Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
Review 1 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enthralling with great descriptions

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene Single
Location:Maine
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters were engaging and the author's descriptions made you feel you were right there. I enjoyed the many twists the story took. It was difficult to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Has good spiritual applications!

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MEKA
Location:Maumee, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
MaryLu Tyndall is new writer for me! It was a fairly good storyline, however, I found it too full of overly descriptive words; a Thesaurus now worn out! My college creative writing professor would have slashed with red pencil! Less is more! Strains context of story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Location:NH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
The Falcon and the Sparrow is not part of a series.
Dominique is forced to become a spy for France, in order to save her brother. Chase is still affected by his wife's death and finds it hard to be a father to their son. He also has to battle the advances of Ms. Markham, whom he does not love. Dominique becomes Chase’s son’s governess.
Chase falls in love with Dominique, and she with him. Chase is informed there might be a spy in his household, which he cannot believe. Chase starts to lay traps to catch the spy. What will he do when he finds out just who the spy is?
I liked this book better than some of MaryLu Tyndall’s other books. It's one I really wish had a follow-up book.
This book has a certain flow. It's full of surprises, a very worthwhile read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Marvelous Surprise

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carol Clower
Location:Pilot, Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never read anything by this author and was blown away by her compelling style. I was fascinated from the moment I started reading. Had just read a William Wilberforce bio and was intrigued by the tie-in with characters mentioned in her fictitious story. However, the Spirit-filled foundational truths that shine through this novel are anything but fictional. Wonderful!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wavering Faith / Seeking Guidance from God

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lil Coop
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This single novel, "The Falcon and the Sparrow", written by MaryLu Tyndall has lots of action, trickery, and romance. The sparrow, Dominique Dawson, is forced to become a spy for France by them keeping her only brother captured. The falcon, Admiral Chase Randal, needs a governess for his son, William, after three years of his deceased wife, so he can still be out at sea. Dominique becomes the governess William needs, but in the process she is also sent to steal the Admiralty documents from Chase's home in London for the French or the French will execute her brother. As time goes on Dominique learns Chase has lost and turned from God, she grows deeply to care for him to help him see the truth again of God, though as she tries she feels her own faith wavers at what she is doing and seeking guidance from God. Read this wonderful historical fiction novel to see what happens with Dominique and Chase throughout this intense adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of Intrigue and Romance!!!!

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Broadwayphan902
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another wonderful book of MaryLu Tyndall's that is filled to the brim wiht history, deception, and romance!!!! I was entertained through the entirebook and I absolutely loved every one of the characters. It was written so well that it almost felt as if I were going through the same emotions and doubts as Dominique, the heroine. I admired Chase and his son, William. Dominique was a great character, and different from a lot of the stereotypical characters you sometimes see in historical fiction. This book kept me up at night, anxious to read about Dominique and Chase's ending. This was certainly a fantastic read all together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So good!

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesslizzie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost did not wish to read this novel because it was not in series with the rest of MaryLu Tyndall's novels; however I greatly enjoyed it. The plot line flowed well, and the characters were unique. Tyndall never fails to surprise me with new and even more inspiring and creative pieces of work. Well done
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cort
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Falcon and the Sparrow is one of my favorite books! I could not set it down as I read it, and my only real disappointment with it was that I read it too fast! I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction or romance. It is one of the best books I have ever read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great stand alone novel by MaryLu Tyndall!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahjmcb
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Falcon and the Sparrow is a delightful novel about romance, war, and intrigue in early 1800's England. While mostly set on land, there is a nautical theme, as the main character takes a job for a British admiral. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and wish it were part of a series so I could read more about these endearing characters! If you love historical fiction, romance, action and intrigue, England, or just any good book, you will love this one!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
brun
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book absolutly loved it :) story kept me interested throughout the whole book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peggy Muth
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This was an easy summer read. I have always enjoyed regency novels. I also have learned a lot about past history as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Falcon and the Sparrow" is one of my all time favorite books because it's not only extremely romantic, but it's chock-full of adventure and intrigue! It's a story of secrets and spies, and it's not to be missed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracey
I bought this book because it was cheap. I had never heard about the author, so I didn't know what to expect. I really enjoyed reading this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborha Mitchell
This is a book of fiction based on an historical time. If Dominique had told what was going on to the Admiral, the book would have ended after a couple of chapters. It is a 'story' told by an insightful author. If you had truly paid attention to the story, you would have known that nothing was going to happen to Dominique in that room with the drunk. And she probably wasn't as exposed as you think; in those days, women wore layers and layers of clothing. Women today wear less on the beach than most women wear as underwear. This novel was written in a way that depicted a personal struggle; something that we can relate to. I challenge those of you who did not approve of this novel to read it again, or finish it. This time, without putting your own scenes within the pages. I am sure you watch "much worse" things on your own televisions or at the movies. And if not, you must not own a tv.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas
I bought this book for my girlfriend while I was on summer break: I wish I hadn't. We enjoy reading books together. She is always looking for new historical authors to read. I read and enjoyed her Legacy of the King's Pirates. But this book was horrid. As we read the book, we noticed more and more nearly-explicit sexual content and intense innuendo. I'm so happy that I stopped reading early on. However, my girlfriend didn't. She read further on and was disgusted. As a previous reviewer stated, the rape scene scared her (and angered me). The admiral's liscentious thoughts toward Dominique are absolutely vulgar. No gentleman (especially of that time) would even entertain such thoughts. I do not recommend this book. It was sappy romance filled with lust. It was not historical fiction. I am sorry I bought this book for my girlfriend. I'm glad she is throwing it away. Mrs. Tyndall, you greatly disappointed us. This book does not in any way, honor or glorify God.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
preachersilverswife
I got this book because of the price, I didn't think it would be that good and was suprised when I feel in love with the whole story. This was the first time I had read ML Tyndall and I found it winderful. She keeps you on th edge of your seat the entire time, and I love how she lets you see both sides of the story. I will purchase more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gail Horsley
Great Book!I couldn't put it down!M.L. Tyndall is a great writer that takes you away to far off places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anastasia
Personally, I LOVE LOVE LOVE historical novels, I can't get enough of them. This book was no exception. I agree with some of the previous reviews on the a lack of action (there is some but not as much as you'd find in say...a Ted Dekker novel)but it was still relaly good. There seemed to be something pulling me through the book, like a cool sort of intrigue; finding out what happens nect was definitely a must.If you like historical fiction, romance or action you'd like this book. And for $3.99 I can't see any reason why you would pass it up! :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
Although this book has less action than the previous series I read by Tyndall, the intrigue kept me turning the pages to the end. I really enjoy her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Falcon and the Sparrow - eBook
This review is fromThe Falcon and the Sparrow.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
This was a jaw dropper in some spots and a nail bitter. I loved the Dominique and her determination.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>