Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press They Almost Always Come Home

Abingdon Press They Almost Always Come Home

When Libby's husband Greg fails to return from a two-week canoe trip to the Canadian wilderness, the authorities soon write off his disappearance as an unhappy husband's escape from an empty marriage and unrewarding career. Their marriage might have survived if their daughter Lacey hadn't died.and if Greg hadn't been responsible. Libby enlists the aid of her wilderness savvy father-in-law and her faith-walking best friend to help her search for clues to her husband's disappearance.if for no other reason than to free her to move on. What the trio discovers in the search upends Libby's presumptions about her husband and rearranges her faith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.926 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for They Almost Always Come Home
Review 1 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From planning his funeral to wanting him back

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She would leave her husband…if she could find him.
When Greg fails to return from a Canadian canoe trip, Libby is annoyed when a police officer questions the state of their marriage. Did Greg want to disappear? No fair. She should be the one leaving him. She’s having a hard time liking the man she’s supposed to love.
With her father-in-law and her best friend, she plans to retrace Greg’s journey. While they load up with canoes, cook stove, food, sleeping bags, they discover he didn’t take his fishing equipment. That’s ominous.
Libby also brings along the trip journeys found in Greg’s office. She reads of his confusion on how to reach her. She’d thought he hadn’t felt grief at their daughter’s death three years ago.
While fishing for their dinner in the beautiful wilderness scenery, she has an epiphany. She realizes what’s missing from that dust-free spot on his office shelf: his camera. He hadn’t planned on fishing. He went to take pictures. Greg’s stifled in his grocery store job. She didn’t want him to leave his secure job, not with a family to support.
By the time they run out of time and must return home, Libby wants Greg back.
I love the transition from indifferent wife to loving wife who recognizes she hadn’t been meeting his needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very touching

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enough life application features to keep your interest. Lots of good reading (42 chapters)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fran
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed book especially ease of reading on my ipad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Struggle through the Canadian woods/relationships

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The outstanding portrayal of the beauty of God's creation in the Canadian woods was incredible in this book. The author managed to literally take us on the searching/rescue trek with her as she desperately looks for her missing husband.
Our oldest daughter lost a child at eight years of age and that death has scarred their family in ways we did not understand for years. The same is true in this novel and it is a tale told very well.
I have always enjoyed light humor in novels and in conversation. A person, however, who consistently inserts comical twists in a conversation can turn the intent of the exchange into a verbal sparring that dilutes the original desire to communicate. I felt that way as I began this book--every page has clever, sometimes sarcastic, humor inserted into nearly ever passage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very touching story

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
LeftMyHeartInTX
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is the first book I've read by this author. While my husband is not lost in the wilderness, we are in a very difficult place right now. Maybe that is why I so connected with Libby. I walked with her each step of her emotional journey to find her husband. I laughed and cried along the way, and rejoiced as she found her way back to her Lord. I would highly recommend this book to others. No matter where you are in your spirtual life, I believe you will see a bit of yourself on its pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
suzyQ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a long time since I read I book that I couldn't put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It was the first time that I had read anything by this author, but will definitely look for more e-books by her,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I can't imagine anyone being sorry they read this!

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find it difficult to come up with adequate words that lead to adequate sentences to describe this book. As I turned the last page, it left me wanting to read the book again and again! It stirs up within me emotions, mystery, real life thoughts, and real life scenarios that I can't get away from.
I thoroughly enjoyed each and every character and felt as a Christian book it wasn't "cheesy"in the least, but deep enough to challenge and stir one on to greater depths of relationship with God. It caused me to reflect on my current relationships with others and consider how I might be hindering or encouraging these relationships.
Last but not least, the hike through the woods, the canoeing, the water, campfires and road trip...all these beautiful pictures of nature where well written and very satisfying to my senses! Well done Cynthia!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing book.

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:San Diego
Age:55-65
Gender:female
An amazingly good book. Real thoughts, real faith, real doubt, real discoveries. Wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Truthbox Girl
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had trouble putting this book down, the story was so captivating. I loved the Christian base but never felt it was overplayed or sappy. I am delighted to have read this book and look forward to more material from Cynthia!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Believable Dialogue, Moving Story

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Huff
Location:Aurora,Il
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first met the character of Libby Holden in the pages of They Almost Always Come Home by Cynthia Ruchti, I could relate—not so much to her plight but more to the thoughts that went through her mind. As a wife and mother I find myself like Libby planning all the “what if” scenarios while worrying about a loved one that’s late. The believable mental battle Libby has with herself drew me into her life, making it easy to follow her into the Canadian wilderness to find her husband. The guilt from their daughter’s death has unraveled their marriage. Greg is overdue from a two-week fishing trip, and authorities assume he is a runaway husband. Not content to wait on the police, she heads out on her own. Libby has a need to control this situation just as she has every moment since her daughter’s death. Determined to find out Greg’s fate in order to move on, she follows Greg’s route into the wilderness. She discovers for the first time why her husband loved to traverse the wild and in that solace finds God’s grace and forgiveness. The story is compelling and the ending satisfying. Cynthia has captured the struggles of mature Christians who stumble during heart wrenching trials, reminding the reader of our human frailties and God’s patience and power to heal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The river less traveled

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terri Gillespie
Location:Outside Philadelphia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cynthia Ruchti's debut novel is beautifully written and will go straight to your heart. Greg is lost in the Canadian wilderness, but his wife Libby is lost in the wilderness of anger and grief.
Libby's journey down a winding river is parallel to her own spiritual journey.
Be prepared to laugh, cry and learn how God can heal the deepest of wounds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blend of Page-Turning Story & Character Discovery

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Anderson
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years Libby Holden has languished in a lifeless marriage. More than anything she longs to escape it. Maybe then her heart will pump breath into her life once again.
But then her husband Greg fails to return from a solo canoe trip to the Canadian wilderness. Is he lost? Hurt? Dead?
Or did he find a way to escape their marriage before she did?
Needing to know the truth, Abby sets out to find him, taking along her father-in-law and best friend. Will the wilderness provide the answers her life desperately needs?
~~~~~
I’ve actually read this book twice. The first time was several months ago when I received They Almost Always Come Home as an advanced reader copy. I dove into the book and was so intrigued by the storyline that I couldn’t put the book down. I simply had to find out what happened to Greg. That’s a good thing right? Every author dreams of writing a page-turner.
The problem was, by rushing through the story I failed to take time to appreciate Cynthia Ruchti’s excellent writing voice. I failed to appreciate the complexity of Libby's and Greg’s relationship.
So, I had to read it again, and waited for a time when I could savor each carefully chosen word. Cynthia’s unique prose is beautiful and befitting of the wilderness she’s describing. It's easy to visualize yourself canoeing the Canadian waters.
And while you're in the wild, the reader journeys deep inside the character’s skins. You feel every sensation, and hear each thought. I love Libby’s honesty and I appreciate her sarcastic wit and her confused feelings. On one hand, she’s worried about her husband. Is he injured? Will he ever be found? On the other hand, Libby's certain that Greg had the guts to walk away from their dead marriage before she did. She says, “I’m angry that he left me when I was about to leave him.” It’s a duality of feelings Libby doesn’t know how to reconcile. As for her faith, it’s very human. Libby’s not some “super Christian” with inauthentic faith that leaves the reader rolling their eyes.
This may be Cynthia Ruchti’s debut novel, but it reads like it was written by a seasoned veteran. I can’t wait to read more from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Libbys husband Greg, went camping and hasnt returned. How long do you wait to report someone missing? Cynthia Ruchti has the reader experience all the emotions and thought process someone might go through when they discover their husband is missing; but Libby has a little bit of a twist to her talehonestly, she wanted to leave her husband before this camping trip. Libby thought shed kept this little secret hidden. Now this might reveal it! Jen, Libbys best friend, tells her the police have come to her door and asked questions. Libbys worried and wants to know exactly what they asked? They cant discover what Greg and her relationship was really like! Would she be a suspect?The police think Greg might have left Libby for another woman, its a natural conclusion. Libby thinks this, If he were planning to leave me, couldnt he have had the decency to tidy up after himself and clear out the closet?Frank, Gregs father says hes starting a search for his son--somethings wrong he had to get to the bottom of it. Libby goes along with things because, after all, isnt that what a caring Christian wife would do? No one would have to know she was miffed at the fact she didnt get to leave Frank first!There was more to this story than I suspected. Cynthia kept it suspenseful and had me guessing about Gregthe whole novel, I wondered if he was alive or dead. She did an amazing job of making me care for and understand Libby, as she goes back over things she wished she would have done differently and finally discovers whats important in a relationship with God and her husband. This is powerful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Okay, this seldom happens--actually, almost never!--but I have a new name to add to my very short "favorite author" list: Cynthia Ruchti. Cynthia is President of the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), and she deserves it! They Almost Always Come Home is her debut novel, and it's a blockbuster! Seriously, I not only thoroughly enjoyed the story as a reader, but as a writer I was captivated by Cynthia's talent and ability. This is one of those instances when I so enjoyed an author's first book that I will make sure I'm on the lookout for all the rest of them.They Almost Always Come Home is a poignant love story, a real-life, no-holds-barred, right-from-the-heart tale of two people torn apart over a wrenching loss and ready to call it quits. Then one of them gets lost, and they both begin a harrowing, danger-filled journey home. The question is, will there be anything left once they get there?Set in the beautiful northern woods of rugged Canada, this page-turning, heartbreaking/heartwarming story is truly one of the best I've read in a very long time. Thank you, Cynthia, for calling us back to the Father's heart through your perfectly chosen words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daniel Darling
They Almost Always Come Home Novel by Cynthia RuchtiWhy is it that we have to lose something before we appreciate its value? Most importantly, why is that we have to lose someone before we appreciate their value? This is what I took away from the powerful debut novel by my good friend, Author Cynthia Ruchti. They Almost Always Come Home is a tightly written mixture of smart humor and sober life lessons. From the very first page until the last, I was drawn into the lives of its very human characters. I read quite a few books and many, while their subject matter is good, the writing is laborious. Reading becomes a discipline and a chore. But They Almost Always Come Home is neither. Cynthias writing is so very tight, her word choice so delicate, like the painter who painstakingly chooses just the right shade for the canvas. The pacing is perfect. It has neither the break-neck speed of a thriller, nor the tiresome plodding of some literary novels. Cynthia carefully and methodically walks you through the real-life struggles and adventure of a woman not only searching for her lost husband, but searching for her lost heart. You will not only come away with a greater appreciation for the beauty of the Northwoods, you will look again at your own relationships and your own relationships, planting the seeds of selflessness and Christ-like love that help them blossom through the seasons of life. I highly recommend They Almost Always Come Home as a delightful and captivating summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Delores Liesner
A cant-hardly-bear-to-stop-reading emotional thriller. This story of self-examination, renewal and honest insight is hauntingly relevant to this era of many living alone within marriage.Just when Libbys quest seems to reach the point of no return, the reader is dramatically switched to Gregs side of the story, and the circle of understanding is completed. How poignant to be reminded to review all sides of an issue before allowing emotions to draw a conclusion.The story may be fiction, but it is so filled with reality, crisp and honest exposure of a couples public and personal personas that one hurts and rejoices with Hannah and Greg. Further, the quality of writing and characterization compels one to look within and examine our own relationships and faith-walk.This is not the average superficial fiction-romance that you know will end up happily-ever-after, but a fictionalized intimate view of the possibilities of loss and ultimately, the hope of redemption leading to new choices based on a personal relationship with Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Fear. Stark, gripping fear.THEY ALMOST ALWAYS COME HOME opens with a fear that closes in on Libby Holden as she realizes her husband, Greg, is missing. Alone on what he intended as his dream trip through the Canadian wilderness, he hasnt returned. Not yet. And maybe not ever.Libbys fears compound as the search begins. They magnify as she confronts her true feelings about her failing marriage, her missed opportunities, and her own failures. As she, her best friend, and her irascible but wilderness-savvy father-in-law embark on a journey to find her husband, Libby doesnt realize shes on a journey to discover much more.As I read this debut novel, I found myself turning the pages and drinking in great gulps of story as though someone might snatch it away before I quenched my thirst. Ruchtis plot captured me. Her characters moved me. And her gifts of language and imagery left me in awe.Every great novel has the goal of story and the result of inner change. THEY ALMOST ALWAYS COME HOME tells a compelling tale that moved me to reexamine myself and my own often-selfish approach to life and relationships. As it moves back and forth between fear and faith, the book leaves the reader with a sense of satisfactionand a longing for more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
My husband has been begging me for years to join him on a boundary waters canoe trip. I had no idea that I would embark on a virtual tour with this amazing novel. Not only was I inspired to pick up a paddle and join my sweetheart before it's too late, but I was also challenged to look deeper into the deep waters of my marriage. This book caught me by the heart, drew me into Libby's struggles and brought me to tears with its depth of emotion. Thank you Cynthia for an inspiring read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for They Almost Always Come Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"They Almost Always Come Home" is a Christian general fiction novel with a lot of suspense. The characters were interesting and complex, and they dealt with realistic problems. The world-building was excellent, especially for the wilderness trip. The story came alive in my imagination, and it felt like these events really could have happened.The first thirty-two pages were mostly Libby thinking about her situation and doing little but worrying about the various possibilities of what could have happened to her husband. It's tantalizing, but so little real, solid information was given about how this state of things came about that it felt a bit slow-paced to me.However, after that, other people started interacting with Libby and she became more active in dealing with the problem. From that point on, the story was fast-paced and the suspense built nicely so I had a hard time putting the novel down. Near the end, we get Greg's perspective of his trip and what happened, which was nice and was worked into the story at a very good spot.The target audience appeared to be Christians or those with a Christian background. The characters were Christians trying to figure out how to deal with a God who doesn't always give you what you think you need the most. It's not preachy (and there were no conversions), but it definitely had a strong Christian element to it.The novel was written in first person, present tense ("I run" instead of "I ran"). (Married) sex was implied. There was no bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this novel as exciting and insightful clean reading.I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>