Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books The Bride Backfire - eBook

Barbour Books The Bride Backfire - eBook

Two feuding famillies, the Specks and the Grogans, have been maintaining a tenuous peace in the Nebraskan Territory of 1857. So when Adam Grogan gets caught trespassing on their land, he knows the murderous Soeck men won't listen to reason and let him walk away. Adam's prepared to meet his maker, but things take a turn when Opal Speck declares he's the father of her unborn child. Will Adam accept the slur to his name and marry the girl in order to save his life?
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Review 1 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 Grogan's in love with 2 Specks

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Specks and the Grogans are still feuding but things could really go from bad to worse if Larry Grogan has his way. He has hidden a threatening note from his Dad for the Specks with a 'special' addition he wrote to make it more threatening but he doesn't plan on Adam finding the note first. When the Grogan milk cow doesn't show up for the morning milking Adam goes searching hoping Marla didn't make it onto Speck property. As he follows the trail he discovers Larry didn't repair the fence and Marla found the opening. Adam is carefully looking for the milk cow as he tries to watch his back when he sees Opal and that's when one of her brothers comes up behind him.
When Opal's brothers and father don't come in for lunch she goes looking for them and discovers they all have their guns aimed at Adam. Opal has tried to keep the peace between the two families, as has Adam, each on their own and in their own way. To save her family from being murderers and to save Adam's life she claims that Adam will be the father to her child they change their plans and send for the preacher and a witness for a shotgun wedding. Opal is then disowned and sent to live with the Grogan's where she is also unwanted.
And so the story begins, this was a good book from beginning to end and will keep you interested throughout. Three Grogans in love with two Specks and the rest all hate the opposing family, makes for a very interesting storyline. Kelly did a great job on this one. There are three books in this series, I wonder where the next book will take me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betsy Mcclendon
Location:Claremore, Ok
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this novel very much. I am looking forward to reading more of her novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Peacemakers do triumph

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book shows that standing up for what is right can lead to strange turns and twists. Being a peacemaker is not always easy or readily accepted. Strong friendship were made in this book and have followed from book one into book 3 also. Glad I purchased all 3 at one time so I didn't have to wait for the next delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Takes joy in reading
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed this book. Will read again later. Look forward to more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gina Hott Books
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Opal may have saved the life of a Grogan but that doesn't mean she wants to spend the rest of her life with him. Of course, getting that through his thick head is starting to cause her some problems! If her father finds out that a member of Grogan clan is sniffing around he'll shoot first and ask questions later. Opal just can't stand the possibility that more members of her family could die from this feud.
Then his older brother Adam - the only bearable person in the clan - is caught sneaking around on their property with a note in his pocket suggesting that he's planning to take Opal! Oh, so now she has to save his life, as well? She uses every argument she can think of to dissuade her father and brothers from murdering poor Adam without hope. Desperately, she uses the only other thing she thinks could possibly help... she announces that she's pregnant with his child. As they're leaving the shotgun wedding Adam mentions the one word that Opal know will kill them all... annulment. And here she had hoped she could at least be honest with her husband.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stacey Ross
This book was good, alittle slow at times. Lots of he said she said in the book. The beginning and ending our really good, you just have to get through the rest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Caldwell
I'm sorry to say that I hated this book. The only reason that I finished the book was because I kept hoping it would get better. I found it confusing and nonsensical; and the way people just kept jumping to conclusions rather than finding out the truth was frustrating.This is the first book that I've read by this author and I was impressed by her bio, but I was definitely not impressed by the book.Sorry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia D.
The second book in the 'Bride' series is just as good as the first! I almost couldn't put it down! Can hardly wait to read book number3 in this series! If you are a historical romance reader, you've got to add this series to your collection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
So many misunderstandings and misinterpreations of each others motives certainly kept things in turmoil between Adam and Opal. But the book was delightful and all ended well. I love to read all of Kelly's books and look forward to the 3rd book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
MJ @ Creative Madness
After reading an ARC version of the first book in the Prairie Promises Series, "The Bride Bargain", I was confused at two name changes, but that happens and it is my on fault for getting distracted and forgetting that had been an advanced reader copy before final edits.In this story once again readers are treated with descriptions of food and cooking of recipes on the prairie that bring interest and cause a mouth to water. There were more in the first book, yet this one also offered descriptions of bee-keeping that I never knew before or rather had even thought to ask. It was fascinating.This book brought a much deeper intrigue for me than the first as I honestly had no clue what would happen in the end of of any of the twists and turns to get there. That impresses me in a novel. I enjoyed picking up on the lives of characters I had met in the first book of the series and applaud Kelly's descriptions of their inner thoughts through what could only be reference as difficult situations. Scripture lessons on life and shocking surprises are woven through the page of this novel and I look forward to the final installment of the trilogy and of more to come from author Kelly Eileen Hake in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Bride Backfire by Kelly Eileen Hake is the second book in the Prairie Promises series and picks up with the continuing feud of the Grogan and Speck families. Opal Speck and Adam Grogan seem to be the only level-headed members of their families. When Adam shows up trying to find a lost cow to prevent all-out war, his intentions are misconstrued by Opal's family, so she insists he's the father of her unborn child to save him from certain death and her family from the certain violence that will follow. Opal's kindness and beauty had caught Adam's eye, so he isn't entirely disappointed in his wife, but the idea of raising another man's child must be dealt with before he can make peace with this marriage. Hake has a true flair for writing romantic Westerns with a healthy dash of humor and faith. Opal and Adam's relationship moves in fits and starts as they have the usual misunderstandings, but the back story elevates this above your standard historical romance. Adam's brother Larry oozes psychopathy, which he obviously inherited from his mother, Lucinda, and both keep the story compelling. Hake is definitely an author to watch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Coach
While I didn't care for the story line of this book as much as the Bride Bargain, it still is a really well done book. It has the intrigue of two supposidly Christian families, who can both quote scripture, and yet hate each other. True to life? It is evident that Kelly Hake is a Christian, and it shows in her writing. Great reading. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bride Backfire - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Herman
In Nebraska Territory, 1857, there is a longstanding feud between two neighboring families, the Specks and the Grogans. When Opal Specks father discovers Adam Grogan on their property, he threatens to kill him. Opal saves Adams life the only way she can think of: by lying that he is the father of her unborn child. Thanks to her lie, Adams life is saved, but it also results in Opal and Adam being forced into a shotgun marriage.From the start, Adam doesnt want a real marriage. Not realizing that Opal made up the entire story to save his life, he believes that Opal is pregnant with another mans child, and her purpose in lying was to give her child a name. He is frustrated that Opal continues to refuse to tell him who the childs real father is. Opal doesnt know how to tell Adam that what he is believing is wrong, that she isnt pregnant and only wished to save him from her angry father. When she begins to fall in love with her husband and longs for their marriage to be a real marriage, but she doesnt know if Adam, who was forced to marry her, could ever love her for real. Can she manage to set things right with him?The Bride Backfire is an enjoyable western romance for readers who like inspirational romances or clean love stories that dont have graphic adult content. At times I got frustrated with Opal and wished shed just tell Adam the truth already, but that didnt keep me from enjoying the story, and I would give other books by this author a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.