
These four stories will touch your heart. These four authors share how gardens can help you find peace, faith, endurance, hope and healing. I loved them all!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher to give my honest review, which I have done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Garden 4-in-1 book

Date:March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Garden by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Tricia Goyer and Vannetta Chapman*****
This is an Amish novella, four-in-one book: Rooted in Love, Flowers for Rachael, Seeds of Love and Where Healing Blooms. A garden theme is sewn throughout each story. Hope, healing, challenges and trusting in God are woven throughout the stories.
~~~
Rooted for Love by Beth Wiseman:
Rosemary Lantz had dated Saul Petersheim when she was 16 but broke off their courtship without giving him the real reason why. Now five years later she finds that Saul is still interested in her and she is not sure what to do about it. Her heart longs for him but the secret she carries keeps her from following her heart. Anyway she has much to do caring for her dad and siblings since her mother's death years ago. And then there is the vegetable garden that she just can't seem to master. Their neighbor, Katherine, comes over each week with produce from her vegetable garden to share with them. However, Rosemary wonders what the real reason is for her frequent visits.
Saul doesn't plan to give up on Rosemary, she is the only one for him. It seems her father, Wayne, is agreeable to the match. But how to get Rosemary to talk to him and work things out? What secret does Rosemary keep?
Secrets are revealed, misjudgments, eavesdropping can lead to wrong conclusions and heartache; but healing, forgiveness, faith and trust is possible. Lovely story.
~~~
Flowers for Rachael by Kathleen Fuller:
A year ago Rachael Bontrager moved from Indiana to Middlefield to care for her grandfather after his stroke. Each day she works lovingly in her flower garden producing a beautiful garden.
Gideon Beiler is a neighbor who is very much interested in Rachael from the first day he met her. He wants to court her but is not sure how to go about asking her. What if she says no to his courtship? His sister, Hannah decides to help him in his pursuit of Rachael, but things don't go well.
A little matchmaking, secret admirer, faith and love all produce a beautiful story.
~~~
Seeds of Love by Tricia Goyer:
Eli Plank is a bachelor scribe for the Budget, an Amish paper. He travels around the Amish community and writes articles for the paper. He comes to West Kootena, Montana for his next stop and meets Sadie Chupp. He finds her interesting and may plan on staying awhile in Montana.
Sadie has only been in Montana for five months. She has heirloom tomato seeds from her mother that have been passed down for generations and needs to learn the weather and soil conditions in her new home before planting them. She starts them out in a neighbors greenhouse in preparation for planting.
As in life, the characters must work through misunderstandings, challenges, trust, love and faith. A beautiful story.
~~~
When Healing Blooms by Vannetta Chapman:
Emma Hochestter and her mother-in-law, Mary Ann share a home in Shipshewana, Indiana.
Both of their husbands have died, but Emma's grown children live close by. They spend a lot of time in the large garden, a place of healing in many ways for the two women.
One day Emma notices a young teenage Amish boy running from behind her barn. She discovers he has been sleeping there. Where has he come from and what should she do about him?
The bishop asks Emma to take in a woman and her two children and provide a safe haven for them for a time. Mary Ann has a secret hidden in the garden and finally shares it with Emma. Emma is shocked at the discovery and ponders what to do. What does God have in store for these two women and their garden?
What a delightful story. I love the relationship between Emma and Mary Ann and the way the characters lives are impacted by each other. Even though this is a short story there is so much packed into it: hope, healing and learning to trust God in their lives is sewn throughout making this an enjoyable read. Would like to see a follow up story of the characters.
~~Received a copy of the book from Vannetta Chapman for my review~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read the last two stories first.

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An Amish Miracle is the only other book I have read in this “series” so far and An Amish Miracle gave me the impression that these novels follow along with the same characters in the same community and An Amish Garden does not follow that same pattern.
Perhaps it was just An Amish Miracle that did that or perhaps the connective tissue is only meant to be a common thread and that one worked out that way. I can’t say absolutely because I’ve only read the two so far.
In Rooted in Love by Beth Wiseman, the story has taken on a bit of a soap opera style.
It’s kind of like those articles or pictures we see. You can’t look away because it’s holding your attention so fiercely.
The synopsis is actually quite misleading but… when aren’t they really?
Rosemary is not at all what I expect from the typical Amish girl but she is well-written. You are immediately intrigued and confused by what seems to be a situation of love had and then lost. We feel for her – with all she has to do in a day and missing her mamm, I know I expected that to be the reason her relationship with Saul came to a sudden and abrupt halt.
But Miss Wiseman surprised me. It was not anything I could have seen coming. Bravo Beth. Great writing and great development. The story and the characters are exceptionally well-developed for a story that stretches a mere 83 pages.
I truly thought Amish names were mostly taken from the Bible but I suppose even some Amish feel the need to stand out and be a bit… different. We certainly see that in Flowers for Rachael by Kathleen Fuller.
Honestly it’s a bit difficult to know for certain whether this story happens in the same community as Rooted in Love or not because it is a very central story. Again you will find that the synopsis gives absolutely no clue to the actual story…
The skill Rachael displays with her garden makes me wish I were better with tending plants. One of these days I truly want a home of my own where I can have a beautiful vegetable garden. And flower beds would be great too.
Watching Rachael and Gideon circle around each other is highly entertaining. I never would have imagined such matchmaking and scheming going on in an Amish community. More and more stories now are showing us that the Amish are more like the rest of us that we ever would have thought possible.
Tricia Goyer has another hit on her hands with Seeds of Love!
Right away we’re pulled into the intriguing and interesting storyline. Tricia is one of the few authors I know of who can successfully write two different styles in one story. You’ll know what I mean when you read the story. AMAZING!
Once again, the synopsis is a tad misleading but, I have to say, it’s much closer to the story than the others so far. I also have to say that, of the three I’ve reviewed so far, this is my absolute favorite! Tricia Goyer has been truly blessed. Her writing is superb and she has always been one of my favorite authors of Amish fiction. She writes with such a clear voice and you always come away from her stories feeling like her characters are good friends.
It’s also a good sign that the story brought tears to my eyes. Despite my mother’s jokes – I do not cry at the drop of a hat so it’s very telling that Seeds of Love touched my emotions so strongly.
Tricia Goyer has added an amazing story to this collection and it is a very valuable piece of the whole. If you were on the fence about buying the book, I will say this. I still feel that the book is a good value – because of this story!
Saving the best for last certainly applies to Where Healing Blooms by Vannetta Chapman.
WOW! Just WOW! I have to admit that I was not exceedingly impressed with the first two stories in this compilation. They are well-written, just not precisely what I was expecting. But the last two stories overshadow any disappointment I could have possibly had overall.
The synopsis for Vannetta’s story is the only one I would classify as spot on. It gives you a perfect overview of the story without giving too much away.
Vannetta Chapman is an exceptional writer. I would never in my life have expected to enjoy a story about a grandmother as much as I did but I could not put this wonderful story down. If my description of Tricia’s story didn’t convince you to buy the book, please do so on account of Tricia’s and Vannetta’s! They are well worth it!
Vannetta writes with her usual flair, pulling you right into the story and into the characters’ lives like a relative coming for a visit. Her community is always well-developed, whether the story takes up 300+ pages or only 103. Every word of the story helps convey the peace and healing that every character finds in this wondrous garden. It is truly an AMAZING story and a perfect end to the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Garden

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy these collections of four Amish novellas that Thomas Nelson has begun putting out. And I was so excited when this collection came up for review with Booklook (formerly Booksneeze). I was glad when it arrived as I was most anxious to read it. And even though I had a zillion things to do today, I picked this book up and was immediately lost in Amish country, surfacing only to tend to immediate needs.
If you love Amish books, then you’ll want to read AN AMISH GARDEN. As Spring begins in the southland, it will be a book that will help you “heal” from winter, and yearn to plant your own seeds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Collection of Amish Novellas

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For an Amish fiction lover like me, this book has it all! It is a collection of four novellas by some of my favorite authors. All of the stories stand independently from each other and since they are novellas, they are faster reads than a standard length novel. However, all four stories are very full and well-developed. I connected with the characters in each of the stories and felt invested in how things would turn out for them.
In each novella, a garden is central to the storyline. The themes of hope and healing, and learning to let go and trust in God completely are woven with sweet romantic stories to make for a very enjoyable collection. I truly loved every single story.
I received a complimentary copy of An Amish Garden in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent collection for spring!

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Four wonderful authors: Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Tricia Goyer, and Vannetta Chapman, have joined together and their stories make the latest novella collection, "An Amish Garden." This is a wonderful collection for right now, as I am ready for spring to come and this season of new growth and beginnings. In each of these four stories, gardening plays an important role, either as it is an escape for the main character or a thorn in her side. Either way, it helps each of these women in the novellas find love, peace and joy in their lives. This is a must-read for Amish fiction fans! I love the cover of this book and also the quote that is included on the back cover: "Gardens are a place to rest, to draw near, and to heal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for An Amish Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Garden by Beth Wiseman, Tricia Goyer, Kathleen Fuller, and Vannetta Chapman is wonderful. In this collaboration each of the author's takes you on a journey. Four short stories make for quick reads that linger for days after reading. I was inspired by the way each of the heroines come to where they were meant to be. The journey is half the battle but getting to where you are needed with the guidance of Him is the best part. He will be there for each of the ladies when they need Him the most to help them with forgiveness, understanding, and best of all love. Another person who will appreciate each of these ladies for who they are and how they are. I always say this one complaint about collaborative novels and that is I wish they were longer they always leave me wanting more. I was given a review copy and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.