Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives

HarperOne The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives

Believers long for personal purity and power to live as our hearts tell us we should. But how does God change us? Willard reminds us that we can be like Christ if we follow his style of life: solitude and silence, prayer, simple and sacrificial living, meditation on God's Word, and service to others. The practice of these disciplines is how God guides us into a constant interaction with his kingdom. "Few books have challenged me like this one. I would urge every serious minded Christian to read it...at your own risk."---Bill Hybels, author of Honest to God?.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Review 1 for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tom Klein
This book is considered standard reading in most Bible Colleges and Seminaries when it comes to spiritual formation requirements What is problematic is Willards interpretation of Matt. 11:29-30 as a lifestyle of the practice of Spiritual Disciplines Though I consider this book not to be as profound as Richard Fosters Celebration of Discipline I did considerable highlighting and noting of many places that I deemed questionable and concerning Despite the endorsement on the front cover by Richard J Foster who has been highly influential in reclaiming Monastic/ Eastern practices into Protestantism Sue Mon Kidds endorsement on the back cover I consider disturbing since she is an advocate of inter-spirituality and mysticism If you are required to read this book for a Spiritual Formation class I highly recommend that you do read Bob Dewaays thorough review of the book on his Critical Issues Commentary web-site before you start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fern Coleman
This is not a light book to read. It takes awhile, take your time. BUT very beneficial.Similar to Foster's "Celebration of Discipline."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
This is a good quick read on spiritual disciplines, but it is not that great of a book. If you want to read on spiritual disciplines read Richard Fosters classic, Celebration of Discipline, or Donald Whitney's, Spiritual disciplines for the Christian life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dr. Robert W. Kellemen
Dallas Willard's sub-title explains it well: "Understanding How God Changes Lives." As Richard Foster introduced the practice of spiritual disciplines to the "Baby Boom" generation of Protestants, so Willard introduced them to the theology of spiritual disciplines. He teaches not only what disciplines to practice, but why to practice them. "The Spirit of the Disciplines" is theologically grounded and psychologically astute. As a professor of theology and psychology, this is why I make "The Spirit of the Disciplines" required reading in our seminary. When Protestants were first re-introduced to the historic disciplines of the church, many balked. They complained that the disciplines smacked of eastern mysticism. Willard led the charge in elucidating the Christian theology behind the disciplines for the Christian life. To this day, no one has written a more astute theology of practical spirituality. Reviewer: Dr. Robert W. Kellemen, author of "Soul Physicians" and "Spiritual Friends."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
J. Ryan Moorhead
This book contains crucial insights into how grace works in accordance with our efforts to live the Christian life. It also contains invaluable insights into the body's role in spiritual formation. It is a must-read, and should be read in conjunction with Willard's other books. Contrary to one reviewer on this site, Willard is far from being a deist. I have no idea where that assessment came from. He speaks constantly of God's action in our lives as the cornerstone of living the Christian life, and how the disciplines relate to that. Practicing the disciplines really brings about authentic change. Simply reading a book about them will not bring about the abundant life, but entering into them will prove it so. "Wisdom is proved right by her actions." Thank you, Dr. Willard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2001
Customer Avatar
Josh Collison
I was extremely glad that I decided to read this book. It did take me a while to get through it, but I see that as a good thing because it has depth; not just a quick read that you walk away from not having been made to process the information in order to really understand. This book really seems to be an explanation on why the Disciplines are important and why they should be implemented into your life. It did not go too far in depth on HOW to actually practice them properly and effectively, but it does have many sources cited at the end of each chapter which would be good reading on going further in your study of the Disciplines. I recommend this book to anyone who really does not know much about the Disciplines and why they should be practiced. It has the potential to be quite revolutionary in the way that you live the Christian life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2001
Customer Avatar
Cary Palmer
An absolutely great book. As Foster says it is truly "The book of the decade".Willard does an excellent defense of the disciplines -in fact the first sevenchapters are all defending his propositions. Then he gives one chapter on the actual disciplines. His breakdown of dividing the disciplines into disciplines of engagement and disciplines of abstinence is superb-the best way of thinking about the historic disciplines that I have ever heard. Willard gives us a very concrete view on how we can follow Christ properly and he shows us that the Christian life is all about the body. Willard does this in a manner that is convincing and brings a message that has been missing in 20th century Christiandom. The only thing that I would add is a chapter on "the discipline of Grace"(see Jerry Bridges book) and most importantly a chapter on the "External Discipliner". (Providence). Willard is closer to being a deist than I would want him to be (it shows up in his other books) and that is why (I believe) doesn't have a chapter on the External Discipliner. (see Heb :12) Nonetheless, the book should go down in history, as a classic-it really is that good and I have read a lot of books-it's # 1 to me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jason Cruise, TodaysPreacher.Com
Dallas Willard is a super writer. He makes some very bold statements in this book; statements and thoughts that really spur you on in deepening your walk with Jesus. The book is a slow read - but not slow in the sense of boring. Slow in that it's a deep thinking book. You have to take time to think through Willard's teaching. It's a super book. I think it can really help you understand, in Willard's terms, the "easy yoke" of following Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.