Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Plain and Fancy - eBook

Barbour Publishing Plain and Fancy - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain and Fancy - eBook
Review 1 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
FaithBurnham
Location:Maine
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very interesting at the end. I love all the books from this author. Thanks for the great read. Faith L. Burnham
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
This is the second Wanda Brunstetter novel that I've read and I have to admit that I'm not really compelled to read any more of hers. This story was so simplistic with no space for originality or creativity - just a standard romance set in an Amish community. While it was a bit more fleshed out than the other novel I've read from this author - "On Her Own" - the characters were total caricatures and not developed enough to actually have motives behind their actions. And the speech was incredibly stilted and fake-sounding. Furthermore, the main character really irritated me - she was so selfish and childish, definitely not mature enough to be getting married and taking on all the responsibilities that an Amish wife and mother has! She only redeemed herself in the last few pages but by this point I was rather fed up with her. I'm giving this book 5/10 as it was fairly enjoyable to read and did keep my interest, even if I feel like I could write a more compelling novel myself! I have one more Brunstetter novel on my TBR and I really hope it's better than this - otherwise, I won't be trying any more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
PrincessP13
I LOVE this series! I think this is one of the best series I have ever read! I couldn't put it down till it was done! I recommend it 100%!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kirsty Pearce
I have to agree with Brenda E. about this book. It was very well written, and while the dialoge and story - line were very clever, something was missing. However, i did like most of the parts, and Wanda made it very intertesting, especially Pauline's character, and how she was very jealous and possesive of Eli. I also liked Laura's dad, and I think that Eli and Laura were made to be together, and all - in - all, i think that it was a very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda E.
I had mixed feelings about the character Laura, she was a spoiled girl. I did like Eli, even if he was hard to understand at times. This was my less favorite of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
amy
This was a good read. I enjoyed the story(99% of it was good). The Amish aren't really properly represented in these books, though. All right, no book it perfect. Enjoy this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debbie Broyles
I couldn't wait to get this book in the mail cause I had read Book #1 & 2 & loved this series. Just as I expected, she continues to make each book more & more hard to put down! Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beth Grindle
I could hardly put it down. Very fast paced.I always enjoy reading stories about the Amish life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
I think these books are GREAT so far .I love reading and learning about the Amish.I think its cool how Wanda puts a recipe in the back of the book.I'm so excited to read the next one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mandy
I Love all the books in the Brides of Lancaster County, but Plain and Fancy is my favorite one. I was hooked after I only read the first page. It took me about a day and a half to finish the whole book. I didn't want to put it down. It kept me in suspense the whole time I didn't know if she would leave the english way of life or he would leave his plain way of life. Its a wonderful book and series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Abi Buening
Plain and Fancy is a wonderful attention keeper book. I didn't want to put the book down. I needed to know if the Plain Amish would turn fancy OR if he Fancy would become one of the Plain Amish. It keeps you on the edge the whole way through. I highly recommend this book as well as the other books in this series. Brunstetter makes the setting real as though you are right there yourself. I glad that my friend shared her book with me and got me started on Brunstetter. I now look for her books at the public library I can't get enough of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
dawn
I loved this book the most out of the series. So much like real life when something goes wrong she runs home to her English family. You would never expect a English girl to turn Amish after having everything. Such a good story. Love all her books and I enjoy reading them and look foward to the next series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Great story, the characters are so real, you can feel their struggles. So far it is my favorite in the series, A MUST READ!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain and Fancy - eBook
This review is fromPlain & Fancy, Brides of Lancaster County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Donna
I've just finished this third in the series....Wow! It is so good. It is so hard to put down once you begin reading...I am fascinated by the Amish and enjoy reading all I can on them...Can't wait for the next one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.