Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Love Remains - eBook

Barbour Publishing Love Remains - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Remains - eBook
Review 1 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love Remains is the story of second chances and of forgiveness.
Zarah Mitchell has worked hard to build a life in Nashville. She fills her days with work at the historic society and museum and her nights with church where she co-leads the singles ministry. Every minute of her well-ordered day is accounted for. So when her first and only love, the man she was willing to risk everything for, comes back to town, her carefully crafted life begins to fall apart.
Robert “Bobby” Patterson has returned to his home town after being gone for 14 years. Unfortunately his new job at the Tennessee Criminal Investigation unit puts him in the direct path of one Zarah Mitchell, the woman who shattered his heart all those years ago.
I really liked Zarah. I think that the author did a great job making her realistic. She was very complicated and she was really fun to read about. Her renewing relationship with Bobby was entertaining as they worked through their past issues.
Looking back over the story, I wish that the author had spent more time writing about Bobby’s investigation and less time on which condo he was buying and all the different floor plans. I thought that was a waste. Zarah’s issues with her father was something that I thought was a great part of the plot and I’m glad that the author left it open for either the future storytelling or for the reader to fill in. I personally took it as a lesson that not all issues in our lives can be resolved. Either way I thought it was a good book to fill any afternoon. I finished it in a day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kaye and Bobby learn to love each other again!

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mara Mittelman
Location:Carneys Point, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, I loved this book. The characters drew me in immediately.
Dr. Zarah Michell is an archeologist and professor, she is also co-leader of her singles group at Church. She is the person that everyone relies on, they know she will put herself out for any person or need.
Agent Bobby Patterson works for the FBI and has recently been assigned in his hometown of Nashville.
What no one knows is that they met years ago in NM and fell in love. But Zarah's father would not allow her to date an enlisted man, the relationship was kept secret and...things kept in secret don't work out.
Now they find themselves in the same church and getting to know one another all over again. There are alot of lies and hurts to overcome and with the Lord all things can be made whole again.
Wonderfully written, had me laughing at moments and then crying the next. I identified with quite a few areas and look forward to reading more from Kaye Dacus(less)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love Remains

Date:August 2, 2011
Love Remains by Kaye Dacus is a sweet romance. The book is part of a series in which grandmothers who are desperate for great-grandchildren begin plotting together to marry off their grandchildren. When Zarrah and Bobby run into each other in the singles ministry at their church after years apart, they must overcome past misunderstanding in order to move forward. Bobby's investigation into Zarrah's workplace throws another kink into the mix, adding another level of drama.
The book started off a little slow for me and there were times that I thought the plot dragged a bit. I think parts of the book could be eliminated in order to move the story along better. Overall, though, the story was very sweet and I liked the characters. Zarrah had some pretty big problems and it was great to see Bobby recognize issues that stemmed from her past and try to help her overcome them. I thought the grandmothers would play a bigger role in the book, but instead they played good supporting characters. I'll definitely check out others in the series and give them a second chance.
3.5 stars (out of 5)
I received a free copy of this book from Barbour Books and NetGalley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun filled tale of Christian Matchmaking :)

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: Love Remains - Kaye Dacus - August 2010
One thing that I love about some of the christian fiction is that they all have amazing covers , they have the bright colours and are done in an old fashioned manner but they come across not old fashioned but modernised .
Are you in the mood for a little romance , arguments and matchmaking skills ? When a group of old high school friends get talking one day after church, they decide it's hightime that their grandchildren should get married , so this group of eighty-year old women acting like high-school students strike up a bet , to see who can get their grandchildren married off first. It seems that Kiki and Melinda maybe in the lead as Melinda's grandson Bobby has just returned home to Nashville after fourteen years , deciding on his first night back he stops at a home group for a new church and runs into Zarah - Kiki's grandaughter. Bobby and Zarah , fourteen years ago were deep in love and then in a flash , they went their seperate ways but as we read the novel we can see that the sparks are still very much alive. Is this a second chance at love for Bobby and Zarah , but will Zarah be able to move past the hurt she has built up from those many moons ago and it seems that Bobby has a contender in the race for Zarah's affections , his new friend Patrick . Who will win Zarah's heart and will Kiki and Melinda win the bet ?
Find out in as time passes and slips by , "Love Remains" forever
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Romantic Adventure

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaye Dacus has a recipe for another award with this story. The hero and heroine getting on with their lives, add scheming grandparents, instrusion of the hero into the heroine's comfortable new life, job conflicts (and suspense) gives a delightful romance and enough suspense to whet your appetite for more. Ms Dacus blends in a bit of humor and a large cup of great writing - made me stop and sigh several times).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love remains

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
ausjenny
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another good book by Kaye Dacus. I loved her first series and her historical books and this series is just as good. I love the beginning where we meet the Matchmakers. I also love both Zarah and Bobby. Zarah works with the single ministry and once again I could Identify with Zarah being a 30+ single and the issues that come from that. I loved Bobby too, I felt for him at times with his job. Watching the story unfold was good to see and one side story there is the mention of a musical which just happened to be my favourite movie and the book has given me some new insights into this musical. I love the grandparents and there role in the book. I cant wait to read book 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable Romance

Date:December 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Marie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love Remains is the first book in the new Matchmaker series by author Kaye Dacus. When I think of matchmakers, I normally don't picture them as the type who are found in this series. The matchmakers in these books are a group of grandparents who are plotting to find suitable mates for their recalcitrant grandchildren.
As the grandparents of Zarah Mitchell (a long time employee of the Middle Tennessee Preservation Commission), and Bobby Patterson (who has just returned to Nashville after many years in order to work for the Tennessee Criminal Investigations Unit), plot to bring their grandchildren together, they are totally oblivious to the fact that Zarah and Bobby are not strangers; in fact, they have a secret past that few people are aware of - a past that could prevent them from ever being more than just members of the same singles group at their church.
To further complicate matters, Bobby's first assignment in his new position is to investigate a case of fraud in the very same Commission for which Zarah is employed. Even though the spark that has lain dormant for many years is quickly reignited when Zarah and Bobby come face to face, Bobby's hands are tied because he is being forced to include Zarah in his investigation.
I enjoyed reading Love Remains and also enjoyed the writing style of Kaye Dacus. This was the first book I have read by this author and I will be looking forward to reading many more. There were some elements of the story that I felt were too easily resolved and some elements that I felt were too vague and needed a bit more explanation. For fear of revealing too much of the plot, I won't give any more detail about those particular portions of the story. Overall however, I would recommend this book and I think you will find it to be both enjoyable and inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Romance!

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a love story featuring a real heroine who is searching for her happily ever after look no further than Kaye Dacus's books. I love her novels because they feature far from perfect career minded women with (gasp) curves! Her latest series, Matchmakers is off to a great start with book 1, Love Remains.
Zarah Mitchell a dedicated employee of the Middle Tennessee Historic Preservation Committee loves history but doesn't care to bring up her own especially when it comes to Bobby Patterson. Bobby, Zarah's first and only love is suddenly back in her life but not for completely sentimental reasons. With everything that happened in their past relationship you just know that everything is NOT going to come together easily.
Ms. Dacus does such a wonderful job telling their story. I love all the details that she includes in her writing especially the romantic story of Zarah's ancestors. While I was hoping to see a little more of the "Matchmakers" they were just as I pictured, sweet old ladies who have their grandchildren's best interests at heart. I'm really looking forward to reading more in this series and what lengths the Matchmakers will go to for their families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read it and be blessed.

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this is my favorite book written by Kaye Dacus. It's not just a romance but has a mixture of suspense and political intrigue as well. Just the kind of story I like to read. And coming from a Christian worldview makes it all the sweeter for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Romance Full of Refreshing Surprises

Date:October 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kav
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Things I loved about this book:
I loved the slow build…Dacus takes the time to let us get to know the characters and setting. Besides the hero and heroine there are a number of other key characters and yet I never felt lost or had to check back to remember who so-and-so was. Every one was a unique individual from the moment I ‘met’ them.
I loved the pacing. Details about the characters are revealed a piece at a time over the course of the book. With each new ‘reveal’ I felt like I understood the character and his/her motivation just a little bit more.
I loved the church singles angle! Full of some hard truths, irreverent humour and the pain of change. Dacus got the dynamics – and the emotions they created – just right.
I loved the developing connection between the hero and heroine. This is where Dacus surprised me the most. She could have gone in a completely different (and predictable) direction a number of times but she did the unexpected and that made the romantic elements soar.
I loved how immersed I became in the whole reading experience and would recommend this book to anyone who loves a really good contemporary romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Huddleston
Zarah and Bobby were in love years ago. Her military-general father kicked her out of the house when he learned she had defied him by dating an enlisted man. After he pushed her out of his house with what she could carry and $200, she went to Nashville and her grandparents. Fourteen years later Bobby moves to Nashville to lead an investigation within the historical commission where Zarah works. Because of Sarah's father's deceit they both feel they were betrayed by the other fourteen years ago. Can he really investigate the commission where she works? Can she forget the pain from the past and try to see if any love remains between them even when she learns he's investigating her? Dacus again gives us memorable characters and her mesmerizing flawless storytelling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Loved this book. What a strong faith in the Lord Zarah showed. Loved the very surprise ending! Great job Kaye am glad there are more to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
J.D. Bailey
My favorite thing about Kaye Dacus is that she never fails to surprise me. I always think I know where she's going and that I've got the whole thing figured out when she zings me over in a totally different direction. I really hate it when I'm reading a book, see a cliche' coming, and basically tense up the whole time waiting for it. Totally in love with the way the cliche' never happens in Love Remains.Zarah and Bobby lived and breathed for me. It's the way Kaye pays attention to tiny little details and off-hand comments that really draws you in. Some writers will leave small, everyday details out because they're looking for the big plot points that move the book forward. But it's those little things that make up real life, and enough of them are sprinkled through this book to almost make the characters step off the page and shake your hand in introduction. For example, there is a point in the story where Bobby does something just a little south of of odd with his french fries, and Zarah remarks, "That's new." Believe it or not, I read the few lines of that scene seven or eight times, because that one little line grabbed me right in the gut. That tiny remark--which could easily be read over--spoke so much about their past and their relationship as it stood at that moment. It made the scene come to life, and the whole book is full of those little details and moments that just make everything work.I definitely recommend Love Remains. Can't wait to see what book two has in store!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Traci Myers
What a fun read. It made my heart beat fast and my eyes well up with tears at times and then the rest of the time it just made me smile from ear to ear. What a touching, and fun, story of renewed love. The matchmaking Grannies are fun too. I can't wait to see how the romances of Flannery and Caylor turn out in the next two books. You will get to know them both very well in this book. I love Kaye's writing style, not drawn out, overly detailed and boring, but short sweet and yet very detailed where it needs to be. You can feel her characters and they have real relationships with God. Thanks Kaye for another wonderful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth D.
Though it took me a few chapters to get into the story, it was so easy to relate to Zarah and Bobby and want them to renew their relationship. The hurt and misunderstandings they felt were very real, and Dacus made me care about what happened to them. I'd highly recommend this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
ChelseaW
Zarah Mitchell is less-than-thrilled to run into her one time fiance Bobby Patterson at a singles mixer for her church. Bobby left town over fourteen years ago to go into the military at the same time Zarah's father kicked her out of the house for dating a man in the military. Sounds like a lot of baggage, no? It gets worse when neither of the two actually knows the truth of why the other left. But both are finding it hard to ignore the remnants of chemistry still lingering between them. Add to the mix three feisty grandmothers looking to get some babies out of their grand kids, and things heat up even more.I liked this story! It was sweet and sappy and full of ex-boyfriend angst! I thought the harsh relationship between Zarah and her father was a little understated. The reader was constantly told how bad it was, but there wasn't much to show that this was actually true. I also liked that the chapters switched points of view between Zarah and Bobby, because hearing Bobby's thoughts on the matter added a lot to make me think he was a totally great guy. I thought the criminal investigation was a bit weak for a plot device to get Bobby and Zarah back together, but at least those parts of the book moved quickly so we could get back to the romance.I've also read Dacus' previous books Stand-In Groom and Menu For Romance, but I think I will like this series more than that one. Perhaps it is simply because of the matchmaking premise. Cute stuff! Can't wait for the next in the series, The Art of Romance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
You are single, in your thirties or forties, have a nice career going and feel as if love has passed you by. You are reasonably content with your life, but do get lonely and wish you could fall in love. Kaye Dacus is the author for you. In this particular novel, Zarah Mitchell runs into her almost-fiance from fourteen years ago. They are both older now and ready to fall in love. Zarah must get past emotional family hurts as well as forgive Bobby Patterson, the man who broke her heart years ago. With the help of her two best friends (like sisters) and Bobby, Zarah is able to have more confidence in herself and eventually love again. It's very loosely based on Persuasion by Jane Austen. Some things I appreciate about this book are the following: 1)These characters show maturity in difficult situations, even though they may not want to. 2)Even though they broke up years ago these persons treat each other very well now and are kind to one another. One character doesn't get all the blame for a relationship gone wrong. 3)They are realistically portrayed in that there is awkwardness when they meet and not immediate fireworks. 4)They actually go to work and we get to read about their workdays. 5)I learned a few historical facts that I didn't know before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
For me this book fell a little short when compared to the Brides of Bonneterre Series by Kaye Dacus. The characters weren't as likable and the plot was not as interesting. Still, it was a nice book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Remains - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kady N.
I preordered this book as soon as I saw the cover - and because Ms Dacus is one of my favorite authors. I have to admit, it did take me a couple of chapters to really start connecting with the characters, but once I did, I couldn't put the book down! Ms Dacus has another wonderful series opener here and I can't wait for the next two books to get Caylor's and Flannery's stories. In this book, Bobby Patterson has moved to Nashville for a job at a state investigations unit. After he runs into his ex-fiance (though they never actually got engaged, so ex-girlfriend, I guess) at a party his first day back in town, he finds out that he has to investigate the agency she works for. Zarah moved to Nashville when she was eighteen and her father kicked her out of the house because she had been dating Bobby secretly. She hasn't seen him since then and both of them believe the other one is at fault for their break-up. The plot revolving around the case that Bobby builds against the agency where Zarah works is fascinating, but even more interesting is the emotional depth she reaches with these two characters. Oh - the grandmothers are hilarious too. Toward the end of the book, when Zarah is in Washington DC, I cried over what she was going through. If that hadn't happened, I probably would have only given this 4 stars, but with her ability to make me laugh out loud AND cry, I had to give it 5, because that hasn't happened to me in a really long time with a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.