Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Dead Reckoning

Abingdon Press Dead Reckoning

Underwater archeologist Shiloh Blake is consumed with passion for the water and inflamed at the injustices of life, blaming her secret agent father for her mother's death. When her first large-scale dig traps her in the middle of an international nuclear arms clash, she flees for her life and is followed by an unknown man. Who is he? How is he always one step ahead? Reece Jaxon is a former Navy SEAL, who now serves his country as a spy. His mission is threatened by the beguiling Shiloh Blake as he hunts down the sources to a nuclear dead drop in the Arabian Sea. The only way to end this nightmare and prevent a nuclear meltdown is for Shiloh to join forces with Reece. Will Shiloh violate her vow to never become a spy like her father? Will she reconcile with her father? Will her trust issues destroy her chance for love? And will she allow God to help her through this ordeal?
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Reckoning
Review 1 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mystery

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pumpkin
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just started reading Ms. Kendig, lately. She is very good at writing mysteries that holds your interest. She is almost on a par with Dee Henderson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Reckoning
This review is fromDead Reckoning - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dennis Weidus
Location:Baton Rouge
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story about diving with lots of adventure and suspense! Neat how the heroine struggles with others having faith in God, and whether she should trust him in the middle of a foreign country while bad guys chase her around. Really well written adventure & faith story. Definitely reccomend this for exciting Christian Fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prepare to hold your breath!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deborha Mitchell
Location:Redding, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading 'Dead Reckoning' by Ronie Kendig. And may I just say, Bravo Ronie!
This story has so many twists and angles, that I guarantee you will never get bored. Just when you think the story is about to slow down....BAM....you get hit by a new 'Wow' moment. While reading this story, I found myself so enthralled by all that Shiloh Blake had to go through, I realized that I was actually holding my breath at times. The characters are so intriguing, especially Shiloh and Reece (or should I say Brutus? Haha).
This is actually the first full length novel I've read by Ronie and it certainly won't be the last. If you enjoy 'edge of your seat' adventures, 'Dead Reckoning' should be on your reading list.
Prepare to hold your breath......yes, it is indeed a breathtaking adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Reckoning
This review is fromDead Reckoning - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
craftiandi
Location:Westminster, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book had a very believable storyline with God in it with the main characters. I could relate in many ways and enjoyed pace of action in several sections of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Reckoning
This review is fromDead Reckoning - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rod Man of God
Location:Concord NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book many twist and turns. Knew the main characters would end up together it was great to see the many ways to get to that end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Reckoning
This review is fromDead Reckoning - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great suspense book, with a little bit of romance.

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Redeemed momma
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dead Reckoning kept me turning pages to the end. The main female character had lots of spunk and was driven by something she was not even sure existed. It was a good mixture of suspense and romance. Even though you knew the characters were bound to end up together, the twist and turns kept the reader wondering how it would finally happen. Having a strong male who trusted in God enhanced the book and the relationship between the two main characters. Looking forward to reading more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW !

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy585
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book ! I couldn't put it down, it kept me enthralled all the way through it. My daughter read it after me and she said the same thing.
Well worth getting !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dead Reckoning
This review is fromDead Reckoning - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great suspense novel.

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
ajwoff
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was very impressed with the way the book was written. Couldn't stop reading it. Looking forward to reading more books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Reckoning
This review is fromDead Reckoning - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Non stop action

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can get all the information on this book from Publishers descriptions and Christian Book Previews. But believe me this book is terrific. I'm talking non stop action from page one and it only gets better. There are so many twists and turns. Just when you you think you have it figured out, you're wrong. This was my first read from this author and loved it so much I immediately downloaded her other 3 book in the series "Discarded Heroes". They were also terrific. Titled Digitalis, Nightshade and Wolfsbane. I now have another favorite author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Needs editting & too many unrealistic aspects

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I liked "Nightshade" by this same author, but I was terribly disappointed with this novel. First, her excessive use of figurative language was distracting and sometimes even confusing. (She had shirts escorting people around, and people never just looked or smiled at someone but, "Her gaze tiptoed around his" and "his smile swam toward her.")
Second, the female romantic lead was very slow to figure anything out, very proud, thought she knew more than the professionals and tried outwit them (even her allies) at their own game, and so on. Shiloh was so certain she knew what was going on even though her version of reality defied all evidence ('gee, I've had men chasing after me and shooting at me, the people I was with are dead, but surely no one's trying to KILL me.') This wouldn't be a huge problem except that her super-spy dad supposedly taught her the basics of staying alive because his enemies were likely to go after her and super-spy Reece thinks her so wonderfully clever, which makes her behavior harder to swallow because she soooo obviously isn't. (Unless "clever" means coming up with ways to get into trouble that no one else would consider because they have common sense.) She constantly needed to be rescued from her own foolish decisions, yet Reece fell in love with her personality. Only an idiot would fall in love with her _personality_, and Reece was otherwise not an idiot. I found it unbelievable that two men wanted to marry her. By the end, everyone's pushing Shiloh's chosen guy to get married to her quickly and not think it over, but, boy, he's going to get tired of being married to her really quickly.
The book also needed editing. For example, Shiloh's in London, looks out a window, and sees a big clock she calls "Uncle Ben." Um, that's "Big Ben." She's locked in a luxurious prison room and told her meals will be delivered to her, yet the room has a stove. Who's going to give a prisoner knives and such to cook, anyway? The stove shouldn't have been there. Some things that were majorly important to the story (like the object found by Shiloh that was apparently worth killing for) disappeared from the plot and were never explained. Some aspects, like the miracle cure pill for Shiloh and picking a lock with a paper-clip, weren't realistic.
There was a minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language. There was no sex. There was a lot of "you need Christ" talk toward Shiloh. And, overall, I don't recommend this book.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Raymond Parker
I was extremely impressed with DEAD RECKONING, especially considering this a debut novel. The book was filled with action, suspense and just the right amount of romance. I felt there were a few places that didn't flow with the story or I'd have given it an all out 5 star rating. I'll certainly keep an eye out for future books from this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee C.
I have never really been a reader of suspense fiction, it just wasn't that interesting to me until I discovered author, Ronie Kendig. I first read her second release, Nightshade a few weeks ago and I LOVED it! She kindly offered to send me a copy of her debut novel Dead Reckoning and I finished it on one day, staying up till the wee hours of the morning. From the first page I was hooked! Being a lover of history I've always had a respect and interest in archaeology so it was easy for me to like underwater archaeologist, Shiloh Blake and her best friend Khalid Khan. There is also a hunky ex-Navy SEAL turned spy, Reece aka Brutus, who will give you heart palpitations! Did I mention that from the very first chapter there is enough "edge of your seat" action to give a body a heart attack? Seriously. It is so good! A lot of the suspense that I've read has had one or two scenes that made my pulse race but Dead Reckoning does not let up, it's nonstop action from start to finish. Assassinations, kidnappings, nuclear weapons, spies, and terrorists all in the exotic setting of Mumbia, throw in not one but two romances involving our main character, Shiloh and you have a suspenseful and thrilling read that will knock your socks off! I highly recommend this book to anyone (guys that means you too) who loves a great story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn Dean
A desperate chase from beginning to end with a dash of romance thrown in for good measure, Ronie Kendig's entre novel, Dead Reckoning, is as distinctive and spicy as Indian curry. Delicious!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2010
I wish I could give more stars to this fabulous book. It had everything and even more than I expected! This is absolutely my favorite suspense novel. I'm pre-ordering Nightshade too and can't wait till it releases.Keep on writing like this Ronie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Roy
From the first page, you're drawn in and can't put the book down! Suspense and intrigue at its best, with surprises around every corner. You'll find yourself cheering on the good guys - but ARE they the good guys? Ronie Kendig creates characters we can all relate to and believe in. What a wonderful romantic love story in the middle of all the secret spy stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jules
All I can say about "Dead Reckoning" is WOW! This was the best Christian suspense debut novel I have ever read. There was not one dull moment in this book from page one to the very end. I can't wait until Ronie Kendig's "Discarded Heroes Series" debuts this summer. "Dead Reckoning" truly deserves a 5 Star Rating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
I haunt bookstores. I like Dee Henderson's books; also I. Hannon's, Mel Odom's Bloodlines etc. and agree with Rel from Oz. My lament: How come this book wasn't found in SC before March 2010? (Reviews in 2009)A. Mulligan from GA said it: 5 1/2 hrs. flight like 90 Min! I read this from Tokyo to Detroit - 10 plus hours! My eyes were burning, the turbulence suspended cabin service; row behind me alternated between sneezing, wheezing, coughing and laughing out loud - nothing registered except peripherally. Dead Reckoning had me - hook, line and sinker! I hope the next book(s) are as fascinating and well-written AND stand-alone like this one, even if series. My only wish: Availability by end May / beginning June. For another long flight. (: )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pat
Wow, what a fun read. It has everything, suspense, romance, mystery... You could tell it was well researched and believable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Can you sum up this book in one word? I just did. Is it really possible that this is Ronie Kendig's debut novel? Hard to believe, but if this book is any indicator then this is the first of many! I was hooked from the first few pages, drawn into a world of espionage, intrigue, murder and terrorism all with the main character, Shiloh Blake, who is a underwater diver. This is an incredible chase through India in an effort to stop nuclear terrorism. Hold on to your seat, strap and sit back. You will only be disappointed that "Dead Reckoning" doesn't last longer. I look forward to more books from Ronie Kendig.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dead Reckoning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Ronie Kendig provides a wonderful balance of story elementscharacterization, dialogue, plot, settingand serves it up with movie-screen clarity and pacing. Reading one of her novels is like being plunked down in the middle of an action/adventure film.Dead Reckoning is memorable both for the richness of setting and the vividness of her characters. Shiloh and Reece are unforgettable ... and so is a certain motorcycle chase. I could feel the speed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>