Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1

Abingdon Press Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1

After a broken relationship, all Dr. Cathy Sewall wants is to find healing. But it's clear that returning to her hometown is a prescription for trouble. When one of Cathy's medications almost kills the local banker, she's charged with malpractice! She knows she's innocent, but who would want to end her career---and possibly her life? 288 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
Review 1 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Good Read!

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
D. Snider
Location:Sudbury, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this story from beginning to end. It captivated my interest and kept me reading. It was a short read and that really is my only complaint. This book is worth your time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clean medical mystery

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy E
Location:Chula Vista
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've just started reading Christian mystery books in the last few years and enjoy a good read where it gets so intense you don't want to put the book down until you've finished it. For me a story has to catch me in the first few pages and this one did. These books also have faith messages all through them and the author has done a great job with this series. Can't wait to read the rest!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have recently read Richard Mabry’s latest novel, Stress Test, and found the novel so good I decided to read some of his other books. As a result, I discovered Code Blue and what a find! This is the first book in the Prescription for Trouble Series. This is a contemporary medical suspense novel and it will enthrall the reader from page one until the end!
Someone is out to kill Dr. Cathy Sewell or is she just being paranoid, descending into the schizophrenia that plagued her mother before her death? Cathy has returned to her hometown to start her own private family medical practice. She is having trouble getting patients due to rumors about her reasons for returning home. She is pursued by a mysterious black SUV she encounters several times, but is it the same SUV? Is there really anybody after her or is it her imagination running wild? Then, one of her few patients arrives at the hospital after taking too much of his medicine, causing a heart attack. The patient survives, but Cathy’s career might not. As a result, Cathy is now being sued as she wrote the prescription incorrectly or did she?
Cathy enlists the aid of her former high school boyfriend, who has now become a lawyer. Will Kennedy has never stopped loving Cathy, but wonders what happened when they both left for college and their relationship crumbled. He is ready to pick up where they left off, but Cathy is not so sure. Cathy has some unresolved anger at her father. Her parents were both killed in a car accident on the way to Cathy’s college graduation. She wonders if her father was unfaithful to her mother. Cathy also had a couple of relationships where the men were unfaithful. She has trouble trusting Will. She also has trouble trusting God. She and He have not been on speaking terms since her parents’ deaths. Will is the son of a preacher and an active Christian. Can he show Cathy that both he and God are trustworthy? Can they find solutions to Cathy’s many problems and renew her faith?
This is a great story that has action, suspense and unexpected twists and turns in the plot. The characters face stress and problems every day just like you and I. Okay, the problems may be different, but they are problems just the same. How do you deal with your problems? Do you try to fix them on your own or do you take them to the ultimate Problem Solver first? I plan to review more of this author’s novels in the future, so if you like fast-paced fiction, stay tuned to read more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
jacobMiller
Location:Hamilton, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how I was drawn into this story line. Use of medical terms by the author because he is a doctor makes it that much more real. I'm looking forward to reading the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MedicalMystery

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrandAuntie
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this medical mystery. The book is a light read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rod Man of God
Location:Concord NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. kept you guessing until the end. Many twist and turns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
posy
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Code Blue", Prescription for Trouble Series
Having has just finished medical school Dr Cathy Sewall returned to her home town to open a practice. Starting new in a place where everyone knows you is hard & adds to her insecurity. You can surely empathize with her.
After several close calls on her life, at first she thought she was being paranoid but when one thing after another continued to happen she knew someone did not want her back in this town. But who?
On top of all these stressful things, two men are vying for her attention. Is she ready for a new romance in her life after a recent breakup with her fiance?
You will be turning those pages, hurrying to get to the end to find out who is behind all these efforts to get rid of Cathy.
The story was a just the right combination of suspense, romance & Christianity. Dr Mabry did a great job fleshing out his characters & the medical explanations were just enough to support the suspense & not over bearing.
My biggest surprise....besides the end, was how convincingly he could write in the first person from a woman's point of view, understanding & conveying how we feel & think. Great Job Dr. Mabry!
I already have his next book & can't wait to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrammaKay
Location:Guttenberg, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I personally loved this book. It is well written, kept me in suspense until the very end. I had a difficult time putting it down! This is the first of 3 in the series and, of course, I had to get the second and third and read them also! Cheers to the author, Richard Mabry!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick entertaining read

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Neen
Location:Rural Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will look for the next book by this author. Enjoyed the suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unexpectedly Good

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lena
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not much of a medical kind of person so I was expecting this book to be a bit boring with too many medical terms, but it was really interesting. I enjoyed the suspenseful twist of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Musicmind2
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this work. I work in the medical field and some of what they taled about was familiar. I enjoyed the intrigue and suspence. Very well written. I hope to read more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susie Q
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent book. It kept me going at it non stop. I can't wait to read the rest of the books in the series. An excellent writer. I felt like I was there most of the time experiencing what was going on. I was so pulled into the book.
I would definitely recommend it to a friend!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
lyle
Location:Reidsville NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
discussion questions particularly good at end of book ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brittrph
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasanty surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. It kept me guessing until the end. I love that you can have suspense and romance without all the garbage the world feeds us. Highly recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
This review is fromCode Blue - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great drama and quick read

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kay2
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was not a huge book so it could be read quickly on my pc. As a nurse, I like medical books. However, this was not "so medical" that a non medical person would not enjoy it. I like the characters and one of the twists in the book caught me by surprise. It ended but yet, gave me the impression that there could be a sequel to the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:Mississippi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You might want to save this for the week-end so you can stay up until the wee hours reading, because, you will not want to put it down. The medical field mixed with mystery, romance, and strong christian values is just what this doctor ordered. I have researched the author because I was so interested in the man behind this book. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time, and I read a lot!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Gripping Medical Suspense

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A long-time historical romance fan, I rarely read mysteries or suspense novels, but Richard Mabry’s book changed that. CODE BLUE swept me into the formerly unknown world of medical drama, but Dr. Mabry did such a great job making the technical aspects of his tale understandable that I was able to enjoy the story fully. I liked Dr. Cathy Sewell and felt for her from the outset. As the plot thickened and she found herself in increasing danger, I flipped the pages faster, eager to find out whodunit—and to find out if there was a place for romance in her busy life. I got my answers, but I was kept guessing until the end. CODE BLUE is a winner. The good doctor has a devoted reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top-Notch Suspense Novel

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donn Taylor
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Others have written of content. My contribution is to say simply that Dr. Mabry's book is one of the best suspense novels I have ever read. The author's medical knowledge is fine,of course, but his general knowledge marks him as a first-rate mind with a great deal to share, and his writing shows him a true professional. I look forward to reading more of his work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Cathy Sewell doesn't just find herself a woman doctor in a man's world. She is a family doctor in a town ruled by specialists. And she has to prove herself and her abilities to gain the hospital privileges she needs to best help her patients. But someone doesn't want her to succeed.I enjoyed watching Cathy prove her worth over and over. But would it be enough? Richard L. Mabry, MD is a writer to watch. He brings a fresh new voice to Christian Fiction and medical suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"Code Blue" is a fast-paced romantic suspense novel. It was, at it's core, about wrong perceptions of past events effecting how people viewed themselves and others in the present. The suspense was created by someone repeatedly trying to kill Cathy, various medical emergencies, and the tension in the various relationships.The mystery was a who-done-it, but I was pretty certain who did it from the moment we met the character. However, I found it believable that Cathy didn't quickly figure it out and that she acted the way she did. She wasn't dumb. She was just more inclined to trust her perceptions than to carefully think things through.The characters were interesting, likable, and dealt with realistic problems. The world-building was excellent, especially the details about the medical and legal aspects.Cathy was angry at God because of her parents marital problems (due to a mental illness) and the crash that took their lives. As she realized her perceptions of these events were wrong, she also changed her perception of God. The novel dealt with these issues in a way that was for Christians and those with a Christian background. Non-Christians will probably find it preachy due to the prominent Christian content, but I didn't find it so. I really liked it.There was no bad language. There was no sex. Overall, I'd recommend this book as exciting, well-written, clean reading.I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>