Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Fair Play

Howard Books Fair Play

Saddled with a man's name, the captivating Billy Jack Tate makes no apologies for taking on a man's profession. As a doctor at the 1893 Chicago World's Fair, she is one step closer to having her very own medical practice-until Hunter Scott asks her to give it all up to become his wife.

Hunter is one of the elite. A Texas Ranger and World's Fair guard specifically chosen for his height, physique, character, and skill. Hailed as the toughest man west of any place east, he has no patience for big cities and women who think they belong anywhere but home.

Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fair Play
Review 1 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I opened this book late in the evening.
I should really know better by now. I mean, I'm such a sucker for cute historical romance, so needless to say... I didn't get a lot of sleep that night. Now, although I read it on a somewhat sleep-deprived brain, I can honestly say that I loved it and considering I've read almost everything Deeanne Gist has ever wrote, it's a pretty big deal when I say that this book was one of her best. Not only was it well-written, romantic and sweet, but it also had a lot of depth to it.
The only warning I have for you is that it wasn't overly Christian. If you're looking for a novel that screams Jesus from the rooftops, then you won't be satisfied with this book. I'm thinking Deeanne is veering more into the historical fiction rather then the "Christian fiction" label, because although the story mentioned God, faith didn't play a key role.
Other then that, it was great! I highly recommend it to all you ladies who would love a good romance between the stubborn feminist doctor and the handsome Texas Ranger. Our male protagonist was quiet dashing, and I enjoyed getting to know both him and our heroine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointing

Date:May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not enjoy this book. I look forward to reading Deanne Gist's books, but was surprised to find that I did not like the story line or the characters in Fair Play.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trademark Deeanne Gist

Date:May 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite the name, Dr Billy Jack Tate is a woman. A woman doctor, in 1893 Chicago. She is offered a job as a doctor in the infirmary at the Woman’s Building at the Chicago World’s Fair. She meets Hunter Scott, Texas Ranger employed at the Fair in the Columbian Guard. The two get closer when Hunter finds an abandoned baby, and the two of them take it to Hall House, a home for foundlings on the outskirts of the slum district. As they get to know the area, they decide to work together to build a playground so the local children have a safe place to play.
A huge amount of research has gone into the writing of Fair Play, as is evident from the authentic photographs at the beginning of each chapter. This authenticity was one of the strengths of the story, as it made it so much easier to see the deprivation in the slums, and the contrast between rich and poor. It was also gratifying to read at the end that many of the plot points, including the playground, were based on historical records.
I also liked the characters. Both Billy and Hunter were intelligent and ambitious, and both had a certainty in their occupational calling that provided some interesting misunderstandings. This was tempered by genuine caring for the plight of the poor … and each other.
Fair Play is a standalone novel, but is loosely related to It Happened at the Fair, also based at the World’s Fair. It is published by Howard Books, a Christian imprint, but I have to say that the content is more clean general-market romance than Christian, as there is no overt faith element. That’s a disadvantage for those looking for some Christian in their Christian fiction, but will be seen as an advantage by those who find some Christian fiction too preachy. However, it has all Deanne Gist’s trademark passion and I’m sure her fans will enjoy it.
Thanks to Howard Books and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical romance

Date:May 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joan K. Landis
Location:Perkiomenville, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The setting is the Chicago Worlds Fair and the tenement area of Chicago. It gives a realistic glimpse of the living conditions and poverty for the Nineteenth Ward of old Chicago. The characters are well developed and the reader can easily picture the conditions and expressions on the faces of the scene. Texas Ranger Hunter Scott and Dr. Billy Jack Tate give the reader quite a few chuckles and thoughts to ponder. The book has many poignant experiences to keep the reader interested. I hate to say the book is about denying self because it sounds so boring, but that is what it boils down to and the rewards and joys that come from that kind of love. Deeanne Gist has produced another outstanding novel that I would recommend to everyone. I appreciate her portrayal of real life people where she doesn't gloss over the good, bad and ugly of life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Street Children, 1893 Chicago Gangs & Rom

Date:May 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeanne Gist in her new book “Fair Play” Book Two in the Chicago World’s Fair series published by Howard Books takes us into the life of Billy Jack Tate and Hunter Scott.
From the back cover: From the bestselling author of “It Happened at the Fair” comes a historical love story about a lady doctor and a Texas Ranger who meet at the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair.
Saddled with a man’s name, the captivating Billy Jack Tate makes no apologies for taking on a man’s profession. As a doctor at the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair, she is one step closer to having her very own medical practice–until Hunter Scott asks her to give it all up to become his wife.
Hunter is one of the elite. A Texas Ranger and World’s Fair guard specifically chosen for his height, physique, character, and skill. Hailed as the toughest man west of any place east, he has no patience for big cities and women who think they belong anywhere but home…
Despite their difference of opinion on the role of women, Hunter and Billy find a growing attraction between them–until Hunter discovers an abandoned baby in the corner of a White City exhibit. He and Billy team up to make sure this foundling isn’t left in the slums of Chicago with only the flea-riddled, garbage-infested streets for a playground. As they fight for the underprivileged children in the Nineteenth Ward, an entire Playground Movement is birthed. But when the Fair comes to an end, one of them will have to give up their dream.
Will Billy exchange her doctor’s shingle for the domesticated role of a southern wife, or will Hunter abandon the wide open spaces of home for a life in the “gray city,” a woman who insists on being the wage earner, and a group of ragamuffins who need more than a playground for breathing space?
History comes alive at the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair. Lady doctors are hard to come by and even more difficult to accept. Really, who wants to go to a lady doctor except maybe other ladies. It is into this environment that Billy Jack makes her appearance. See, despite the name, Billy Jack is really a woman and a doctor to boot. Hunter is a Texas Ranger assigned to security who finds an abandoned baby. Now he has to work together with Billy to help the baby as Social Services as we now know it didn’t exist. They also discover that Chicago is a bit of a pig-pen and is a breeding ground for poverty, street children and gangs. In an effort to fight against this situation they begin to develop the idea for a playground, an idea that will grow from Chicago to spread across the nation. Ms. Gist blends romance and historical fiction to bring the past alive through her extensive period research. You will find yourself not only caught up with the exciting backdrop of the darker side of Chicago, but the blossoming romance between Billy Jack and Hunter. Great characters and a great romance. I really liked “Fair Play” and look forward to more stories from Deeanne Gist.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2014
If you are looking for an historical romance that will transport you to an interesting time period while making you laugh out loud and cause your heart to flutter then you've found it in Fair Play.
Deeanne Gist has brought us back to the 1893 Chicago's World's Fair and introduced us to Dr. Billy Jack Tate. Despite the masculine name, Billy is very much a woman. Her first meeting with Hunter, the handsome Texas Ranger is quite revealing in all the wrong ways! But never fear Billy quickly evens the playing field when she has to treat Hunter for a very uncomfortable and embarrassing ailment. The two have an instant attraction but of course nothing can come of it because their goals in life are counter productive.
Little did the two know how much an orphaned baby would change their worlds. The plan was to leave him in the capable hands of the women of Hull House. But on the day they made their way to the West Side of Chicago their combined destinies were changed.
Not only is this a charmingly witty love story, it is also a fictionalized peek into the darker side of Chicago during the infamous World's Fair. The juxtaposition of the opulence of the Fair and the slums of the West Side make for an intriguing story-line. One of the many things that I liked about the book was the inclusion of the photos at the beginning of each chapter. They helped set the stage for what was happening during that portion of the story.
Some of the other additions to the book are a discussion guide for reading groups and information from Deeanne on her research and reasoning behind the story. After reading the book it was very interesting to get a glimpse into the making of the story and the rhyme and reason behind why the author chose to stick to the facts on some points and stretch the truth on others. I really enjoyed the lengthy story and look forward to reading and discussing it with my reading group. I think it would make a great addition to your book club or your personal reading list.
I was provided a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billy is a lady, and not just a lady, but a lady doctor scheduled to speak at the World's Fair.
Hunter is a Texas Ranger working as a guard. But while he's working he starts having abdominal pains, so his buddy takes him into the clinic where he meets Billy. Let's just say that he was not expecting a woman doctor.
When Hunter finds an abandoned baby at the fair, he brings the baby to Billy, and together they take him to Hull House. Along the way the trip opens their eyes to the vast differences between real life and the fantastical world inside the fair.
Both Billy and Hunter are strong compassionate character. They interact naturally with each other, and their relationship grows as they work together to build a safe place for children to play.
But there are twists and turns in the plot, and all does not turn out as one would expect. This book does deal with more mature themes, so I would not recommend this book for young teens, however the tough things in this book allow the characters to show their true mettle.
Billy is a determined young woman, who put herself through medical school, she is used to charging into every situation and challenging every opponent. She is not used to asking for help, and is used to defending her independence.
Overall, this is a great story that takes a closer look at the World's Fair, including many historical moments and characters woven into an engaging plot. With sprinkles of humor and deja vu moments throughout. A great new book from Deeanne Gist!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fair Play

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought that Fair Play by Deeanne Gist was a fun and entertaining read. I loved the interaction between Billy and Hunter. Those two were hilarious together at times. I also loved getting the historical glimpse of Chicago in 1893 and of the World's Fair at that time. It was sad to read how the poor lived during that time. But I did enjoy reading the author's vision of the World's Fair. I really felt like I was experiencing it for myself.
Fair Play is definitely being put on my keeper shelf. I think it's one of my growing favorites of the year. If you like a good historical that's fun and entertaining, then this book is for you. I highly recommend it.
5 stars.
I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books, for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Deeanne Gist

Date:May 5, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There has never been a book by Deeanne Gist that I have yet to enjoy. I was wrapped up in the Chicago World's Fair and the year of 1893. I felt like I was experiencing the fair myself.
I enjoyed the complete story but I really appreciated how much history filled this fictional story. I felt like there was so much in this book and it and it had a perfect balance of fiction and history. I liked how Billy, the woman doctor... which wasn't popular at this time... and Hunter, the ranger, got past all of their frustrations and worked together with a share passion.
They saw what was happening with young children, thanks to an infant being abandoned. As they were trying to find a place for this baby, their eyes were opened to the crimes being committed by young children. They were determined to figure how they could help change the lives of these children who were left in such hopeless situations.
On a side note, I really like the cover of this book. I think it is beautiful, with the Ferris Wheel in the background and the beautiful lake. I'm looking forward to what Deanne Gist will write next!
__________
I received this book free from Howard Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Living In A Man's World

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Travel back in time to right after the O’Leary cow Chicago fire and attend the 1893 Chicago Worlds Fair. Deeanne Gist has us walking in their footsteps and we feel we are at the fair, with the inclusion on old pictures of the buildings, and wonderful descriptions. We put faces to the people, although fictional, we become absorbed in their lives, and those around them.
We have a young woman doctor, and of all things she has two male first names, Billy Jack, talk about confusing people. Woman doctors at that time were a rarity, and one would suppose that with that name a man. We also have a Texas Ranger, Hunter Scott, a very self-confidant man, with cute attributes. You will be chuckling when you see how these two meet, and life with them becomes very interesting.
Yes it is definitely a man’s world and Billy is trying to succeed here, but both she and Hunter have big hearts and lots of compassion. There is a lot included in this story, besides walking into the poorest parts of Chicago, and see such poverty. We visit the jail that is so crowded that people and children, yes children, have to stand up, if they sit they are in human waste. Can’t even imagine! Then there are the gangs, and in a way a lot like today, with bullies, and weapons.
Can these two opposite individuals forge a relationship, with so much going against them, along with long held convictions? Will they be able go give an inch here and there; it sure doesn’t look like it. We even have a cameo of people from previous books here, if you have read the first book It Happened At The Fair, you will recognize them, and if you haven’t be sure to pick it up, it is another keeper.
I received this book from Howard Books, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much more than a Love Story

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
KGD history teacher
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Dr. Billy Jack Tate shows up at the Chicago World’s Fair and meets Texas Ranger Hunter Scott, we expect an interesting “lady doctor meets Texas lawman” story. They meet, there is romance, and a murder trial. But, there is so much more. There are wonderful details about the Chicago World’s Fair, information about the difficulty that women had entering the “man’s” world of medicine, and history of the Texas Rangers. The most insightful part of the book is the information about life for the poor and the immigrants during the late 1800s. This time period is before child labor laws were passed, prisons were a cesspool where children as young as 8 were placed with hardened criminals, and all family members had to work long hours to put food on the table and a roof over their heads.
Dr. Billy and Hunter find an abandoned child at the fair. Since they are both single, they have to find a place for the child. This brings them to Jane Addams and her Hull House. Having been raised in the wide open spaces, Hunter is appalled that the children of the slums have no place to play. He feels this also contributes to their delinquency. So, he and Billy set about trying to call attention to the plight of the urban poor and to build a playground for the children.
I have read all of Deeanne Gist’s books and have thoroughly enjoyed them. I think her historical research for this book is exceptional. She is not like some authors of historical fiction who play pretty loose with the facts.
I received an advance copy of this from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A side of history I never knew before!

Date:April 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hardest thing about being a woman, is being respected for having the same knowledge and education as a man back in 1893. Most men still hold onto the belief that women are incapable of holding down a job outside the home, especially when it comes to practicing medicine. When Billy Jack Tate is slated to deliver a speech as an invited guest speaker at the World's Fair in Chicago, the last thing she expected to deal with is trying to gain entrance into the Women's Exposition building when she is expected. But no matter how hard she tries to convince the guards at the building, they refuse to accept she is a doctor.
So she does what any self respecting women would do, and she breaks into the building's basement by crawling backwards through a window. She just never expected that Hunter Scott would be sitting back watching it all unfold without rendering her any aid as a Texas Ranger assigned to work the day shift at the Fair. He caught more than he was expecting to see at the Fair. He holds onto the value that the only good place for a woman is married and raising children. He is more than surprised to learn how strong willed, determined and educated Billy is. The last thing he expects is to find himself in need of a doctor and a lady doctor at that.
They will soon find out that work together is much easier than staying at odds with one another when an infant is found abandoned at the Fair. Hunter believes that since no mother is found that Billy should take on the care of the infant, and Billy assumes that since Hunter found him, that it is only proper he care for the infant. When Billy suggests they place the infant in Hull House, a place for children who need care until a suitable home can be found, they learn about a much uglier side of Chicago's slums they didn't expect to see and understand the darker side of the lives of the children that live there. Will they be able to put their differences aside in order to work for the betterment of the children living in deplorable conditions and find a way to help those that are turning to a life of crime at such a young age?
I received Fair Play by Deeanne Gist compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. I love learning about a side of history in America that you don't often find in your history books in school. The understanding of what life was like for children living in Chicago in 1893 was so much different for the poor over the life of the affluent. Invisible barriers were often erected to keep either side from understanding the struggle going on with children smoking, drinking alcohol and having to find the odds jobs to help put food on their families tables at night. Disease and crime are at an all time high and places like the Hull House are true sanctuaries in the darkest of times. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait for more from Deeanne Gist. A discussion guide is included at the end for book clubs as well as a historical note section from the author. The only thing I didn't like, was that it appeared that the girl's picture on the front cover was cut off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fair Play
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laughter and Tears!

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChooseWisely
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeanne Gist has become one of my favorite authors to read. She writes these fun, romantic, suspenseful, historical fiction dramas magnificently. There is a short list of authors I read with frequency, and she is on it. Fair Play is a title I will read again because it a great story with interesting characters. I loved it as much as I adored Love on the Line and A Bride Most Begrudging.
Fair Play takes place at the Chicago World's Fair in 1893. Billy Jack Tate is a determined female doctor who is looking to make her way in the field of medicine. She is feisty, but still very much a lady. She has just hung her shingle, but hasn't had much of a reception because medicine is a man's world. Billy soon meets a handsome stranger who also happens to be a Texas Ranger. He is Hunter Scott and is the definition of a man's man. They are an unlikely pair. Hunter discovers an abandoned baby at the fair and looks to Billy for help. His discovery takes the two of them down an unexpected path. Together, they work to bring life to one of the poorest neighborhoods in Chicago. At the same time, feelings grow between them.
This book is definitely a must read for lovers of historical fiction. It tugs at heart-strings with weightier matters but will also cause you to laugh out loud. I was given a complimentary copy of this book by its publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I have offered my honest opinion without compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.