Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1

New Hope Publishers No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1

When her parents are murdered for resisting apartheid, 16-year-old Chioma goes to live with an Afrikaner family---where she falls in love with the farmer's son. But then another tragedy transpires, and she joins a rebel band in order to seek revenge. When cultures clash in life-or-death struggles, will Chioma choose violence---or forgiveness? 320 pages, softcover from New Hope.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Review 1 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Greater Love....Wow! What a Story!

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, I don’t know where to start. This is my first book of Kathi’s so I had no idea what to expect. I just knew her books were awesome from the talk about them and I really wanted to read them all! And having just read “No Greater Love,” I totally agree. We hear about Christians being murdered because of their faith, but reading the events in this book makes the situations come to life. Even though this book is fiction, the author enlightens us to what it means to be a martyr for Christ. Obviously there was an extreme amount of research by the author before this book was written. As well as research of each unique character and the rolls they play in the book. I loved Chioma, she had a loving and caring heart, even as she was trying to hate whites. And the author created a heartwarming love between Chioma and Andrew that will stay with you for a while.
This is a masterpiece by Kathi Macias! Her unique way of storytelling captures you from the very first pages, keeping you in suspense and the edge of your seat until the last page. The heart-wrenching hatred between the blacks and whites in the era was unbelievable. I agree with Jerry Jenkins, with Kathi’s extreme knowledge of the subjects and the setting in the book, she gives you a feeling of being there, right in the middle of the scenes. I shed many tears, as well as wanted to pray for the characters, especially sweet Chioma!
As for recommending this book, it is a must read. Even if you don’t like to read, you need to read this book. I urge you to run out and get this first book of the Extreme Devotion Series “No Greater Love,” 3, Your life will never be the same after reading this book. If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would. It is now on the very top of my ‘Best Reads’ list.
I want to thank the author Kathi Macias for providing me a copy of this book to read and review. The opinions and the review are mine only. I was not expected or required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An enjoyable read. Good adventure makes for fast paced reading. Worth your time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Talk about page turners...!

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Fiction Aficionado
Location:Central Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi Macias's No Greater Love flies by like a jet on a tailwind. The reader is catapulted forward, despite unexpected turns and loops, from start to finish.
Out of her knowledge of apartheid South Africa on the brink of sweeping change, Macias splashes a swath of color--both physical and emotional--across the pages of this epic tale that somehow morphs it, at the same time, into a deeply personal and memorable story. How does she do that? The answer seems to be: with considerable understanding of both the Afrikaner and the black/colored cultures that were at loggerheads with each other in 1989. Add to that Macias's capacity for developing her characters to a depth where the reader can identify intimately with them, plus her expert capacity to weave her story line through intriguing segments, and you have this 315-page historical fiction piece that reads with the speed and fascination of a pocket novel. Were this a film (and it may well become one), I'd want to see it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: No Greater Love

Date:December 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
southernfiber
Location:Upstate SCC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
South Africa, 1989. Apartheid. One of the darkest moments in the history of humanity – the minority whites rule over the blacks and coloreds that make up the majority. Here lies the setting for Kathi Macias’ novel No Greater Love, the first installment in her Extreme Devotion series.
Chioma, a servant for an Afrikaner family, finds herself struggling with her feelings for Andrew, the white son of the master of the farm. Andrew also tries to fight the feelings he feels growing inside himself for Chioma. Orphaned for four years when her parents, ANC supporters, were killed, Chioma has seen her share of tragedy and injustice. Chioma has suffered as a part of the system of Apartheid her entire life, and finds it impossible to trust any white man and – more so – their God. Andrew, living a life of privilege as the son of an Afrikan farmer, also tries to understand the meaning and scope of the Apartheid system his father holds allegiance to. Andrew and Chioma’s lives become intertwined and tragedy surfaces yet again, making a martyr out of the most unlikely person. Chioma then finds herself torn between fighting for her cause and learning how to forgive.
In this story, Macias explores the depth of Apartheid and the effects this system of government had not only on the blacks and coloreds, but also on the whites that wielded power and control for decades. Throughout the story, the characters try to justify their actions and beliefs as they relate to those of the races opposite from their own. Introspection and circumstance even force some to question how God feels about the system of Apartheid that has come to be their culture and way of life.
In this truthful glimpse into a world so many still do not understand, God’s love and forgiveness, as well as His desire for equality and love for all mankind, are illustrated even more beautifully than the pictures of the South African countryside painted in words by Macias. In a culture driven by evil, hate, and separation, Macias shows that God can break down barriers that man alone cannot.
I must admit that I ate up this story! My father traveled to South Africa as a missionary during the years of Apartheid, and I remember growing up hearing his stories of racial segregation that plagued this beautiful country for years. I also have a deep love for Africa as a continent, and pray daily for His word to be heard and believed by all who call Africa their home. For this reason, I have a special attachment to this novel. I had no idea how much I would enjoy this novel, but I can tell you honestly that it’s one of the best stories and most well-written that I have read in a long time. I highly recommend you pick up this novel and discover for yourself not only what Apartheid meant to the people of South Africa, but what God’s grace and power can do in the most impossible of events.
**Legal Necessities: I received this book for free from Kathi Macias.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent faith shown under difficult circumstance

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John 15:13 states, “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” This is exemplified in Kathi Macias’s book, No Greater Love, which tackles the difficult social issues during the violent times in South Africa preceding Nelson Mandela's release from prison in 1990. Through a number of tragic events the Vorster family comes to realize the sinful nature of apartheid. This is a book you will not be able to put down as you watch the unbelievable events that unfold and lead to a life-and-death decision that the coloured Choima must make. Will she choose violence to revenge the mistreatment of her people, or will her belief in God, who she previously thought of as the white man's God, be strong enough for her to find forgiveness and develop selfless love? The constant tension experienced by the characters during this difficult time in South Africa's history makes this is a page-turning novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Kiggins-Lund
With raw truth and gritty realism, Kathi Macias has once again written a riveting fiction masterpiece that tackles a difficult societalissue ... your heart will be drawn into this amazing story of God's transforming grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vonda Skelton
As one who loves suspense but has gaps in history/current events knowledge, I was particularly interested in reading this book in order to learn. And I did.Kathi Macias writes compelling characters and a realistic story, giving us a glimpse into the dark truth of apartheid...and the heartache and suffering it promoted. I especially appreciated that the characters were multi-layered and complex, allowing me to disagree with their actions, but yet understand the reasons behind their motivation.In No Greater Love, Kathi takes the truth of God's word and presents it through the pages of real life. It's a truth--and a story--that will stand the test of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda
Chioma, 16, and her brother, Masozi, 15, were taken into an Afrikaners family as servants, after they were orphaned four years earlier, to work on their farmtheir parents were brutally murdered because they were a part of the African National Congress (ANC) movement against apartheid.Tragedy strikes when Andrew, the Afrikaners son, becomes enamored by Chioma, a forbidden relationship at that time, and she subsequently escapes to a rebel ANC band to survive.Kathi portrays the chaos, violence, murder, prejudice, ugly hatred, and revenge during this frightful time in history of fighting against apartheid. Her use of personal, heartrending emotions make the story very real and touching.Throughout the injustices woven into the storyline, Kathi intricately weaves a story of love and self-sacrifice. Its made abundantly clear that nothing will break down these barriers other than God Himself. But are the characters willing to set aside their revenge and hatred in the name of peace, love, and forgiveness? Kathis genius storytelling keeps us wondering til the very end.You wont forget the horrors of apartheid and the only true way to solve it. Living in America today, its hard to comprehend the national turmoil presented here in Kathis story. Its not an easy read, so be prepared, but its worth it.This book was provided by Kathi in exchange for my honest review. If this is the first book of the series, I look forward to other three!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Before I picked up No Greater Love I didn't know much about the Apartheid. This book reached into my soul, down into the depths of a greater love. The Apartheid lasted between the years of 1948-1994 in South Africa. I was a time of tragedy, and a mockery of human life. In this amazing novel by Kathi Macias, she takes there, in the depths of the pain and suffering, but also showing how big God is. We meet Chioma, a young victim of the Apartheid. She not only watched the lives of her parents be taken, but also her brother, Masozi. She finds herself living on an Afrikaner's farm, with a Christian family, who in their faith, have lost their way in this great belief of the Apartheid. Beyond all color boundaries, Chioma finds herself having feelings for Andrew, the son of this family. Chioma finds herself again watching death, and running for her life. She finds shelter in the camp of those fighting for the cause, but is their fight any more right than the other side? There is no winner on either side, only tragedy and suffering of loss. Chioma finds herself with great decisions before her, and in the deepest part of her soul she hears God calling to her. He reaches her through missionaries and we see her light up as she finally finds peace in all this suffering. Throughout this book the gospel is told in such beautiful ways. As our Savior died for us, we see there is no greater love than His. We see that in a greater love we too must be willing to give our lives for a friend. This is a book that was richly written, molded in passion, and touches the reader as though you are right there with this characters you will never forget.This book was a gift from Kathi Macias for its review.robinsnest66.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette of A Well-Watered Garden
This is a powerful book. Panoramic in scope of the people that live in South Africa during apartheid. I felt drawn in to the story immediately and could not put the book down. It is filled with anguish and heart ache, yet it is a book of hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Chioma, a sixteen year old girl, along with her 15 year old brother, were orphaned when her parents were murdered during their fight again apartheid. Both she and her brother found work and lived on an Afrikaner familys farm after the tragedy where Chioma and the farm owners son find a forbidden attraction developing between them. After a devastating heartbreak, Chioma escapes to join an ANC rebel band to survive and exact revenge for her family and culture. She does not understand the white man or his God. Life and death struggles abound and Chioma must choose the path she must take one of revenge and hatred or one of love and forgiveness. How will the chain of disastrous events change Andrews family? What will happen to the traditions and beliefs theyve accepted for so many years? Many lives are changed in this story. --- Wow! This book had it all romance, danger, suspense, and sacrifices made in the name of love for reasons in which many of us would be unfamiliar. It kept me in suspense throughout the entire book. Gripping tale! I was hooked from the moment I turned the first page. Ive not read a book such as this in the Christian market. I would call this story edgy and I mean that in the most complimentary way. Her stories need to be told. If anyone ever tells you that Christian fiction cant be edgy, contain violence, show revenge and hatred, yet still contain the message of Gods love, the sacrifice of His Son, Jesus Christ, and spread the gospel through fiction theyd be wrong in my humble opinion. And they need to read this book. This story contains grace, mercy, and redemption in ways that need to be shared. Kathi has an extraordinary talent in telling a story to make it come alive. Ill be watching for more of her books to add to my reading list. Congratulations, Kathi. Well done, indeed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Stewart
Set in 1989, with apartheid as the backdrop of No Greater Love by award-winning author Kathi Macias, gives the reader a taste of the injustice and struggles suffered by Black and mixed-race people in South Africa, all with the approval of the South African government. Chioma, orphaned at the age of twelve, has every reason to hate the white ruling class of South Africa. At sixteen, she comes face to face with a possibility that was as foreign to her as it was illegal. Chioma finds herself falling in love with the son of the owner of the farm where she works. Her hate for white people and her love for Andrew throw her into struggles of life and death, violence and revenge, or forgiveness and selfless love.Unlike many Christian novels, No Greater Love offers no formula answers or formula endings. Each time I thought I knew the outcome of Chioma's life, I was surprised with something different. No Greater Love is more than just a novel for pleasure reading; it is also a story that helps the reader examine whether such difficult decisions are possible in today's America.No Greater Love gives the reader a chance to determine how to react if Christians become the target of such bigotry. The questions becomes more than just will Chioma find happiness; it becomes Can I survive the struggles she has faced? This is a book that should be in history classes as well. Apartheid is given scant treatment in many history courses and the reality of such injustice is lost in the facts. Students can learn more about the meaning of racial inequality through this story than any textbook can convey.No Greater Love is the first in Ms. Macias' Extreme Devotion Series. The series will use romance, danger, and suspense to illustrate sacrificial love and victorious commitment. If this novel is a taste of the future books in the series, a winner has been born.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
The Extreme Devotion series takes readers into the heart of Christian lives where difficult decisions are being made for Christ. In the face of persecution, oppression, and opposition, these believers walk with the Lord through these trying circumstances. Not only do we see this tension played out in the characters lives, but all sides of the story are so believable. Lest I give the impression that this is only a love story, sensitive readers should be aware that there are violent scenes of conflict realistically portrayed within the text disturbing, yet based on historical facts.It would be so easy for Macias to have villainized some of the characters, but she never does; writing with true integrity. I have read books dealing with racial inequity that just make the slavers into demons, no in between ground, but all of Macias characters are real, complex, and breath with traits both noble and ignoble, regardless of which side of apartheid we find them on. She in no way approves of apartheid, and presents it as a travesty, but through her writing we can see each character her pen touches as a soul in need of a saviour, and she leaves us with some hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
No Greater Love is an amazing tale about the troubled heart of a young South African woman who learns the meaning of sacrificial love from people she least expected. This story is similar to Scared by Tom Davis, which I adored, except that No Great Love deals with Apartheid and true Christian faith as opposed to the AIDS epidemic. This story begins in a powerful way and I was enthralled with the storyline. Then I read in disbelief as the world around this young woman crumbled. I wasn't sure how the author would be able to keep me reading after the devastation that occurred. But I was curious and kept reading only to discover that the story continued just as powerfully even with an entirely different set of circumstances. I could not stop reading this story and was emotionally moved by the plot and the amazing characterization. The pacing was excellent and the spiritual thread was strong. This is a novel that is life-giving and inspiring. Just how willing are we to be used of God despite the potentially negative consequences that might occur from our obedience? This wonderful story makes you think hard on that subject. I highly recommended it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
No Greater Love by Kathi Macias is the first book in the Extreme Devotion series about Christians around the world facing the ultimate test of faith. In 1989 South Africa is still under apartheid. No one knows that better than Chioma. Now a servant on the Vorster farm, she watched her parents slaughtered by the white authorities for insurrection, then her brother murdered by friends of the Vorster's son Andrew. She's tried to fight her feelings for Andrew, but his knowing blue eyes force her to see him as more than just the color of his skin. After yet another tragedy, Chioma lives on the run, hiding with rebel forces known as the ANC. Meanwhile, the Vorsters, Anana and Pieter are forced to reconcile their deep faith with apartheid and how it has affected their family. Macias does a wonderful job portraying the complicated emotions of the Vorsters as they struggle with their faith, as well as with Chioma's wavering loyalty. She puts the reader in the middle of a story that can have no happy ending, but forces us to sympathize with Chioma's suffering as well as the Vorster's confusion. Macias makes the characters come to life and refuses to take the easy way out. It's a powerful novel that will force readers to think deeply about what true faith looks like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Once again, Kathi Macias has written another book with excellence. You will not be disappointed when you read No Greater Love. Endorsed by Jerry B. Jenkins, No Greater Love tackles the sensitive subjects of interracial relationships and martyrdom. This page-turning book offer suspense, romance, and a thought-provoking message. The most exciting message of the book explains the truth that Jesus came for everyone equally. Im a fan of Kathi's books and I am thrilled that New Hope has released her Extreme Devotion series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melody Earle
No Greater Love is a powerful story with excellent characterization that hooks the reader. As one gets caught up with each emotional upheaval, one intuitively knows that this story has a deeper meaning than what appears on the surface. Kathi has written a book that puts into words and actions AGAPE love. Thanks for this picture of what it truly means to have Christian love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cassandra Wessel
Compelling, captivating, challenging, are all words that describe Kathi Macias' first novel in her four novel, Extreme Devotion Series, "No Greater Love." Without doubt, it is really worth reading. It grabs and holds our attention. It challenges our own closely cherished ideologies. We find ourselves falling in love with the characters and caring about their lives. We can hear the beetles sing. We can inhale the scents of South Africa. We will feel the road dust cake upon our calves and clump between our toes. We will enter into the lives of these people and wish with all our hearts for a happy outcome. We might even find ourselves praying for them, then wondering what we are doing praying for fictional characters. We need to be sure to allot a whole day for reading it (if a slow reader like me), because once we pick it up, we will not want to put it down to attend to the 'tyranny of the urgent.' If we love mysteries, thrillers, high dramas, tragedies and truthful love, this book is for us. But if we are looking for a 'soft' read, 'fluffy' sentimentalism, 'gooey' love stories and escapism, this book will still be a great read; but we will not find those things. What we will find is a story with an eternal message of ultimate, unrequited love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Orphaned four years earlier when their parents, active in the African National Congress (ANC) movement against Apartheid, were murdered, 16-year-old Chioma and her 15-year-old brother, Masozi, now live and work on an Afrikaner familys farm. When Chioma and Andrew, the farm owners son, find themselves attracted to one another, tragedy revisits their lives. Chioma escapes to join an ANC rebel band in her effort to survive and gain revenge for her family and race. When cultures clash in life-or-death struggles, Chioma must choose between violence and revenge or forgiveness and selfless love. Loosely based on historical events and set near Pretoria, South Africa, in the violent upheaval prior to ANC leader Nelson Mandelas release from prison in 1990 and his ascendance to the presidency of South Africa, this story of forbidden romance produces an unlikely martyr who is replaced by one even more unlikely. No Greater Love by Kathi Macias explores the evils of Apartheid while exposing the hope and courage that finally brought it down. Beginning with a forbidden romance, this story follows the unexpected heroine in her pursuit of honor, love, and sacrifice, ending with a promise of peace that floats on the wind and echoes in the heart of all mankind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for No Greater Love, Extreme Devotion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lucy Neeley Adams
While reading NO GREATER LOVE I was drawn deeper and deeper into relationships with it's characters. Even on the first page, my exciting journey began with sixteen year old Chioma and her beloved brother. Throughout the chapters I felt as if every person became a friend or foe. When they were happy or sad, fearful or brave, angry or kind, I too felt those emotions. Author, Kathi Macias has shown me a part of the world I knew nothing about except through news reports in the media. As she wrote about South Africa in 1989 I visualized through her words: "a beautiful land marred by the ugliness of a system that enforced a cruel and unequal separation of the races." The meeting of Chioma and Andrew at the home place where he lived and she worked ,as a maid, was enthralling. He was her boss' son with his white skin and eyes of blue. Her skin that resembled creamy pale coffee should have spoken loudly to him, "Stop your deep feelings for this girl...or else." It is easy to share my joys of becoming a part of this story, but I also felt fear and frustration. I eagerly turned the pages to see what the black rebels would do while they tried to fight for their rights in this land. A variety of moods ran through each chapter. Waste no time! Jump into an adventure as you read this powerful book by Kathi Macias. Then go and tell your neighbors about NO GREATER LOVE . They will be glad you did. (This is the first of four novels in the Extreme Devotion Series from New Hope Publishers.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.