Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD

Zondervan Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD

How many of us ever think about our breathing, about the meaning of breathing? In the Bible, the word for "breath" is the same as the word for "spirit." We've all been created in the image of God, but our lives are incredibly vulnerable and fragile. Maybe if we had more insight into the meaning of breathing, we would better understand how God created us as human beings.

Breath is the fourteenth DVD of the Nooma ® series - short films appropriate for personal and small group settings, congregational meetings, and much more. Like parables, they use the experiences of our lives to teach about the fullness of life through Jesus, tackling issues like forgiveness, discipleship, and unconditional love. The study materials accompanying each Nooma® encourage meaningful discussion with relevant questions and biblical references.

DVD Features:
  • Running time: Approx. 12 minutes
  • Audio: English (Dolby Digital)
  • Subtitles: English, French, German, Korean, Mandarin, Portuguese, Spanish
  • Format: Closed-captioned
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Review 1 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frederik Fiandt
I am a Pentecostal Christian and I find Rob Bell's teachings to be unbiblical and new-agey. His teachings are not accurate and are self-created and self-serving. Skip this series. Don't be taken in by the "newest thing in Christianity" as I have seen individuals and whole church sucomb to this. Rob Bell is a false teacher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Irietys Burrows
Very well done. You will want to view this DVD more than once. Rob Bell has a thought provoking message. Great for adult groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
t
Bell brings forward an idea that was condemned as heresy long ago. You must always be skeptical of one who rarely mentions their sources. What he does exceptionally well is blur the issue and make it seem normative or perhaps a deep truth that we've just forgotten.Watch and listen closely with his last illustration about the atheist friend and work back to his use of breath being the spirit of God. The implication is not direct but hits like a hammer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Swanson
This was one of the most profoundly spiritual videos I have seen in very, very long time. It opened my eyes to God's Spirit in ways I'd never imagined before. Rob Bell does a phenomenal job in bringing God's Word alive. Highly, highly, HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donald Stanton
This was a verg good dicussion issue, and if we believe that our actual breathe is the spirit of Christ them everything we do takes on new meaning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Victoria Derrer
This is a great tool for non-believers and a great affirmation for believers. Highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cathy Rich
The Nooma series is very thought provoking and worthwhile. Our church has used the series for a number of Bible Studies, it always generated good discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Denise Goodman
This was my favorite really gave me a good view of reverence of the name of Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beth
When I watched this DVD, I heard teachings from a rabbi in our area who speaks of God's name as the sound of breath. For me, Rob Bell captures the Mystery of God who is everywhere, even choosing to reside within us through the Holy Spirit. I disagree that this is pantheistic although I can understand how some people can interpret it that way. I have watched this video several times and never tire of it. The symbolism is profound and timely for its audience. I've shown it to pastors, other spiritual directors and laity and each one came away with a deepening of their relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
joshua jones
You have to recognize that Rob Bell's somewhat pantheistic views are not new, Many of the early church fathers who also happened to be philosophers belived this very thing. I think we should all consider what Bell has to say, he is not God, and he is not always right, but he makes us think and question. I think anyone willing to ask questions and put their thoughts out there is worth listening to. Me centric is the last thing I would call Bell's teachings. This one included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
amanda williams
Extremely disappointed. Scripture misused and misquoted.His reference to "holy ground" is way out of context. Pantheistic, universalistic, me-centred rubbish.Good if you want your ears tickled though.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tina
This is quite good, and both reviews above have a point. There needs to be discernment. The thought that God is IN our breath, I disagree with. God is omnipresent, yes, but is He so limited as to be IN our breath, which He created and gave us?Still, this dvd explores new concepts and is great overall, though it may tend to be a little extreme and insistent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nate
God gives you every breath. Therefore God is in every breath that every single person takes. Very good in the sense that maybe Rob Bell is trying to preach here. What if he's trying to open up our minds and start considering things in new light? We are walking on holy ground. It may be far fetched but he's not saying he is right. He is saying what if.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nooma #14: Breathe, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
erik
Welcome to the new-age/Christian world of Rob Bell. What Rob is teaching is simply not Biblical. Yes, there is one Hebrew and Greek word for "breath" and "spirit" but to then draw the conclusion that God is in our breath...well that's called "pantheism" and pantheism is heretical. So, no, I wouldn't recommend this dvd to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.