Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne The Divine Conspiracy

HarperOne The Divine Conspiracy

In The Divine Conspiracy, Willard gracefully weaves biblical teaching, popular culture, science, scholarship, and spiritual practice into a tour de force that shows the necessity of profound changes in how we view our lives and faith.

Willard refutes "fire escape" mentality by exploring the true nature of the teachings of Jesus, who intended that His followers become His disciples, and taught that we have access now to the life we are only too eager to relegate to the hereafter. The author calls us into a more authentic faith and offers a practical plan by which we can become Christ-like. He encourages faith by embracing the true meaning of Christian discipleship.

Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Divine Conspiracy
Review 1 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deeper

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brian Elmer
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow... this book has impacted my spiritual walk, my grasp of the Word of God and the Kingdom of Heaven. There are a couple of folks reviewing here who struggled with it, I guess that they can have their opinion. What you will find is a deep read... it may raise questions to the 'traditional interpretation' of Biblical truth many churches have given over the years. Why? Because it goes deeper. How? looking at historical, cultural settings. It takes the message of the Sermon on the Mount and gives clearly the meaning. The book has focused me on the good news of the gospel. Too often we 'go after' the unsaved from a 'turn or burn' perspective. Williard emphasizes Jesus' message of the GOOD NEWS of the Kingdom of heaven - NOT the western perspective of condemnation of man. John 3:17 says it well 'he did not come to condemn the world but that the world through Him might be saved'. This is not a denial of sin - for God hates sin. It comes from how Jesus taught - the reconciliation of man to God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has great features.

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
jeroboam v
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dallas Willard takes the Sermon on the Mount and shows you how to get to the heart of God. He shows the reader how God is always at work even when we don't realize it or take part in His plans. The book lets you know that you can be a part of the divine conspiracy or be a part from it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rochelle
Reading this book was torture. I had to read it as a class assignment and wanted to pull out my teeth because of the absurd doctrine! There are so many examples given and beliefs taught throughout the book that are contradictory to the Truth of the Bible. The only redeeming factor of this book is that I have a better foundation of my beliefs because I read so many falsehoods.
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff
This book is on a very short list of books that I have found to be life-altering in its presentation and application. I don't think one can read this book without coming to grips with your own walk with the Lord. It is a difficult read because there is so much meat that requires thoughtful consideration.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lloyd Jones
This book is one of the must insightful books at helping a Christian mature his faith that I have ever read. I have reread the first 4 chapters 3 times in the last 6 months as I attempt to make Willard's ideas a part of my understanding and not just a bunch of thoughts with which I have a nodding acquaintance. For me, he has too much to say to be a quick read. I find it helps me to underline and highlight as I attempt to understand and retain. His thoughts on the phrase in the Lord's Prayer, "Thy Kingdom Come, Thy will be done...", are worth the reading of the book. I cannot speak about the rest of the book as I have not read beyond chapter 5.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Thomas Ewald
I bought an unabridged recording of this book and listened to it thoroughly. I ended up getting the book itself as well, because this book is so good that it demands studying, not just reading. One reviewer here says that it's not biblical; I could not disagree more. It may be untraditional in some ways, but it is soundly biblical.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dan Meador
The Divine Conspiracy is an outstanding and well organized book. It is a longer read than most if you want to get the most out of it, but it is WELL worth it. The progression is incredibly logical and well prepared. The Sermon on the Mount has never been so important to me as it now is. Thank you Dallas Willard. I can't wait to re-read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
J. Ryan Moorhead
I have found this book to be true greatness. It gives you a vision for your life in God now, where you are, so that you can enter into the glorious life of the kingdom of God. This book might be compared to the restoration procedures on the Sistine Chapel several years ago. They restored the original to its profound radiance and beauty. In the same way, Jesus' teachings as well as the Bible as a whole simply break open to you in their original glory when you have sufficiently studied this book. I beg everyone to study it intently, and to form the intention to bring about an intimate walk with God. Thank you, Dr. Willard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2003
Customer Avatar
Pastor Jesse Caro
This is probably the best book I have ever read. His correct interpretation on the Sermon on the Mount is cogent, accurate and reminds us of God's great grace. I have taught this material to teens and adults alike. It is needed despreately. Truly a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Cecil Farrington
My opinion is that the book presentations on a "self actualizing" thesis, denunciation of several recognized Christian theologians & re-writing Scripture is un-biblical. Refer Acts 17:11 & do compare all the book with Holy Scripture.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2002
Willard does an excellent job in this work of making the gospel appealing to the modern mind. He gets to the heart of the Christian message by using refreshing new terminology to communicate timeless Biblical truths. His insights on the Sermon on the Mount were particularly helpful to me.I recommend this book to all Christian leaders and teachers, particularly preachers. Willard makes the message of Christ come alive through his keen mind and sensitive spirit. This freshness will breathe new life into sermon preparation and personal devotions. This book is well-worth its price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2001
Customer Avatar
Albert Gerena
The Divine Conspiracy is a book that contains a wealth of information from theology, philosophy, modern thought, and the transformation of the inner self. The book is not meant for easy reading but forces you to think and analyze how we should be living in the Kingdom Of the Heavens through our discipleship in JESUS. Dr.Willard provides interesting insights. He starts off by demostrating the effects of the intellect not being connected to the moral and spiritual realities. Then he speaks on the Lordship debate, GOD's nature from an ontological and a relational aspect,Jesus being the smartest man, and of course a detailed analysis of the Sermon on the Mount. Towards the end of the book, he shares a formula (Golden Triangle) for transforming the inner self to be more like our teacher-JESUS.I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2001
Customer Avatar
Albert Gerena
The Divine Conspiracy is a book that contains a wealth of information from theology, philosophy, modern thought, and the transformation of the inner self. The book is not meant for easy reading but forces you to think and analyze how we should be living in the Kingdom Of the Heavens through our discipleship in JESUS. Dr.Willard provides interesting insights. He starts off by demostrating the effects of the intellect not being connected to the moral and spiritual realities. Then he speaks on the Lordship debate, GOD's nature from a ontological and a relational aspect,Jesus being the smartest man, and ofcourse a detailed analysis of the Sermon on the Mount. Towards the end of the book, he shares a formula (Golden Triangle) for transforming the inner self to be more like our teacher-JESUS.I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2001
Customer Avatar
IRH
If you only read one book (other than the Bible) the rest of your life, make it this one. If we, as believers, could grasp and apply the scriptural truths Dallas teaches in this book, people would see Jesus in us, in our families and in our congregations -- and the Great Commission would be fulfilled in a heartbeat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2001
Customer Avatar
Matt Bjorklund
There's only one word that can fully describe how incredible this book is: WOW! This book has highlighted the true message of Jesus in a way that has profoundly changed my outlook on life. If you haven't read this book then BUY IT NOW! You will NOT regret it! This book has such a deep profound message that takes a great deal of time to fully take in and understand. I wouldn't doubt if Dallas Willard spent years writing this book. I also recommend that anyone who buys this book also get the study guide which was just published recently. Praise God for a book that was badly needed to bring out the true message of Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2000
Customer Avatar
Susan DeVore Williams
This is the only book I've ever invested in to the extent of buying copies for virtually every friend and family member. There are no superlatives grand enough to express my appreciation for this book. Thanks, Dallas Willard, and thank YOU, God, for breathing it to life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2000
Customer Avatar
Julia Corbett
If ever there was a book that deserved more than 5 "books", this is it! I am an avid book reader, and can usually devour a book quickly. This took me a long time to finish, and I enjoyed each moment spent in it. Mr. Willard challenged me to think deeply about how and why I live, and how and why Jesus would have me live. If you are not willing to challenge yourself, leave this until you are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2000
Customer Avatar
Rock Higgins
One of the best Christian discipleship resources I have found. It is a profoundly deep book, and takes a good time to fully digest, but well worth reading every word. Cannot recommend this book enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Divine Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2000
Customer Avatar
Tim Yee
Takes awhile to get through but worth the time it takes. I wish there was a study guide to help the reader to digest the incredible insights Willard offers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.