Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Simple Secrets - eBook

Barbour Publishing Simple Secrets - eBook

Gracie Temple loves city life and her job as a graphic designer. But when a reclusive uncle dies and leaves her his house in a quiet Kansas Mennonite community, she inherits a dark legacy, strange neighbors---and farmer Sam Goodrich. Will Gracie be enticed by the small town's charm---or intimidated by its deadly secrets?
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simple Secrets - eBook
Review 1 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
xxxx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this series - mystery, romance, and enough suspense to keep you reading....Nice story to provide distraction on a snowy day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting book

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon Maness
Location:Pendleton, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't put it down until I finished it and then went right on to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books I have ever read!!!

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is this book a love story, but it is jam packed with many plots and sub-plots. It has just enough characters to not get confused, yet all of them are intricately woven into all of the different plots and sub-plots.
This book was so well written, it kept me on the edge of my seat. It was not only full of action, suspense and romance but was peppered throughout with humor.
I can't wait to read the second and third book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a wonderful read ..... Mrs.F.Currie

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian Currie
Location:Victoria. B.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the series and read through them and totally enjoyed the 3 books. I found the information about the Old Order Mennonites was interesting and inspiring. The books were easy to read but held my interest throughout. I loved how the author, Nancy Mehl, filled her books with many Biblical principles and Biblical admonishes. Great books to read..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
vande
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this series. I was pleasantly surprised by these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Go ahead and buy all 3 in the series!

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
kaygeecee
Location:Shelbyville, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the third book I've read by Nancy Mehl, and I purposely sought it out after reading the first two (Missing Mabel and Blown Away). She is an excellent author, one where you don't want to put her books down until you've finished them.
This series about the Mennonite community was somewhat different than the others, but I definitely was not disappointed. Go ahead and purchase all three of the books because you will not want to wait before reading the next in the series. It would be fine with me if the series continued. In fact, I hope it will. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wow ... Nancy Mehl!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where did Nancy Mehl come from? I happened upon this book as it was recommended by another author. (I usually only read Amish stories but I decided I'd check out a Mennonite one.)
I really loved this book! I loved the characters (some of them quirky though they may be). I thought the setting was established nicely and I found the plot interesting enough to keep me coming back for more!
I like seeing friendships being made between people with different upbringings and religions. This book melded them all together quite nicely.
I think you'll enjoy this book whether you're a fan of Amish fiction, Mennonite fiction or inspirational fiction in general!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blessed
It has mystery, christian and romance! Perfect combo!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kansas Sunflower
Location:On a Farm in Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVED this book! I can't wait for the third book to come out soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Cupp
I thought this was a very good read. It heldmy attention and had many surprises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda C
Simple Secrets is a very well written christian mystery that takes place in Harmony Kansas a small Mennonite community. When Gracie Temple inherits her uncles property in Harmony she is sort of surprised. She had never met this uncle, when her family left the Mennonite community years before her uncle decided to stay and never contacted anyone in the family again.Gracie decides she will take a quick trip to dispose of the house and collect some family heirlooms, but once she arrives she finds a letter left to her by her uncle that discloses the murder of a man named Jacob Glick, and her uncle Ben believed that Gracie's dad murdered this man, so to hide the murder Ben buried the man on his property and then spent the rest of his life keeping a secret to protect his brother.Gracie is sure that her dad is in no way responsible for the murder, but who is ? Can she trust her new found friend Sam Goodrich to help her figure out who the real murderer is?The author throws out several suspects for us to choose from, but this is no easy mystery to solve, I thought I had it right but was surprised at the end. This is a very fast paced read full of mystery, suspense, romance and also a glance at the Mennonite community. The author keeps you guessing right up till the end trying to figure out who the murderer actually is.I loved my visit to Harmony and look forward to reading the next book in this great Mennonite series titled Simple Deceit due out 12/10.Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a copy of this book to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Faye Lemons
This was a very inspiring novel. It spoke to many concerns of all of us.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Thompson
A city girl and a country boy unite to solve a long buried crime in the Mennonite town of Harmony, Kansas.I really enjoyed reading this book. I found the characters believable and easy to connect with. Gracie Temple is a graphics designer in Wichita. Her father calls and gives her the news that his brother Benjamin, whom she has never met, has died and left Gracie his estate. She makes plans to go to Harmony and see what she has inherited. Her initial reaction is to sell the house right away. But she decides to take a week or so to look things over and make up her mind.When she rolls into Harmony she decides to look around a bit before going to Benjamins house. The town she sees is not the town her father had described. There are shops all up and down the street, people everywhere, some dressed in the traditional Mennonite fashion she was familiar with, and others dressed normally. She gets a lot of stares but she figures its because she is the stranger in town.After getting settled in and meeting a couple of her neighbors she finds a letter that her uncle left her. He tells her something in that letter that changes everything! Who was Jacob Glick and why is his body buried on her property? Who is the real killer? Why does everyone in town act so strange when she mentions the name of Jacob Glick? Can she even trust her closest friend in Harmony, Sam Goodrich? Gracie and Sam follow clues and do some digging to try and find the answers.As I read this book, I was drawn into the town and into the lives of the people of Harmony. I could smell the fried chicken that Sams aunt, Sweetie Goodrich, was cooking. I could see the rooms of Sweetie and Sams house as Gracie was given a tour. Ms. Mehl did a wonderful job in writing the book! I dont think anyone who reads it will be disappointed. I had a hard time putting it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Simply Secrets is simply amazing! So much so that I read it in one sitting. Mehl has created a masterful mystery/suspense. The clues are expertly planted deep within the layers of plot and romance. Im usually really good at figuring out mysteries but Mehl managed to distract me with enough red herrings to make my head spin. I loved it!!!The town of Harmony is an inspiring blend of faiths and beliefs where neighbours meet each other on the common ground of the greatest commandment, love thy neighbour. There are wonderful faith-promoting conversations between characters which flow naturally into the plot making this an uplifting and thought-provoking read.Mehls cast of characters are so diverse and cleverly crafted that they come to life, as does the fictional town. I was very disappointed to discover that Harmony doesnt exist except in the authors imaginationand now mine. I am actually feeling bereft now that I am forced to take my departure from a town and people Ive grown to love. I feel as melancholy as if Im leaving a favourite vacation spot. Even though I know Ill get to go back someday, it cant be soon enough for me! Alas, that wont happen until December when the sequel, Simple Deceit comes out. I cant wait!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mildred E. Winters
Great book! Loved every aspect of this writer's plot. Quite intriguing and suspense-filled and kept me turning pages until I finished it. Would recommend it to everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Simple Secrets by Nancy Mehl is the first book in the Harmony series about a mostly Mennonite community in Kansas. Gracie Temple grew up disliking her family's hometown because of the Ban on her parents for their marriage against the bishop's wishes. When her uncle Ben dies, whom she's never met, and leaves her his home, she's forced to go to Harmony to deal with the home. A letter from Ben tells her of a thirty year old murder and secret that she must get to the bottom of if she is ever to return to her life as a graphic designer in Wichita, but after meeting Sam Goodrich, Gracie isn't so sure that Wichita is where she wants to be. Mehl puts an interesting spin on the extremely popular Amish or bonnet fiction genre. Gracie is an outsider with a prejudice against Mennonites, and the community has plenty of secrets to hide. The reader comes to understand the differences between Mennonite groups as Gracie meets her neighbors and the townsfolk. There's a couple of strong messages: people are individuals regardless of the groups they belong to and sometimes the past must be dealt with before the future can be lived. I hope in future volumes Mehl finds companions for lonely Sarah and bitter Sweetie, but the town of Harmony will provide plenty of compelling romances for quite some time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donita K. Paul
I was raised on cozy mysteries. My mother had them on her bookshelf and brought them home from the library in a basket. Nancy Mehl won my heart with her series, Ivy Towers Mysteries. I picked up this book eagerly and was not disappointed. A hot cup of tea, rain pouring outside, and a cozy--that's life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Gracie Temple's estranged uncle left her his farm and hopes she will be able to succeed where he could not. But someone wants Gracie to leave Harmony and go back where she came from. What are they afraid she will uncover? And can she solve the mystery without endangering more of her family?Simple Secrets is Romantic Suspense at its best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Irene Brand
In this first-person narrative, Nancy Mehl presents an enticing tale of romance and suspense that will immediately draw readers into the story and hold them spellbound to the end. Gracie Temple is surprised when her uncle, Benjamin, leaves her his farmstead in the small Mennonite community of Harmony, Kansas. Gracie soon realizes that almost everyone she meets is burdened with secrets- most of them revolving around the mysterious disappearance of Jacob Glick many years ago. Then, Gracie's house is burglarized, she's accused of stealing, and her house is torched.Ms. Mehl is to be applauded for creating a beautiful love story and a suspenseful tale of inspiration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Simple Secrets - eBook
This review is fromSimple Secrets, Harmony Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
SIMPLE SECRETS by Nancy Mehl is a Inspirational romance/mystery set in modern day Harmony, Kansas. It is the first in The Harmony Series which is fictional town in Kansas, it is about the secrets of this small Mennonite town. It has mystery, romance, secrets, forgiveness, family and the old quote "the truth will set you free". It is well written with depth and detail,fast paced and a page turner. This small Mennonite town is warm, caring, has a truckload of secrets, but this would be a wonderful town to live in, grow up in and raise a family. The characters are also warm, caring and will pull you into the story and feel their heartbreak, their joys, their triumphs and hurt. I would highly recommend this book, especially if you enjoy Mennonite stories, which is simpler to the Amish ways but not as strict. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Barbour Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>