Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Warner Home Video The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set

Warner Home Video The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set

Witness the frailty, triumph, and glory of Old Testament heroes Abraham, David, Jacob, Joseph, Moses, and Samson and Delilah. Stars include Richard Harris, Dennis Hopper, Elizabeth Hurley, Jonathan Pryce, Barbara Hershey, Leonard Nimoy, and Ben Kingsley. Experience anew the beloved stories you know by heart with this outstanding collection. Six-DVD boxed set. More than 16 hours of Bible stories. Not rated.

DVD Features:
  • Fullscreen
  • Languages: English & Spanish
  • Subtitles: English, French & Spanish (Movie Only)
  • Region Code 1
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.655 out of 5
    4.7
     out of 
    5
    (29 Reviews) 29
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
    5 stars
    24
    4 stars
    2
    3 stars
    2
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    1
    8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    2 Questions | 2 Answers
    Customer Reviews for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Review 1 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Awakens portions of Scripture

    Date:January 11, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Beruta
    Location:New Jersey
    Age:Over 65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Especially thought acting and presentation of ABRAHAM was excellent. Have watched and meditated on it several times, although I haven't had time to concentrate on others as much what with all my reading. However, thought Ben Kingsley was miscast as Moses. Actually saw several when presented on TNT.
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Everything but Samson & Delilah

    Date:January 10, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    marefrist
    Location:New Providence, PA
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Samson and Delilah went into the trash can! We bought this set to watch and learn as a family. We sit with the Bible open to compare the movie for accuracy and see where it is correct and where they took creative liberty, which we understand with a movie they have to. But Samson and Delilah was way off! Most of the content was completely inaccurate and I would NEVER be able to let my children watch it once he meets Delilah. It should not be included in the Bible series. I'm sure there are better versions out there that can replace this one. Abraham on the other hand, was fabulous and very well done and close to following scripture.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 12, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    DeeDee
    Location:Auburn, MA
    Age:45-54
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    The Bible Collection is a great addition to my home dvd collection and will be a great tool for my Middle School Sunday School class.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 3, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Savedbygrace5
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Wonderful collection. I always anticipated wAtching them on TBN. now I can watch them anytime. Excellent quality.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This product has great bible stories

    Date:January 13, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    marylou
    Location:California
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I bought this collection as a Christmas gift for my Son, and he really liked it.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Better then described Thank s

    Date:October 24, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    frostysunshine
    Location:Inuvik, Northwest Territories
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Great selection, Awesome collection. Almost better then described. Reasonable price and well packed. Fast shipping.
    Thank you so much.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    LOVE THEM!

    Date:April 22, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    HAPPY
    Location:ALABAMA
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I MADE AN "EXCELLENT" CHOICE! ENJOYING THESE MOVIES!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 27, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    secret
    Location:west haven, ct
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I really enjoy watching these movies. I especially enjoy Joseph & Abraham, it is so touching and very close to scripture. I let one of my spiritual mothers watch them and she loves them too. I can appreciate the older versions because they are closer to scripture, the newer versions I will never purchase because they don't feel spiritual to me. I would recommend this series.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 18, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Carolyn Jamison
    I REALLY LOVE THIS COLLECTION. MAKES ME GO TO MY BIBLE AND RE-READ THE WHOLE STORIES.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Date:June 30, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Laurie Robb
    Very, very dramatic set of DVDs. My favorite one is the one on Joseph, but not my favorite among other movies on Joseph. Disappointed in the others, and several I would not let my 11 year old watch.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 14, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Elaine Neace
    Each of the movies is fairly accurate in relation to Scripture. Samson and Delilah is far too long and drawn out and takes liberties that only Hollywood would admire. It would not be one of the collection that I would recommend to anyone.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 30, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Kara
    The only one I have seen is Joseph. It tells the story of his life in awesome detail. The only part that some may have a problem with is the scene with Potifar's wife. It is sort of long & a little more than I would want my children to see. However, it is a major factor in how Joseph's life played out. I think it needs to be there to adaquately portray the story. And u can always fast forward if needed. All in all an excellent portrayal of the story of Joseph.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:March 11, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Ana Noriz
    I love this collection I watched the story of David and I really liked it. The next one I will be watching is Samson, the other ones I've seen them before on TBN. The next movie I want to buy is Solomon.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 27, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Sarah Bruce
    These movies are done well. The filming is high quality, the acting is well done and my husband (a basically new believer) said "the whole bible feels like its all coming together for me". My whole family enjoys them!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 3, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Veronica Brown
    I bought this for my motherinlaw 80th birthday. She's enjoying it. I've seen this before and I'm going to order one for myself.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:July 15, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Thomas M. Strong
    I rate this 0 because it is a set which includes scenes, especially in Joseph and Samson & Delilah, which would be rated R if they were movies to be shown in local theaters, and which are not fit material for Christian eyes. Had I read the reviews of each DVD in the set, I would not have purchased it, and do not recommend it.
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:April 4, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    William Calhoun
    I recommend this Bible series to every believer and especially the unbeliever. It's awesome and it increases your faith in God. Just seeing the acts of faith, and the acts of God portrayed on video is astonishing. The love and patience of God for His people is overwhelming.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Date:March 25, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Amy Fortune
    Firstly--I originally saw these on TBN about 6 years ago...they showed them all through the holiday season...and they were fantastic!! My kid loved them and so do we! However what I didn't know is that TBN cut some things out when they were showing them...so imagine our shock when Potiphars wife is hitting on Joseph for scenes that go on for minutes and minutes doing inappropriate things that shouldn't be shown in films. I fast-forward it and we move right along to the parts that are good--but it's disheartening to find out that I can't leave the room with my 4 year old watching one of these movies cause there's distasteful things on them.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 25, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Gabriel Gomez
    This movies are very good for the hole family to lern about the bible,they are good way to motivate your children to learn and read the bible.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for The Bible Collection, DVD Gift Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 21, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Lisa Moyer
    This product is a must have. The old testament books come to life in these dramatizations. Excellent bible study resource!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    12Next >>>