Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas

New Hope Publishers How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas

In How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons?, author Kathi Macias takes a humorous look at the Proverbs 31 woman, debunking the spiritual superwoman myth. Funny, yet serious in her approach, she uses the analogy of human development to her spiritual life (crawl, walk, run, fly, rest) as she encourages women to let go of perfection and trust the captain of our ship, God. Each chapter ends with a "Making it Personal" section with a few though provoking questions. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Review 1 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining, Realistic, Accurate

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How Can I Run a Tight Ship is a joyful romp through Kathi Macias’ autobiographical/devotional voyage through the stages of Kathi’s life and through her progress of growing in maturity in her walk of faith. Kathi’s book is a bit tricky to explain, but her writing is humorous, light-hearted and candid. She doesn’t hesitate to poke fun at her own foibles and growth curve as a young and growing Christian (and mother) as she seeks out the ‘perfect Proverbs 3/Titus 2 role model’.
It is so easy to fall into the trap of perfectionism, and so exciting to read a book that encourages women to trust in God and rely on Him to mature the fruit in their lives despite the fact that there will be a lot of stumbling along the way. I highly recommend How Can I Run a Tight Ship as an encouraging, inspirational read that is just a treat to read through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
Oh, to be the Proverbs 31 woman, the perfect woman. It seems like such an impossible goal especially for the baby Christian woman. But, it can be done if we, like the author says, stay on our knees and surrender to God. God will guide us and show us what He wants from our lives and how we can be the Proverbs 31 woman according to Gods will.When I first became a Christian and was first introduced to the Proverbs 31 woman, I thought no way. I didnt think it was even realistic and felt discouraged, especially since I was about to get married to a good Christian man. I really wish I had this book during that time to simplify what God really expects from us. I really like the way Kathi Macias has written this book. She has written it with humor and personality. She understands the struggles women face and provides practical biblical advice for those of us who strive to be the Proverbs 31 woman. I learned from reading this book that God does expect a lot from us, but if we will just surrender to Him, we will be able to live according to his will. I really liked this book and I think it will be a useful guide for todays Christian woman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lucy Neeley Adams
I asked myself a funny question when I saw the title of this very special book. "Run a tight ship - surrounded by loose cannons - what in the world does that mean?" Getting to the final answer, on the last page, was delightful. I can't run a tight ship. It's not my ship, it's God's. This honest story of growth as a new Christian is refreshing and a page turner. I kept thinking "There was no answer in this chapter, so I'll go to the next one." Funny experiences that Kathi Macias had as she searched are all through the book. She kept looking for that perfect role model of the fabulous Proverbs 31 woman. Yes, we babies in the faith must first learn to crawl. And as we grow we must walk, run and finally we fly with heavenly delight. The greatest of all is getting back to the knee position. We pray and thank God that He is leading us through this world of tribulation to His glorious plan of fulfillment. I loved this book, from Kathi Macias!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Malandrinos
Have you struggled to live up to the expectations of the good woman described in Proverbs 31? You're certainly not alone. That's why every Christian woman who desires to follow the example of the good woman must read "How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons?" by Kathi Macias. Follow Kathi's journey and struggle with Proverbs 31 as she discusses the natural progression of growing in grace. From our Christian infancy, through our toddling years, learning to run, and then finally knowing the comfort and peace of being back on our knees and totally dependent upon and surrendered to God, and knowing He will bring us safely home; Kathi shares her personal stories with humor and genuine compassion for her fellow Christians. Kathi has perfectly captured the many struggles Christian women deal with when they consider and try to follow the example of the good woman from Proverbs 31.At the end of most of the chapters is a section called "Making it Personal", which asks the reader questions that relate to the point Kathi has just discussed. Also included at the end of most chapters were Bible verses that referred back to the lesson. One thing that truly made this a special book is the chapter that Kathi dedicates to her father, Hans. The reader finds a tribute to a beloved father from the daughter who prayed for him to accept Christ as his Savior; and who in his final moments, as he sang a song from his childhood, taught her so much about "resting and trusting in God's goodness for His children." "How Can I Run A Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded By Loose Cannons?" will make the perfect Mother's Day or birthday gift for the Christian woman in your life. For every Christian woman who has aspired to be the Proverbs 31 good woman, Kathi Macias has brought hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Rayburn
Kathi reveals what women need to know regarding the comparison game. The perfect women doesnt exist, and those seem mature and polished arent as put together as others would believe! Its a breath of fresh air to have someone give the reader permission to be who she is. Kathi is funny and she has a gift with words. I laughed aloud when I read, sawing logs like a beaver on steroids. Some humor was a little forced and clich but its filled with other funny lines. I also felt that the jokes about weight or size might be offensive to some readers and easily misconstrued by the reader struggling with self-image. The author has included a making it personal section at the end of each chapter and this is very helpful for reflecting on the content and applying it to life. Each chapter also ends with a scripture quote that underscores the concept. I felt like there were three themes going throughout the book: 1. Living up to the Proverbs 31 image. 2. The process of maturing: crawl, walk, run, fly, lean. 3. Loose cannons. I think I lost the cohesive thread somewhere in the middle but then it came back together at the end. It was almost as if the writer couldnt decide on the main theme or the title so she worked out a way to squeeze all of the ideas in. This would be a great book for a group of Christian women to go through for a reading club. Despite the critical aspects of my review, I think this is a book that many will enjoy and take to heart. Its a message women cant hear often enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons by Kathi Macias is an engaging and humorous look at one woman's lifetime quest to become the Proverbs 31 woman. I've always been a little haunted by Proverbs 31, and I think that many Christian women are. What woman can make all of the family's clothing and bed coverings, plus cook wonderful meals, makes more cloth for profit to buy fruitful land, plus cares for the needy, is thrifty, is never idle and full of wisdom? It's a terribly intimidating list of qualifications! Macias, as a new believer, makes it her life's goal to become that woman, so she sets out to find a role model meeting all of those qualities. What follows is her quest of more than thirty years that stretches not only her faith but her capabilities and introduces her to some surprising people who teach her about faith. As Macias moves from a infant to toddler of faith, she, just like everyone else, takes several face plants , which makes her someone readers can relate to and laugh with. It's a fun book with a terrific message of faith and hope, especially for those who seem to lack the Proverbs 31 gene!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2009
I chuckled my way through this collection of true stories that focus on the qualities of the Proverbs 31 woman, the biblical superwoman. I recommend it for any woman striving for biblical perfection as well as for those ladies who know that they will never get to the starting gate of that race.The author writes in a linear style as she takes us through her life experiences while on her quest to find a role model to mentor her so that she might become the perfect woman. Each of the five sections, representing five stages of spiritual life, is broken into five manageable chapters pointing to at least one measurable step of progress. With the book laid out such, it is easy to read a bit at a time or all at once. Ladies can easily pick it up when there is opportunity and put it down whenever interrupted.I especially enjoyed the swimming pool scene and the skateboard episode.Although humorous, this is no fluffy book; serious spiritual growth awaits. Each anecdote ends with Making it Personal thoughts and a Bible verse which makes it a good idea to use for a ladies' group study or as an individual personal growth journal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
A Proverbs 31 woman is hard to become. None of us are perfect and Kathi points this out in this book. I felt like I was so close to Kathi during reading this book. It will cause you to laugh and feel uplifted knowing we are all trying so hard to be all we can be when we need to rest and get back just trusting God. We can try so hard to be so perfect but it won't work. There will always be loose cannons around to show us we aren't perfect. I felt so uplifted reading this book and have lived so many moments like Kathi. I could relate in so many ways. I have been serving God 50 years and I haven't arrived either. Such a good book for a devotional or just to uplift and encourage you to keep moving forward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Vidak
This is a fun and thought provoking read for the woman who is inspired to be a Proverbs 31 woman in a fallen world. Riddled with relatable humor throughout and reflective questions at the end of each chapter, makes this personal for the reader. Relative for the new believer, sustaining for the long time follower and a great read for the mom who is pressing on with His grace and humility...face-plants and all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erin K. Brown
How Can I Run a Tight Ship When Im Surrounded by Loose Cannons? by Kathi Macias is a must-read for every woman, young and old. Maciass engaging style sails us through her sometimes stormy sea of life in pursuit of becoming a Proverbs 31 woman.Using humor and honesty, the author bares her soul to her readers as she advances through the stages of her spiritual life. With clarity and insight that comes from one who has been matured by the grace of God, Macias leads us to discover the secret of resting in the character of the Lord and yielding to the Master of the Seas. How Can I Run a Tight Ship When Im Surrounded by Loose Cannons? makes an excellent gift for brides-to-be, newlyweds, new mothers, new Christians, or any woman who finds it impossible to become the Proverbs 31 model. This book does not disappointit delivers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
I was completely smitten by the cover of Kathi Macias new book. Then I read the title and laughed out loud: How Can I Run A Tight Ship When Im Surrounded By Loose Cannons? I knew that this was a book I absolutely had to read! Ive studied Proverbs 31 several times through several different sources, but this book takes a new tack. The wind of the Bible fills the sails of this highly engaging read that will encourage and inspire the reader to achieve new heights in the pursuit to become the seemingly impossible Proverbs 31 woman!Macias combines two things that consistently grab my attention: the Bible and the ocean. She blends them beautifully to bring this passage of scripture to life in new ways that ignite my imagination and inspire me to continue the pursuit to become this type of woman with the Lords help. This book is a must read for any lady who needs a little extra wind in her sails.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Reba Cross Seals
How Can I Run a Tight Ship is an entertaining, insightful book by a naive new Christian who immediately wanted to become the perfect woman. Her humorous journey shows the gradual progression she make into a delightful mature, nurturing Christian leader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melody Earle
I thoroughly enjoyed reading How Can I Run A Tight Ship When I'M Surrounded by Loose Cannons by Kathi Macias. Kathi with humor and wisdom actually takes you with her as she searches for her ideal Proverbs 31 Woman. It is a must read for any lady that takes her quest for spiritual growth to heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Velasquez
Kathi Macias' new book How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I am Surrounded By Loose Cannons is an honest look at the life of the female believer. Kathi has the ability to take mundane situations and see God's holy hand in them. She extracts truth and paints a picture that moves the reader along with her, feeling her victories and learning from her mistakes. This book is a must read for new believers who want to see an accurate picture of life as a woman aspiring to become a mature Christian. It makes you feel like you had coffee with a good friend and she shared her life lessons with you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Coates
This laugh-out-loud book is ideal for today's work-in-progress women. It's a delightful blend of humor, Scripture, and insight that keeps you turning the pages. True to Kathi Macias' spiritual maturity, she keeps the life-ship telescope pointed toward our great Creator.Jan Coates
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Simon
I thoroughly enjoyed reading How Can I Run a Tight Ship when Im Surrounded by Loose Cannons. Kathi Maciass storytelling is so honest and engaging that I had trouble putting it down! I could relate to many of her struggles to overcome her type A personality and allow God to be in charge. In this hysterically transparent look at her personal spiritual journey, Kathi recounts the variety of people God brought into her life during her quest to be the perfect Proverbs 31 woman. Her tendency to take things to the extreme and go all out with whatever God was teaching her led to some very humorous and poignant situations, from ministering to convicts to awkward talks with old schoolmates to life changing comments from a disabled young woman. I was inspired and encouraged by her passion to hear Gods voice and follow Him to the fullest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I'm Surrounded by Loose Cannons? Proverbs 31 Discoveries For Yielding To The Master of The Seas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
JP Davis
I have enjoyed reading Kathi Macias new book, How Can I Run a Tight Ship when Im surrounded by Loose Cannons? With humor and excitement, she shares her journey of meeting many individuals who reminded her of the Proverbs 31 woman. In this book you will find words of wisdom on the journey of life. It will enlighten, refresh, refine and help the readers learn more about their spiritual needs. The author gives a clear message to those who will listen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.