Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances

David C. Cook Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances

Smith was an average American woman-a wife, mother, corporate executive, and faithful church member. But she knew something was missing from her life. When a bone-chilling experience awakened her desire to find true purpose, Smith and her family began a lifelong adventure serving those who never knew a greater purpose could exist. Passport Through Darkness tells the story of their adventure.

Traveling around the world and deep into the darkness of her own heart, Smith's worst fears collided with her faith as she and her family discovered the atrocities of human trafficking. But in that broken place a self-centered life was transformed into an international effort to save thousands from modern-day slavery, persecution, disease, and genocide.

As Smith and her husband risk everything for orphans in Eastern Europe and Africa, they see God work again and again in impossible situations, especially in their own lives and marriage. They see God change them-even in their exhaustion, marital struggles, and physical limitations. They see the beauty of living out God's dreams.

Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Review 1 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the read

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
holickb
Location:La Crete, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good book. Great plot and makes a person rethink the morals and values and how it relates to our relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone should read this!

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an amazing book - though not easy to read because of the sin and darkness that Kimberly faced as she ministered to others. I appreciated the honesty and openness both in the mission field and at home. At times I felt like I was right there with her. When she was discouraged and felt she wasn't doing enough I wanted to encourage her and tell her she was making a difference. I was amazed at the sacrifices she made and the comforts she gave up to serve. Like others who have commented on this book, I agree that this book should change the way we live.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Make a Coffee and sit

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
pootlesuzie
Location:Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is unputdownable. An amazing story of self discovery whilst in the dark bad places in the world.
A true calling to mission, to help those in the places we don't like to think about in our pretty little lives with our happi-clappi church worship.
This family got down and dirty, getting their feet dirtty on the dusty road, following the Lord.
Wow - read it - Now!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved reading this book

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
wingsnikki
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put this book down and read it straight through!!! I love reading books about experiences from missionaries, and what it is really like on the mission field. I am grateful for her honesty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's hurting heart

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donut
Location:Christchurch, NZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't feel worthy to review a book so close to God's hurting heart so I nearly didn't. It is an incredible eye-opener to what is happening in our world to our brothers and sisters in God's family living in hard places and to the orphans and widows that God speaks about so clearly to help. Kimberley's honesty is heart wrenching and her courage and faithfulness to God astounding. She has been faithful in her calling...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
nonfiction reader
Location:New Brunswick, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just the kind of book that I enjoy most.Her story is incredible. I couldnt put it down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartfelt and Moving

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy E
Location:Villa Park, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished the book and I have so many emotions running through me. I can't imagine people actually still live in those conditions. We are so fortunate here that we tend to look the other way. I am so glad I read the book and now I feel I need to do something about what I read. I am not sure what, but I want God to use me somehow. It may not be as radical as Kimberly, but God brought this book to me for a reason. I am so grateful and thank God for her courage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kitkat57
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a vulnerable look into the life of someone who dared to obey the Lord. It broke my heart open and made me look at what is inside. It challenged me to knock on doors and find my calling. I don't even feel qualified to review a book of this magnitude.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunned

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book opened my eyes to so much! I want to meet the author. She is amazing and has a heart for God. I have never wanted to do foreign mission work but my husband has always wanted me to. After reading this book, I believe that I can and should do more in my serving. My wants seem much less after reading this book and we have sponsored James, one of the children, that Make Way Partners is saving both physically and spiritually! Thank you for all you have done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
jimpenny
Location:Lyons,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sad and some parts are hard to read. This is
reality and we must be aware of the atrocities
of the world, especially were children and women
are concerned. Loved the book and author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luci
Location:Austin, TX
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was inspirational. It showed me people who have accepted God's call to help those in truly the darkest worlds. It is a war on evil and God's people have to step up and fight for these children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Charlie
Location:Knoxville,TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed the story even if it was depressing at times but it kept my interest. The story opened my eyes to what is going on in some of these third world countries. I recommended it to my first book club meeting and about 5 more copies of the book was bought.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cared for any orphans lately?

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff LeMaster
Location:Glens Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kimberly Smith was living the American Dream: successful working woman, wife and mother, Christian; but she still would lie awake at nights plagued by the hollowness of her life. That all changed when she and her husband answered the call to Spain as missionaries. Exposure to child trafficking in neighboring Portugal irrevocably steered the remainder of her life’s course.
Her husband forced to remain in the States by advanced diabetes, Kimberly began a series of harrowing journeys to the Darfur region of Sudan, a nation racked by decades of civil war and Islamic/Christian religious violence. Her efforts there brought about an orphanage and health care facility for the destitute population.
But this is not some rosy, feel-good missionary story. The deprivations of Darfur were horrifying. The toll exacted from Kimberly – her body, her soul, her marriage – was excruciating. The tale is raw and repugnant, exposing the depths of human depravity and degradation.
“With man, it is impossible; but with God, all things are possible.” Only God can redeem the unredeemable, rescue the hopeless, and renew what seems so utterly beyond help.
SO WHAT?
Isaiah 1:17 “Learn to do good; seek justice, correct oppression; bring justice to the fatherless, plead the widow’s cause.”
James 1:27 “Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.”
Sudan has more than its share of widows and orphans, and the heart of God weeps over the injustice there. Kimberly answered the call. What will we do.
We can’t do everything.
We daren’t do nothing.
We must do something.
WHY DID I READ THIS BOOK?
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B&B Media Group as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 stars!!!

Date:March 21, 2011
I got to know the ministry of Makeway Partners about a decade ago when I attended a missions conference at our church. Kimberly Smith was one of the featured missionaries and I was privileged to met her and have lunch with her during the conference. Since then, I've kept up with the ministry via her blog and weekly ministry email newsletters. You can imagine my del it when I learned that she was writing a book to tell the story of MWP!
Passport through Darkness by Kimberly Smith is truly a fascinating story ... The story of how she and her husband Milton served on the mission field and learned of the atrocities of human trafficking and the sex trade. This led to one life-changing move after another for them and their children. The book is an easy read and I loved Kimberly's writing style. She doesn't gloss over the hard stuff but gives great glory to God for all the ways she has seen Him work over the past years of ministry. I also appreciated that she was honest about how this wonderful ministry has at times affected her personal relationships with her husband, children, and other family and friends.
This is absolutely fascinating. Read it!
I received a free copy of this book from The B&B Media Group in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read! Life changing!

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
kherbrand
Location:Midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that last line - Live the life God dreamed of when He first dreamed of you. When you were growing up, how often did you dream about what your life would be like - what you would do - who you would marry - what your kids would be like. I find it amazing that my Creator would dream about me and what he wants for my life. Through this book, Kimberly tells the story of how she came to be living the life she believes God had in mind for her. By the end, she bares her soul for all, things that she even kept from her husband for a time.
Be sure to keep the kleenexes handy when reading - as you will surely need them. I found myself thinking about the conditions she describes in this book as I went about my day - thanking God for all those things we take for granted, like fresh water, shelter, security. It has definitely made me take a deeper look at how I can best serve God.
This is a must read book, both to bring awareness to a part of the world where atrocities abound on a daily basis, and to bring awareness to hearts that might not know God's path - or even know God.
Read my entire post -http://booksandneedlepoint.blogspot.com/2011/03/passport-through-darkness-by-kimberly-l.html
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling Story

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Passport Through Darkness" isn't your typical missionary workers story. Instead Kimberly Smith takes the reader on a journey around the world to Sudan and other war torn countries. She shares the atrocities that women and children face in these countries every day.
Kimberly Smith was your average American woman, working in the corporate world, a wife, mother and a faithful church member, she was living a good life, but she felt as if something was missing, she longed to make her life matter. About that time her husband Milton started suggesting that they do something meaningful, something to make a difference in other peoples lives. One day as Milton browses thru a magazine in a waiting room he finds an article asking for missionaries to serve in Spain, ironically Milton had been a missionary in Spain back in the 80's, so with what I would consider a giant leap of faith, they were accepted by a missionary agency to work in Spain so they sold everything they had starting a new life journey in the missionary field. While in Spain the couple became aware of the plight of human trafficking, causing them to cofound Make Way Partners, which works to prevent human trafficking worldwide.
I knew a bit of the plight in Sudan before reading this book, but this book brings it front and center, allowing you to see these victims as real people, while it is a hard to read the accounts that are shared in the story, it is a message that needs to be spread.
Thanks to B&B Media for providing me a copy of this book for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

selfless ministry to Sudan orphans

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Into her second marriage, Smith realized something was not working. The pursuit of the American Dream was eating her alive. Realizing she needed to be part of something bigger, she longed for God's “well done.”
Her husband was having similar thoughts. They sols everything and moved to Spain. They became aware of a home in Portugal that housed African immigrant children who were being horribly abused. The battle for the welfare of the children created a concern in Smith for human trafficking.
They returned to the U. S. and founded a ministry. She traveled to Sudan (her husband;s health prevented his going with her). She found horror. The war and genocide had left “more widows and orphans than [in] any other people group.” (97) She did fund raising in the States to build an orphanage in Sudan.
Smith tells stories of persecuted Christians that are at the same time horrifying and an encouragement. She says of the stories, “I'd never known such evil existed...” (140)
Smith went back to Africa many times, sometimes leading short mission groups. Her life was frequently threatened and she ultimately paid the price at the hands of a gang of raping men. Her absence from her husband put a strain on her marriage. She finally revealed her experience to him and she experienced the true comfort of a loving husband. She is currently leading an effort to build an anti-trafficking network in Africa.
Smith's story is one of encouragement and inspiration. The last few chapters has a bit much of herself, but even so, this is a book very much worth reading. Readers are encouraged to participate in supporting ministries listed at the end of the book, including Smith's own.
This book was provided for review by The B & B Media Group, Inc., on behalf of the publisher, David C. Cook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Courage and love in the midst of violence.

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Passport Through Darkness, told through the eyes of author Kimberly L. Smith, is a powerful book of courage, tenacity and love displayed by Kimberly and Make Way Partners in the desolate, violent world of murder and rape in the land of Sudan. Her and her husband’s prayers for caring for the orphans and women of Darfur, through all the atrocities the people had been through and seen, are eventually answered abundantly. How it comes about is in the telling of the story.
Kimberly’s unwavering devotion to God’s calling despite the many problems, disasters, and personal attacks show us the power of God in the midst of evil. Many lives were touched and changed through her gracious works. She so endeared herself to the people, that each time she returned they called out for ‘Mama Kimberly.’ The vision of her work with James Lual Atak will stay with you and speak to your heart with compassion for the hopeless and helpless ones.
If just one person is willing to surrender their life to God, mighty miracles can be accomplished. Kimberly would love for you, the reader, to be open to God’s call on your life, wherever it may lead.
In reading this book, I realized that Kimberly was probably one of the women working in this area when I saw a program on Darfur some years ago on TV. I was horrified at all the inhumanity then, and again in Kimberly’s book. But man’s inhumanity to man, however, is not too hard for God to redeem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

heartwrenching and touching tale

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ever wondered what goes on in the minds of some of these missionaries who risk their lives for God's work , how dangerous that their lives can become at a flick of a switch. For one women Kimberly Smith her life was about to change drastically and take a path that she had never dreamed or crossed her mind before. Kimberly Smith was just like you and me and all the rest of the Goldy and Christian women out there. She was an average everyday American Church attendee , a wife and a mother. Believing that she could achieve more with her life for God's work- she dared , yes you read it right . She dared to ask God to share his dreams of her life with her. By doing this, Kimberly was opened up to a brand new life and way of living. She decided to open up a foundation called "Make Way Partners" which is dedicated to ending human trafficking -an offense that is highly common in American and third world countries. When travelling , Kimberly and her family had their eyes and hearts opened to the atrocity and mess that human trafficking is about and it was in this moment that she truly discovered that she was the one that could make a change and put a stop to it. So over the journey of her book "Passport to Darkness" Kimberly talks about her journey of pain so terrifying and fearful and hurting to the gut-wrenching moments we feel in life. Her book "Passport to Darkness" gives us the view that no matter what happens when we put our lives on the line and give our all to God, he will not only provide but also care for us in a love that nobody can ever experience the full capacity without putting everything you have in him. Included in Passport to Darkness is also a guide to following our own heart's desire and discovering a way to live the purpose -filled life that God has planned for us all and it is only when you are following God's way that you will know what it's really like to bask in God's pleasure and love. A heartwrenching and touching tale about how one woman gave up her safe and risk-free life in order to follow God's destiny that he had awating for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passport to the Light of the World

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve52
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gripping account of mass murder, terror, torture, enslavement, rape, and famine in Sudan;
An unblinking, intimate telling of its horrors;
An unvarnished insight into the cultural, historical, religious, economic and geographic/ climatic forces at work;
A sobering assessment of probable failures tempered by inevitable triumph;
A clarion call to the Body of Christ;
An author courageously sharing her own enslavement to self doubt and feelings of worthlessness;
A testimonial to God unshackling her;
A powerful paradigm for putting the Good News into action.
Kimberly L. Smith’s Passport Through Darkness is all these things and much more. Its value obvious to those with a heart for the Sudan and the enslaved everywhere, it should be read by the Church, leaders, and seekers everywhere.
Ironically less obvious is its greatest gift: Passport Through Darkness shows not only how to set free the victims of war and modern slavery – it grants a passport to each of us, showing us how to escape our innermost torments or doubts and live fully as a freed child of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.