Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather

Hendrickson Publishers KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather

A selection of useful study helps and references enhance this portable edition of the renowned King James Version (KJV) Bible. Easy-to-read type, a compact size, and affordability combine to make it the ideal Bible to carry in briefcase, purse, backpack, or tote bag—for both devotional and study purposes.

Features
  • Concordance
  • End-of-verse cross-reference system
  • Full-color maps
  • Paragraph-format text with section headings
  • Readable, 8-point type—larger than most comparable Bibles
  • Words of Christ in red text
  • Silver page edges
  • Presentation page
  • 6.00" x 4.50" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
1
69 out of 8680%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Review 1 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Clumps of text

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tunesareus
Location:Virginia
This Bible is very portable. The size is great for carrying in a purse, backpack, etc. The font (8 point) is big for a compact Bible; it's as big as some regular size Bibles. That said, remember that "large" print is relative to overall Bible size. If you need something that would be considered large or giant print on a standard Bible (say 12 point), this won't be big enough for you. My chief complaint about this Bible and the reason for the low rating is the layout. My preference for verse format aside, this isn't even in paragraph format most of the time. The chapter number designators are in larger type. This is often followed by a large block of text with no breaks until the next chapter. Even the Psalms and Proverbs are like this. Ugh! This makes for a poor reading experience that doesn't lend itself to Bible study, understanding, memorization, or even finding verses quickly. For this reason, I would not recommend this Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible and fun to read

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pinky
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read and memorized KJV for years and just wanted something to study alongside I thought this would be great to shed more light. I was impressed when I found the writer was a Pastor and would often break down the messages so people would understand. The introduction into each chapter is good. I plan on going through the Bible this year and got this with the DVD to get it going. The DVD alongside helps me go through it and listen to some of the words it may be hard to pronounce and hear them. The KJV will be the one I memorize scriptures but love the Message Bible and find it funny in places. Just a comment on paper inside the not good to write notes on. Paper is thin. Only drawback. I like to underline and it comes through pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

KJV Bible has been a great help in Bible related

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bill
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KJV has been a great help in working on Bible related Cross Word puzzles. I normally use NIV (1984) and do not expect to use the new NIV.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift Bible

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Jane
Location:Newington, CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love these Bibles and give them to new believers in our church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Inacx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the products has the best features one can ever look for in a bible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fits inside the handbag and font size is for easy

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Prad
Location:Toronto
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to keep it in my handbag. The size is small at the same time the font is for easy and comfortable reading. The pages are not too thin.
Very good I have bought copies of this for my friend too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Too small

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
karaoke1
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
When I saw the advert for this particular bible,I thought it was Keystone giant print. I didn't realise that it would be small for a handbag.etc. -If I had realised I would not have purchased.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasantly Surprized!

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
wvapenny
Location:Beckley, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So small, yet the print is easy to read! This bible is about the size of a VHS tape, but not as tall.
I had bought one to carry in my purse, I would like to keep one in the car for when you get stuck in traffic or wait at the doctors office ect.
Now that the price has come down, I would like to get for Christmas presents..
You will wish you bought more than one... enjoy!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Compact Bible

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
MadDog
Location:Barboursville, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to carry when outdoors, I had one in the past and gave it to my mother to carry to heaven when she pasted! I put it into a zip lock bag and I can go out rain or shine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice size for travel.

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
goofyredneck
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice Bible, but I would recommend that dimensions be placed in the description. It might help with understanding the actual size of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cella
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only thing that was "large print" about this product were the actual words "Large Print" on the front of the book.
It was NOT what I had in mind:(
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

KJV Large Print Compact 'full' Bible

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesusFan
Location:Peterborough On
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A handy full Bible, great to give away as a gift and compact enough to keep nearby for daily reading or reference!
Print is not as large as expected but it's still a good size for a compact Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josie
Location:Fayetteville NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right size for my purse. Print is perfect just the right font. The only thing I wish is that there was a bible cover I could purchase to put it in to possibly prevent pages from bending or being soiled in an accidental spilling of liquid.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bcmmham
Location:Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was excellent value and received promptly in excellent condition
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abel Kaiahua
Location:Washington State
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for a family member as a gift...it's compact and fits perfectly in a back pack...it's features are perfect.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Large Print

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
dmax
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Bible is very small and so is the print. It's not large print as stated.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
CHERRY ANN
Location:lasalle quebec
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this one for my friend because it fit into my bay i can take with me everyday
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible to carry

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
josh
Location:Tokyo, Japan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Complete Bible in this pocket size and bonded leather. Very reasonable rpirce as well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Print not as large as I expected

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rafa
Location:Redding Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
All in All this is a great Bible. But I work with the elderly and the print was not as large as I would have liked, but I would highly recommend it for most all other uses.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Compact Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little Bible

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
srnutter
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was surprised at the Big Bible features in this smaller version.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.