Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Christmas Candle

Thomas Nelson The Christmas Candle

The inspiration for the hit film starring Samantha Barks and Susan Boyle! Gladstone is an ordinary 19th-century English village - except at Christmastime, when an angel visits the home of humble candlemaker Edward Haddington and bestows a precious gift. The divinely blessed taper can impart an extraordinary blessing. But should Edward keep it or give it away? Glowing bright with a timeless message, The Christmas Candle will warm your heart with a surprising reminder of God's bountiful love.

In Theaters Nationwide November 22

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Christmas Candle
Review 1 for The Christmas Candle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story holds your interest.

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
angelfriend
Location:Hillsboro, Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book that is well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christmas Candle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Seattle, WA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book by a great author! This book is easy to read in one sitting. Inspirational and uplifting. Now I would like to see the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christmas Candle
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sweet Christmas Story

Date:December 4, 2013
The Christmas Candle by Max Lucado is a short Christmas novella. It was a really quick read, and a good first Christmas read of the season! While the story was very sweet, I found it to be quite confusing at the beginning. I just could not figure out exactly what was happening. I eventually caught on, but it was a little frustrating. I also got confused with ALL of the characters. There were a lot of them and they were just barely developed. I mean, the book is less than 200 pages, so it's not a lot of time to tell a story and let readers get to know a slew of characters. When it was all said and done, I did enjoy the book and really liked the message. The book has recently been made into a movie as well, and I'm hoping to go see it. It will be interesting to see how the movie compares to the book. [3 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christmas Candle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Christmas Novella with a Hopeful Message

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It only took me one afternoon to read "The Christmas Candle" by Max Lucado—ten short chapters with a thought-provoking message about Whom we put our trust in when we pray. I liked this story.
Set mostly in 1864, it’s the story of a town with a legacy. Every 25 years, on the fourth Sunday of Advent, an angel visits their candle maker and touches one candle. This candle brings a blessing to one chosen person. 1864 is the year of the next visit.
But this town also has a new minister who is a bit skeptical, refusing to cooperate with the traditions that have grown up around the angel’s visit. Discussions about this leave both townspeople and minister confused. To complicate matters, everyone wants the blessing of the candle this year and the candle maker has no son to carry on the legacy in 1889. The Christmas candle has brought everyone so much to fret about.
I recommend "The Christmas Candle" by Max Lucado to those who enjoy Christmas novellas with hopeful messages. The Victorian England setting, the way the characters communicated with each other even when they disagreed, the pace of the book, and the outcome were all just right. I enjoyed reading this book.
I received a complimentary eCopy of "The Christmas Candle" in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christmas Candle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just in time for Christmas!

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beke
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you ready to heat up the wassail and put on your favorite Christmas carols? I just had the chance to review a novella that is perfect for the Christmas season.
Max Lucado has truly a gifted writer. I’ve enjoyed many of his books and The Christmas Candle is no exception.
This story begins in 1664. A candle maker and his wife are visited by an angel in the middle of the night. The angel touches a candle and it begins to glow. Because of a kindness the candle winds up in the hands of a needy widow. That candle will wind up changing her life.
You see, whoever receives this special candle receives an answer to their most earnest prayer.
For the next 200 years, a descendent of the candle maker is visited every 25 years and touches a candle. The people who live in the little village of Gladstone have come to anticipate the miracles of the candle.
But times have changed. A young new reverend has come to town and is a bit too sophisticated to believe in such a silly old story.
What happens next is truly inspiring. It left me with a smile of my face and a little hope in my heart.
This is a wonderful Christmas novella. I think it would be a wonderful gift for the Christmas season to friends and family.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christmas Candle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2013
A new Christmas favorite! The story begins in 1664 when a candle maker and his wife are visited by an angel in the middle of the night. The angel touches a candle and it begins to glow. The two can hardly believe what they witnessed and decided not to share it with anyone. The candle is then given to a widow and when her prayers are answered the couple is surprised. Surely there must be some connection to the candle and the answered prayer.
The story then takes us to the year 1864. Over the past 200 years an angel has visited a descendent of the candle maker ever twenty-five years and touched a candle. The story became a legend as the prayers of those who received this special candle were always answered. The people of Gladstone were excited as this was the year that the next miracle would come. Will an unbelieving new reverend destroy the hopes of the people of Gladstone? What happens when the candle maker has a mishap with the special candle? The people of Gladstone may soon realize that their miracle will come in an unexpected way.
This was a wonderful Christmas novella penned by author Max Lucado. I found it both refreshing and uplifting. I loved the message conveyed which is how we need to put our faith in The Lord and not in things of this world. I would definitely recommend this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christmas Candle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This will be a Christmas classic!!!

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I love most about any of Max Lucado's books, is that they follow you wherever you go. The message you are bound to find will undoubtedly find its way into your heart and soul. What I have discovered is the perfect gift for those that love a great book just in time for Christmas. One that you can incorporate into your family devotions as well as a late night reading for your family next to a warm fire on a snowy night. The best part is that this is finding its way into being made into a movie so that it can enjoyed in a multitude of ways for Christmas.
In The Christmas Candle set in the late 1600's in Cotswald, England, we meet when the story originated with a candle maker and his wife. They are awakened in the middle of the night by a heavenly angel that appears and touches just one candle before disappearing, ensuring that the candle maker knows just which one was touched. The candle is then given to a woman who is desperate for food. She has no means to find money to help her children out and the candle maker instructs her to light the candle and pray to God for help. The next day at church service in St. Mark's the widow informs the church of the Christmas miracle that happened when she did just what the candle maker told her to do. She was given a farm by a wealthy uncle she didn't know so she can live in it and provide for her children without payment.
Now the legend continues in the small town that whenever the church service begins each 25 years, a Christmas miracle occurs by whomever the candle is given by the candle maker's family. This year however much has changed. Will the miracle of the Christmas candle still work in the hearts of the people living in the town of Gladstone? You'll have to pick this one up and find out.
I received The Christmas Candle by Max Lucado compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is such a wonderful and heartwarming story that I can see it becoming a Christmas tradition much like the reading of The Christmas Story or the Night Before Christmas. It definitely opens up the conversation around what happens in the book and compels us to look deep inside our hearts to see how wonderful the birth of Jesus Christ was so many years ago and how even today, that miracle still works the lives and hearts of those that believe in Him. Hands down a perfect 5 out of 5 stars! What a life-changing book this would make as a gift for someone this Christmas!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christmas Candle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Find the true source of miracles & their faith

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prolific author, beloved by his readers, Max Lucado has written a sweet story that begins in 1664 in the cottage of the village candle maker. This sweet story of miracles and enchantment coupled with the miracle of faith has been made into a movie and one of the players is the beloved vocalist Susan Boyle who in her early 40s took the entertainment world by storm or by miracle - you choose. But about the book….
The little village has entered a more modern time and they have lost their beloved pastor. A new reverend has been sent to check out the village church. He is welcomed by virtually everyone and passed along from one delightful individual to another as he learns about them and they learn about him. He does end up preaching to them and they expectantly await their beloved message dealing with their own personal "village Christmas miracle." Anticipating who will be the recipient this time around - and it only occurs every 25 years - has them all in knots.
The village characters will wiggle their way into your heart with their sweetness and their quirky ways.
This story is simply that - a story and it is a tale to delight, but there is no basis for its truth or possibility of being reality in it. It is akin to the Elves and the Shoemaker in its sweetness and magical qualities. The big difference is that they do find the true source of miracles and find their faith is in their Lord the Saviour who was born in the tiny manger in Bethlehem so many years ago. A delightful story, a quick read, and another lovely Christmas novella.
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy was provided to me by BookSneeze on behalf of the publisher, Thomas Nelson Publishing and the author, Max Lucado for the purpose of this review. Opinions expressed are solely my own. No compensation was given for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.