Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2

New Hope Publishers The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2

Dr. Laura Branson's views on pro-life issues are more theoretical than personal---until her single daughter announces she's pregnant! It isn't until Laura receives a gift of a quilt depicting the life of the first woman physician in America that she's forced to wrestle with her beliefs. Will she have the courage to stand by her convictions? 240 pages, softcover from New Hope.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Review 1 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When her unwed medical student daughter discloses that she is pregnant, Dr. Laura Branson is torn between excitement and fear. Until now, her beliefs and stance on pro-life issues have been more theoretical than personal. It isn't until she receives a Christmas gift—a quilt that depicts the life of pioneer Elizabeth Blackwell, the first woman doctor in America—that she is forced to wrestle with her beliefs. What does she really believe, and will she have the courage to stand by her convictions?
My Review:
Jenny makes quilts every year, never knowing who they are for, or what purpose they will serve. She never knows who they are for, but in faith she sews every stitch knowing their purpose will eventually be revealed. When she meets Megan, she slowly learns her story, and discovers that the girl had a bright future ahead of her - until she came home and announced that she was pregnant. I loved how Macias took some very tough yet sensitive topics, and so easily took us on a journey of grace, forgiveness, and mercy.
And of course, the quilting theme tied with Elizabeth Blackwell's history as the first female doctor in America was absolutely fascinating. When life got messy for Dr. Laura and her daughter, the symbolic quilt and Dr. Blackwell's story was the shining star of hope in their life. Macias shows us that no matter what life throws at us (whether based on our choices or otherwise), God always has a plan for us far beyond what we could ever hope or dream of.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet, cozy read

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The Doctor's Christmas Quilt is a standalone novel, second in Kathi's quilt series that
focuses on various social issues, including racial and pro-life issues. For a story that deals with an unplanned pregnancy, it is a surprisingly sweet, cozy , and somewhat predictable read, also with a clear Gospel message. Yet it seemed realistic as Laura and her daughter struggled with tough decisions about the future, and while the ending is satisfying, everything isn't neatly tied up - nor should it be.
Laura is a character I admired, a doctor who spent her medical career helping the needy by working at a clinic for the poor. Her love for Megan never wavered and their close mother-daughter relationship was a joy to see. Laura's wisdom is shown in her realization that: "Unconditional love doesn't make the problems go away, but it sure helps keep them in proper perspective."
The quilt maker, Jenny, is an adorable character. Jenny begins making a quilt every spring, without knowing who it is for, and finishes in time for Christmas. "I just pray as I stitch, and listen until God tells me what to do with it."
The quilt itself is a major character, telling the story of Elizabeth Blackwell, the first American woman doctor. I found Elizabeth's story remarkable and enjoyed Jenny's sharing of it with Laura and her daughter and the way it ministered to them.
Sometimes a light, inspiring story is just what I need, and I enjoyed the characterization and the way Kathi dealt with some serious issues in this story. I would recommend The Doctor's Christmas Quilt to those who enjoy inspirational fiction.
This book was provided by BookFun.org and New Hope Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When her unwed medical student daughter discloses that she is pregnant, Dr. Laura Branson is torn between excitement and fear. Until now, her beliefs and stance on pro-life issues have been more theoretical than personal. It isn't until she receives a Christmas gift—a quilt that depicts the life of pioneer Elizabeth Blackwell, the first woman doctor in America—that she is forced to wrestle with her beliefs. What does she really believe, and will she have the courage to stand by her convictions?
My Review:
Jenny makes quilts every year, never knowing who they are for, or what purpose they will serve. She never knows who they are for, but in faith she sews every stitch knowing their purpose will eventually be revealed. When she meets Megan, she slowly learns her story, and discovers that the girl had a bright future ahead of her - until she came home and announced that she was pregnant. I loved how Macias took some very tough yet sensitive topics, and so easily took us on a journey of grace, forgiveness, and mercy.
And of course, the quilting theme tied with Elizabeth Blackwell's history as the first female doctor in America was absolutely fascinating. When life got messy for Dr. Laura and her daughter, the symbolic quilt and Dr. Blackwell's story was the shining star of hope in their life. Macias shows us that no matter what life throws at us (whether based on our choices or otherwise), God always has a plan for us far beyond what we could ever hope or dream of.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wrap Your Heart in a Warming Quilt Story

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice Garey
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Doctor's Christmas Quilt is a gift of a story from Kathi Macias. You will want to open this gift at any time of the year even if it does have Christmas in the title.
Macias crafted the story in an excellent manner by intertwining a current day woman medical doctor and her med student daughter with the story of the first woman to go to med school and become a practicing physician, Elizabeth Blackwell. Only a master storyteller like Macias would have the skill to put together all the parts of this story and result in believable characters facing what they would think to be the worst possible scenario given their values. Real tests of character are created and the wisdom of God's pro-life stance shines through.
The modern day med student, Megan, dated a fellow med student who took advantage of her as their physical relationship went beyond the boundaries she found acceptable. Pregnancy resulted. So her mother, a physician, is sought out for comfort and advice as the daughter has expectations of going through the pregnancy alone. She even thinks perhaps the father of the child should not even be told in the future that he has a child. She has so many confusing thought to sort out including if she will even return to school.
Another aspect of this story covers the tendency of some doctors to be workaholics who become so engrossed with their work that they neglect their health and family. The doctor has been in the unhealthy routine of skipping meals. A remedy for that is found. The unlikely friendship between the doctor and an elderly small shop owner is the backdrop that keeps this story moving with their lunch time meetings where they dine and discuss the quilt blocks that tell the story of Elizabeth Blackwell. Macias graciously gives the reader the full story of Blackwell instead of the "doctored" and politically correct version which bypasses Blackwell's stance of being against abortions. Her family also worked against slavery, and she paved the way for women to be able to pursue medical school. In a sense, you get two stories in one in this book.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review after reading the book. I am so thankful I was given the opportunity to read and review this wonderful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A doctor's dilemma

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading and reviewing books by Kathi Macias because I know they will resonate in my heart. This one hits the target. A daughter's shame, a mother's heartache, and choices to be made all written up and wrapped up for Christmas.
All her life Dr. Laura Branson has believed that a baby is a baby from conception to birth and beyond, but when her only child, her beloved daughter, her pride and joy, comes home early for Thanksgiving and breaks the news of a baby on the way and no intention to marry the father, Dr. Branson finds her own beliefs exploding before her eyes. Her dreams that Megan will follow her into medicine will be shelved if not discarded by Christmas.
Megan is confused by her mother's response, or rather lack of response. A friend of Laura's, an older woman who is making a quilt, begins to tell first Laura and then both Laura and Megan stories of the first woman doctor in the US, Elizabeth Blackwell, a woman who listened to God rather than the voices around her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a doctor tested on her pro-life belief

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Macias' short novel is a look into a few weeks of the life of Dr. Laura Branson, a woman who tragically lost her husband and son years ago. Her daughter, Megan, comes home from university early for Thanksgiving to tell her mother she is pregnant. There is never a thought of abortion as Megan and her mother are Christians with strong pro-life beliefs. But what will this do to Megan's future and her dream of following in her mother's career as a doctor? How can Megan be a single mom and continue her schooling? The father is out of consideration as he has already moved on to another girl.
Running parallel to the story of Megan and her mom is the story of Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell, the woman who broke the so called glass ceiling of medicine in the mid-1800s. Dr. Branson has recently developed a new friend, Jenny, who has a quilting store. The two get together for lunch and Jenny tells Dr. Blackwell's story, represented by the squares in a quilt she is making. Jenny, also a strong Christian, knows she is to pray for Laura and Megan, even if she does not know what is going on in their lives.
As the novel progresses, we see how Megan and her mother deal with the pregnancy. It is one thing to have a strongly held belief on pro-life but another when the situation actually invades your family. The pro-life theme is repeated in Dr. Blackwell's story. We are reminded several times that Blackwell is well known for her strong abolitionist views but not as well known for her strong pro-life views.
This is a rather simply written story. It was a bit predictable. I would probably recommend a reading age of mid to upper teens. There is a very clear pro-life message as well as a clear presentation of the gospel in the book.
I received a complimentary digital copy of this book through the Book Group Network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Parallels

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a result of the accidental deaths of her husband and young son ten years earlier, Dr. Laura Branson devoted herself to paving the way for her daughter to attend medical school. Those plans may be about to change as Megan comes home from school for a weekend visit and announces that she is pregnant. With strong Christian convictions and dedicated to saving lives Laura and Megan share a strong stand against abortion; however, at Megan's announcement Laura questions her feelings regarding her unwed daughter's pregnancy. Laura had recently begun taking her lunch breaks with an older woman named Jenny, the owner of an antique shop. When Laura asked about a quilt in Jenny's back room Jenny explained that she makes a Christmas quilt every year that she gives to someone special. She prays for inspiration from God regarding who will become the recipient. Jenny explained that her current Christmas quilt is inspired by the story of the first woman doctor, Elizabeth Blackwell. Lunch dates become routine as Jenny shares the details of Dr. Blackwell's life represented in each of the blocks in the quilt, and how they relate to the obstacles she overcame in her life. Through Dr. Blackwell's life story both Laura and Megan are inspired by the history that parallels present issues they both face. This parallel reveals some thought-provoking questions regarding Megan's future as a doctor, and potentially as a single mother.
Author Kathi Macias is a favorite of mine. She has penned stories that have touched me in ways that have confirmed issues in my own life, and this book is no exception. In The Doctor's Christmas Quilt she reveals a rich history lesson that is interwoven with present day issues that make us question our deepest beliefs. The relationship between mother and daughter is done with compassion and realism. Issues of guilt, fear, uncertainty and spiritual concerns are broached with sensitivity and Christian perspectives, with resulting redemption through forgiveness and God's grace. The story of Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell is very educational and blends seamlessly with the issues discussed in this book. As a quilter and mother of a daughter who became pregnant as an unmarried young woman, this story is very dear to my heart. God does bring beauty from ashes as Kathi Macias presents in examples throughout this beautiful and poignant story!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the For Readers Only program through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful story

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
British
Location:Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am never disappointed by any book written by Kathi Macias. Things happen mistakes are made boundaries are compromised and are common in our lives and the world which we live, yet Kathi manages to sit you down absorbed in the the tale as it is retold. It was very interesting to see how a story was formed around a quilt. A story of a history making Doctor whose life had a lasting impact on other doctors as well as those in training, a story of how important setting boundaries early in a relationship is so imperative. I am proud to give this honest review and equally grateful to Book club.org for putting this book in my hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When Life Gets Messy

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Doctor’s Christmas Quilt is a story that illustrates how actions speak louder than words. This book has so many wonderful themes including women supporting one another, parenting under difficult circumstances, consequences and redemption. Finally, it demonstrates when dreams don’t go as planned and life gets messy, love and faith are the best foundation. When Dr. Laura Branson’s daughter announces she’s pregnant, and by less than desirable circumstances, she is forced to reckon with her beliefs. Laura has been an outspoken prolife supporter but in the situation her daughter has presented, she contemplates the possibility of abortion. I loved the way Ms. Macias characterized each person’s point of view. She beautifully portrays how it’s never too late to be forgiven and come to Christ. This is a wonderful book that’s perfect for anytime of the year but definitely as a Christmas read.
I received this book from The Book Club Network and New Hope Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

difficult subject of unplanned pregnancy with dign

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Doctor’s Christmas Quilt By Kathi Macias
Dr Laura Brandon’s world tilted when her young unwed daughter announces she is pregnant. Not only is Meagan’s future jeopardized by an unplanned pregnancy but so is her dream of following in her mothers footsteps by finishing medical school and becoming a doctor. The choices she is facing are life changing, abortion, adoption or becoming a single parent. Together Megan and Laura examine their pro-life belief’s while their relationship becomes stronger. Jenny is an old friend of Laura’s, she is making a Christmas quilt inspire by the life story of Dr Elizabeth Blackwell. As she shares the story of the quilt with mother and daughter they find healing, love, faith and forgiveness. This is the first book I have read by this author but it will not be the last. Author Kathi Macias did a great job of sharing the difficult subject of unplanned pregnancy with dignity and compassion. She was able to interweave history with modern everyday life. Her characters were inspiring and heart warming. I want to thank the author Kathi Macias and publisher for bringing good clean Christian books like this one to readers like me. I would also like to thank The Book Club Network Inc. for providing me with this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Great Book!

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi Macias has done it again! This book was wonderful! I read it in 2 days! Dr. Laura Branson is shocked when her unwed med student daughter, Megan, comes homes pregnant. Laura and Megan try to deal with what to do about this. Laura has always been pro-life but this is a whole different ballgame for her. This book was very interesting and thought provoking. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone!
I received this book from bookfun for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!!!

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first time I read a book by Kathi Macias. The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, was an enjoyable story to read. I could not put the book down and felt the emotions of each character in the story. Dr. Larson's unwed daughter announces she is pregnant. Dr. Larson is torn between faith and fear. An unexpected Christmas Quilt helps answer her questions. A story of love and forgiveness. I received this book from The Book Club Network for an honest review. I recommend this book....it was a great story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Doctor's Christmas Quilt is an amazing story on a tough subject. This is the first book by Kathy Macias I read but it won't be the last. I have already looked into recieving some of her other books. The book revolves around a mother - daughter relationship. The daughter is in medical school, following in her mother's footsteps of becoming a doctor. She decides to take an early Thanksgiving break to go home to her mom because she has news to break. She is pregnant which will bring with it many decisions to make. The daughter wants her mother to help her make them. There is also an added story of the history of the first female doctor in the US., Dr Elizabeth Blackwell.
The story is well-written,and enjoyable but also with a lesson to it of savation and hope and forgiveness.
I recieved the book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mother's Love, Friendships, Remarkable Quilt

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura is a doctor and her daughter Megan is in medical school. Laura's husband and son were killed in an accident and with Megan away at school Laura buries herself in work. She makes a stop at her friend Jenny's store. Jenny is making a quilt and she tells the story behind it. Both Laura and Megan love hearing about the first female doctor in the US. Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell. Megan has a secret and not sure how to tell her mother. There's an accident that causes Megan to rethink things. There is mother-daughter love and relationship, friendship with Jenny, broken romance, a few other surprises that would ruin the book if I told. The book caught my attention in the first couple pages and I read it every chance I had. Finished in less than two days. I truly enjoyed this book and hope that the author Kathi Macias will write a sequel. Would love to read more about this wonderful characters. The problems are normal ones that some us have or will experience sometime in our lives or know someone that has. I will definitely be buying future books by Kathi. I do recommend this as a good Christian book.
This book was an advance copy provided by Book Club Network to read and leave an unbiased opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When our convictions are tested??????

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
KGD history teacher
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many of us wonder how we will stand when some of our beliefs are tested. Will they stand as a rock solid conviction, or will we fold and say that was just a good idea, but it doesn't work out in real life? Dr. Laura Branson is a single mom, having lost her husband and son in a car accident. Besides her medical practice, her daughter Megan is her reason for living. Megan is a model Christian young lady, a Medical student, and comes home to tell her mom that she is pregnant. Megan never meant for her relationship to be carried to this level, but it did and now she is bravely facing the consequences. Dr. Laura has always counseled girls that all life is sacred and is very pro-life. But now she wonders if this "inconvenient" pregnancy will spoil her daughter's life and her plans for her daughter's life.
This is the second in Kathi Macias's "Quilt" series in which she take a modern day dilemma and intersperses it with the true story of an outstanding woman from history. In this case, it was the story of Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell, the first woman doctor in America. Through the telling of this story, via quilt blocks made by an older friend, we learn about the hardships faced by this brave woman. The story also gave Dr. Laura, the courage face her own fears.
This would make a good book club read about the abortion issue and even the history of prejudices faced by women. I received this book from The Book Club Network and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great story about the importance of faith

Date:October 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very tender story that will tug on your heartstrings. Dr. Laura Branson's daughter, Megan, is following in her mother's footsteps into the medical field by going to medical school. Megan comes home early from classes to break the news to her mom that she is pregnant. With her news comes a lot of questions. Will Megan finish her schooling? Who is the father and what role, if any, will he play in the child's life? Will Megan keep the baby?
During this time of struggle Dr. Branson becomes close with a lady friend of hers that is making a quilt. Laura spends her lunch hour meeting with Jenny to learn the story behind the quilt. What Laura doesn't know is that Jenny keeps Laura and Megan in her prayers. She doesn't know exactly why these two have been placed in her life, but trusts the Lord to use her whatever way he feels necessary.
This is a very nicely written story that shows the clear plan of salvation and brings hope to all who read it. The author does a great job in stitching a history lesson into this modern day novel.
I received a copy of The Doctor's Christmas Quilt from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Doctor's Christmas Quilt

Date:October 4, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another wonderful book from Kathi Macias; I'm loving the Quilt series.
Christmas Quilt is thought provoking; it has a story that will make you question if you could hold to your beliefs if the storm was happening on your home-front. I really enjoyed the characters and felt that I was not just reading a book, but that I was a part of the story.
PS: Learning about Doctor Blackwell was an added bonus.
I received a free copy of this book courtesy of The Book Club Network for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christmas quilt that bonds

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
jbarr5
Location:RI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Doctor's Christmas Quilt by Kathi Macias
I first wanted to read this book because it focuses around a Christmas quilt-two of my favorite things. When I read the synopsis I knew it'd be a story I'd enjoy.
Dr. Laura Branson's medical school daughter is back home before the Thanksgiving break. Megan has informed her that Alex is history and she's pregnant.
Not only does the story follow Laura's part but Megan's part as well as others.
Jenny's Treasure store is a major part of the quilt storytelling aspect of this book. The woman are able to meet at lunch most daily visits where each square holds a story about the life of the first female doctor.
The recipient of the quilt God will inform her in time for Christmas. Everybody is against abortion til Laura overhears something that might change her mind..
The story also follows Alex, a med student also and he and Megan had dated and on his way home for Thanksgiving a car crash...
Laura prays to God in how to help Megan. The women get to cook dinner and do spend hours bonding...
Love hearing how the story is pictured in the quilt and what it all means. Love the travel and places they visit as I've yet to visit Colorado.
Megan does have a discussion with her mother on the plans after the semester is finished...
Amazing how this story is bound together by God and believing in him.
I received this book from The Book Club Network (bookfun.org) in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

female bonding

Date:September 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A female doctor,Laura, is surprised by the unexpected visit from her medical student daughter, Megan. The two have been close since a car accident killed Laura's son and husband ten years earlier. Both women of faith with strong pro-life beliefs find themselves dealing with Megan's unwed pregnancy. Their struggles to decide what to do next is intermingled with the delightful stories of their elderly friend, Jenny, as she shares her warmth and faith and the life story of Elizabeth Blackwell, America's first woman doctor. The relationship between the women gives support and strength as Blackwell's story encourages them to persevere in fulfilling God's purpose in their lives, no matter the obstacles.
The story ends with many questions still hanging and no easy fixes, but the reader is assured that their faith in God's grace and presence will see them through the uncertain future.I guess this is truly realistic as none of us knows what the future will bring and must just trust the One in whose hands the future is. I enjoyed the characters and the ties that bind the women. Jenny is a treasure indeed. And Alex, well, we are left to wonder what God will do with him, but his mountain-climbing dream was awesome.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Doctor's Christmas Quilt, Quilt Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book

Date:September 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
calliegh
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi Macias has once again written another great book. She has woven the story of Dr. Laura Branson with that of Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell, the first woman physician. Dr. Blackwell was not only a staunch abolitionist but also a pro-life supporter. There were two convictions which were not well accepted during her time.
Dr. Branson has lived a life not untouched by tragedy. She and her daughter, Megan, have had to pick up the pieces and continue on with life. They have had to find a new normal. Dr. Branson has always held the belief of pro-life. But when the unthinkable touches their lives, will she and Megan have the strength to go on? Will they be able to move forward even if they outcome my not be the path that they have set right now?
Dr. Branson must decide if she can accept a new path or if they present path was really the one her daughter had chosen or was it the path that she chose for her daughter. Can she support her daughter in whatever decision she decides? When God sends an angel in the form of a friend, will Laura be open enough to receive the insight that she is suppose to?
Megan must come to terms with not only a life changing occurrence but with the decisions that led up to it. She must decide what her future will hold. Dr. Blackwell's story is not only meant for her mother but for Megan as well. She sees the strength and convictions of Dr. Blackwell as a stepping stone and a chance to learn.
Will Dr. Blackwell help to lead these women over a hundred years after her life and death? Will Dr. Branson and Megan be able to walk forward? Will Megan decide what path her future will hold? Many questions and many answers are found in this book. Many ideas are tested.
I received this book through TCBN for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>