Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books The Anonymous Bride - eBook

Barbour Books The Anonymous Bride - eBook

Check yourself into the Texas Boardinghouse Brides series by Vickie McDonough, where you'll meet Luke Davis, marshal of Lookout, Texas, who flippantly tells his cousin he'd get married if the right woman ever came along. When three mail-order brides are delivered to Luke a month later, he's in an uncomfortable predicament. How will he ever choose his mate? Rachel Hamilton's long-time love for Luke is reignited with his return to town. So when three mail-order brides appear, she panics. Will she find the courage to tell Luke that she loves him? Or take an anonymous part in the contest for his hand?
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Review 1 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Luke Davis returns as the marshal to his hometown of Lookout, Texas, he is taken completely by surprise by what he finds. Rachel Hamilton, almost his bride over a decade ago, is now a widow, with a spirited, spunky ten year old daughter, Jack. Luke refuses to forgive Rachel for her marriage to his friend James, and he makes the mistake of telling his cousins that he might marry if the right woman came along. Trying to help him out, his cousins order a trio of mail order brides to give him some variety to pick a wife from.
After a string of unfortunate mishaps and misunderstandings, Luke is finally ready to pick a wife. Will he be able to put the hurts of his past with Rachel aside and forgive her - or will one of the three mail order brides be "the one" for him?
I went to great lengths to get my hand on this book; despite it's recent publication date it went out of print a couple months ago. It was completely worth every penny I spent. This book was everything I'd hoped it would be, and more. The story line was engaging, and I enjoyed every character - even the bad ones. The time and the place was key to the charm of the story, but the best part of the plot was just reading every detail as it unfolded. I will be re-reading this book many times in the coming years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a delightful book!. Marshall Luke Davis returns to his home town after being gone for several years. The moment Rachel Hamilton lays eye's on Luke she knows that she still loves him. Things get complicated when Luke's cousins decide that he needs a wife so they send for three mail order brides for Luke to chose from. When it's discovered that all the brides are there for Luke, its decide that they should hold several contest in the arts of cooking and sewing for the right to have Luke court them, and even though she is not one of the mail order brides Rachel enters the competitions to try to win Luke's heart.
Luke meanwhile finds that his feelings for Rachel are also resurfacing, so he desperately tries to find a way to let the mail order brides down without hurting any of them.
This was a fun light read with plenty of dialogue the moved the book along. There were several places that I laughed out loud. I enjoyed every minute of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
This review is from#1: The Anonymous Bride.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed in Repackaging

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
KBMME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had books two and three in the series and needed book 1 ... waited months for it to become available and when received, I was disappointed that it is a small book - not the same size as the other books in the series. Looks more like a Love Inspired size than regular size.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Luke Davis returns as the Marshall to his hometown of Lookout, Texas, he is taken completely by surprise by what he finds. Rachel Hamilton, almost his bride over a decade ago, is now a widow, with a spirited, spunky ten year old daughter, Jack. Luke refuses to forgive Rachel for her marriage to his friend James, and he makes the mistake of telling his cousins that he might marry if the right woman came along. Trying to help him out, his cousins order a trio of mail order brides to give him some variety to pick a wife from.
After a string of unfortunate mishaps and misunderstandings, Luke is finally ready to pick a wife. Will he be able to put the hurts of his past with Rachel aside and forgive her - or will one of the three mail order brides be "the one" for him?
I went to great lengths to get my hand on this book; despite it's recent publication date it went out of print a couple months ago. It was completely worth every penny I spent. This book was everything I'd hoped it would be, and more. The story line was engaging, and I enjoyed every character - even the bad ones. The time and the place was key to the charm of the story, but the best part of the plot was just reading every detail as it unfolded. I will be re-reading this book many times in the coming years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was great!

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debra Clark
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading The Anonymous Bride. It was funny, had some suspense and of course the romance. It kept me guessing as to whether or not the right bride would be chosen. I was hoping so, and was pleased with the ending. Thanks Vickie. I plan to get book #2 and #3 in the Texas Boardinghouse Brides series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 Stars!!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Discovering new authors can really be a mixed bag of surprises for a reader. I've had experiences where I wonder what took me so long to get around to them, and I've had other experiences where I wished I could've used my time differently. No worries....Vickie McDonough fits perfectly into the first category. :o)
Vickie's western style of writing was very reminiscent of Mary Connealy and Lori Copeland, except it was deeper. I loved that I got to really invest myself in the emotions of each character. Luke--who initially had a heart filled with unforgiveness--slowly allowed his heart to soften. Rachel--who scorned Luke many years ago--longed to admit that she'd made a terrible mistake. And Jacqueline--better known as "Jack"--was a feisty tomboy that just wanted her ma to marry Luke.
But setting up Luke and Rachel wasn't as easy as a couple of cousins thought it would be! Luke's cousins took it upon themselves to find a mail-order bride for Luke. What they didn't count on was that instead of one girl being interested in Luke...there were three! And what made things even crazier...poor Luke didn't have a clue what he was about to be in for--a pushy mayor, a nosy journalist, and three women vying for his hand in marriage! If that's not a recipe for a great story, I don't know what is!
I'm so happy to add Vickie to my list of highly recommended authors, and it comes after reading just one book. I have a feeling that the tiny town of Lookout, Texas has a few more surprises up it's sleeve before the series concludes. My rating for The Anonymous Bride is 4.5 Stars.
**Many thanks to Barbour Books for providing a copy for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charming

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurie Alice
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are a fan of Vickie McDonough’s Heartsong books, you will like this one twice as much. It holds the same tenderness, charm, and lovable characters with even more depth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Jennings
The Anonymous Bride is a wonderful story of a love gone bad, and then found again years later. You have to read it .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
This love story of rekindled romance was terrific. The author's title was indeed perfect for this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Lynne Costello
The Anonymous Bride was a light enjoyable read. Vickie McDonough did a wonderful job developing each of the characters in the story. The brides were fun and kept you guessing. I highly recommend this if you enjoy a book that makes you smile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gail Marie
This is a delightful mix of humour and the old west, as an unusual love story unfolds. The characters are real and very enjoyable.The use of children is refreshing and fun. I look forward to the next in the series, to see what happens to all of the mail-order brides!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Call me weird but my favorite character in this book was niether Luke nor Rachel. My favorite is fiesty little Jacqueline. Or Jack as she prefers to be called. I enjoyed watching tomboy Jack fall in love with Luke in spite of herself. Loved how she became a matchmaker to insure the right bride won the contests.I'm glad I read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carla Gade
"Sometimes God asked difficult things of a man, and for Luke Davis, what he was fixing to do was the hardest task ever."And so begins The Anonymous Bride by Vickie McDonough (Barbour). This book brought me many delightful hours and kept me wondering throughout the book. The Anonymous Bride was a joy to read and a very entertaining historical romance. Vickie McDonough is an experienced author, but this first trade length novel was fantastic! The novel was filled with many interesting and lively characters. I found the hero and heroine endearing. Vivid and historically accurate descriptions of the ficticious town of Lookout, Texas brought this story to life. Although the book was sprinkled with humor, the satisfying, sentimental end had me reaching for a tissue. Vickie is a talented storyteller and I look forward to reading the next two books in the The Boardinghouse Brides series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
I had expected this book to be pretty funny from what I had read about it, but, to me, it was more of a funny-circumstances than a laugh-out-loud-comedy kind of a book. I really did enjoy it, just not in a this book will crack you up kind of way. The first and secondary characters were great and I loved them all. (I really loved how two certain scoundrel boys turned out to be so protective and caring towards Jack. LOVED IT.)I liked how Vickie showed how important it is to forgive others in this book. Especially how she showed that the thing we are so angry about, might not even be something we should be angry about. We dont usually know the whole story and we need to reserve judgment until we do. She wrote that theme into the book in a very poignant way. That lesson will certainly stay with me, and help me to be slower to anger towards others for their supposed wrongs toward me. Definitely recommended to people who like a sweet romance with a message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
This book was extremely cute. Im a sucker for old West stories (blame my father for making me watch John Wayne movies instead of girly stuff). Im also a sucker for novels with mail order brides. This book fit both of those loves perfectly.The story is full of interesting characters. Luke the type a man I would want as the marshal of my town. Rachael and Jack also are well rounded and complicated, moving them beyond the stereotypical standard of women and children in the 1800s. McDonough gives us an interesting look into the minds of the mail-order brides. Living in a time so far removed, its hard for me to fathom marrying someone Id never met and my only idea of which they were came through letters. The plot flowed easily and McDonough provides credible historical details. I enjoyed the theme of second chances that McDonough weaves into the novel, each character adjusting to starting over. This is a definitely a good summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
The book kept the pages turning and I didn't think I had totally wasted my money. In the economy I'm looking for 5 star books and I would not give this a 5 star rating. I loved "Jack" in the book and frankly found myself wanting the writer to speed up time and write "Jack's" romance. If the writer keeps "Jack" with the same spunk and personality, it would be a 5 star read. This author hasn't done that many books, but she definitely shows promise of producing a 5 star book. I couldn't quite connect with the hero in this book. The town characters are very entertaining. The pie scene is a keeper!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
MaryLu Tyndall
This is my first book by Vickie McDonough and I was not in the least bit disappointed. What I thought was going to be merely a lighthearted fun western romance (and it was that!) turned out to be also exciting and adventurous as well. Rather than simply dwelling on the humorous situation the sherrif finds himself in when his friends set him up with three mail order brides, the author also treads into deeper waters with such important issues as rape, betrayal, parenting, and faith. Well written, funny, and page-turning, I'm sure you'll enjoy this historical romance!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita Draper
The Anonymous Bride greatly exceeded everything I hoped for in a romance. Vickies easy writing style was the perfect vehicle for this historical set in 1886 Lookout, Texas. Visually appealing, the scenes unfolded without laborious descriptions to slow down the pace. And the humor I cant tell you how many times I laughed out loud. But, what really kept the story close to my heart was the emotional impact the mail-order bride had on the heroine, Rachel Hamilton. Because you see, Rachel wasnt the mail-order bride. Oh, no. Rachel was just the owner of the boardinghouse where the mail-order bride stayed, which meant Rachel was the one to do her laundry, clean her room and cook her meals. And there wasnt just one mail-order bride trying to marry the man Rachel loved. There were 3 of them. How could a man be so insensitive and encourage three women to think they were the only one? Well, it certainly wasnt Luke, the town marshal. No, Luke was moseying along minding his own business, wondering what he was going to do about Rachel when the brides begin to appear bearing letters he supposedly wrote. Seems his cousins figured once a new woman was on the scene, Luke would forget all about the love he used to share with Rachel. They didn't figure on three women wanting to marry Luke. I sympathized with Rachel when she realized her boardinghouse was the only possible place for the hopeful brides to reside. And, I cried buckets when the brides who travelled so far on faith, each desperate for their own home put forth their small requests of assistance to Rachel, without realizing their effect on her trampled heart. And oh, the pain when honorable Luke agrees to pick a bride. I loved this story. Both Luke and Rachel place their lives in God's hands, trusting He knows best although they may not like it at the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patti Broadway
Exciting book with twists and turns keeps you totally engaged! An author definitely to remember!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Anonymous Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Josanne Glanz Moore
Vickie McDonough's superb storytelling abilities are working overtime in this most enjoyable Western Romance. In this story, simmering on the back burner throughout, are greedy men of the Wild West who bend the rules to suit themselves. Their prey is vulnerable women and banks in small towns. Luke Davis has just arrived in Lookout, Texas as the new Sheriff. Lookout is a quaint little town that is surrounded by dirt roads, fishin' holes, dense woods and countryside homes. For ten years, Luke has been plagued by an unforgiving heart. He thinks that by returning to his hometown, he can finally sort things out with the local boardinghouse owner, Rachel; then move on with the rest of his life in peace. Sandwiched in the middle is playful Jack, a rambunctious young tomboy, and Max, the faithful dog that no one wanted. Add to the mix, Luke's two unpredictable cousins, who deem it their manly duty to find Luke a bride from a newspaper ad! The arrival of more than just one mail-order bride adds unexpected chuckles and major drama to Lookouts tranquility. Vickies 347-page novel was over all too quick. It made me anxious to read the Sequel, and hungry for homemade biscuits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.