Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harpercollins Publishing The Knowledge of the Holy

Harpercollins Publishing The Knowledge of the Holy

What Tozer calls ''personal heart religion'' can grow only from reverent meditation on God. And Tozer's own bestselling classic, The Knowledge of the Holy, is immensely encouraging. In straightforward and readable language, Tozer describes the attributes of God and shows how understanding them (''knowing the holy'') can help you grow in the Christian life. An excellent book for personal devotions and for preachers. New gift edition from Harper & Row.
Average Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 out of 3090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Knowledge of the Holy
Review 1 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changed the way I think about God

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
AR Reid
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book literally changed the way I think about God. Tozer is such a clear thinker that it doesn't take him very many pages to get his point across.
The first time I read this book I was absolutely stunned at Tozer's insights into God's attributes, so much so, that when I finished it, I immediately began reading it again. The second time I read it, I couldn't believe how much I'd missed the first time.
This is an absolutely outstanding book, and one that you will remember the content of for a very long time. Buy this book, find a quiet place to sit and read it, and be ready to have your heart stirred, your mind stimulated, and your God exalted. Happy reading.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book gives great insight into the power of God

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paul
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book for the everyday Christian to get in tune with the power, majesty and sovereignty of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptionally excellent.

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Water to Wine
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tozer is terrific as usual; one only wishes he were more expansive on some of his points, but of course, this might make the books intimidating to a few who may not read it if it were a bigger book, and these are exactly the ones who need this type material most.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic book.

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
kkg88key
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book that will challenge the way you look at God and his Holiness. It is one to read and re-read several times to sink in.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Classic

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A. W. Tozer's book The Knowledge of the Holy is a wonderful book for all times. It can be deep at times and requires some re-reading to understand, but a topic that everyone should want to know. It is definitely a book to which I will return again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Knowledge of the Holy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource for Understanding God's Attributes

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robbie Pruitt
Location:Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing is more important than a right understanding of God, or "thinking rightly about God." In Knowledge of the Holy, A.W. Tozer states, "The Church has surrendered her once lofty concept of God and has substituted for it one so low, so ignoble, as to be utterly unworthy of thinking, worshipping men." Tozer is addressing idol worship that many fall into by thinking wrongly about God.
It is into this reality that Tozer speaks in his book, Knowledge of the Holy, which is an excellent study of the attributes of God. Tozer describes in detail the importance of thinking rightly about God. Going so far as asserting, "What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us." When it comes to our thinking about God, everything is at stake. We must think deeply and accurately about God if we are to know Him and worship Him rightly and truthfully.
An attribute study is a great way to come to know God more deeply and is a great way to explore the richness of the scriptures in a more non-linear approach. The book Knowledge of the Holy, by A.W. Tozer, covers some essential thoughts and attributes of God, as well as doctrines, that every Christian should think about. As Tozer rightly points out, "The study of the attributes of God, far from being dull and heavy, may for the enlightened Christian be a sweet and absorbing spiritual exercise. To the soul that is athirst for God, nothing could be more delightful." As we seek God and seek to have our thirsts for Him quenched, this book, in addition to scripture, prayer, and community, is a great place to start.
A thorough reading of Knowledge of the Holy highlights so many truths about God. We are plunged into the depths of God's character and nature and are left in a state of awe and worship in the presence of an awesome God. While we will spend a lifetime and an eternity seeking to know God completely and to worship Him rightly, we can know God and worship Him now. To quote Tozer one last time, "To our questions God has provided answers; not all the answers, certainly, but enough to satisfy our intellects and ravish our hearts. These answers He has provided in nature, in the Scriptures, and in the person of His Son." How marvelous it is to wonder at His greatness and to think rightly about our God!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A.W Tozer 21 Century prophet

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sammy
Location:Toronto,Can
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like always Tozer brings the 21st century christian back to reality and truth. In this short yet authoritative book one is drawn to behold the God of Scripture. In his unique way tozer not only reveals the deep yet simplistic realities but also give the reader daily application of them. The biblical knowledge of God has been washed away by the marketing-emergent church, forget about the knowledge of God as Holy! In this book you will be brought back to such knowledge. The response, renewed prostration and adoration before the God and Father of your soul. I can say that this book has become a devotional and constantly brings me back to the God of Scripture with awe. I highly recommend all to read it and for pastors and leaders to use it as a discipleship resource for all new believers and seasoned alike.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Knowledge of the Holy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kali
Location:Kalulushi
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book on the attributes of God. I highly recommend it.
God Bless
Kali
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Attributes of God

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robbie Pruitt
Location:Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing is more important than a right understanding of God, or "thinking rightly about God." In Knowledge of the Holy, A.W. Tozer states, "The Church has surrendered her once lofty concept of God and has substituted for it one so low, so ignoble, as to be utterly unworthy of thinking, worshipping men." Tozer is addressing idol worship that many fall into by thinking wrongly about God.
It is into this reality that Tozer speaks in his book, Knowledge of the Holy, which is an excellent study of the attributes of God. Tozer describes in detail the importance of thinking rightly about God. Going so far as asserting, "What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us." When it comes to our thinking about God, everything is at stake. We must think deeply and accurately about God if we are to know Him and worship Him rightly and truthfully.
An attribute study is a great way to come to know God more deeply and is a great way to explore the richness of the scriptures in a more non-linear approach. The book Knowledge of the Holy, by A.W. Tozer, covers some essential thoughts and attributes of God, as well as doctrines, that every Christian should think about. As Tozer rightly points out, "The study of the attributes of God, far from being dull and heavy, may for the enlightened Christian be a sweet and absorbing spiritual exercise. To the soul that is athirst for God, nothing could be more delightful." As we seek God and seek to have our thirsts for Him quenched, this book, in addition to scripture, prayer, and community, is a great place to start.
A thorough reading of Knowledge of the Holy highlights so many truths about God. We are plunged into the depths of God's character and nature and are left in a state of awe and worship in the presence of an awesome God. While we will spend a lifetime and an eternity seeking to know God completely and to worship Him rightly, we can know God and worship Him now. To quote Tozer one last time, "To our questions God has provided answers; not all the answers, certainly, but enough to satisfy our intellects and ravish our hearts. These answers He has provided in nature, in the Scriptures, and in the person of His Son." How marvelous it is to wonder at His greatness and to think rightly about our God!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Albert E. Russell
Location:Millbrook AL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have heard many a pastor reference Tozer when speaking, in their writings etc. and I decided to take a gander at this book. I have been thoroughly impressed. It is not an easy read because of Tozer's writing style but it is packed with great insights. I recommended it to all of our ministers at church recently. One thing about the book that is necessary for ALL Christians to understand is that GOD IS SUPREME above all else. The way that you view God will determine the way that you live. This is a must read for anyone that is looking for a deeper insight into the character and attributes of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheer Leader
Location:Prairie Grove, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an intense book in that you cannot read through it rapidly. It requires quiet time where you digest what the author is saying about our God and you are overcome with God's majesty and His holiness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful book.

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Caryl
Location:Washington State
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can honestly say this is the best book I have ever read. I have given copies to friends and they say the same thing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book.

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
gopack
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You have to read this book in small amounts and absorb what you have read. One of the best books I have ever read. We have shared it with many people already and everyone says the same thing - it's a very thought-provoking book. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A forever companion book to the Bible

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
dede
Location:Bardstown, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The insights in this book are timeless. I will spend the rest of my life trying to grasp the attributes of God he discloses in this little book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cant get into it

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buckeye Bob
Location:East Liverpool,ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have read a couple other books by aw tozer and loved them however this book is hard for me to get into.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
okie
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i find it difficult to get into the book. any downside to my review has to do with content rather than the product itself
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking. It challenged my thinking.

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanny23
Location:Gardendale, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book I could read many times and not tire of. It invites us to explore the nature of God and speaks to our creature role and his Creator magesty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cos76
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AW Tozer's, Knowledge of the Holy is a great read that all Christians should read. He gives great insight into the Lord and all that He is. Really opened my eyes up to new perspectives that has changed my walk with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

one major element of worshipping God in truth

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paul Paden
Location:Denver, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jesus promised the woman at the well that His followers would be worshipping God in spirit and in truth--not in our conception of Him. In the gospel of John he promised that The Helper will lead us into all truth; implied is "If we ask for and let Him." Otherwise we would worship a God grieving idol. This book enlightens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Knowledge of the Holy
This review is fromThe Knowledge of the Holy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Amazing Book

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scot
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has absolutely changed the way I look at God. I recommend this to ANYONE, whether you are a brand new Christian or you have been walking with Christ for many years. It will rock you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.