Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised

Hendrickson Publishers 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised

There's no need to pray for more hours in your day! In this updated edition, Jordan draws on Proverbs 31 to offer spiritual guidance and practical tips for women who want to live a more balanced and productive life. Discover how to use time-saving electronic and Internet tools, streamline grocery shopping and meal planning, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Review 1 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great informational book

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
AngelaS21
Location:Englewood,CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is literally 12 steps from walking daily with God to staying fit and healthy. Lane Jordan (the author) really touches every aspect of life and gives you practical tips to help organize each aspect. Each step does include bible verses the reinforce that certain step. My favorite part is the bringing home part of each step. This section gives you a reflection and a personal application. I think this helped me to apply it to my life and not just read it. If every book did this I think I may retain more of what I had read. This book has been a great help to me and I recommend it to all busy and unorganized women out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was a very different book and focus.

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lane P. Jordan’s 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman has been revised and republished to bring the tips up-to-date. I was hopeful when I began to read the updated edition. I find myself often disorganized and distracted and yearn for a system to follow that will solve my problems.
This was a very different book and focus. Jordan draws a woman who takes care of all aspects of her life by drawing closer to the Lord Jesus and His teaching. She touches on the relationships we have – social, family, children, self — but mostly spiritual.
Initially disappointed not to find a “how to” book, I was pulled into the depths of what could be — IF I properly order my spiritual life.
While this book won’t tell you anything about “organization” that you don’t already know, it will help you organize yourself and your tasks so you can put Jesus first in your life and your home. After all, our priorities should be God first, family second, all else third.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Me, More Organized? Yes, With This Book!

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
GingerB
Location:Smiths Grove KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say about this book? Well, first of, I love that I feel like she and I are sitting down to a cup of coffee/tea with her and she is just chatting with me. I love that she says to put God first, then your husband, then the rest of the your life. In Step 5, she says to schedule a day at home once a week. I agree on how important that is. I mean seriously, we are constantly on the run it seems. Not so much as of late with us only having one vehicle. But, once we have another car, I will be running at least 5 days a week. I will also be going back to work soon, and so that will make a difference. Lane really drives home the need to put God first in each of the 12 steps. She has a call to action, then a practical application. For me, I need it explained to me, in average person terms on how something should be done. Lane does that! In Step 7, Lane says "Don't let any one thing dominate your life." In this step, I have a difficult time and will be rereading this again. I want to be healthy and set healthy goals for my children. Lane explains it in such great detail, I think I can incorporate that into my life.
These are the following titles in 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman.
Step One: Walks with God Daily
Step Two: Works Hard on Her Marriage
Step Three: Strives in Life Alone
Step Four: Reaches Out to Her Family, Friends, Neighbors, Church, and the World
Step Five: Understands Time and Importance
Step Six: Balances the Demands of Her Home and Her Career
Step Seven: Stays Healthy and Fit
Step Eight: Works to Provide Healthy Meals
Step Nine: Manages Details of her Home
Step Ten: Nurtures and Provides for Her Children
Step Eleven: Restores Herself Emotionally and Spiritually
Step Twelve: Seeks the Source of her Strength
Lane does an excellent job in breaking down each step. It is easy to understand, encompasses God. Lane incorporates computers, the internet, aps on a smartphone, etc for us "modern women".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Practical Tips

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I confess that I am more of a "Wannabe" than I am a truly organized person, so I was excited to be offered a chance to review this book. Am I reformed? No. But, I did find lots of useful, practical tips to help me become better organized. Divided into 12 easy to manage chapters, each provides several ideas to help you get more in balance and to eliminate being overwhelmed by it all. This is not a book that you just read and immediately make all the right changes; I see it more as a reference book I can use to help me implement the changes I want to make. I did not become unorganized in a few days, so I don't expect immediate results.
This is also a very good book to read as a small group or book club. At the end of each chapter there is a Scripture verse that is encouraging, questions that you can ask yourself---but would be terrific as a discussion with others, and it ends with Personal Application. Some of the suggestions are things I already do (or...have planned on doing), but I did find several ideas that I want to make part of my routine. More than just a quick-fix, this book can help you make a practical lifestyle change to become a much more organized woman.
This book was made available to me by CWA Review Crew in exchange for an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read for All Women!

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
WriterRani
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman, by Lane P. Jordan, was excellent.
I know that I could spend many times reading this book and still not glean all the useful information available.
One of the best parts of this book was the “Bringing home Step…” (put in one of the twelve steps). I enjoyed the questions and ways to apply it in my own life. I am looking forward to putting my plans into action.
This is a book all women should read and then implement into their own lives. I highly recommend it!
Disclosure of Material Connection- I received a free copy of 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman, by Lane P. Jordan to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouragement for the Aspiring Woman

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone who wants to take control of clutter and successfully manage home and family, this book is a great resource. From finances and parenting to positive attitudes and time management, this 12 Steps book has it all plus encouraging Bible verses. I love her choice of scripture.
Each of the 12 chapters is short and easy to read, written in Lane's affirming, practical tone. I can see this book as a useful Ladies Bible study book, for Women's Ministries, or a book club discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every woman should read this book!

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 Steps To Becoming A More Organized Woman is not just your typical organization book. It's not just how to organize your pantry or your bedroom; it's how to organize your priorities, your family, your life. All of this information is from a biblical perspective.
Each 'step' in the book is it's own chapter. The topics cover marriage, children, health, and more. Each step begins with a bible verse, and ends with suggestions for further refection and personal application. If you are striving towards the Proverbs 31 woman, this book is for you!
I personally gained a lot of insight from reading 12 Steps To Becoming A More Organized Woman, and it will be a 'keeper' on my bookshelf, meaning I will go back and read it again and again. The information inside the book was much deeper and spiritual than I expected. It is not just dry information, it is advice that is both practical and leads to soul-searching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The key is to plan!

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally I get a 3 week window when reviewing a book from The Christian Woman Affiliate Review Group. Sadly, I ran over this time period with 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman.
This is the BEST book from CWA that I’ve had the privilege of reviewing. EVERYTIME I sat down to work on this review, I gleaned another nugget from the book!
And for that reason, I won’t be apologizing for my less than timely review!
Originally written more than a decade ago and revised to fit modern needs, 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman ties in perfectly with my New Year’s Resolutions. Specifically in the area of organization.
“Along with teaching us the importance of time, the Bible shows that God “is not a God of disorder but of peace.” (1 Cor 14:33) Order creates peace, calmness and efficiency.”
The key to this ideal order is to PLAN!
“Many women struggle not only to be more organized but to simply keep up”
Personally, I’m one of those who struggle to keep up in the homemaking department. I found many helpful hints that author Lane Jordan shares to be very effective such as scheduling a purposeful at home day, creating a command post where only Mom can go and the value of setting goals.
“By setting goals, you’ll be striving toward something instead of heading toward everything at once and nothing in particular.”
This is one book I have read and re-read and taken a highlighter and pen to its’ pages. Each time I come away with a little more information and encouragement. What a great feeling!
The book covers: walking with God, marriage, single parenting, friends, church, time, career, health, children, emotions and more all centered around taking care of yourself so you can take care and minister to others.
“….we can become more organized women by prioritizing our most important relationships. I believe the next step is understanding how to use time to our advantage.”
I found relevant, useful, and timely information in each of the 12 steps. Plus at the end of each “chapter”, there are helpful personal reflections and applications (think step-by-step plans) that I could really relate to AND envision myself carrying out.
Ultimately I came away with the feeling of “YES! I CAN do this!” rather than “Oh, that’s a nice idea…but how do I go about it?”
This book as been an absolute God send!
Disclosure: I received the above product to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Positive, Negative or Action-Oriented Thinkers

Date:January 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Family by Lane P. Jordan
Positive thinkers will get a lot out of this book because Lane Jordan’s teachings helps one to see what you already have, such as “Being financially smart isn’t about having a lot of money…It’s about understanding how to take care of money so you have power over it, and not the other way around.”
Negative thinkers will be helped by this book because Lane also includes quick, positive steps one can take in each area of life to become more organized, including encouraging ways to garner support for your goal to become more organized. You won’t feel so alone and overwhelmed if you take her suggestions of how to turn to God for help, make friends, find or organize support groups, and take care of yourself first, so you can take care of your home and help others.
Married or single, action-oriented thinkers will love the underlying teachings of each of the 12 steps to organizing her spiritual, emotional, physical, and social life, as well as her home and career. Better than only “do this” lists, Jordan helps the reader understand why things are the way they are, what can be done, and how to change or break the habits that made the mess in the first place.
If you want to have more time and energy for those you love, if you are seriously looking to stop disorganization in all areas of your life, and if you wish to begin, develop or restore emotionally and spiritually confident relationships, this is the book for you.
I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is a wonderful guide to getting organized

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
charlesangel
Location:Clinton, Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This book is a wonderful guide to getting organized and putting everything in your life in proper perspective. It is a new updated and revised book of the one published in the1990's. A lot of things have changed since then. Therefore, there is a need for her to update her book with all of the new technical advantages that we have today such as our personal computers, internet books, texts messages and of course our emails. All of the new ways to communicate with each other have made communication much easier and faster. In many ways all of our new technical ways of getting our jobs done may have complicated our lives even more that doing things the old slower ways.
The 12 Steps in the book are all started out with a Bible Scripture and a way of life is depicted by putting God first in all things in our lives. We should be a "Proverbs 31 Woman" and honor God with our lives. Each Step ends with a Bible verse and a list of the ideas and how to apply them to our life with our family and cause our household to be more orderly and peaceful. The writer has not forgotten about the single girl and how important it is for her to be organized too.
If you have not already chosen to allow God to be your leader in all of your life, she has out lined the way to become a Christian and that the penalty for not choosing God and remaining a sinner is death. When you have decided to follow the ways of Jesus find the right church for you and your family where the Bible is studied and taught to new born Christians. Try to find one close to where you live and fellowship with other believers and learn how to serve God.
I will be referring to this valuable book many times in the future to help me become more organized in my home and make sure that I make time in my busy schedule to study Gods Holy Bible by setting a certain time in each day for prayer and worshiping my Savior!
To learn more about Lane, her books and her ministry, visit her website: http://www.lanejordanministries.com/ or her blog: http://www.pathwaystoorganization.com/.
You can also find Lane on Facebook and Twitter.
I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am a part of The CWA Review Crew. http://christianwomenaffiliate.com/group/cwa-review-crew Click here http://christianwomenaffiliate.com/group/cwa-review-crew
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Book

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
Lane Jordan provides the perfect blend of nuts-and-bolts information geared to everyday tasks and insights into the timeless relationships with family, friends, God, and self. The result is a book that serves as a modern-day Proverbs 31 for women. In this completely revised and updated edition, Jordan incorporates new tips and technology that can make womens lives more productive, balanced, and satisfying.
About the Author:
Lane P. Jordan is an author, recording vocalist, speaker and seminar leader. She is the former associate producer for Charles Stanley's In Touch program.
My Review:
12 Steps To Becoming A More Organized Woman, is a unique type of organizing book. When most books that are written in order to help the average woman become more organized they include ways for you to organize closets and to freeze monthly meals. This book, a revised&updated edition, goes a step further. The author tries to rear us back around to the things that should matter to us more than just a tidy home or perfectly labeled shelving she begins with our hearts and souls. She says that priority number one should be a prayer and devotion life with the Lord.
She then touches on marriage and how its important that we make our marriage the next item on the list that needs attention and focus. And not to leave the single ladies out she has devoted a chapter solely to you. The author has tried to give us the Proverbs 31 woman of today and how she should manage her life and family. I liked her idea of taking our toddlers out to eat occasionally. She said its best to pick off peak hours when the restaurant isn't likely to be crowded. I'll be honest, I cringed when I read that, but I am going to give it a try real soon.
This is the best book I have read in a long time and I absolutely love that it was modeled after Proverbs 31.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book/Ebook/Product to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 12 Steps to Becoming a More Organized Woman: Practical Tips for Managing Your Home and Your Life, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical Tips for Home and Family

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fran Sandin
Location:Greenville, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
We are all on the look-out for shortcuts and time-saving devices. Lane Jordan not only shares suggestions for balancing the demands of home and career, she encourages productive living by wiser use of time. She includes practical tips toward making a plan--for organizing, cleaning, meal planning, and grocery shopping; and includes apps and websites to assist the reader in finding coupons and recipes. Lane also addresses personal relationships and spiritual growth as well as ways children can learn life skills. I plan to buy books to give as wedding gifts and for mentoring young women. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.