Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1

New Hope Publishers Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1

Deliver Me From Evil introduces readers to Mara, an eighteen-year-old girl who has been enslaved for nearly ten years, having been sold by her parents in Mexico and then smuggled across the border into San Diego where she was forced into sexual slavery. Readers will also meet 18-year-old Jonathan and his 16-year-old sister, Leah, whose paths cross Mara's and who become involved in her dramatic rescue.

Interwoven between the stories of Mara, Jonathan, and Leah is the heartbreaking story of another young woman in captivity in the Golden Triangle of Thailand, whose past life mysteriously connects to the young people in San Diego..

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Review 1 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartrending, but with a Promise

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted very much to read this book, but was hoping it wouldn't be too graphic for me. I didn't feel that it was. There is vivid description of the circumstances, but not too much detailing of the abuse itself. I think the author does a great job in dealing with the subject of modern-day slavery, by using contrast--contrast from one country to another, contrast in lifestyles, contrast in the outlook of "normal" teens with enslaved children. Although there is devastating heartbreak in this story, there is also the promise of a solution.
I really appreciate the way that the author is able to show how God works in the lives of those who seek Him and who seek to do His will.
The characters are very real, and the author makes it easy for the reader to have intense feelings for them. You can't read this book without getting emotionally involved.
I am anxious to read the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am very grateful to the author...

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very grateful to the author for bringing up the terrible sin of human trafficking. I was heartbroken by the story of Mara's, Jasmine's and Jolene's lives. It helped to show the lives of girls trapped in sexual slavery in a very real way.
I was glad to see her write in the story of two girls kidnapped from two of the most ordinary places, the beach and walking to school. This truly happens, and it crushes the myth that it could "never happen to my daughter."
I am grateful to have read this book as it exposed that the slave trade lives on even as people deny it is actually happening in America. It inspires me to pray for the precious Human's forced into this.
Warning: It does include ENORMOUS amounts of truthful descriptions of the brutal, violent abuse they endure, it is very hard to process making to decide I would have one recommend readership: Parents.
It is not a book to curl up with and enjoy the story, so young readers who don't know how to handle the content shouldn't read it yet.
I'm glad the author wrote this series, She is doing a good work by helping expose it, we need many more books telling people about this, she writes with compassion and a beautiful redemptive theme.
Notes- included in this series is the heart breaking fact that girls who have been brutalized and survive are brainwashed to believe they are worthless trash.
Having known only brutal sex forced upon them, and having been forced and sold, some of the real trafficked girls become prostitutes and return to the streets selling themselves. In our day the UN wishes to "decriminalize" prostitution- including homosexual prostitution- and redefine it as sex workers. Why? So we can treat them for the AIDS they will contract.
For a girl who is now over 18 and legally a "prostitute" instead of a sex trafficked "victim", imagine how having this deemed "work" will harm her- she will not be offered help any more- she will be opened up to more abuse. And the UN will not mourn a prostitue's murder and abuse. We must use these books to push us into further research and we must use our God given voices and be a voice for the voiceless.
Here are some quotes on the matter, and more can be accessed by a simple google search- UN and prostitution.
“The terms ‘prostitution’ and ‘prostitute’ have negative connotations and are considered by advocates of sex workers to be stigmatizing,” said the 210-page report, authored byAustralian human rights lawyer John Godwin. http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2012/oct/24/un-report-calls-decriminalizing-prostitution/?page=all
Removing legal penalties for sex work assists HIV prevention and treatment programmes to reach sex workers and their clients,” the UN said in its report titled “Sex Work and the Law in Asia and the Pacific.”http://www.gmanetwork.com/news/story/278931/news/nation/un-wants-prostitution-decriminalized-to-help-curb-spread-of-hiv
The commission recommends repealing all laws that prohibit “adult consensual sex work,” as well as clearly distinguishing in law and practice between sexual trafficking and prostitution.
http://v2cnsnews.cloud.clearpathhosting.com/node/568868
This must matter to the Church because part of their plan involves silencing Christian objections- in the name of diversity.
“Work with the guardians of customary and religious law to promote traditions and religious practice that promote rights and acceptance of diversity and that protect privacy.”
http://v2cnsnews.cloud.clearpathhosting.com/node/568868
Visit this website for more information.
http://www.polarisproject.org/human-trafficking/sex-trafficking-in-the-us
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

At first you won't believe it, but it's true.

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Engstrom
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deliver Me From Evil by Kathi Macias is one of the most powerful books I’ve ever read, as well as one of the most important. I expected reading about human trafficking, especially of women and young girls forced into prostitution, would be ho-hum, boring and filled with statistics. Not so! This is not a story about women who have chosen to become hookers for financial gain, but a story about innocents, some as young as ten. Some are kidnapped off the street on their way home from school; some are sold by parents in faraway countries, the parents believing they are giving their children better lives in America.
The story is primarily told from Mara’s viewpoint. But, because she was abducted from her family at a very young age by the uncle she adored and trusted, not even she is certain how old she is. Possibly eighteen, maybe less.
Don’t let the subject matter put you off. It’s a book that is very difficult to put down; I even dreamed about it. Not bad dreams, but dreams of hope and restoration. I’m excited to read the sequel Special Delivery which I just received today.
Macias has a gift for layering, alternating between the abducted girls and the family who hopes to reveal their plight, especially an eighteen-year-old boy who renews his faith and makes saving the girls his priority.
If you want an ‘important’ read, get this book. It actually inspired me to start writing a novel about a situation that has been haunting me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping Novel on an Important Issue

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the largest problems in our society today is human trafficking. Many Americans mistakenly think this only takes place in third-world countries, but unfortunately it is being discovered on a regular basis in our own backyard. Kathi Macias, in her book, Deliver Me from Evil, paints a vivid picture of a sexual slavery ring in San Diego, California. The story involves Mara, a girl who is sold by her parents to her uncle. They never realized what he had in mind for her. While delivering pizzas, Jonathan happens upon Mara and another girl, and although he is told by a man that they are his children, Jonathan’s conscience tells him otherwise. This is a gripping novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It is entertaining, and yet educational, as you walk through the lives of these young people caught up in the horror of human trafficking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

human traffing

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the USA we are so worried about drug trafficking, and I know we should be, but when have we stopped and thought about all that is happening to the young children and girls, boys also that go missing and there is never a trace found. In this book Kathi tells about all of this, as a young girl in Thailand, Mara was treated very bad at home and she loved for her uncle to come see them, and when her parents sold her to the uncle everything changed for the worse. He was not the good man she always though him to be, but had a house for young girls, very young, and he sold them for a night or day of enjoyment to whom ever wanted them for the price. One night as a young man was delivering pizzas at a motel when a little girl ran out screaming and another teen was at the door and they got her back inside. He could never get this off his mind and the more he saw on TV and the Internet he though this might be what was happening to these young girls. After he finished this year of high school he was planning on going to a Bible college, but sometimes he was not sure if there was a God and this scene that he had seen really opened his eyes.
This book really opened my eyes and saw what they really went through, even some died from abuse. But no one cared as there was always another somewhere to take their place. Thanks so much to the author Kathi Macias for sending me this book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional Story!

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
melearle
Location:Arlington Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deliver Me From evil is a powerful, well written book that sheds light on the subject of human trafficking. Kathi has done a marvelous job in writing about human slavery occurring in our own "back yard". The story unfolds through the characters of Mara and Johnathan. Mara was sold by her parents in Mexico to her Uncle who was supposed to provide her a better life in the U.S., but instead she ends up being enslaved in a prostitution ring in San Diego. Johnathan, an 18 year old who was also the son of a Minister had a parttime job as a pizza deliverer, and was also looking forward to graduating from High School and attending a Bible college. One night Mara and Johnathan had a very brief encounter at a Motel that he had gone to deliver a pizza. The encounter or experience moved him so much, for he was sure that she was in some kind of danger, or needed his help that he was driven to find a way to rescue her. The ensuing story winds up with his Father, Mother, and Sister on a quest to do what they could to expose and stop human trafficking. This is a heart wrenching story, but one that should be told and Kathi has done a great job in telling it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes You Wish It Wasn't True

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deliver Me From Evil is a book that will challenge you in so many ways. One hates to think that sex slavery even exists, but yes it does! The story features 18 year old Jonathan, about to graduate from High School, and 18 year old Mara who was sold by her one family into slavery.
Jonathan is going to Bible college in the Fall, but even though he has been raised in a Christian Family, his Dad is an assistant Pastor, he has not committed his life to Christ. Jonathan and Mara have a chance meeting at a Motel where he is delivering Pizza's. That meeting in the end is going to be a life changer for all.
While this book is a fast read, it is not a subject that easy to deal with, but I'm glad that Kathi did.
We should be on our knees that we have never suffered the fate of these poor innocents.
I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for posting the author’s interview on my blog. This blog tour is managed by Christian Speakers Services (ChristianSpeakersServices.com).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

End Human Trafficking

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deliver Me From Evil by Kathi Macias is the story of Mara, from Mexico, who at age five or six years of age was sold to her uncle who promised her a good life in the U.S. Instead he opened a brothel of young girls. Jonathan, a senior in high school about to graduate, crosses paths with Mara and Jasmine while delivering pizza in a motel. God does not let him forget the horror of on the faces of the younger girl.
As we are involved with Mara’s story, Kathi breaks away and weaves the story of a young woman, Chanthra, from Thailand, who is inexplicably connected to the story of Mara in San Diego.
Kathi’s book, Deliver Me From Evil, is a book about the destructiveness, devastation, and death of young girls and boys caught up in sex trafficking. A story of degradation, horrific circumstances, and unconscionable actions. Though Kathi’s book is very poignant about the lives of the young girls and boys trapped in this lifestyle, without family to rescue them or choices of what happens to them, she is prudent in not going into specific detail.
Deliver Me From Evil is written in a format that is informative, yet not inflammatory in the specifics of the devastation. Enough to move your heart and hopefully get you involved personally. It’s heart-breaking at one end, and heart-warming at the other, knowing there are those who are willing to follow God’s leading to get involved. Kathi does not shy away from the hard issues of today’s world of human sex trafficking.
This is a book to open the eyes of Americans and the rest of the world to this tragedy going on around us, even in our own back yards–a reality occurring now. Just as God used Jonathan and his family as part of rescuing these girls, this family could be yours! If you feel God’s call on your life to get involved, please listen and obey. The lives of young girls and boys are at stake.
Though not appropriate for younger ages, this is a book that is helpful for parents to teach their children to follow safety rules of staying in groups together and running for help if a stranger or relative tries to molest or capture them. Upper teens and young adults would gain a lot of information that will again, hopefully encourage them to get involved.
This book was provided by the author through Christian Speakers Services in exchange for my honest review. Not monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Growing up in New Zealand , we don't at times realise how blessed and safe though of course we are not short of the horrific crimes that occur but compared to America and other countries we are quite lucky. Deliver Me From Evil touches base on a topic that scarily enough does happen and more often than not , the number of victims are higher in statistics than the number of survivors and escapees. Overseas, we read that Human Trafficking is one of the biggest crimes - Children mainly from countries like Mexico, South American Countries are taken or sold from their homes by their families with hope that they can get a better life over in America - across the borders. However , more often than not the families of the children who are used for Human Trafficking aren't aware of the consequences as they believe their child is better off when in fact -they are worst off as they are beaten, sold, kept in captivity and not nurtured for. These children are sold to the highest bidder and used for Prostitution etc. It is a game to many people , but for the girls -they have to learn to stay strong as only the strong will survive.
In Deliver Me From Evil , we meet Maria who has been taken by her Uncle to be sold at sixteen she is one of the oldest - she has seen many children die in the conditions . One day, she sees a Pizza boy who hopes that one day he will help realise what is going on. That Pizza Boy turns out to be a Preachers Kid - Jonathan who is at a crossroads in his life as he is confused on where he stands for God. When he sees Maria and another girl , he thinks that they are prostitutes and his heart yearns for them as he prays. As the story continues he soon comes to realise that the girls weren't prostitutes as such but in fact victims of humna trafficking . Is this what God is calling Jonathan to do - help save the victims of Human traffickers ? Can Jonathon work with Maria to save the others or will it be too late ?
Find out all this and more in an Edgy Christian Fiction Novel - Deliver Me From Evil by Kathi Macias.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Powerful and Gripping Tale!

Date:October 7, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though Jonathan and Mara live and work in San Diego, California, their worlds are far apart. As a high school senior in a idyllic middle class family, Jonathan's biggest concern is accepting that baseball won't be his career and that Bible college is the next step in the path of life. Mara's world is filled with physical torture, sexual slavery, and the ever-present threat of death. One night, as Jonathan delivers a pizza to a shady hotel, their worlds intersect in way that changes both of them. Jonathan can't forget the half-naked girls and Mara can't forget the kindness in the mysterious young man's eyes. Torn by a desire to help the girls and a desire to forget the incident, Jonathan engages in a struggle that will eventually draw him to the God he professes to serve. Through circumstances, Jonathan and his family become involved in supporting a local abolitionist movement again sexual slavery. However, drawn by a desire deeper than his own, Jonathan returns to the motel time and again. When the stakes become intensely personal, Jonathan must make a life or death choice to trust the plans of the God who loves not only him, but also every person trapped in sexual slavery.
Due to the difficult issues and gritty content in Deliver Me From Evil by Kathi Macias, the story is not an easy read and I would not recommend it to young readers. That being said, I do recommend it to mature readers. There is nothing overly explicit in the novel, but given that it is about sexual slavery, it does have some descriptive content. Macias' balances the darkness of the topic with light from those who seek its end, preventing the novel from depressing the reader. The characters are believable and well-developed. On a personal note, I cried several times while reading this novel because the characters and their situations gripped my heart.
Deliver Me From Evil addresses how quickly we are to dismiss the idea of sexual slavery in America and then issues a call to the reader to stand against this horrendous evil. The novel's message that sexual slavery does exist and that it's victims are in need of deliverance and healing needs to be heard by all in America. I await the next installment in the series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free via PumpUpMyBook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone Should Read this Book

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
danzingfool
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply amazing. This book wasn't an easy one to read, but it's such an important issue. I think everyone should read it to open their eyes to the atrocities of human trafficking and sexual slavery and develop a heart for these victims. Kathi Macias tackled this tough subject with such empathy and grace. She delves deep into the emotional aspect of the issue without dragging the reader through the mud with too many gritty details. She also provides us breathing space from the atrocities by allowing us to spend time with a nice Christian family being drawn towards stopping this injustice. But at the same time she never shies away from the truth. The way she wove together stories from around the globe seamlessly completely wowed me. Her storytelling prowess is top notch. I go back to amazing. Simply amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Evil is present, but hope remains ALIVE!

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Wow! Wow! Is there any more to say? Deliver Me From Evil is the first of the Freedom Series. I anticipate seeing how this series is going to greatly touch every reader who decides to open the pages of this first book. This story is gripping, and one that touches the lives of many, not just in other countries, but in our own back yards.
This is a novel about human trafficking. In this story we find Mara, the lead character, who is caught up in the sex trade and sees no way out. This is her story. It has been ten long years for Mara. She witnesses the coming and going of many young girls. We will follow their story too. But beyond, Mara, lies a family preparing to reach out and make a difference. A young man, Jonathan, on his pizza run, sees something that will not leave his mind. This is where his story begins.
These characters were so real. You can feel the terror of these young girls and you can see the emptiness that grips them. This is one of those books that is a hard read. It is hard because it breaks your heart knowing these are true stories of girls all over this world told through fiction by Kathi.
I love picking up books that will change me in some way. Books that leave an imprint on my heart. This book does just that. As I began to read, I began to pray for those caught in this evil cycle. For many, death is at the end of this road. This is a thought provoking read that will open your eyes to what young girls and boys encounter on a daily basis as we open our newspapers each morning and sip on coffee.
Praise to Kathi for touching on a subject many will not. After reading this book you will walk away with many thoughts, but you will walk away with the question of asking yourself, "What can I do?" This book brings light to a darkness that very real. Kathi weaves together this story with grace and hope. It is one that you will love as well!
This was a gift from Kathi Macias for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart-stirring, powerful, and enlightening

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Cherokee, IA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi Macias artfully brings today’s human trafficking to the reader’s attention while maintaining pure language. Although Deliver Me From Evil is a novel, it is based on a heartbreaking reality. Kathi writes about the horrible capture of girls from three countries, including the United States. She teaches us about the wicked, greedy people who imprison and enslave all three young women. Using a young man from a minister’s family, she calls him to a life’s purpose and causes the reader to ask the question: what can I do to help end this horrific evil? As the reader, one is drawn into the abuse and fear that rule their enslavement. Yet, at the same time, Kathi offers hope through Jesus and speaks to the heart. It takes a seasoned writer like Kathi Macias to be able to write such a gripping story with such skill and excellence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deliver Me From Evil, Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't Take This Book Lightly - A Must Read!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deliver Me from Evil is a very powerful book about the horrors of sexual trafficking. This story focus’s around children of very young ages. It is a disturbing and heart breaking book to read to say the least. I did not enjoy it for reading pleasure. It opened my eyes to the very detestable evil that is lucking out there. I at one point wondered if I wanted to read on. While I know this is fiction, there are real live scenarios of this happening in our very own back yard right now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.