Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger

New Hope Publishers A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger

During Isabella Alcantara's seventh month of pregnancy, her parents and siblings are murdered in gang and drug related violence, simply because their home was targeted by mistake. Isablla knows she was spared only because she now lives in a different location, but she knows too that the same thing could easily happen to her and herhusband, Francisco. When her grandfather offers to hire her a "coyote" to bring then across the border to America, she agrees. But Francisco and Isabella are abandoned by the coyote and left to die. Francisco then valiantly sacrifices himself to get Isabella to safety. Homeless, nearly penniless, pregnant, and alone, Isabella determines to find a way to honor her promise to her beloved husband.

Living on one of the smaller spreads along the Arizona border, Miriam Nelson becomes furious with God and turns from her faith when her border patrol agent husband, David, is killed in a skirmish with drug smugglers. Though her mother and young son do their best to woo her back from the anger and bitterness that have overtaken her, they make little headway.

Two widows-one driven by fear and a promise, the other by bitterness and revenge-must make their journeys along different pathways, but with the same destination: a barn full of animals that stands waiting for them on Christmas Eve. Forced to face their personal demons, Isabella and Miriam soon discover a common yearning that will bind them together in a most miraculous way.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Review 1 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Special Christmas Story

Date:December 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Christmas Journey Home is a very special nativity story that shows the presence of our Lord in the most difficult of circumstances. Isabella and Francisco Alcantara flee from their home near Ensenada, Mexico, when Isabella's parents and siblings are murdered in gang- and drug-related violence. Isabella is pregnant with their first child. However, the circumstances that greet them across the border turn out to be worse than what they left behind and make them question their decision. Miriam Nelson, whose border patrol agent husband was killed by drug smugglers, is filled with bitterness and anger. Through a miracle only God can perform these two women meet on Christmas Eve and discover the true meaning of Christ's birth. This book is thought-provoking, and Kathi Macias has provided an excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christmas Story

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read almost everyone of Kathi's book and I have to say I think this is the best one. This is really two stories in one combined. I love Christmas stories and this one is about Isabella Alcantara and her young husband Francisco. After her parents and siblings were gunned down for no reason by the "Coyote" in Mexico, her grandfather gave up his life's savings to get her and her husband and their unborn child out of the country. They had paid all the money they had to a "coyote" to see them safety across the border into the USA and to a safe house, but he robbed them of all they had and left them to die in the desert.
The safe house that they finally found was nothing but a slave and prostitute house for the helpless. They stole away and found themselves in the desert again where Francisco was gunned down by some drug smugglers. Now alone and ready to have her baby she wondered in the desert until she found a farm of another young woman and her son. She hid in the barn until the little boy found her and that is where she had her baby. Just as Jesus was born so long ago in a stable with the animals around.
I want to thank the author Kathi Macias for sending me this copy to read and review. I love the book and I am sure you will too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprising Sympathies

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
Location:Concord, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've got strong opinions about illegals sneaking over American borders, and I bet some of you do, too. Well, thanks to Kathi Macias's A Christmas Journey Home, I have a whole new perspective on the issue! Isabella, an illegal immigrant hoping for a better life, and Miriam, mourning the death of her border-patrol husband, seem to be separated by more than a boundary line. One woman's journey has brought her closer to God, while the other woman's journey has brought her further from God. But, miracles happen on Christmas Eve.
Written with sensitivity and insight, A Christmas Journey Home drew my sympathies on both sides of the border. Instead of the fluffy, easy holiday read I expected (I should have known better with Kathi's book!), I received a thought-provoking fictionalization of the real-life drama that happens every day here in our country as well as in Mexico.
I highly recommend A Christmas Journey Home, and it would make a perfect gift for the readers on your list.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brokenhearted Hope!

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read K. Macias' mystery fiction series and wanted more. This story sounded like it might have a mystery to it. Wow! Did it ever.
It's heartbreaking to see how we human beings can so mistreat one another. What a sacrifice on the husband's part. What a grand conclusion; not just in the USA but Grandfather in Mexico. What wonderful faith, trust, and peace!
This book is staying, not getting loaned, but selfishly hogged for re-read, re-read.....
I encourage you to get it, read it, digest what it really says. Oh yes, any preconceived notions about certain topics and themes WILL fly out the window. At least they did for me. In other words the book is also a thought-provoking eye-opener.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not your average Christmas story

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Rhea
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Connecting with the characters and their difficulties was reflexive for me in Kathi Macias’ A Christmas Journey Home. I found myself wrapped up in their lives and rooting for them from the get-go. What an amazing story of the difficulties on both sides of the illegal immigration issue—yet all surrounded by the grace of God and His amazing power to heal and rebuild lives. A super read! What a great Christmas gift for a friend. Or a gift for yourself!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond black and white we see real!!

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi Macias, brings us a story of two women. Very different women. One settled here in the states who loses her husband working border patrol. The other a woman living beyond the border, seeking a way here. I wondered how two women could be so different, but yet have so much in common. These women are searching for the same thing, peace and understanding. When we are desperate, God has a way of showing up just when we need Him the most.
I love how Kathi brings a story alive and makes it so real. When you begin to turn the pages of a Kathi Macias book get ready because you are going to be looking deep into our own heart. What can I take away from this beautifully written story? We are often so quick to judge. We see things as only black and white. Our lives are not black and white. We must begin searching beyond what something looks like and search for the story within.
We all put up such borders around our hearts. Borders to keep people out. That way we don't have to feel or give. This story teaches us to open up and look beyond ourselves, beyond our anger and fear, and reach for our Savior and His wonderful free gift of grace.
As always, Kathi, tells a story of redemption and freedom of the soul. I didn't understand the cover of the book until I read the story. Once you understand the story it all comes together and leaves you filled with Christ's unconditional love.
This book was given to me by Kathi Macias for it's review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Powerful Message!

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francisco and Isabella leave Mexico at the urging of Isabella's Grandfather. Drug and gang related violence took the lives of Isabella's family. Isabella's Grandfather gives her and Francisco his life savings to hire a 'coyote' to get them across the border to Arizona.
Miriam Nelson owns farmland in Arizona and is raising her six year old son Davey with the help of her Mother. Miriam's husband David, a Border Patrol Agent, was killed in a fight with drug smugglers at the border.
Will Isabella's Grandfather's intercessory prayers keep Isabella and Francisco safe until they reach their destination?
Can Miriam let go of her anger toward God and renew her love and faith in Him again?
This story made a hugh impact in my life. As a Christian I have had some issues to work through. I realize that through faith and prayer God can soften our hearts, bring us to forgiveness and yes, give us wonderful miracles.
I want to add that over lunch I was telling my husband what this book was about and how it touched my life. I broke down in tears many times while telling him this story. I've learned that I need not be so judgemental but I need to open my heart to forgive more. We often don't know the circumstances why people do what they feel they need to do whether it is right or wrong.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Christmas Story of Forgiveness

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an eye opening story. Isabella and Francisco leave Mexico to get away from the violence, after her family is murdered. All she has left is her Grandfather, he helps them financially to leave.
The other main characters are Miriam, her Mom Carolyn, and her six year old son Davy. During the past year they have lost David, a boarder guard, and Miriam blames all illegals for the death of her husband.
Isabella is seven months pregnant, and her husband is very worried about her. All he needs is a job and he can find a home for her and the new baby.
Throughout all the terror you find a strong faith in God, constant prayers are being said. The trials for this about to be born baby are many, and at times you wonder if he will survive.
What a wonderful, although very sad at times, story. This is not a warm touchy-feely story, you will need tissues nearby!
I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for posting the author’s interview on my blog. This blog tour is managed by Christian Speakers Services (ChristianSpeakersServices.com).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Christmas Journey Home: Miracle in the Manger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Cherokee, IA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi uses two young widows’ life perspectives to show us heartbreak and the healing power of our Savior. One woman is white, whose husband was killed patrolling our border. The other widow is a pregnant illegal, Mexican immigrant who seeks shelter while hiding on the white woman’s ranch. Kathi, once again, draws the reader into each women’s life weaving a story that draws us to deeper insight about shared grief and the redemption only our Savior can provide. It is a poignant, beautifully written story an amazing author who never fails to call on our hearts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.