Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Highland Blessings

Abingdon Press Highland Blessings

Highland Blessings is the story of a highland warrior who kidnaps the daughter of his greatest enemy and clan chief to honor a promise he made to his dying father. Bryce MacPhearson, a highland warrior, kidnaps Akira MacKenzie on her wedding day to honor a promise he made to his dying father. While Akira's strength in the Lord becomes a witness to Bryce, she struggles to overcome her anger and resentment when he forces her to wed him, hoping to end a half-century-old feud between their clans. While Akira begins to forgive, and Bryce learns to trust, a series of murders leaves a trail of unanswered questions, confusion, and a legacy of hate that once again rises between their families. Clearly, a traitor is in their midst. Now the one man Akira loves no longer trusts her, and her own life is in danger. Can Bryce look beyond his pain and seek the truth? Will Akira discover the threat against her before it's too late? How will God turn a simple promise into bountiful Highland blessings?
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Highland Blessings
Review 1 for Highland Blessings
This review is fromHighland Blessings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
bbry
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love christian historical romance books. This book was awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Highland Blessings
This review is fromHighland Blessings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Couldn't Put It Down... Literally

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down for two reasons...
First, because I was drawn into the story right away and loved the characters. I love an author who can show the "man's side of the story" as well as the woman's.
Second, because my eReader wouldn't hold my place in the book for some reason so I literally couldn't put the book down without having "flip through the pages" to find my place again. That was a little frustrating, but I simply made sure to remember what chapter I was in before I put it down. Haven't had that problem with any other books I've gotten, so I assume it was an issue with this eBook and not my eReader.
Otherwise, I highly recommend this book!!
By the way, I got this eBook for free for my CBD Reader (love that app!)... Thank you CBD!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book caught my attention with the cover and after the first couple of paragraphs I knew I wanted to read it. This is the first book that I've read from this author, but her plots and her characters were very well written. I look forward to reading more from this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Highland Blessings
This review is fromHighland Blessings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable read!

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lissa
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book since the main characters included a strong female who knew her weaknesses and an enduring male who balanced tradition with reason and tenderness. If you are intrigued with the Scottish setting and time period as I am, then that is an added bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Demarie Webb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this story. I like that even though they were attracted to each other, there was still some distrust after the years of hatred between their families. It made it more realistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Highland Blessings
This review is fromHighland Blessings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good storyline, fair on the characters

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanny
Location:Cambridge, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved the storyline and the historical setting with two people working through what life has handed them to do what is best for others. The love interest was not as credible and the way things always seemed to work out without any problems seemed a little unreal at times. Overall I enjoyed the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Highland Blessings
This review is fromHighland Blessings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
beka
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. I liked the characters, their interactions were believable and true to life in relation to the time portrayed. I thought it was a well written and interesting story that kept me turning the pages until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Highland Blessings
This review is fromHighland Blessings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jacinta
Location:Western Australia, Australia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book, the love story and how it spoke in the original language of that time, even if I couldnt understand it some of the time and went by what was surrounding it. And it included a bit of the history of the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why did I wait so long to read this book? LOVED it

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not really a historical romance lover, although I do enjoy reading one occasionally. I don't remember ever reading a Scottish historical. But, as the founder and past president of Carolina Christian Writers, Jennifer Hudson Taylor has addressed the group on many occasions, always impressive. So when Amazon offered Highland Blessings free on Kindle, I snatched it up. Why not?
Why did I wait so long?? Highland Blessings hooked me from the beginning. Jennifer Hudson Taylor weaved the story together so well, I was immediately drawn into Scotland in 1473. At first, I was a little nervous about the Scottish dialog, but she managed to make me feel like I talked, lived, and breathed in that generation, until I no longer noticed the difference. I thought she did a great job developing the characters. Bryce, painted as a tribal warrior at first, then later, you witnessed his tender side as he battled allegiance to his tribe with love for his bride. And Akira, initially apprehensive and confused, grew strong and brave, a female who stood up for what she believed in. Heavy on the action and mingled with faith, this book contains enough sweet romance to leave you emotionally satisfied.
Jennifer Hudson Taylor's second book, Highland Sanctuary, is available now. I won't wait until it's offered free on Kindle to read it! Congratulations, Jennifer Hudson Taylor. Five stars from this reader!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holt Medallion Winner for 2011 for Best First Book

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Akira has prophetic dreams. And that makes her suspect in 14th century Scotland. When her Highland warrior bridegroom comes to claim his bride, she is quite taken by surprise – he kidnaps her! Lots of romantic tension early on when she is taken to her new clan and new village. Bryce MacPhearson takes Akira on the day she is to wed another.There has been bad blood between the two clans for a long time. Bryce gave his father a promise as he was dying. Despite her strong faith, Akira rages against Bryce’s determination to make her his wife. He finally gives her an agreement that although wed, they will not act as husband and wife until she has come to know him.
One murder after another occurs, stirring up the rivalry between their two clans. Akira’s own family begins to turn against her. God warns her of trouble in her dreams. Bryce isn’t sure what to think. Akira’s life is endangered and her husband must rescue her.
This was a really good read and a page turner (Kindle page!) with strong suspense and lots of twists and turns in it.
BIBLIOTHERAPY: Trust, betrayal, grief, and rivalries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Highland Blessings
This review is fromHighland Blessings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
rojolapp
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book alot. The author did a great job with the Scotish accent. I could hear it as I was reading. I would love to read more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Highland Blessings
This review is fromHighland Blessings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book.

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
ajwoff
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While the download has issues (will be on one page and it skips to another page, making reading difficult), the book itself is really good. A book that could be read several times and still be just as much of an impact. Look forward to reading other books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurie Alice Eakes
Having grown up on the historical romances of the 80s, before they learned the accolade of bodice ripper, Taylors book caught my attention at once. It reminded me of those stories where the heroes were tough, but respectful and chivalrous to the heroines. Abduction isnt seduction; its the beginning of a new life of renewal leading to peace. This is for the lover of Scottish books indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janalyn Voigt
Bryce McPherson kidnaps Akira McKenzie on her wedding day to keep a promise made to his dying father.The fact that the McKenzie and the McPherson clans are sworn enemies won't save Akira from marrying the McPherson Chiefton. But can such a marriage bring peace, especially when a series of murders seems to indicate otherwise? And can Bryce and Akira find love in the midst of hatred?With fine prose and deft skill, Jennifer Hudson Taylor takes us to the highlands of Scotland at a time when men lived and died by the sword. But the struggles woven into this book's plot are not of the flesh alone. Akira needs to make peace with both her earthly and heavenly fathers, and Bryce must learn to trust an enemy. But a greater threat waits in the shadows...I recommend Highland Blessings for readers who enjoy historical fiction and historical romance.* A complimentary copy of this book was provided to me by the author for purposes of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
This debut author took on the challenge of writing a medieval romance for the Christian market and she did a fantastic job! Brawny, bold and slightly untamed Highland warriors are a staple of the secular publishing market, but rarely found in the CBA trade. I loved the unique setting and the courage of both the author and publisher (Abingdon Press) to give Christian readers something different to read.Bryce is a drool worthy candidate for a rough and tumble hero, but its his tenderness that stole my heart from the very first chapters. What a lethal combination!And Akira is such a contradiction of gentle Christian and fiery warrior woman. She keeps Bryce on his toes, constantly delighting (and infuriating) him with her surprising behaviour. Of course he falls hard, and she doesnt realize it until tragedy strikes and then, just when you think they have a chance to build a loving life together, something sinister creeps into their midst.Taylor does a magnificent job with the time period and I especially appreciated the authenticity she gave to the Scottish dialogue. It wasnt overdone so reading it was easy but it helped immerse me in the setting, adding flavour to a rich reading experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandi Rog
I LOVE Scottish romances, and I can only find them on the non-Christian bookshelves. So, when I saw Highland Blessings and read on the book jacket that Akira gets kidnapped on her wedding day, I HAD to get my hands on it. Let me just say, Jennifer Hudson Taylor didn't disappoint. From being kidnapped by a highland warrior, to getting in mud fights on Scottish soil, to falling in love with the enemy, it was a great escape from everyday life. Thanks for the great read, Jennifer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
When I first agreed to read Highland Blessings by Jennifer Hudson Taylor, I was a little apprehensive about the book because of the country setting and brogue issues. I am so glad I chose to read it! It was engaging the whole way through the book, and the whole storyline flowed naturally, particularly for the time era and country setting and clan rules, keeping me intrigued.Akira had been jilted at the altar, kidnapped on her wedding day, and forced to wed another man from an opposing clan, one that had been feuding with her side of the family for a half-century.Akiras character was humble and yet strong and steady when necessary, dealing with all the emotions of the circumstances. She relied on the Lord to help her through each situation, and there were many intense moments from beginning to end! Bryces character was just as compelling, with his deep loyalty to promises he made and his tenderness amidst the tenacity and decisiveness needed for his clan position and enemy threats and murders.Upon reading the book, I found some similar analogies of Akira to Esther and Joseph from the Old Testament, with testings and trials to bring out Akira and Bryces characters. The storyline will impress you. Jennifer is one fine writer! I highly recommend her book!This book was provided free by Mark Yeh at Abingdon Press for my honest, personal review. I consider it a privilege to recommend good novels for your reading delight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. You simply have a hard time putting it down. I don't usually take the time to write a review, but this book is worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Scotland 1473Akira MacKenzies wedding day has turned into a nightmare. First, she shows up for the ceremony, but her bridegroom doesnt bother. Then, even as she stands heartbroken by the abandonment, shes kidnapped by Bryce MacPhearson, a highland warrior from an enemy clan. Shes hurt and angry, but her allegiance to a forgiving God dictates that she also forgive the man who took her from her family. But it isnt an easy thing to do, especially when shes forced into an unwanted marriage with her kidnapper.Bryce MacPhearson is determined to honor a promise he made to his dying father. He has no intention of harming Akira, but neither has he any plan to set her free. She will be a MacPhearson bride. As his new wifes life becomes a witness to him of her faith and an indomitable spirit, he finds himself falling in love with her and drawn to her God. But when a series of murders points to Akiras disloyalty, will Bryce trust her enough to protect her from a hidden threat? Can they find the murderer before that murderer seeks revenge on the new MacPhearson bride?A young lads promise. A brides broken dreams. A womans faith. Can God use them all to unite two feuding clans and bless two hurting Highland hearts?Highland Blessings is an engaging look at Scottish history, with its customs and traditionssome familiar, others not-so-much. It offers a captivating storyline with a wonderfully three-dimensional cast of characterssome to love and some towell, only to love because God would. The heroine is endearing, with an admirable show of pluck for a female during the century in question. This young womans courage and stamina at a time when women were expected to have neither is itself a Highland blessing! Definitely well worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Highland Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kyna Stanley
I love to read about this time in history, but it's hard to find any christian books from this time period and place. I was so excited to get this book and I was not dissappointed...I loved it! I hope this new author writes more from the Highlands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>