Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Dead Reckoning

Abingdon Press Dead Reckoning

Underwater archeologist Shiloh Blake is consumed with passion for the water and inflamed at the injustices of life, blaming her secret agent father for her mother's death. When her first large-scale dig traps her in the middle of an international nuclear arms clash, she flees for her life and is followed by an unknown man. Who is he? How is he always one step ahead? Reece Jaxon is a former Navy SEAL, who now serves his country as a spy. His mission is threatened by the beguiling Shiloh Blake as he hunts down the sources to a nuclear dead drop in the Arabian Sea. The only way to end this nightmare and prevent a nuclear meltdown is for Shiloh to join forces with Reece. Will Shiloh violate her vow to never become a spy like her father? Will she reconcile with her father? Will her trust issues destroy her chance for love? And will she allow God to help her through this ordeal?
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Reckoning
Review 1 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mystery

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pumpkin
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just started reading Ms. Kendig, lately. She is very good at writing mysteries that holds your interest. She is almost on a par with Dee Henderson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prepare to hold your breath!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deborha Mitchell
Location:Redding, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading 'Dead Reckoning' by Ronie Kendig. And may I just say, Bravo Ronie!
This story has so many twists and angles, that I guarantee you will never get bored. Just when you think the story is about to slow down....BAM....you get hit by a new 'Wow' moment. While reading this story, I found myself so enthralled by all that Shiloh Blake had to go through, I realized that I was actually holding my breath at times. The characters are so intriguing, especially Shiloh and Reece (or should I say Brutus? Haha).
This is actually the first full length novel I've read by Ronie and it certainly won't be the last. If you enjoy 'edge of your seat' adventures, 'Dead Reckoning' should be on your reading list.
Prepare to hold your breath......yes, it is indeed a breathtaking adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW !

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy585
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book ! I couldn't put it down, it kept me enthralled all the way through it. My daughter read it after me and she said the same thing.
Well worth getting !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Needs editting & too many unrealistic aspects

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I liked "Nightshade" by this same author, but I was terribly disappointed with this novel. First, her excessive use of figurative language was distracting and sometimes even confusing. (She had shirts escorting people around, and people never just looked or smiled at someone but, "Her gaze tiptoed around his" and "his smile swam toward her.")
Second, the female romantic lead was very slow to figure anything out, very proud, thought she knew more than the professionals and tried outwit them (even her allies) at their own game, and so on. Shiloh was so certain she knew what was going on even though her version of reality defied all evidence ('gee, I've had men chasing after me and shooting at me, the people I was with are dead, but surely no one's trying to KILL me.') This wouldn't be a huge problem except that her super-spy dad supposedly taught her the basics of staying alive because his enemies were likely to go after her and super-spy Reece thinks her so wonderfully clever, which makes her behavior harder to swallow because she soooo obviously isn't. (Unless "clever" means coming up with ways to get into trouble that no one else would consider because they have common sense.) She constantly needed to be rescued from her own foolish decisions, yet Reece fell in love with her personality. Only an idiot would fall in love with her _personality_, and Reece was otherwise not an idiot. I found it unbelievable that two men wanted to marry her. By the end, everyone's pushing Shiloh's chosen guy to get married to her quickly and not think it over, but, boy, he's going to get tired of being married to her really quickly.
The book also needed editing. For example, Shiloh's in London, looks out a window, and sees a big clock she calls "Uncle Ben." Um, that's "Big Ben." She's locked in a luxurious prison room and told her meals will be delivered to her, yet the room has a stove. Who's going to give a prisoner knives and such to cook, anyway? The stove shouldn't have been there. Some things that were majorly important to the story (like the object found by Shiloh that was apparently worth killing for) disappeared from the plot and were never explained. Some aspects, like the miracle cure pill for Shiloh and picking a lock with a paper-clip, weren't realistic.
There was a minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language. There was no sex. There was a lot of "you need Christ" talk toward Shiloh. And, overall, I don't recommend this book.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Raymond Parker
I was extremely impressed with DEAD RECKONING, especially considering this a debut novel. The book was filled with action, suspense and just the right amount of romance. I felt there were a few places that didn't flow with the story or I'd have given it an all out 5 star rating. I'll certainly keep an eye out for future books from this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee C.
I have never really been a reader of suspense fiction, it just wasn't that interesting to me until I discovered author, Ronie Kendig. I first read her second release, Nightshade a few weeks ago and I LOVED it! She kindly offered to send me a copy of her debut novel Dead Reckoning and I finished it on one day, staying up till the wee hours of the morning. From the first page I was hooked! Being a lover of history I've always had a respect and interest in archaeology so it was easy for me to like underwater archaeologist, Shiloh Blake and her best friend Khalid Khan. There is also a hunky ex-Navy SEAL turned spy, Reece aka Brutus, who will give you heart palpitations! Did I mention that from the very first chapter there is enough "edge of your seat" action to give a body a heart attack? Seriously. It is so good! A lot of the suspense that I've read has had one or two scenes that made my pulse race but Dead Reckoning does not let up, it's nonstop action from start to finish. Assassinations, kidnappings, nuclear weapons, spies, and terrorists all in the exotic setting of Mumbia, throw in not one but two romances involving our main character, Shiloh and you have a suspenseful and thrilling read that will knock your socks off! I highly recommend this book to anyone (guys that means you too) who loves a great story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn Dean
A desperate chase from beginning to end with a dash of romance thrown in for good measure, Ronie Kendig's entre novel, Dead Reckoning, is as distinctive and spicy as Indian curry. Delicious!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2010
I wish I could give more stars to this fabulous book. It had everything and even more than I expected! This is absolutely my favorite suspense novel. I'm pre-ordering Nightshade too and can't wait till it releases.Keep on writing like this Ronie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Roy
From the first page, you're drawn in and can't put the book down! Suspense and intrigue at its best, with surprises around every corner. You'll find yourself cheering on the good guys - but ARE they the good guys? Ronie Kendig creates characters we can all relate to and believe in. What a wonderful romantic love story in the middle of all the secret spy stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jules
All I can say about "Dead Reckoning" is WOW! This was the best Christian suspense debut novel I have ever read. There was not one dull moment in this book from page one to the very end. I can't wait until Ronie Kendig's "Discarded Heroes Series" debuts this summer. "Dead Reckoning" truly deserves a 5 Star Rating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
I haunt bookstores. I like Dee Henderson's books; also I. Hannon's, Mel Odom's Bloodlines etc. and agree with Rel from Oz. My lament: How come this book wasn't found in SC before March 2010? (Reviews in 2009)A. Mulligan from GA said it: 5 1/2 hrs. flight like 90 Min! I read this from Tokyo to Detroit - 10 plus hours! My eyes were burning, the turbulence suspended cabin service; row behind me alternated between sneezing, wheezing, coughing and laughing out loud - nothing registered except peripherally. Dead Reckoning had me - hook, line and sinker! I hope the next book(s) are as fascinating and well-written AND stand-alone like this one, even if series. My only wish: Availability by end May / beginning June. For another long flight. (: )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pat
Wow, what a fun read. It has everything, suspense, romance, mystery... You could tell it was well researched and believable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Can you sum up this book in one word? I just did. Is it really possible that this is Ronie Kendig's debut novel? Hard to believe, but if this book is any indicator then this is the first of many! I was hooked from the first few pages, drawn into a world of espionage, intrigue, murder and terrorism all with the main character, Shiloh Blake, who is a underwater diver. This is an incredible chase through India in an effort to stop nuclear terrorism. Hold on to your seat, strap and sit back. You will only be disappointed that "Dead Reckoning" doesn't last longer. I look forward to more books from Ronie Kendig.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Ronie Kendig provides a wonderful balance of story elementscharacterization, dialogue, plot, settingand serves it up with movie-screen clarity and pacing. Reading one of her novels is like being plunked down in the middle of an action/adventure film.Dead Reckoning is memorable both for the richness of setting and the vividness of her characters. Shiloh and Reece are unforgettable ... and so is a certain motorcycle chase. I could feel the speed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
I definitely LOVED this book! It is a suspenseful Christian thriller/mystery book, that had me on the edge of my seat from page one. It was a page turner, for sure! I love the style of writing that Ronie Kendig uses...she adds humor with all the mystery and page turning suspense, really making this a "jump out and capture me" kind of book. I also love the fact that she used God throughout the whole book, not just a little of Him in the beginning or at the end, but through the whole book. Wonderful! I love all the characters, but I really felt a connection with Reece...he feels a connection to Shiloh from the start but he really tries his best to ignore those feelings...and Shiloh was such a great character, too, with her air of mystery about her! Beautifully done! I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a good, clean, thriller novel. It will have you captured from the beginning and you won't want to put it down until you have reached the end! This author has a talent for bringing a book to us that is filled with action, intense twists to the plot and unforgettable characters. I will recommend this book with the highest of 5 star praises and I anxiously await the release of Ms. Kendig's next book, the first in her Discarded Heroes series--Nightshade--a wonderful sounding Military suspense book, due out July 2010!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Al Speegle
Dead Reckoning centers around Shiloh Blake whose spy-father abandoned her, carries a deep seated hatred for him after witnessing her mothers death. While below on a college underwater archeological dig, her teacher and a fellow student drop in on her, both shot. She has to make a choice of which one to save.She struggles with trust issues with men, they always leave her. Except one who she doesn't want to take the chance with. All the while, in the background a man is watching Shiloh. He makes contact with Shiloh, but her father's-spy induced paranoia leads her to wonder if he's part of the plot or trying to help.To insure national security, burn this book after reading, then wait for the series Ronie Kendig is writing, Nightshade.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Debut novel is a page-turning international thriller. I was pulled in from the first chapter, and could barely put the book down. Perfect for readers who love international intrigue, romance, and a strong thriller thread.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Remind me never to end up as a character in a Ronie Kendig novel! Danger and intrigue lurk around every corner and just when you think safety is in sight, the hammer of heartache drops again, hurtling Shiloh Blake deeper into jeopardy. Then there is Reece Jaxon...okay, on second thoughts maybe I do want to be in her books, after all ;-)Brilliantly executed in every way, Ronie Kendig has a winner on her hands with her debut novel, Dead Reckoning. Readers who have been bemoaning the loss of Dee Henderson's writing, need complain no more! Ronie Kendig ups the stakes in Dead Reckoning, reminiscent of Jennifer Garner and Alias in novel form. Ronie's new military suspense series can't come soon enough - be looking for the first of her Discarded Heroes series, Nightshade, in July, 2010 from Barbour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah M. Piccurelli
Once I started reading Dead Reckoning, I became entrenched. This novel reads like an action-adventure movie, with suspense and conflict on every page. It moves really fast, sweeping you along for the ride.What I really liked about this novel is that Ronie Kendig pays such painstaking attention to the technical details of her characters, plot and setting. The reader is thrust into every scene from the start, and emerges breathless, but panting for more. The dialogue is witty and intelligent without depending on trends.If you are a reader of action-adventure, suspense, thrillers, and even romance, do not miss reading Ronie Kendigs debut novel, Dead Reckoning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lena Nelson Dooley
This debut novel is a must read. It's a real page turner. Filled with suspense, adventure, and romance, the book takes the reader on a wild ride that doesn't end until the last page of the Epilogue.I absolutely loved every word of the tightly written story of espionage and counter espionage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>