Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Random House, Inc Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering

Cincinnati businessman Nick Cominsky is startled when his dinner companion claims to be Jesus. Yet, over the next few hours, Nick is amazed by how much this man knows and how deeply he cares about Nick's successful, yet unsatisfying life. Will Nick mark this night up to "strange coincidence" and carry on with his life or will he be eternally changed by this encounter? 100 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Review 1 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The very best thing that I loved about this book, was that it reminded me of why I believe what I believe. As others have said, its a fictitious conversation between Jesus and a man named Nick. However as most of this book is written in conversation form, its a great easy read for someone who is a new christian or someone who has questions about Jesus. This book by no means answers everything, but it's a great place to jump off and getting started. I have recommended this book to several people over the years and have never had a negative comment about it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a bad read

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Mass.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book is a small 100 page hardcover made up of ten chapters. Each chapter is between 8 and 10 pages in length.
The book is a fictitious story about an over worked married man named Nick who has a young daughter. Nick spends way too much time at work and not enough time at home with his wife and daughter. Nick receives an invitation to dinner one day and thinks it’s some kind of joke because it’s dinner with Jesus of Nazareth.
I have a hard time with books that put words in the mouth of Christ that aren’t found in scripture because there is always a good possibility of making Jesus say something he never would say or endorse and that’s what we find in this book to some degree but that being said after the first chapter or two I did find the fictitious conversation interesting and enjoyed most of it.
The overall concept of the book was an interesting one, what would you say to Jesus if you had the opportunity to sit down and have a private dinner with him?
The book, in my opinion, is something like an apologetics book meant to give an answer to some of the questions concerning Christianity. Many of the questions that Nick asked are those that the average non-Christian would ask, things like is there a God, what about all the other religions and so on.
The fact that some of the theology is weak shouldn’t surprise anyone reading this kind of a book this isn’t a theology or an apologetics textbook after all so we shouldn’t treat as such. My philosophy is “eat and spit out the bones”. Let me give one example of what I consider bad theology, nothing crazy but weak in my opinion. On page 76 there is a discussion of the six days of creation and without directly stating it the author hints at that being the wrong way to view chapter 1 of Genesis. The implication is that God didn’t create in 6 literal days. There is also a bit of a jab at anyone who would wear a suit and necktie on page 86 (I do wear ties) although that has nothing to do with theology or salvation.
In the end I did like and very much enjoy reading this book. It touches on many of the regular questions and objections you find to Christianity and to Jesus. I think this is well worth reading (even though I mentioned a few things that I didn’t like about the book) and might even be worth reading together with someone who isn’t a Christian but is open to talk.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dinner with a Perfect Stranger

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anita Butler
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We give this book away to those with questions about the how and why of becoming a Christian. Short enough to not overwhelm. Good explanations for all the common questions. Since it was published several years ago, we were happy to find it available at CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An invitation to dinner... with Jesus of Nazareth

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick Cominsky thinks his buddies are pulling a fast one on him when the invitation arrives in the mail: A dinner with Jesus of Nazareth? Yeah, right. But curiosity gets the better of him and he decides to find out exactly what kind of joke his friends have come up with. What Nick wasn’t counting on was that this dinner was going to change his life.
Walking into the restaurant, Nick is surprised to meet, not his colleagues, but “Jesus”, who claims that Nick’s buddies had nothing to do with the invitation. And Nick is surprised at how much this man knows about his personal life. Nick tries to test this Jesus, doubting that this man is actually who he says he is, but for everything Nick brings up, Jesus has an answer. And by the end of the dinner, Nick realizes that Jesus is really who he says he is.
From the minute I turned the first page, I was pulled into the story. I didn’t want to stop reading. David Gregory writes in a way that makes it really real. This book is one you won’t want to miss.
I received this book free from the publisher for this review. The opinions expressed here are my own. 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
dyand
Location:Lancaster, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger is a very good book, especially for new Christians, to give as a gift to someone to whom you may have been witnessing, or to someone who may be asking the right questions and searching for answers. The story begins with a gentleman by the name of Nick Cominsky receiving a dinner invitation from Jesus; he has no idea who it is “really” from and does not believe it could actually be from Jesus. At first he thinks it may be another outreach technique from a local church, or perhaps a practical joke being played on him by co-workers. He shows up at the restaurant thinking he will find the culprits and is seated at a table where the gentleman waiting introduces himself as Jesus. At first he is very sarcastic, thinking this person is an actor hired by whoever was playing the joke. Every now and then, however, Jesus knows things about his past that an actor could not possibly know.
After the initial meet, “The Seating”, and ordering, “The Menu”, each chapter begins as a different course in the meal and covers a variety of topics such as, “Who is to say that Jesus’ way was any better than…” various religions; “What do you mean there’s no path to God?”; “So you’re saying no one can make it?” (meet God’s standard); “What do you have to do to get it?” – the gift; “Why doesn’t God just show Himself to people?” Each time Jesus explains Himself and answers each question in a way that is simple to understand, yet very matter of fact. Many times Nick thought he would be able to trip Jesus up, but the more they spoke, the more Nick wanted to hear.
This book answers very interesting questions in a very unique way. Questions which we may have all had ourselves at one time or another, or perhaps are being asked. This is a great tool, no matter how you look at it. When I was through, I couldn’t help but wonder what questions I would ask if afforded this opportunity. Also, it is short (and interesting) enough to read in one sitting, so as a gift, it would not be overwhelming to anyone. I liked it very much both as an interesting read, and a good resource as a witnessing tool. I received this book free from Water Brook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"a quick read...both engaging and funny."

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger by David Gregory was a delightfully entertaining read from start to finish. The writer did a magnificent job of drawing the reader in with witty dialogue and interesting perspectives.
Nick Cominsky, the main character, and Jesus, Nick’s dinner companion, offered unique viewpoints from their side of the table.
Particularly, I enjoyed the creative way Mr. Gregory identified and discussed topics, such as false religions, origins of faith, and the colorful habits of church leaders.
This book was a quick read, which I found to be both engaging and funny. It made me stop and consider what my “dinner with a perfect stranger” would look like.
~
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in considering the possibilities.
Phone Tree Rating: 4/5 Stars ****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book.

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger is an excellent book to give to people to help them understand our Lord's desire to have a personal relationship with us. I bought several copies to give away. I will read it again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for you ~ AND a friend!

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
booklover
Location:Central IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering, author David Gregory tells the story of Nick, a businessman in Cincinnati who receives an invitation to eat dinner with Jesus of Nazareth.
With chapter titles such as, "The Invitation," "The Seating," "The Appetizer," "The Bill," etc., the reader feels like he or she is another guest at the table. The book moves at a good pace through Nick's experience, beginning with his assumption that it is all a practical joke.
The dialogue is regularly interrupted by the waiter bringing the next course (and thus starting a new chapter) and by descriptions of the restaurant and food, as well as by descriptions of the thoughts going through Nick’s mind, so it doesn’t have the feel of an apologetics Q&A book.
Author Gregory has written a twist on the classic apologetics book, giving it the form of a dialogue between Jesus Christ and Nick, a man who could easily live down the street from you, a man with a wife and child, trying to find balance between work and home, feeling the tension of keeping his job at the cost of disappointing his wife, basically experiencing normal life in today’s world.
As such, Nick is a man who has all the typical questions and doubts about Christianity that many living in our postmodern world do. His questions are answered in a thoughtful, respectful way, leading him to Truth.
I think this book would make a good gift to a questioning friend, but it would definitely depend on the friend. I’m not sure this style would go over well with everyone. (My advice: read it first before giving it away.)
I also think this book is a good one for believers to read, because it shows how to relate to skeptics with a gracious tone and answer questions winsomely. In addition, the book provides the reader with lots of specific answers to specific questions the people around us are asking.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review, as part of their Blogging for Books program. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will you accept the invitation?

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger
By David Gregory
Nick Cominsky has received an invitation to dinner with Jesus of Nazareth. Thinking that he is the target of a practical joke Nick shows up. What follows is nothing like what Nick expected.
Who is this man claiming to be Jesus? As Jesus asks and answers questions, Nick is forced to admit that much of what the world offers is empty and meaningless. Then Jesus tells him that God restores relationships - God’s with humanity. To restore this relationship a person must accept a free gift from God - the gift of forgiveness and eternal life.
At the end of this Dinner with a Perfect Stranger, Nick is left with a decision. Will he let Jesus into his life or leave Him on the outside knocking on the door his heart.
What would you do? Join Nick for a night contemplation and heart-to-heart self examination.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MUST READ-BUY FOR EVERYONE!!

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger ~ David Gregory
This is a great book, and is a quick read. It is about a guy named Nick who gets an invitation to have dinner with Jesus of Nazareth at a fancy resturant and thinks that this is a joke from his friends at work. He attends the dinner and keeps looking for his friends to show up and say to him the joke is on you. That doesn't happen at all.... Nick is face to face with Jesus and learning that it isn't about being good in life to get to heaven, it is all about accepting Jesus into your heart. The whole book goes through each coure during dinner (appetizer, dinner, dessert, coffee) and covers different questions that Nick asks at each course. It explains salvation in a way that I never thought of explaining it and uses examples that make you think. This is a great story to use as a tool for bringing people to know GOD and your salvation.
I would recommend reading this and buying it to give out to all your friends and family. It is a really quick and easy read, with a message that following Jesus is the only way to eternal life. As I was reading this book I kept thinking, what if I was in the place of Nick and Jesus was sitting across the table from me? What would I ask and how would I react? As soon as I got done with this book, I handed it to my husband and told him, this is a must read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook Multnomah book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quite An Invitation

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workaholic, Nick Cominsky gets a mysterious envelope one day that contains an invitation to dinner at a local restaurant with....Jesus of Nazareth! Nick believes he's the brunt of a practical joke. Despite his hectic work schedule, which leaves little time for his wife and young daughter, he accepts the dinner invitation. Even upon arriving for the dinner, Nick still believes his friends/co-workers are behind this joke. Nick's attitude upon meeting Jesus, is well, interesting. He doesn't really believe this is THE JESUS. Some of his comments tend to be a bit sarcastic, but Jesus' attitude never changes. Jesus engages Nick in some interesting conversation about all sorts of topics - from world religions to the existence of heaven and hell. He also knows so much about Nick's personal life. Through most of the dinner, Nick is amazed at that his friends spared no expense in hiring this very convincing actor. As the dinner conversation continues, Nick begins to see that Dinner with a Perfect Stranger just might change his life.
This book was enjoyable and an easy, quick read. Personally, I've been a Christian with a personal relationship with Jesus for many years. I can see where this book is a great out-reach tool for those who are not Christians or are even on the fence, as to their belief. For me, as I was reading this book, I thought of many other, deeper questions I would ask Jesus, if I were ever to have dinner with Him.
For example, “I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Definitely Worth Considering

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamocha
Location:Waynesboro, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What would you do if you received an invitation from Jesus of Nazareth to have dinner? Would you accept? Or decline? Would you even believe it was real? Nick is a workaholic businessman who receives just such an invitation. He decides to accept. In his mind it must be a prank, a joke, but he decides to go meet “Jesus” and have dinner with him. What he finds is a man who talks about religions across the world, who knows many things about Nick’s life, who doesn’t fret over Nick’s words, and who opens Nick’s mind to new thoughts and concepts. Could this man really be Jesus? If so, why did he choose Nick for a dinner date? This book is short but very thought-provoking. It leaves you with questions that you may not find answers too. Find out what it’s like to have Dinner with a Perfect Stranger, you’ll be glad you took time to consider it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger by David Gregory was such a treat. I never read a book so quickly in my life, I just couldn't put it down.
The premise of this book is that Nick Cominsky receives an anonymous dinner invitation. The invitation reads, "You are invited to dinner with Jesus of Nazareth at Milano's Restaurant." Nick believes he is being set up by his co-workers and figures he has nothing to lose by going.
When Nick arrives to the restaurant, he is escorted to the table where Jesus sitting and Jesus introduces himself. At this point, Nick is looking around for his co-workers to see if they're hiding. But as time elapses, Nick couldn't help being intrigued by the conversation.
I honestly felt like I was eavesdropping on their conversation. Not to mention, wishing all the while I could savor what they were eating.
I related with the character Nick; from his work schedule, to his doubts and questions. I found myself laughing at his questions because they were so eerily similar to mine.
Think about it, imagine if you received a dinner invitation from Jesus? What would you do? Quite honestly, I think I would have been just as cynical as Nick was.
Especially by the way Jesus was depicted; he was dressed in a business suit. At some point Jesus even mentions he didn't like neckties. I chuckled when I read this, "God doesn't like neckties. Note that for future reference."
Even though this book was a simple quick read, it is very meaningful and makes you think. I also enjoyed reading the refreshing twist on the Gospel.
I actually cried at the end of this book. I really didn't want that dinner to end, nor did I want Jesus to leave.
I recommend this book to everyone, but especially those who have a lot of questions or are plagued with doubts.
Lastly, I want to thank Waterbook Multmonah for sending me this free book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If Jesus invited you to dinner, what would you ask

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
BaronBookReview
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little book isn’t your typical small, quick, superficial read. It’s actually more of the opposite! It may be small but the contents are thought provoking and reflective. For me, it’s a book that I’m going to have to read more than once to digest it all!
Skepticism abounds in the beginning of the book. From thinking the invitation is a joke from his friends to doubting Jesus at the beginning of dinner---“Tell me (Yesh), can you turn this wine back into water?”. Who can blame Nick? It’s not every day you get invited to dinner by Jesus! But by dessert, Nick is trying to decide if this guy is a nut-case, a great actor, or is it possible he’s the real thing?
Obviously Nick has a lot of questions and much doubt about this whole thing but he’s not afraid to ask the hard questions. As expected, the answers are not always specific or clear cut. They are meant for the reader to ponder and reflect about their own beliefs and values. On the flip side, sometimes the answers touched upon by Jesus are “lessons” that we need to learn.
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger is a splendid read for a book club or bible group. There are several different sets of study guides for group discussions (located here)—discussions for one meeting, 4 meetings, or 8 meetings. For a 100=page book, 8 weeks of discussion shows the inspiration of the book.
I would give this a 5 out of 5 star rating. The story is very well written, easy to read and understand, as well as a way to discover your own beliefs and views. I’m going to give this to a family member who has quite a bit of “alone time” due to his job. I’m not trying to convert someone with the book but just allowing them explore their own principles and convictions. I’m sure we all could use a little of that.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah’s Blogging for Books and have given my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
FeFe
Location:Vacaville,CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. It was given to me to read. I love it some much that I had given the books as gifts to family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
montana
Location:Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this book with our Confirmation Students and it is a excellent book! It keeps the students' attentions but gives all kinds of biblically based information in a casual manner that the students can grasp. It is so well written that it keeps the reader captivated and interested all the way through the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
RaeRae
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend reading. Makes you think what you would do. Very thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Popangel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is really a very good book, I think everyone should read it (believers and nonbelievers alike). I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Teenie
A very powerful book...left me with feelings like "The Shack" which I have read four times...every Christian should read this book and pass it on to someone you know who isn't sure! Jesus has dinner with me every night!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul Landers
This book would become a personal favorite if you would give it a read! To be a fictional book it answers questions many of us have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>