Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2

In Never Far From Home, fifteen-year-old Emma Miller finishes school, starts her own wool business, and is longing for someone to court. When the object of her affection is a handsome English sheep farmer, with a fast truck and modern methods, her deacon father, Simon, knows he has more than the farm alliance to worry about.

Emma isn't the only one with longings in Holmes County. Her aunt Hannah wants a baby and her uncle Seth hopes he'll reap financial rewards when he takes a risk with his harvest. But are these the dreams God has for this Amish family? With engaging interactions and thoughtful characters, Ellis weaves a story about waiting for God's timing and discovering that the dreams planted close to home can grow a lasting harvest of hope and love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Review 1 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish story of change

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Never Far From Home, Emma Miler is a 15 year old Old Order Amish young lady who has finished school and who has begun her own wool business by raising sheep, shearing them, dying the wool and weaving it, and then selling it. She is beginning to think of the "courting" she might do and her "running around" time.
We have to remember that the Amish children do not typically attend school as long as non-Amish do. They assume adult responsibilities much younger as well.
Mary Ellis weaves this story around a maturing Emma and a young Englisher sheep farmer from a nearby farm and township.
This is a tale of personal, family, and spiritual conflicts on many levels. If you enjoy reading stories of the Amish and the struggles they face in a modern world, you will enjoy this book.
I was given a complimentary copy of this book to review and to pass on to the Alamance Christian School library by author Mary Ellis. Also reviewed on my blog: http://ChatWithVera.blogspot.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It!

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book months ago and just realized I hadn't sung its praises. So, I must rectify that situation. And to the book's credit, more the author's credit, I remember it so well that I can say I loved it. Something about the sheep herds sits quite well with me. This is the first Amish book I've read that highlighted sheep farming and I find it very charming. I really liked James/Jamie coming into the forefront as well. I find Emma delightful and I enjoued seeing what would happen with her life. What a fantastic story! Thank you Mary Ellis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book!!

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Savage
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author really knew her history of Holmes County. The second book was every bit as interesting as the first. Love reading about the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Very good Amish series. I hadn't read a lot by Mary Ellis before, but this was a very nicely written series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Schad
I just completed this and it was such a wonderful escape. Well written story, engaging plot with enough twists and turns that made it a joy to read. Mary has triumphed once again in crafting a story that teaches about life in an Amish community. Since I just enjoy learning about the Amish, this was such fun reading. Not mush, very insightful and wonderfully written. A must read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I loved this book and found it precious to me. I loved Emma and her family. I could so relate to how a father worries over his children that they will stay from the faith. My heart ached for Hannah who wanted children so badly. I loved how Emma's friend hungers for the truth in the Amish religion and finds its the way he wants to live. I thought it was great there is the Old Order Amish and the New Order Amish and their great love for the Lord. I highly recommend this book and this series. They are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
"Never Far From Home" was FANTASTIC, I read some of the other reviews and one mentioned that it was not realistic well I thought it was great I think that is why it is called fiction, I stayed up very late just to finish it, I could not put it down I would have to say that Mary Ellis is my favorite author I can hardly wait for the next book in this series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Marsh
I have been reading amish stories for years. Mary's Miller Family series is wonderful. I can hardly wait till July to hear from Emma and James.Keep up the good work!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Emma was a perfect 16 year old Amish girl. Joshua was rather out of place for a modern day farm kid - and this is from someone who grew up on a Missouri farm who family still operates theirs. Farmers today work with iphones and ipods and really don't cross the line to seek out Amish spouses, but do know when the Amish girls are in their "running around" period. Seth still bothered me as a character. He is grouchy, overbearing, andlia is wonderful. Leah, Matthew, Henry come into their own. This was a nice "middle" story in the series, though the plot line was really not believeable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Link
Mary Ellis is a wonderful, passionate writer. I read the first book, A Widdow's Hope, and was so glad I had the second one waiting so I could continue 'living with' the Miller family. Ms. Ellis has a wonderful way of writing which embraces you in a loving hug from the first chapter to the last. You feel as if you are a part of the family, living right there with them, sharing in their joys and their pain. I just found out the love will continue with #3, out in July, The Way to a Man's Heart. I can't wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Regina Lee
If you love Amish fiction, this book will definitely be worth the read! This book was particularly interesting to me, because I happen to live in One of the towns mentioned in the book, and have taken the same train ride that Emma and James took.It was a great follow-up to A Widow's Hope, and I can't wait for the next installment in the series!! Mary Ellis is definitely one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Rayburn
Those who love Amish fiction are going to love this book; however, those who are looking for something that sets this series apart from other Amish fiction arent going to find it. Its the classic story of an Amish girl struggling between keeping her faith and getting baptized and leaving home to face shunning. I was a little surprised by some of the modern conveniences that these Amish folks have. The Amish in my area dont have refrigerators in their homes. All that said, Mary Ellis is a talented writer and she has the ability to weave a compelling story. I know there are heaps of readers out there who cant get enough bonnet fiction, so I know this book will be wildly popular in those circles. Id give the author 5 stars for writing skills and 3 stars for originality. Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Mary Ellis publicist for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Cowan
I am a huge Amish fiction reader. I recently purchased series one and two of the Miller series books by Mary Ellis. I can tell after reading both books that she is now one of my favorite authors. Her books are very real. In the 2nd book Never Far from home she leads you through the struggles of Hannah. Hannah is a sheep farmer which I love. She does fall in love and marries. Towards the end of the book Hannah conceives. I am very anxious to see if she has a healthy baby in the next book. The other main character Ella struggles with her own issues of following her heart and being devout to her religion. She goes through her rumspringa and finds she does not like the English world so much although she falls in love with an English young man. It is very interesting to read the Amish ways. I get lost in the world of Amish when I read Mary Elliss books. These books are both must read books and I cant wait until the next release in July.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
This was a very good book and it kept you on the edge of your seat; trying to guess wich way Emma will go. You long for Hannah to get pregant and you feel her pain and sadness and then you rejoice to find out she pregant. We all take risk in our lives and so work and other fail but we all need to experience this in order to rely on God's word. I recommend this to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
So many Amish stories between an Enghlisher and Amish lovers are about the same but this one is different. I am anxious for the next book to see how this turns out for these lovers and how Hannah makes out with her pregnency.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marie Wiggins
This is one book that will keep you on the eadge of your chair will she go english or will he go Amish u just keep reading to fimd out what will happen next, Cant wate to fine out in the next book. Please hurry and git it out im in suspence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristy Scott
Mary Ellis has done it again. In Never Far From Home you feel Emma's struggles and confusion with teenage love and her parent's and religious limits. Reading a book by Mary Ellis is like watching a movie in your mind. Mary brings her characters to life with creativity and imagination. Mary Ellis is a must read author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Jackson
"Never Far from Home" is an excellent followup to #1 A Widow's Hope in the Miller Family series. I couldn't put the book down, yet at the same time not wanting it to end. The storyline with interesting twists, surprises makes for an excellent read. I highly recommend this book. Author Mary Ellis is right up there with the best in this genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Jackson
I couldn't put this book down, at the same time I didn't want it to end. A great follow-up to "A Widow's Hope". She is a wonderful author and I can't wait for the third book in this very interesting series to be released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Never Far From Home, Miller Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
I have not finished the book however I am sure that it will be just as good as the first one about the lady who moved her sheep. I am at a point in the book where I feel she is being taken advantage of as far as her sheep as concerned and she is standing up to her husband which I had not seen so far in any of the Amish Fiction I have read. I am anxious to see how it is going to end and what Emma will do about James Davis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>