Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Harvest House Publishers The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3

The year is 1818 and Miss Beatrice Forsythe is determined to marry well. After all, her sister, Ariana, married The Paragon, Mr. Phillip Mornay, five years earlier--which all but guarantees that she, Beatrice, can also make a famous match to a wealthy man.

But her sister and husband have disappeared from high society as they raise a family at their country estate. Can Beatrice persuade them to chaperone her in London? And what about Beatrice's business with the curate, Mr. O'Brien, whom she rashly promised to marry years earlier. At seventeen now, she has no wish to marry a mere clergyman-despite his agreeable countenance and gentle, understanding ways.

When Mr. Tristan Barton becomes the tenant of the Manor House, Beatrice's hopes seem to have found their object. But when Ariana falls gravely ill, secrets come to light, motives are revealed, and the pretenses that are easy to keep up in the darkness begin to crumble. Hearts are bared, truths uncovered, and when all is said and done, a country house courtship like no other has occurred!

Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Review 1 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

O.K.

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
gsbellm
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series, but have been dispappointed in the following ones. It's O.K. Story is interesting, but slightly stilted and contrived. I wouldn't read it again and wouldn't keep it, but I did read it all the way through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Burkard does not Disappoint

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is Burkard's third book in this series. It is 1818 and Miss Beatrice Forsythe is determined to go to London and marry well at the age of 17.
Beatrice meets with the clergymen again after 5 years. Mr. O'Brien, is a clergyman whom she promised to marry when she was twelve. (They are introduced the the first novel, Before the Season Ends) Shorthly after the clergymens arrive, Mr. Tristan Barton comes to live in the Manor House on a business trip sent by the Regent. The Manor house sits near the Mornay's country estate. Beatrice hopes to see herself settled with him. She soon learns the truths of these men. In turn she realizes her own heart and her desires.
Nice ending. Found the dialogue with him and Mr. Barton witty. The characters put their trust in God when Mrs. Mornay falls ill. I think her mother could have been better developed sometimes I found her a little naive.
Christians and fans of the Regency Period should read this set of novels. Burkard understands the Regency Period
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Satisfying Conclusion

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although nothing can compare to the ravenous thrill with which I devoured Before the Season Ends, Linore Burkard’s first Christian Regency romance, the closing of the trilogy that novel spurred provided a satisfying conclusion.
Following Ariana’s younger sister Beatrice through her conflict over two potential suitors, we’re able to see Ariana and Phillip’s relationship as it has matured into deep, married love, and delight ourselves in the younger Forsythe’s antics.
The Country House Courtship is still certainly well written, and O’Brien, once obsessed with Ariana, has matured into the man his early appearances promised. It’s also very exciting (if unconventional) to see Philip and Ariana taking an active role in the parenting of their children despite their upper-class status and the cultural norms of their society.
Readers may find some of the plot of Before the Season Ends somewhat derivative, as some of the main action points very closely parallel the middle installment – The House in Grosvenor Square. I have to say that nothing has quite equaled the delightful inventiveness of Before the Season Ends and none of the following novels has lived up to the promise of the first entirely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurie Alice Eakes
With old-fashioned grace, Burkard tells a gentle tale sure to transport the reader back to the era of Jane Austen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandi Rog
After picking up this book, Ive decided I have to get my hands on the first one. If you like Jane Austen (which I LOVE), youll like this with its refreshing, easy prose. Linore brought the Regency era to life with its customs, practices, dialogue, descriptions, etc. I really felt like I was there! For readers who want to curl up in a cozy corner with a cup of tea, this is a sweet escape into the world of Austen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Lynne Costello
I'm not a Jane Austen fan unless I need a good way to go to sleep. So it's probably a good thing I didn't read Jane Austen before I read Linore Burkard's books. Ms. Burkard knows her regency history. You can go in knowing nothing about regency and when you close the book at the end you will have had a history lesson without even knowing it! The author keeps you engaged from start to finish in the book. IMO if Jane Austen were alive today and writing regency, Linore Rose Burkard would be giving her more than a run for her money. Where Jane Austen's books drag on and on with with nothing more than a bunch of meaningless chatter, Linore Burkard cleverly keeps you turning the pages.If you are Jane Austen fan you will LOVE Country House Courtship. It's like Jane Austen with spice! If you aren't an Austen fan you'll be pleasantly surprised at what a fun read CHC is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
A good word that can be used to describe Beatrice for most of this book is foolish. She is quite sure that she knows what she wants, how she is going to get it, and she doesnt really want other peoples opinions on the subject. But as the book progresses Beatrice grows in wisdom and she begins to see what is really important. Mr. OBrian is a lot older now and a lot wiser. I really liked him as the male lead. (Although, Mr. Mornay is still my favorite guy!)Linores writing does not disappoint. She has in this book the same historical detail and accuracy that made her first books great in my opinion. She has a style all her own, but very like that of Jane Austen. I think this is a great last book in this series and I look forward to more from Linore!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Piccurelli
This is the third installment in Linore Rose Burkards continuing saga of the Forsythes and the Mornays. Beatrice Forsythe, sister to Ariana Mornay, is now seventeen years old, and determined to have a London season and find a wealthy husband.But Ariana and Phillip have given up the high society lifestyle as they raise a family at their country estate, which foils Beatrices plans. She is hopeful to convince them to chaperone her in London. Then, an old acquaintance of both Ariana and Beatrices shows up. Mr. Peter OBrien has arrived to procure the position of vicar at Glendover, owned by Mr. Mornay. Beatrice is not happy with this turn of events, as she is embarrassed that she rashly promised to marry Mr. OBrien years earlier.When Tristan Barton becomes a neighbor, he also becomes a prospective husband for Beatrice. But Ariana falls gravely ill, upsetting Beatrices plans, and she learns a life lesson she wont soon forget.This is another delightful inspirational Regency romance by Linore that pleases and satisfies as well as the first two have. Ariana and Phillip are more in love than ever, and Mr. OBrien, a character I never much cared for in the other two books, has believably turned into a strong, admirable love interest for Beatrice.As always, the setting and time period are as authentic and Jane Austen-ish as ever, becoming characters in their own right, and adding so much to the essence of the story. If youve read Linores other two books, youll certainly enjoy this one. But even if you havent, pick up a copy, and I guarantee youll be hooked.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Buffy Register
I have just finished reading a wonderful book called, The Country House Courtship. This book, set in the Regency Period in England, is a wonderful romantic look back in time. I will say it is the best fiction book I have read in years! The book is in the tradition of Jane Austen but I dare say, it is even more exciting. The book has us encountering exciting turns of events all throughout. We meet a roguish villain and learn of a bit of scandal. We see how seemingly impossible events can in fact be worked out to the good. On more than one turn and the book leaves us pulling for the main character to make the right choices. As I neared the end of the book, I absolutely could not put it down, it was that exciting. The book is full of faith and inspiration and everything you could want in a good book. I am now a Linore Rose Burkard fan. This is the third of her published books and I cant wait to read the rest! I hope you will give her a read, she wont disappoint you, I promise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelli Glesige
With much enthusiasm, I enjoyed this third story in the Regency Romance series by Linore Rose Burkard. The values and morals of the main characters are very refreshing. We are offered an uplifting story with romance, adventure and mystery. I feel as comfortable for my young teen daughter to read this selection as I am for my set in her ways grandmother. The book tells an exhilarating saga of a young lady and her quest to find the perfect husband while realizing what she thought was important may not actually be so.The author uses dailogue of the time period to enhance its reality, but sometimes this leaves the meaning somewhat questionable. However, Burkhard is very good at giving clues and clarifications to help the reader. I always find reading a book by Burkard to be a learning experience of the Regency Period. A short glossary of terms is also included to enhance our understanding, and I found myself referring to this several times throughout. I recommend this book to fans that enjoy Jane Austen and the Regency Time Period. The book is a story unto itself, but if given a choice, I recommend reading Before the Season Ends and The House in Grosvenor Square before reading this third selection in the series. Well done, Linore!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Country House Courtship by Linore Rose Burkard is the third in the Regency Inspirational Romance series. When Beatrice Forsythe was just twelve, she swore that she would marry Mr. O'Brien, a former suitor of her sister Ariana, but five years later, her standards for a husband have changed significantly. Having seen the style of life Ariana lives while married to the Paragon, Philip Mornay, she wants that kind of wealth for herself. Tristan Barton seems to promise that kind of life, but when Mr. O'Brien makes a surprise appearance, she finds that her heart may want something different than her head. Burkard's women are smart, beautifully dressed, and aren't afraid to express themselves. Beatrice has a slight Austenesque appeal in that she wants luxury and wealth, but finds herself drawn to a man of character. There are some humorous misunderstandings, along with a stereotypical villain who is made more real by his three-dimensional sister. Burkard easily juggles all of the many storylines, and I enjoy how she keeps faith within the framework of the story without making it preachy or boring. While the story does feel like it's come to a natural ending, I do hope that Burkard hasn't left Forsythe family forever. There are more sisters to marry off!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Lesire Brandmeyer
This is book 3 in this series, but you don't need the other two to fall in love with this story. Burkhard has an amazing talent to write a book with just enough details to get the stories that happened before without spoiling them if you want to go back and read them. If you have read the other two you'll be pleasantly surprised that there isn't a ton of repetition of what you all ready know. The Country House Courtship is pure delight. The main characters you fell in love with before are still very much present in this book. They haven't grown old and withered on the vine! Ariana and Mr. Mornay have settled in there country manor with their children and life is enjoyable. Ariana's family comes to visit. Her younger sister, Beatrice is longing for the excitement of London and a a season in high society. Ariana's mother thinks Beatrice is to young and her heart is set on the wrong things. Beatrice is sure she can land a rich husband despite not having a dowry, after all her sister did it why not herself?Life gets interesting at the Country House when two gentlemen arrive that interest Beatrice. Whom will she choose? Will she go for the money or for love? Burkhard's claim is she writes for the Jane Austen soul. Please don't send me hate mail but I think Burkhard writes better than Austen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
As I thought, it was an enjoyable read! Ariana (from the previous two books)is married happily with children in this Jane Austen type novel and her young 17 year old sister is growing up and looking for her own chances at marriage. When begging to go to Town be presented is not working, she finds herself presented with two chances of suitors in a much closer range. Will she make the right decision? Will she marry for money or for love? What role will faith play in her decision or will she leave behind all of that to pursue riches? So many questions for this young heroine.I enjoyed reading this, Linore does a good job keeping the era's way of speaking authentic and entertaining! I was surprised at all the mention of nursing her babies, as I know that was not common and she touched on this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
jubilee
If you are a fan of historical romances, then this book fits the bill splendidly. If you ever thought about dipping into the world of historical romance, I recommend it and The Country House Courtship is your chance.This is the third book in the series following the Forsythe sisters through the ups and downs of romance and wedded bliss. I found The Country House Courtship to be a little more sedate than the previous books, but then it is set in the country where life is quite a bit less hectic.I've been wondering . . . since there is a fourth sister, Lucy . . . might there be yet another novel in this series that we can look forward to? I sure hope so.Keep 'em coming Ms. Burkard, keep 'em coming!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
The Forsythe sisters are together again but this time the teenager is Beatrice bent on having Ariana present her at the London Season inorder to obtain a wealthy husband. But, and of course with every romance there is a "but", she meets up again with Mr. O'Brien who is now a member of the clergy and Mr. Barton who seems to be a member of the ton. I enjoyed the story, Ms. Burkard has again presented the emotions of a Regency teenager with what appears to be accuracy of the time and understandable to today's feelings. I didn't feel that I was in a foreign time that didn't make sense which is a good thing. I liked how she wove the Christian faith into the family's everyday life, it was part of their makeup not something that just occured on Sunday. I really was surprised and liked the twist at the end, not something that I even imagined would happen. That was the best part.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christina Hohmann
For all of you, like myself, who love Linore Rose Burkard's novels, get ready to have fun yet again! Ms. Burkard's third novel in this series, The Country House Courtship, is wonderful! What a treat to see The Mornays 5 years later, happily married and with a precious little family. We get to reunite with other well-loved characters and friends again...in the forefront, Beatrice, Ariana's little sister. All grown up and desperately wanting her moment to shine in the London Season. She has decided that she must marry someone who can ensure that she has the prosperous life that Ariana has been blessed with. However, her plans may be changed when a man from the past suddenly reappears on the scene. Peter O'Brian, the man she impulsively proposed to when she was 12 yrs. old! Oh my! And what of the new stranger in town, Tristan Barton? Could he be the answer to her lofty prayers? This novel is a delight from beginning to end! If you have not read the first two, I strongly suggest that you read them first. First, because they are fabulous and fun and secondly, because they will give you the background knowledge to thoroughly enjoy The Country House Courtship. So sit back and get ready for yet another delightful adventure!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Rayburn
Linore Rose Burkhard won a place on my list of new favorite authors with this book. It's a delightful story, well-researched, and packed with tongue in cheek humor that puts the reader in the head of the author as the narrator. But putting little notes in parentheses, the author answers some questions a reader might have about the plausibility of certain occurrences. I enjoyed this conversation between author and reader. I also enjoyed the elements of mystery and romance.For the reader unfamiliar with regency romance, this isn't a light read, despite the pace of the story and the entertaining aspects of it. Because the language and style is consistent with the period, it takes some thought to process. Dialogue isn't always separated into new paragraphs for each speaker, which again requires thoughtful reading. Fortunately, the author has included a glossary in the back for those unfamiliar with certain regency terms. The other feature that makes sets this genre apart from modern romance or women's fiction is the point of view. It changes often, sometimes within a paragraph since it is told in third person omniscient. Since I rarely read this style, it took a little getting used to. Reading this book was like getting a little historical culture lesson through fiction that was just as pleasant as consuming dietary fiber via a delicious brownie. It made it thoroughly pleasant! I'm sure I'll be looking for other books by Burkard now that I've been hooked on the style.Note: I received the book for review from the publicist, but all reviews are fair and objective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Howard
Rather drawn out and slightly lacking in the punch the other two books in the series carried. The minor story of Ms. Barton was a plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Green
Though Ariana and Mr. Mornay are not the focus of The Country House Courtship, they are still involved and it was gratifying to see them married and living together happily with their young family and all the enduring love they had for each other while courting.In this third book of the series, Ariana's younger sister, Beatrice, is coming of age and looking for a good match. What I find wonderful of Ms. Burkard's writing is how different Beatrice is from Ariana. You can tell from the beginning she is young and naive and has a lot of growing to do--both emotionally and spiritually--before she arrives at her happily ever after.Beatrice actually quite cracked me up. She is so free in her thinking and she must have taken advice from the ilk of Mrs. Bennet from P&P for she believes as her sister married so well she quite deserves a man just as well situated. Mr. O'Brien isn't your typical Regency hero. He's isn't anything like Mr. Mornay. He might seem to have less presence but maybe you just have to take more time to get to know him. He's gentle with a giving heart and obviously meant to be a man of God. And though a clergyman, he has a sense of humor. Even more he is a man of strength with a heart to love a woman with all his might.The author gave her two lead characters five years between book 2 and 3. This gave them time to mature, change and become worthy of being hero and heroine without being totally different and unrecognizable.Again Ms. Burkard ahs me with her amazing prowess with the written word and her grasp of the Regency period.Fantastic from cover to cover!I absolutely loved this book--just as much as the first novel of the series. I couldn't wait to dive into the book each day until it was finished. What I really found to be true after reading Ms. Burkard's books is that days later I'm thinking about them...about the characters. That's the sign of a good book--you don't soon forget it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Country House Courtship, London Regency Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
This is a wonderful, delightful inspirational Regency Romance. The story is well written in depth and detail. It is the third in the series but can be read as a stand alone. The story is captivating, romantic, inspirational, fast paced,page turning and if you are a Jane Austin fan you will love this one. The characters are charming, lovable, and will transport you to the Regency era. This is a wonderful, delightful story of love, family, faith you will not want to put the book down. I would highly recommend and if you havent't read Before the Season Ends and The House In Grosvenor Square, get them you wont't regret reading them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>