Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2

New Hope Publishers More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2

More than Conquerors takes place in Tijuana and Chiapas, Mexico. With violent crime on the rise and the political climate changing throughout Mexico, Pastor Hector Rodriguez finds himself at odds with his own Christian teachings when murder threatens the sanctity and safety of his own family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Review 1 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner from author Kathi Macias

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review:
Virginia lives away from her family in the village of San Juan Chamula, which is located in the middle of Mayan difficulties and hostile situations. Her son Hector wishes Virginia would move back home closer to her family, but she is confident that the village is where God wants her, even though it is difficult and dangerous to witness to anyone.
As the family continues to worry about Virginia, she continues to witness to anyone who will listen to her until one day she disappears. This frightens Hector and the family even more, and causes him to worry about the safety of his own family. Even having help with his ministry from family friend Marty from California, safety is still an issue.
Author Kathi Macais writes another masterpiece with this story set in Mexico. With a cast of characters that are unique and so wonderfully blend together with one another, this story takes you to a location where it is dangerous to talk about God and the Bible freely. You will be able to feel the fear and hurt with these families as well as feel the love, joy and peace of knowing that God will carry them through whatever difficulties they face. You will get to know the lifestyles, food and the area where these families live. But more importantly, you will see their passion for the God they so love.
Sometimes when a book has several different stories going on, it is difficult to read and understand, but not with Kathi’s books. Her writing is so awesome and professional you will have no problems with confusion or understanding where the plot is going. She blends the stories together so well it is just like living in the story right along with the characters.
I like the heavy scriptural content of the book, and I especially like Virginia’s verse throughout the book, Romans 8:37, “Now, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” After reading this book, you will have a different attitude about missionaries and what they face when on the mission field. This book is a Must Read! I would highly encourage you to buy a copy of book, read it and pass it along! It will change your life, just as it did mine.
I received this book from the author to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent page-turning drama

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romans 8:37 states, “In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” This Scripture passage is played out in Kathi Macias’s book, More Than Conquerors. Missionaries and pastors who teach the Gospel and carry Bibles deep into the hostile areas of Mexico experience persecution from those steeped in the power of the shamans and spiritual warfare of the Mayan people. Hector Rodriguez, pastor of a small church in Tijuana, is warned not to expand his ministry there, when his mother, Virginia, who is teaching in that dangerous area, becomes missing. The book contains romance and family commitments pitted against the backdrop of gangs and violence. Yet the message of pastors and missionaries with a strong faith to know that “He who is in them is greater than he who is in the world” prevails. You won’t be able to put this book down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a test of faith!!

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get ready for a ride into Mexico my friends!! More than Conquerors is book 2 of the Extreme devotion series. Persecution and evil is present in San Juan Chamula. Virgina Rodriguez has been called by God to devote her life to the people of this town. She is on a mission to spread the gospel in a place where outsiders are not welcome. She is the mother of Hector Rodriguez. Hector too has been called to devote his life to Christ and his message. Hector is a Pastor in Tijuana, husband and father. This devoted family is missing one thing, Hector's father. He left their family years ago and is now trying to find reasoning behind the demons he is facing during death. There are many beloved characters in this book that will have you searching your heart. Would you stand in faith? Would you allow fear and persecution to stop you from telling others about Jesus Christ? This family knows all to well the area, the people and what their hearts are yearning for so badly, but the people are allowing the old ways to overshadow what is true. We also meet Marty, a friend of the Rodriguez family. He is searching all the Lord has for him. We get to watch his journey as he seeks God's will by turning to this family and opening his heart to all possibilities. We see what faith can do through those willing vessels of God. As I picked this book up it was one that kept me up all night until I reached the last page. Kathi has a way of not only bringing the characters to life, but bringing you right in the midst.
"No Greater Love", book 1 in the series showed us there is no greater love than the love that pours from the Lord. In book 2, we see that we can conqueror all through our faith in Jesus Christ. We have nothing to fear when the Lord is leading the way. Book 3 "Red Ink" is now out and ready for you to enjoy! This is a series that will lead you to a greater faith that will help you be a conqueror for the kingdom of God!
I was blessed to also interview Kathi. You can find that interview just by clicking on the link below:
http://robinsnest66.blogspot.com/2010/07/lets-chat-friday-with-kathi-macias.html
You can visit New Hope Publishers and see the book trailer by clicking onto this link:
http://www.newhopepublishers.com/index.php/2010/08/more-than-conquerors/
Kathi Macias
Award-winning author Kathi Macias has written more than 30 books, including the award-winning devotional A Moment a Day and the popular “Matthews” mystery novels.
Kathi has won many awards, including the Angel Award from Excellence in Media, fiction awards from the San Diego Christian Writers Guild, 2008 Member of the Year from AWSA (Advanced Writers and Speakers Association), and the grand prize in an international writing contest.
With women’s ministry as her primary interest, Kathi is a popular speaker for women’s retreats, conferences, and churches.
A mother and grandmother, Kathi and her husband, Al, call California home.
■Beyond Me
■How Can I Run a Tight Ship When I’m Surrounded by Loose Cannons?
■More than Conquerors
■Mothers of the Bible Speak to Mothers of Today
■No Greater Love
■Red Ink
This book was a gift from Kathi Macias. I loved it my friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Hector Rodriguez is a dedicated man of God who is the pastor on the outskirts of Tijuana, Mexico. His very small church nestles in this touristy border town where crime and gangs are running rampant. Hector not only tries to minister to his little flock, but takes many trips deep into Mexico delivering Bibles into hostile Mayan areas. On one such trip, his mother accompanies him into the village of San Juan Chamula and feels called to stay to serve. Using the Scriptures, she teaches reading to people who are willing to learn. Although she feels peace with her decision, Hector is more than concerned. Evil and darkness are prevalent in the village and outsiders are not welcome. His worry is founded when one day she disappears. His faith is shaken to its very core. Can he continue to pastor and give counsel to his parishioners when he doubts and questions his own faith? How can he give sound advice to others when he cant believe it himself? What will happen in his neighborhood as one of their own is sucked into the gang world of hatred and evil? Hectors friend, Marty, comes to stay with him and his family seeking Gods will for his future. How will Hector take the news of what God has ordained for Marty and his soon-to-be future bride? Through all the trials and turmoil, will Gods message penetrate Hectors hardened heart? Will he be able to make peace with the past and accept Gods plan for the future? The future that is in Gods hands and not his own? I loved this book! It was as if I prayed with them. I felt their despair and joy. Kathi is an amazing story-teller with the written word. She shows people living out their faith in circumstances that make it difficult. Congratulations, Kathi. My heart was touched by your story-telling and love of God through the marvelous gift of which he has blessed you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
The second title in the Extreme Devotions series More Than Conquerors takes readers south of the border to Mexico where gang violence is rife, and remote rural villages where Mayan superstition blends with the Catholic religion to create a hotbed of hostility. Pastor Hector Rodriguez lives and ministers on the outskirts of Tijuana where he was raised while his mother Virgina lives in San Juan Chamula, reaching out to those of Mayan descent through informal literacy classes. Young Bible college graduate Marty (formerly of San Diego) finds himself staying with the Rodriguez family as he seeks Gods will and future direction for his call to ministry.Soon, all of these lives will be disrupted by both violence in Tijauana and San Juan Chamula. Throughout all this turbulence however, Gods children will cling to Him and seek always to do only His will.With the majority of the major players being Christians, this title reads a bit less multi-faceted and gritty, than did its predecessor No Greater Love. Though the characters do struggle somewhat with their faith, and through the process of accepting Gods plans for their lives, everything somehow seems to run a little too smoothly, a little too idealistically. I cant put my finger on exactly why this is, and its not something I often notice when Im reading Christian fiction, but somehow these Christians seem a bit too perfect.Still, it was very interesting to read of the sweet, and pure romance that develops for Marty, and of the ministry dangers that those in Mexico face. Sometimes its tempting to think that persecution doesnt strike so close to home, and Im thankful that Kathi Macias is willing to write, and therefore inform readers about this topic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
There were a lot of things to like about this book, like different aspects of the Mexican culture and the spiritual thread in the story. Since I live in Arizona, I knew all of the phrases and words that the author used to add a bit of culture to the book. She also included many traditions. I learned a bit about the Mayan culture and their hatred for the people who they saw as destroying their ancient culture. That was interesting, as was how the Mayan people perceived Virginia. The love story between Marty and Susanna was sweet. I just wish it had started earlier in the book. However, it was a great example of waiting on the Lord to show you who He wants you to marry. The gang violence was believable and the conflict Roberto felt was poignant. The subplot regarding Alberto was touching, too. This book just didn't enthuse me like the other two in the series that I've read had. Then again, every book can't be a favorite, now can it? I found this one to be a bit repetitious in places, or it would've ranked higher on my list. Other than that, it was a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
More Than Conquerors by Kathi Macias has done it again written a book so good it want let the reader put it down until the last page is read. Where No Greater Love was heartbreaking, More Than Conquerors is heartwarming, but not in a sentimental way. Kathi takes her readers on a trip with a warm, loving family the Rodriguez family.The setting in todays Mexico with the problems of gangs and religious persecution adds to the tension in the story line. I felt as if I were in Mexico but I didn't know any of Spanish words. Kathi Macias love for authenticity and accuracy stand out in this novel full of faith, hope, and love.The primary characters courageous stand for Christ should encourage all Christians to have a bold witness for Him. "More Than Conquerors" is an excellent book that I highly recommend. Dont miss out on reading this book!Kathi has captured my attention, and I'm looking forward to "Red Ink" the next book in the series. You can pick up a copy at any bookstore or order online.This book was sent to me free by Kathi Macias with no request for review. That is my choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Ortega
More than Conquerors A Page-Turner and Must-ReadKathi Macias writes with passion and purpose. She has done it again in her novel, More than Conquerors. I felt as if I were in Mexico and loved the sprinkling of Spanish words and names of streets and places I had visited in my travels throughout Mexico. Kathi Macias love for authenticity and accuracy stand out in this novel full of faith, hope, and love. I read the book almost non-stop. For those of us who have an interest in missions, this novel reminds us of the challenges and dangers of those who serve in other lands. For those who dont have an interest in missions, they may develop one by reading this novel in Kathis series of fiction with a mission. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
The second book in the Extreme Devotion Series, "More than Conquerors" is an amazing book. It will transport you to Tijuana and San Juan Chamula, and make you realize how blessed you are to have freedom to worship in the manner you choose. This story is very realistic, heart warming, and at times heart-wrenching. In this book, Kathi deals with the growing hostility of Mayans and others in Mexico. She is not shy with putting a realism. She includes not only the problem of Christians going into Mayan country, but she also deals with the trouble of the gangs and drugs in places like Tijuana. Again, Kathi, has brought a beautiful story of faith, hope, love, forgiveness, and commitment to life. I love her writing style and her way with making these stories seem so real. Kathi has captured my attention, and I'm looking forward to "Red Ink" the next book in the series. I cannot praise this series enough!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
More Than Conquerors by Kathi Macias is the second book in the Extreme Devotion series that began with No Greater Love. Hector is pastoring a small church in Tijuana while his mother, Victoria, evangelizes to a much smaller group deep in the Mexican countryside where Mayan superstition still rules and any teaching different is viewed with suspicion and even in danger for their lives. Marty has finished Bible college and is working to help Hector while trying to figure out God's plan for him in the mission field. Macias takes these different strands and weaves them all together in a story of how God is working all over the world. An aura of danger emanates from the very first page, and the reader can't help but turn pages faster and faster as the quiet action picks up and hearts are broken. Macias has really hit her stride as an author with this series. It is filled with realistic characters and powerful stories. It almost feels like the reader is looking in on real people as they struggle with faith, hope, loss, and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cassandra Wessel
More Than Conquerors by Kathi MaciasKathi has done it again written a book so riveting it refuses to let the reader put it down until the last page is read. Once again, take this reviewers advice, carve out a whole day (if you are a slow reader such as myself) because you will not want to take a break even to tend the tyranny of the urgent.Where No Greater Love was heartbreaking, More Than Conquerors is heartwarming, but not in a fuzzy, sentimental way. Kathi takes her readers on a romp with a warm, loving family the Rodriguez family. In their relationships we see what Christian family life ought to be. We become quickly attached to these characters. We cheer for their accomplishments; but hold our breath when danger, not only looms, but breaks with violent force upon its unsuspecting victims. We want to fall to our knees to pray for Gods protection for these hapless people, then realize its fiction, duh! Well, actually, not. Although the Extreme Devotion Series is fiction, each book is based upon true stories drawn from the persecuted church. Thus the urge to fall to our knees to pray for the persecuted church is actually an appropriate response.Where No Greater Love ended tragically, at least from a secular point of view, More Than Conquerors halts the story at a celebration and the beginning of another story. Indeed, More Than Conquerors will conquer your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melody Earle
Kathi in writing More than Conquerors has written a book that has captured the essence of what many missionaries face on a day to day basis. The story tells of God's people that have accepted a call on their lives, and how their faith, and sometimes lack of faith and trust served as their anchor, as they perservered through danger and trials in their lives. Although the story has its share of tragedies, I found it to be very uplifting in the way God worked in the lives of the characters. This is another great book from the extreme devotion series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie
It is fantastic that the second book of the Extreme Devotion series has already been released! Kathi Maciass gift of writing is yet again displayed in her latest book. In More Than Conquerors, Kathi challenges her readers faith walk to go to a deeper level. More Than Conquerors is a compelling, action-packed read with an inspirational message. The primary characters courageous stand for Christ should encourage all Christians to have a bold witness for Him. More Than Conquerors is an excellent book that I highly recommend. Dont miss out on reading this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for More than Conquerors, Extreme Devotions Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Puerto
More than Conquerors is a fun read that grabbed my attention from the first page and held it to the end. The characters are caught up in dramatic events that force them to confront their own faith-or lack of faith. The setting in todays Mexico with the problems of gangs and religious persecution adds to the tension in the story line. While easy to read, More than Conquerors raises some difficult questions. Do we desire the safety of our loved ones more than their obedience to God? If what we say we believe does not govern how we live, then do we really believe it? This is a book that can be read purely for entertainment, but can also be a challenge to any believers perception of their own life and faith. With fast-paced action and an inspiring message, More than Conquerors is a book that youll be glad you read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.