Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife

Howard Books The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife

Cursed with a birthmark, a virtuous, unnamed woman is given to Noah as a bride. While her aloof husband speaks to God more than to her, she struggles to raise her sons and befriend the wicked, sometimes violent townsfolk. But her trials are nothing compared to what awaits her after God instructs Noah to build an ark! This woman, fated to become the mother of all generations after the great flood, shows indomitable strength and courage.

Disclaimer: Graphic Language, sexual content.

Average Customer Rating:
2.286 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
4 out of 1429%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Review 1 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can not recommend

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanKay
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could give this book a score of zero I would. This is a horrid portrayal of Noah. He is shown as a weak spineless crazy man who ignores his family. His son's are portrayed as adulterous womanizers. One of the son's impregnates another son's wife. There are other survivors besides Noah's family in additional boats leaving one with the impression that Noah and his family were not alone in repopulating the world. It is not a biblical portrayal of the true events. I feel it should not be sold in a Christian Book Store since it would be very misleading to a new Christian. This book is: Violent, immoral, with sexual content. Don’t waste your money on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
This review is fromThe Sinners and the Sea.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I can not recommend

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanKay
Location:Augusta, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could give this book a score of zero I would. This is a horrid portrayal of Noah. He is shown as a weak spineless crazy man who ignores his family. His son's are portrayed as adulterous womanizers. One of the son's impregnates another son's wife. There are other survivors besides Noah's family in additional boats leaving one with the impression that Noah and his family were not alone in repopulating the world. It is not a biblical portrayal of the true events. This book would be very misleading to a new Christian. This book is: Violent, immoral, with sexual content. Don’t waste your money on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting book!

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
VERITAS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was OUTSTANDING. One need remember it is a work of fiction, and not the bible story you learned in Sunday school. The author paints such a vivid picture of the world Noah lived in it feels like you are experiencing it firsthand. While there are some graphic violence and adult situations, they really lend to the authenticity of the experience. It is not a censored and watered down Disney tale by any means. Truly a wonderful and vivid adventure! Bravo!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Story Based On The Bible

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using her imagination the author of this book tells a story about what life might have been like for Noah’s wife. I found the writing to be well done and the characters well developed. I thought the historical aspect of the story was well written and interesting. I did not however really enjoy the story and therefore gave this book 4/5 stars. Overall the book was just not to my liking as some of it seemed too fanciful. I would recommend this book to anyone who doesn’t mind when someone writes their own thoughts on how they think a Biblical account might have happened.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If possible, I would give it a zero. Not Biblical - not even sure I would label it secular. Very disappointed. Read it through hoping it would improve but it did not.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Reader Beware!

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
kmorken
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I too wish I would have waited and read reviews before purchasing this book. First of all, I am very disappointed that CBD even carries this book. It is everything not Christian. Now I understand that was the state of the world during Noah's time. However, the graphic detail, both violent and sexual was over the top for Christian readers. Worst of all, and most offensive was the gross portrayal of Noah's character. God saved Noah and his family because Noah was the only righteous one left on earth. This book portays Noah as a crazy man who neglects his family and has no backbone.The book is a mockery of Noah and a praise of his wife who was able to "endure" crazy Noah and what he put her through. All in all I was soooo disappointed in this book. I am planning to return it.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I stopped reading it because it was so bad...

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
IVLeague
Location:Cabot, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't remember giving up on a book before no matter how slow or uninteresting it was. This book gets good reviews on other sites but I wish I would have read the cbd reviews first. I made it to page 124 before I went back to reread reviews because I thought that perhaps I had bought the wrong book. Nope...10 pages later I quit for good.
I realize that our fallen world was so depraved that God sent a flood to cleanse the earth but this book was lewd. There was a lot of talk about violence and I tired of its references to "flesh tents". The authors portrayal of Noah irks me. When the bible says, "Noah was a righteous man, blameless among the people of his time, and he walked faithfully with God." I do not picture him as a raving mad man bent on saving the lost while ignoring the needs of his family.
Unwholesome. Uninspiring. Don't waste your time.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Michele
Location:Pacific Northwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sadly, this book was a huge disappointment. It was definitely not in the same league as the God-honoring Biblical fiction I've come to expect by Christian authors such as Lynn Austin, Francine Rivers, Ginger Garrett, and Mesu Andrews. The author took many liberties with the account of Noah and distorted what the Bible says. I believe that what's recorded in Scripture is historical and factual, but the the author of this book treat it as mythology. I cannot recommend this book.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Noah's Wife's Viewpoint Of The Biblical Flood

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebecca Kanner in her new book, "Sinners And The Sea" published by Howard Books takes us into the life of Noah's wife.
From the Inside Jacket Cover: The young heroine in Sinners and the Sea is destined for greatness. Known only as "wife" in the Bible and cursed with a birthmark that many think is the brand of a demon, this unnamed woman--fated to become the mother of all generations after the great flood--lives anew through Rebecca Kanner. The author gives this virtuous woman the perfect voice to make one of the Old Testament's stories come alive like never before.
Desperate to keep her safe, the woman's father gives her to the righteous Noah, who weds her and takes her to the town of Sorum, a haven for outcasts. Alone in her new life, Noah's wife gives him three sons. But living in this wicked and perverse town with an aloof husband who speaks more to God than to her takes its toll. Noah's wife struggles to know her own identity and value. She tries to make friends with the violent and dissolute people of Sorum while raising a brood that, despite its pious upbringing, develops some sinful tendencies of its own. While Noah carries out the Lord's commands, she tries to hide her mark and her shame as she weathers the scorn and taunts of the townspeople.
But these trials are nothing compared to what awaits her after God tells her husband that a flood is coming--and that Noah and his family must build an ark so that they alone can repopulate the world. As the floodwaters draw near, she grows in courage and honor, and when the water finally recedes, she emerges whole, displaying once and for all the indomitable strength of women. Drawing on the biblical narrative and Jewish mythology, Sinners and the Sea is a beautifully written account of the antediluvian world told in cinematic detail.
Ever wonder what life was like way back before the Flood? I read somewhere, sorry I have forgotten where, that all religions have some reference to a world flood. The Bible tells us that the world was full of sin and that there was only one family that could be spared destruction; Noah and his family. We pretty much are all familiar with Noah and what he did but we have never had a story of these events told us from the point of view of his wife. "Sinners And The Sea" has real drama in it and wonderful characters, not just Noah, his wife, his sons and their wives but the other inhabitants of the world that laughed and mocked this family before ultimately drowning. There is also romance. Ms. Kanner has built a back story for Mrs. Noah that is quite believable and her life with Noah is just like any married woman's life; filled with highs and lows. It is just hers has the most climatic moment is human history. Rebecca Kanner has done more than give us a fictionalized retelling of Biblical events she has given us some real depth of history and faith in God. It is a marvelous story.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:Massacusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not a book that I would recommend. I wish that I had not pre-ordered the book and waited to read reviews before purchasing it.
The story is very lewd and hard to read as a christian. Considering the contents of the book it really should be in an adult section of a secular book store. The author could have described the world in Noah's day without being vulgar. I have read other books on Noah's wife that described the world in which they lived. The author got the point across of the world being evil without being offensive. The Sinners and the Sea did not. Honestly, I am returning it for a refund. It is a very disappointing story of Noah's wife.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

sinners and the sea review

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Sinners and the Sea" by Rebecca Kanner is the untold story of Noah's wife. In the bible Noah's wife has no name, and in the novel she has no name. She is called whatever her relationship is with the person speaking or 'Demon Woman'. The novel not only covers the well known story of the building of the ark and the flood, but also a fictional account of Demon Woman's life as a child with a mark (birthmark) and the agony of growing up in a society that keeps her separate from them.
Most of this book is really good. Again, the account of Demon Woman is very fictional, most of which has no biblical basing. This is what could have happened. In a world of sinners, thieves, murderers, and prostitutes, there is no lack of drama being had in this novel. Even the ark gets pretty exciting. There is an area in the middle of the book that hits a rather dull stretch, but most of the novel is well written and realistic. I received this book for free from the publisher Howard Books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Challenging To Get Through

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The girl who has no name is scorned with the mark from birth and believed to be a curse derived from evil. Her father Eben was a wall of protection and trust. When Noah came to take her as his wife and bring her to his camp what lied in wait for her was challenging at the least. The people who greeted her were vile and very wicked and their taunts and hatred were hard to bear. When the flood came Noah and his wife and their sons embarked on a great journey that will take them away from all that they know.
Violence, Hatred and Heartbreak were woven throughout the novel. I do have mixed thoughts regarding this book the novel, although creative fiction which does have actual passages from Genesis with descriptive scenery, is far off from the real bible story and parts of it I would label as science fiction.
Although this book is published by a Christian publisher and has Biblical characters, to me, Sinners and the Sea is not Christian fiction. A novel that is only suited for an adult is hard to get through at times, laced with graphic sexual content along with much blood and great darkness and a few words of profanity made me quite uncomfortable when reading it. I can say that the last few chapters made up for much hence my 2 star rating for effort. I can recommend it for those who enjoy secular fiction but not for those who enjoy Christian Biblical fiction. Thanks to Howard Publishers and Netgalley for the ARC for my review.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The Sinners and the Sea
by Rebecca Kanner
3½ stars
Not Your Tyipical Biblical Fiction
This is the story of Noah’s wife, who was never named by her father because of a mark on her brow. The people in their village would think she has a demon because of the mark, so her father thought it was better not to name her—in hopes that people wouldn’t talk too much about her. Now she’s 19 years old—older than most girls when they get married, but no one wanted to marry this ‘demon woman’. After someone was murdered, the nameless young woman was blamed and the town’s people were looking for a way to kill her. Her father was desperate and didn’t know how to protect her.
When 600 years old Noah wants her for his wife, he gives her to this old man who serves the God of Adam. Together they journey to Noah’s home, close to a town full of wickedness. Everything is wicked, cursed, and dirty. People kill each other for no reason and there’s a lot of prostitution. This is the new home for Noah’s wife where she will conceive and raise their three sons.
Noah is trying to convince the people to convert themselves to the God of Adam, but they only laugh and mock him. It gets worse when Noah is telling the people that God told him that he is going to destroy the earth and everything on it with a flood.
Noah’s wife is telling her story how she got to be Noah’s wife, she’s telling about Noah’s flaws, her sons and how they found their wives, about the arc, and the flood, etc. It is an interesting story about how a family is trying to survive in a horrible time. It’s not a cheerful story—the only colors I saw in this book were ash grey, pitch black and blood red.
I liked the idea for this storyline and I think the author did a good job in portraying how wicked and vile men was back in those days. I was intrigued and kept turning the pages to see how things would work out. The narrating was good, but the dialogue wasn’t really flowing.
I think readers who enjoy biblical fiction would like to read this book.
*Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Sinners and the Sea: The Untold Story of Noah's Wife
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sinners and the Sea

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Honestly, I had a really hard time with this book. I was excited to read it because I'd never heard of a story about Noah's wife and I generally love fiction books based on Bible characters.
For me, the book was rough. It was dark and often crude and difficult to read. Now, I know that is the world Noah lived in. It was precisely why God send a flood to destroy the earth!
But, for a fiction book, I had a hard time with some of the language, the terms and the blatant sinfulness in the story.
Noah was painted as a harsh man and his family was described as I'd never thought of them before.
I don't want to discourage you from giving this book a try... it might be just was you need to reawaken yourself to this Biblical story. But, for me, it was too dark and disturbing to read and endorse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.