Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Surrender the Heart - eBook

Barbour Books Surrender the Heart - eBook

For the sake of her ailing mother, Marianne Denton becomes engaged to Noah Brennin---a merchantman she despises. But as the War of 1812 escalates, Jonah's ship is captured by the British, and the ill-matched couple learns vital information that could aid America's cause. As they battle to save their country, will they also find love?
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 out of 3597%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Review 1 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

profanity used in this book

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
yaya
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was indeed enjoying reading this book up until page 103, where the author decided to use God's name in vain. It just escapes me how a christian author would do this in her book. I wish there was a warning for me so I would not have thrown my money away on a book I ended up deleting from my ebook library. The author is a talented writer and this book would have been just fine without cursing in it. If the author is going to continue to do this I will no longer purchase her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Read

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
DanielleJ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! MaryLu is one of my favorite authors! There is never a dull moment! This book is a great combination of romance and adventure.
It really gets scary for a little while. You don't know what will happen next. I really liked that Marianne and Noah didn't like each other and they slowly softened to one another and realized their perceptions of one another were not quite right.
This book made me really think about what it would be like to be right there on a boat with the enemy and what would I do. This is one I will read again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Historical Romance

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacey
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Surrender the Heart”, the first novel in the Surrendered to Destiny Series, is a wild, page-turning adventure from the first turn of phrase. Mary Lu Tyndall creates vibrant characters that set sail on sparkling seas and into the hearts of her audience. Marianne Denton is not your typical wealthy American girl. She is being forced to marry Noah Brenin to unlock her inheritance so that her mother may receive much-needed medical care.
Noah’s circumstances aren’t much better. He lives in the shadow of a brother’s death and a father’s resentment. His only desire is to make a name for himself and be Captain of his own destiny. Presently, he will have to settle for being Captain of his father’s merchant ship, Fortune. But Noah has plans to win respect and his lady’s heart.
Are the lessons about surrendering to God for the characters, alone? Or can the reader learn a thing or two about deepening their relationship with God? Personally, I believe this novel not only entertains but also conveys godly life lessons portrayed so vividly that they cannot be ignored.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Location:NH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Surrender the Heart is the first book in the Surrender to Destiny series.
Marianne Denton is desperate to support her ill mother and little sister, and has decided to marry Noah, whom she despises, to get her inheritance. Noah is marrying Marianne to please his father, though he is doing everything in his power to get her to break off the engagement.
Marianne and Noah are captured by the British, delaying both of their plans, and they must stick together and spend more time with each other than they'd wanted.
I liked this book, it didn't have as nice a flow as some of her other books, but it was highly entertaining and very sweet. It was actually my least favorite in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Age:18-24
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very very good Christian book. I recommend it!
The story of Marianne and Noah is not the boring and expected kind that can be found in other books.
It was full of action, romance, and portrayed a nice message of salvation and trust in God throughout the story, which I find rare even in Christian novels..
The plot is really interesting and keeps you reading and wanting to know what is going to happen next.
That book is one of my favorites. I really enjoyed the storyline and the main idea of it: two childhood friends that hated each other and whose parents arrange an engagement to which they both agreed for certain reasons that do not include love. When Noah attends the engagement party for barely a few minutes and leaves to his ship, Marianne is embarrased and furious, and follows him out of the house, demanding that he stays. When he ignores her, she follows him to talk to him and ends up on his ship, at sea.
I wont reveal more details and the rest of the story, but I recommend you follow Marianne and Noah on their adventure.
A must-read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Historical Fiction Read

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surrender the Heart
Marianne Denton needs to marry Noah Brenin so she can get her inheritance. This is the only way she can afford the medicine her mother needs. But either Noah or Marianne is very excited about the wedding, why Noah even walked out on his own engagement party! If Noah could make enough money from the cargo he is taking to England maybe he won’t have to marry this woman he doesn’t even like. But little did he know that Marianne would follow him to the ship, only to get stranded there when the ship sails. And of course when she was found, the ship was too far out at sea to take her back. To Noah’s horror, running out on his engagement party was not so smart after all! Oh! What a tangled web we can weave!
I absolutely loved this book! Noah and Marianne’s journey as their adventures at sea started captured me from the very beginning. Not knowing a lot about cargo ships, I really enjoyed the bit of information I learned about ships, shipmates, pirates, and all of the other workers and stuff involved in running a ship. MaryLu has a way with weaving details of the story together with romance and the importance of living Godly lives that makes a most interesting and enlightening story for her readers. In my opinion, MaryLu is just one of the best!
I strongly encourage you to grab a copy of each book in this series to read, enjoy and pass along to others for their enjoyment. You will not be disappointed!
A huge thank you to the author MaryLu for providing me a copy of this book to read and review. I was not expected or required to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are my own honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!!

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Browneyes
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great book!!
I read it in one day.
It was so cute the way the charters interacted with one another!!
Its definitely a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful read!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady Katy
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I've heard a lot of great things about MaryLu and her books, so when I won this book, I was looking forward to reading it. What a fun adventure! Marianne was great to get to know through the course of this book and I laughed out loud on occasion with her and Noah's banter. What fun!
The Christian content in the book was greatly appreciated. I loved watching both Marianne and Noah grow and mature in Christ. Very realistic!
I enjoyed every moment I spent in Surrender the Heart. Can't wait to see what happens in the rest of the series! Keep it up, MaryLu!! You've crafted together a wonderful beginning to this series. Very well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overcome Your Darkest Fears

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil Coop
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have very much enjoyed reading this book, "Surrender the Heart" by MaryLu Tyndall. Marianne Denton, an ordinary young lady who feels like she will never be good enough, especially when she is captured on a British navy at sea. Noah Brenin, a driven man to keep his father's merchant business afloat to have his own father approve of him from a past accident of his youth, but then to realizing something else of more importance.
After reading, "Surrender the Heart", I saw how Marianne and Noah faced their darkest fears as they tried to find a way to escape and fulfill their own destinies. I even noticed how much both needed God in their lives, to have trust in God, knowing that no matter what God has always been with them, and God's destiny for both of them! To conclude, "Surrender the Heart" is filled with lots of action, adventure, drama, and a love story to where I just want to keep on reading to find out what is going to happen next through the whole story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
SHantelle
'Surrender the Heart' made me laugh, it stirred up my anger, and exposed the patriotic side of me. It was a really good historical read; and it showed the importance of trusting. I like Marianne's detirmined nature, and how Noah is so easy going, and just laughs at her none-too-kind efforts to ruin his voyage. Was a really sweet book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great start!

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Broadwayphan902
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be a great start to the Surrender to Destiny series. I thought it was very nice that MaryLu Tyndall created an average character, Marianne; because most people find themselves average (even though they really aren't)! I admired both her and Noah and had a lot of fun watching as their story went on. I found myself unable to stop reading and was quite anxious to see what would happen at each twist and turn. All in all, I thought this was a wonderful book and a good start to a new series. I would defiantly recommend this to any friend or family member.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a good book!

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesslizzie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As soon as I received this book from a friend as a gift, I read it in one sitting. Then, I passed it around to all of my friends. Everyone that reads it loves it. The characters are great. They clash and make you laugh and cry at the exact same time. Well done.
The fourth time is even better. I fell in love with the characters once again as I delved into the pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Spell-binding Start

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cort
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surrender the Heart is a spell-binding start to the Surrender to Destiny Series. Although some parts are a little too predictable, the book still brings to life a forgotten period of U.S. history. Set in the War of 1812, this book shows how God can work in unlikely ways- and through unlikely people- to accomplish His plans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nattynuw
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very interesting, kept me reading, will read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyll
Location:Waterbury, CT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed this book very much. Ordered, and am now reading the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Newsome
Location:Macon, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the fact that you can get the ebook right away and read it anytime. The book mark is great and I liked the writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful start to a series!

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1812
Marianne Denton is not beautiful. She's not thin. She's not rich. And she's not happy about the need to marry Noah Brenin in order to unlock her small inheritance and take care of her ailing mother and little sister.
But she's determined to make the sacrifice.
So when Noah walks out on their engagement party, Marianne is not about to let him get away. She chases him through the streets of Boston all the way to the docks and onto his merchantman. A run-in with a loveable cat prevents her exit from the ship before it departs the harbor, and Marianne finds herself out at sea with her detestable fiancé.
Things are bad, and about to get worse. When a British warship commandeers Noah's merchantman, Noah and Marianne, along with two members of the crew, are taken prisoner and impressed into the British navy. It is on this ship that they meet Daniel, a sweet boy with his own private line to heaven.
To save their lives and honor their country, Noah and Marianne must face deep personal fears, together and as individuals. Both of them hide hurting hearts. Both have a problem with trust. Will they be able to trust God enough to allow Him to heal their wounds and give them a love worth fighting for?
Once again, MaryLu Tyndall delivers a gripping tale that grabs the reader on the first page, and barely allows an easy breath until the last. Tyndall is a masterful storyteller who weaves subtle threads of faith into a tapestry of life with all its twists and turns and faith-robbing trials. In this first installment of the Surrender to Destiny series, she holds true to her reputation for excellent writing, historical detail, and heart-pounding action. Surrender the Heart is gritty, tender, faith-touched fiction that makes a reader sorry to see the last page. What a wonderful way to introduce a new series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful read!

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! Great characters, great story...had to read the entire series without stopping! Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Tyndall Page Turner

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Audrey Hebbert
Location:Omaha, Nebraska
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How does MaryLu Tyndall keep writing these seafaring romances with romance and page-turning elixer poured into each tale? Surrender the Heart is a delightful, entertaining, educational tale rooted in the War of 1812.
Marianne does not want to be married. Period. And definitely not to her fiance, Noah Brenin, who teased her unmercifully when they were children. But if she marries this man, he will take care of her mother and little sister. How will they survive without him?
How did she accidentally end upon Noah's ship? How did she manage to destroy his cargo and get herself, Noah and some other men captured by a British ship? How do they get out of their predicament and safely back on Noah's ship? Tyndall creates the conflicts and before book's end she resolves everything for her usual well-finished book.
I loved the references to Marianne's faith, and Noah's faith. The young boy Daniel and the cat added special elements to the story.You'll want to grab this novel from a practiced, creative author whose creative well never goes dry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Surrender the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Classic Tyndall!

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surrender the Heart was yet another high seas adventure with all of the classic Tyndall luxuries that I have come to enjoy since I discovered her writing several years ago. I love it when authors are consistent with their voice and their approach to historical fiction. I know I will enjoy Tyndall's books as a result. She always includes accurate historical information and a setting that really grounds you in the time and place. I've had enough salt water and sea foam sprayed on me in this novel to remind me that I was indeed on a ship for the majority of the novel, minus the sea sickness.
Both the hero and heroine were likable even though they didn't start out that way. I slowly fell in love with Noah along with Marianne. He was swoon-worthy and heroic, and just the way I like my heroes. They are usually willing to sacrifice anything for the woman they love, and even more willing to forgive and look past the heroine's mistakes. The romantic tension between Marianne and Noah kept building, and those kisses they finally shared were tender and passionate enough to make me smile. I loved how the first kiss was set up because it was easy to see why the heroine believed the hero's affection was not because of his genuine feelings for her, but more because of the situation he was in.
The pacing in the beginning of this novel was a bit slow at first, which was why I started this novel a year ago and set it aside, but then picked it up again. I am glad I did. While not my favorite novel by Tyndall, this story was still enjoyable and one I would recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.