Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan No Legal Grounds

Zondervan No Legal Grounds

How far will a man go to protect his family? Attorney Sam Trask will go farther than he ever dreamed, even in his worst nightmare. Because his worst nightmare is about to come true.At age forty-seven, attorney Sam Trask finally seems to have his life in order. The dark years of too much drinking and all-consuming ambition have given way to Christian faith. His marriage is strong again. Everything seems finally on the right track. Then a voice from the past comes back to say hello.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for No Legal Grounds
Review 1 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2009
I liked this book. But, I was confused. When Nicky Oberlin assumed the identity of Charles Lunquist, how did Sam not recognize who he was at the club where he went to hear his daughter sing? If that was the real Lunquist, when Heather left town with him and it was actually Oberlin, how did she not recognize that it was a different person? Very confusing. Otherwise, it was a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
From beginning to end No Legal Ground offers little to reccomend it. There is no positive take away value. I'm suprised a book with this much violence and sex is marketed in the Christian publishing venue. Individuals wanting cheap thrills will certainly find them on the covers of this work. Bell has turned a corner from true Christian writing and it's too bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2007
James Scott Bell is a master storyteller. He finds a great balance between characterization and plot that keeps the reader caring about his characters while unable to put down the book from the pace of his stories. No Legal Grounds follows this well-balanced formula and is guaranteed to keep you up until you finish it.In this legal thriller, Attorney Sam Trask finds himself and his family victimized by an old college acquaintance Nicky Oberlin. At first, Nickys desire to reconnect with Trask seems innocent enough but soon places Trask in a fight for life. When Trask and his familys lives are threatened, he follows the legal route trying to protect his family. When this fails, Trask toys with taking protection into his own hands. In his struggle, we can see how easy it might be to follow the wrong path and become a vigilante. Especially when Bell paints a picture of complete failure and despair in Trasks life. The book also follows the rebellion of Trasks teenage daughter, Heather. She leaves home to find her way in the music business, succumbing to many temptations that would keep her parents awake at night if they knew what she was up to. The dynamics between Trask, his wife, and daughter are very realistically portrayed and give insight on how difficult it is to raise a teenager today. Through all of this, Trask questions his faith while Heather begins to find her way to faith. I have read many of Bells books and have never been disappointed in any of them. As a writer, he gives me concrete examples of how to craft a novel. His characters always resonate with me, in that he creates ordinary people who find themselves in extraordinary situations, giving me the chance to take this journey with them and ponder what I would do in their shoes without the pain in my own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elaine Gittus
This one is a spellbinder. I could hardly put the book down to go to bed at night. A good lesson that we are never far away from the devil and his cohorts, and our greatest hope is in the Lord and his power! A must for those who love mysteries!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sharon K. Souza
James Scott Bell has done it again. He's created another legal thriller, with well-defined characters and action that doesn't let up from the very first page. He delivered one of the best "Whoa!" twists I've read in any form of fiction in a long time. I'm never disappointed when his name is on the cover!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judy Story
I've always purchased books by this author for our church library knowing that it would be an exciting read. But, as with several other authors lately, Bell has emphasized the "dark side" too much with a very weak Christian message in No Legal Grounds. Not up to his usual standards! Disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Richard Mabry
Sam Trask has enough problems with his law practice and his family. Then a figure from his past, a man he doesn't even recall, begins a systematic war against Sam and his family--a war that progresses from psychological to physical. Every time I thought that the tension couldn't be ratcheted up, Bell managed to make my pulse rate go even higher. This book is a classic example that the genre of Christian suspense fiction isn't all sweetness and light--sometimes, as in this case, it deals with the dark things that can happen, things we don't think about because the prospect frightens us too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Colleen Coble
Jim Bell has long been one of my favorite writers. With No Legal Grounds, he outdoes himself with a glimpse inside what could happen if a sociopath used the law against the lawyer while drawing ever closer to stepping over the line into murder. I couldn't put it down! Bell has a way of putting me right in the story and letting me LIVE it through his characters. Get this book. You'll want to read his others too after immersing yourself in this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No Legal Grounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Katie Cushman
This book was impossible to put down. Sam Trask is a flawed character with a great heart. As his teenage daughter rebels, his legal practice struggles, and a stalker pushes him to the edge, he keeps us rooting for him with his sometimes wrong decisions made for all the right reasons. This is a thriller with a heart! A must read for all suspense fans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.