Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books A Cousin's Prayer - eBook

Barbour Books A Cousin's Prayer - eBook

After her boyfriend is killed in a van in which she was also a passenger, Amish girl Katie Yoder finds herself suffering from depression and anxiety attacks. What-or who-will deliver Katie from the bondage of her fears? Freeman Bontrager has been attracted to Katie for years. Now that she's home, can he break through her emotional scars long enough to reach her heart? When a mysterious package brings Katie out of her despair, hope looms, until the "gift" must be returned to its rightful owners. Will Katie find the courage to really live-and love-again?
Average Customer Rating:
4.725 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
Review 1 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Yoder's life changed drastically the day her boyfriend was killed in a van accident. Despite the change of scenery in Florida, she finds herself suffering from anxiety attacks and depression. No matter how much she tries, she just can't forget about the accident that took Timothy away from her. As she struggles to move on with her life, she slowly becomes aware of something she hasn't felt in a long time.
Freeman Bontrager has been attracted to Katie since they were in grade school. But while the fears that assail her do not deter him from being her friend, the beautiful Eunice Byler just might. Will Katie ever be able to face her fears and love again? Or will the demons keep her from living a normal live continue to plague her?
This novel brought to light how people with trauma in their past might deal with the tragedy. I was struck by how little I knew of the topic, and how it feels from that point of view. The characters varied from supportive to judgmental, and there was plenty to be learned by all. The author explored the topic with compassion and understanding, and despite the heartache Katie faced, God is ultimately the "peace that passeth all understanding."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is rich in Amish history & beliefs.

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandi
Location:Reno,NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book,"A Cousin's promise" is the second in a series by Wanda E Brunstetter called" Indiana Cousins".Someone gave me the 1st and 3rd book in the series. I enjoyed the first book and it intrigued me to purchase the second book. I love the Amish setting and history. The story line keeps you interested to the point you want to keep reading to see what the out come will finally be in the lives of the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blew me away!

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was not what I expected, but in a good way! It completely blew me away to get the inside scope of Katie's life! My heart broke for her with the things she struggled with and I rejoiced with her when she gave her life to Christ! Talk about a powerfully written story! The entire read was so heartfelt and touching!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Yoder's life changed drastically the day her boyfriend was killed in a van accident. Despite the change of scenery in Florida, she finds herself suffering from anxiety attacks and depression. No matter how much she tries, she just can't forget about the accident that took Timothy away from her. As she struggles to move on with her life, she slowly becomes aware of something she hasn't felt in a long time.
Freeman Bontrager has been attracted to Katie since they were in grade school. But while the fears that assail her do not deter him from being her friend, the beautiful Eunice Byler just might. Will Katie ever be able to face her fears and love again? Or will the demons keep her from living a normal live continue to plague her?
This novel brought to light how people with trauma in their past might deal with the tragedy. I was struck by how little I knew of the topic, and how it feels from that point of view. The characters varied from supportive to judgmental, and there was plenty to be learned by all. The author explored the topic with compassion and understanding, and despite the heartache Katie faced, God is ultimately the "peace that passeth all understanding."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read ...

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another page turner by Wanda E. Brunstetter. This one was the 2nd in a series that clearly showed that those in the Amish faith have the same problems and mental health issues that everyone else does. It also reinforced the belief that God needs to be first and foremost in one's life in order to be able to pour out His blessings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was compelling and interesting.

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sue Spaanderman
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Cousin's Prayer' is an interesting continuation of book one in the Indiana Cousins series. It portrays real life situations and is interesting to read. In a gentle way this book shows how friends deal with conflicts and at the same time it is interesting enough to make you want to keep reading it. Quite an easy read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!!!!

Date:March 24, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very interesting. I could not put it down. Every chapter held suspense. Would reccomend 100%.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed this book

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
BlueHeron
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When they quoted the Scripture I received from my Pastor when I went through a similar situation, I felt the need to write. Panic attacks are real. Someone else said that this was unbeliveable. I wish Panic Attacks weren't real. Prayer has helped me more than I can ever express.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arlene Voris
Another excellent book. The book really speaks of courage. It makes us think if we could go through what Katie had to go through
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally Wood
I throught this book was very good. I think other customers would like to read Wanda Brunstetter other books too. I enjoy reading her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Carter
Loves these books. It shows how God works in each one of there lifes.And that Family is always there to help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Very interesting twist to the Amish fiction genre. I don't know that I found it believable, and perhaps when it comes to Amish novels I prefer to really believe them. Again, maybe not among my favorites but definitely a good read and worth the time! I will continue on with book three in March.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I love books about the Amish and Wanda Brunstetter is one of my favorite authors. This book is so well written and addresses the problems of panic attacks people can suffer. I like how her problem was solved with the help thru prayer, Christian counselling, and good friendship. I loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Lange
The day A Cousins Prayer came out; I went to the store and bought it. I was so excited to have another book from Wanda to read. I hoping it would be as great as the rest of her books. I was on the edge of my seat and could not put this book down. Wanda makes her books come to life when you are reading them. This book touched me and I cant wait until March of 2010 because the next book A Cousins Challenge comes out. I totally recommend this book or any of Wandas books to get love, Christian and some simple life values.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris Glaze
Loved the second as well as the first, if not more so. Have never been been disappointed with any of Wanda Brunstetter novels. Since I can't afford new ones ALL the time, I enjoy reading them the second and third times as much as the first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn McDowell
JMJYet another wonderfully entertaining wholesome novel by Wanda Brunstetter. Her Amish stories bring the Amish and their simplistic ways to life. Enjoyable love stories while explaining the differences between the plain and Englishers are Wanda's masterpieces. Lovely stories I think are appropriate for teens on up! Moral masterpieces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tiffany English
Again, Wanda has created another masterpiece, one I couldn't put down. This book is so good, it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time I read it. I would definetly recomend this great book to anyone !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patsy
Loved Wanda's book entitled A Cousin's Prayer. Of course I love all books by her. My goal is to read all her books, but I have a way to go! Would highly recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Webb
Like all Wanda's Books, I can't wait to read the next one. Her writings keep me from putting the book down. I am recovering with lung surgery and had to buy several of her books while I knew my recovery would be a couple weeks or so, and WHAT better than to be laid up reading a special authors books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Cousin's Prayer - eBook
This review is fromA Cousin's Prayer, Indiana Cousins Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
This book was so great I couldn't put it down.Another great book written by Wanda Brunstetter. Can't wait for the new books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.