Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B M H Books Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church

B M H Books Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church

In Loving Your Wife As Christ Loves the Church McCall, the author of Walking Like Jesus Did, delivers a powerful message for men who did not grow up with dads who were good role models, or for men who need to be reminded that Christ is the perfect husband to His bride, the church.

In his typical crisp, biblical style, he lays out practical, biblical descriptions of various aspects of love - love that is practical, protecting, purposeful, passionate, praying, purifying, pardoning, and persevering. Every chapter concludes with discussion questions and action steps that make the book perfect for one-on-one mentoring, small-group discussion, or for personal thoughtful reflection. Foreword by Tedd Tripp

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Review 1 for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource!

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Counselor
Location:Brodheadsville, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a Pastor, we've used this book for a small group study with husbands. Excellent resource and all of the men have grown spiritually and as husbands.
As a counselor, I recommend this book to my clients who desire to become better husbands. I've been looking for a good resource that shows husbands how to love like Christ and this book is a great start!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carey Hardy
I have served in pastoral ministry for over 20 years. During these years I have certainly counseled a lot of individuals and couples. Since I desire to be effective in both the public ministry of the Word (preaching) and the private ministry of the Word (counseling/discipleship), I am constantly on the lookout for tools that are biblically accurate. It was a thrill and blessing, therefore, to read Larry's latest book. It is biblically solid, centering on the implications of knowing Christ and the gospel of grace. I have read many books related to marriage and the roles of husband and wife, some better than others. This is one of the best. I am looking forward now to using this book in my ministry to the men at the church where I serve. It was encouraging and convicting to my own heart--I am positive it will be so to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Byron Paulus
Maneuvering your way around societys roadblocks to achieve a God-honoring marriage requires a resource filled with biblical insights and plenty of practical help. Larry McCall provides that and much more in this relational roadmap to happiness, intimacy, and genuine fulfillment. For men who want Gods best, this book is like having access to a handheld GPS, instead of stopping for directions in the middle of the desert. Its all there! Men who get this book and apply its principles stand ready to become culture changers. This may be the best book for men on marriage I have ever read! Byron Paulus, President, Life Action Ministries
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hutz H. Hertzberg
"Larry McCall puts "feet" on what it means to really love ones wife. This book is a must-read for any husband no longer satisfied with a mediocre marriage relationship. I am both convicted and challenged to love my wife better". H.H.H. Chicago
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Spasic
Nothing is more important than connecting with men on biblical grounds if we are to turn the tide of marital mediocrity and breakdown. Few authors address husbands without rambling in information overload or falling prey to being condescending and condemning. In this book, Pastor McCall avoids both and effectively mentors the reader, perhaps more effectively than I've read yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Todd Wilson
Larry McCall applies 30 years of pastoral experience, Biblical studies, and lessons from his own marriage to guide you through the turbulent, uncharted waters of marriage. This practical, easy-to-read book will offer hope, comfort, and encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mike Cleveland
In our work with men over the past ten years I have been on a quest tofind a book for men that focuses on the gospel of Jesus Christ as it appliesto helping men know how to love their wives, as the need in this area is sogreat. My quest is over. "Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church"by Dr. Larry McCall is a masterful work that will no doubt have a great impacton men of all walks of life who desire to learn how to truly love theirwives. We are encouraging all the men in our ministry to get this book andread it, as we believe it will change hearts, marriages and liveseverywhere.Mike Cleveland, Pastor of Preaching and Vision Ohio Valley Church, Founder and President of Setting Captives Free Ministries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Loving Your Wife as Christ Loves the Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darryl Sheggrud
This book is a "MUST READ" for any Christian man serious about improving his relationship with his wife! The chapters on "Purifying Love" & "Pardoning Love" are worth the price of the book. As a leader of over 60 men's ministries, I believe this is an excellent resource for the 2nd year teaching curriculum of Men's Fraternity that we use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.