Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cambridge University Press NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black

Cambridge University Press NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black

Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Review 1 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have For Serious Bible Study

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Big D
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a good wide margin reference Bible for study. Over the years I have found many that I would like to have but at the time could not afford the price. I ordered this one from CBD just a few days ago. It is one that was "slightly imperfectly imprinted". The imprint was blocked out so well it is hardly noticeable, and at about half the retail price it was a great find! I really like the space in the wide margins, and the note pages at the end. I have had Bibles bound with French Morroco Leather in the past, and with proper care this one will continue to look good and be werviceable for many years to come. I really like doing business with CBD. Their product descriptions are honest and accurate, they offer exceptional value, and the service is beyond comparison.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnN
Location:Opp, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a replacement for my 30 year old NASB loose leaf bible. This is a beautiful Bible and will be an excellent replacement. Very good quality and is every bit of what was described in ad. God bless
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
robilo12
Location:Tracadie, NB Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my bible. Great quality and love the maps and note paper at the end to write down notes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for Note-Takers

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
KenF
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is one of the best I have seen for those who like to write in their Bibles. The wide margins are there for a reason: so you can write in them. Of course, wide margins mean the Bible is a little too large to carry in your pocket or in a briefcase, so consider where you will use it.
The French Morocco leather is very nice. This is the second-tier leather option for this Bible. If you want to go top-shelf, get the same Bible with goatskin covers, which have a nice seam and significantly more flexibility. However, French Morocco is the traditional leather for Bibles that are carried, and it is very durable and still flexible...just not as flexible as the goatskin. I suspect the French Morocco may last longer, and at roughly 1/2 the price of the goatskin, this will be a tradeoff of price vs. quality that many consumers will gladly make.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
LittleTimmy
Location:LaPorte, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I really like this Bible! please watch the video it shows how text is similar in layout and page location but not in font size...
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This was product was OK but good be great!

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
AlamoRocket
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a wonderful Bible except for the 8 point font which is a huge drawback considering my needs. I teach at a seminary and I am a pastor. The font size just makes this Bible clumsy to read in public. I have use for 21 years a single-column wide margin bible and I was hoping to replace it with something a bit smaller but not this small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas Jones
I liked this Bible very much but decided to upgrade to the goatskin. Although the "insides" are identical, the goatskin is worth the extra money as I probably won't, (at my age), buy another good "Sunday" Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joel
This is my primary study bible. The experience of handling this bible is hard to describe. It's weighty which I like, the leather is so soft yet strong and the pages just flow. I read a review on it where it was described as "holding water" which gives a good idea of what it's like. It took me months to break in my other bibles, but this one feels broken in right out of the box. I love it so much I'm getting the non wide margin version to carry around. It's spendy, but if you want quality it's worth it. You can find it a little cheaper at discountbible.com
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
W.C.
This Bible definitely deserves a 5 star rating. The quality that Cambridge produces is unmatched and is worth the price you pay. I have had this Bible since before Christmas and I couldn't be happier. Since I am always writing notes, this was a must have. The NASB translation, the font/size of the text, the feel of the goatskin leather, and the dimensions easily made this the perfect Bible for me and I will certainly be using it until it falls apart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff Avveduti
I ordered this from BAMM. I can say I love this Bible however, there are a few things I would like to change now if I could however selection is limited in quality NASB wide margin Bibles. I would remove the cross references and the translators notes. Everything else is top notch. One minor flaw with the Bible is the glued edges started to come unglued. Well, I have some many notes in it now I am not sending it back... so a dab of super glue and voila it is fixed.If the Zondervan NASB Wide Margin format was combined with the Cambridge features, I would buy another one and migrate to it, just because I need MORE room for notes. The Cambridge is not enough room but I make due.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Frederick
Now here is a Bible that will stand the test of time. I have both the French Morrocco and The black Goatskin editions. I don't know how long either will last, but it will be a long time I'm sure.Love the Red Lettering---But wish for a thumb index. Good Bible, Good value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Frederick
Cambridge has an excellent reputation for quality and this Bible is representative of that. I really don't need to go into the virtues of this product, as other reviewers have done a good job of that. Interesting to note that nobody has rated it less than a full five stars. Great price too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Newman
This is a beautiful Bible. Very well made and should last forever. The pages are a little thicker and sewn in nicely. It is great for study and worth every penny. Plus, Christianbook is a wonderful place to buy from. I have had nothing but great experiences with them over the last 4 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Krystal Ellis
This is a real good quality bible. I enjoy using it all the time. Great for study. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robert Grzech
The goat skin leather is so soft, buttery and durable and it smells very nice. This is the best leather I have ever held and I buy nothing but top of the line leather Bibles. This leather is the best by far and it also feels very good in the hand with a nice weight to it. The pages are clear, nice, thick and heavy so you wont have to worry about bleed thru and the type is clear without error or miss prints and the font is of typical size but good on the eyes. The wide edge margins are large and will do well for when you want to make notes. The gold gilded edges are superb and they don't rub off. The craftsmanship is top of the line however on the inside rear cover of mine, about 4" of the rear cover edge needed to be glued down where it obviously was not glued when it was made. Another words a 4" part of the inside rear cover was not glued so the high quality leather edge on the inside was loose but still holding its proper place (I almost didn't notice this minor defect). This was not a big deal since it was a simple fix so I still highly recommend this gorgeous Bible but how they missed that I don't know. Also I payed to have this Bible embroidered but it was not but I'm glad they missed that, the cover is to beautiful to have anything on it to take away from the superb leather! This Bible is a work of art and it can be a Bible that you can pass down or give as a treasured gift. NASB Red letter with tons of references, maps and lined pages for notes and wide margin with the best leather there is not to mention a large concordance, I would buy it again as this is now my favorite Bible!! Matthew 6:21.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Doanld Tracey
The Bible is a joy and the workmanship is superb. It is a Bible that will last longer (on this Earth anyway) than I will. It has a concordance and beautiful color maps. This NASB edition (my favorite modern version) has clear easy-to-read type. Theres space to write ones notes in the margin (if one wishes) and blank ruled pages for even more notes. Its a red letter edition, which I can take or leave, but the red printing is of uniformly good quality. Its expensive but if your budget allows, this beautiful Cambridge Bible is more than worth the expenditure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
This is the best Bible I have ever owned! The Pages are thick and will not bleed when writing notes. The goatskin leather is AMAZING! Everybody who touches my Bible talks about how soft it is. Not only is there room to make notes on the side and bottom of the pages; but there is also lined note paper in the back of the bible for taking notes. This Bible will cost you some money; but believe me, it is worth every penny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Thomas V. Beeman
I have waited 20 years for this Bible to come out. Wide margins, Genuine Leather & Red letter. Yes, the print is smaller, but that is why we have reading glasses. The smaller print makes the Bible thinner and easier carry. Cambridge is the best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marathonman1025
Like most Cambridge Bibles, the quality of this Bible is top notch. It is a bit pricey, but when you consider it should last a lifetime the cost is worth it. Personally, I have only two minor points that I would change if I could: (1) The 8 pt. type is a little bit smaller than I would ideally like; (2) The inner and outer margins are not the same size. As this is a double column Bible, it would be ideal if they were. I would hasten to add, though, that the smaller inner margin is still 1" wide, which is sufficient for my own use.Again, all in all, if you're looking for a top quality wide margin NASB, and if the caveats don't bother you, you won't do better than this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NASB Wide-Margin Reference Bible, French Morocco leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Thomas V. Beeman
This is it! I have waited 20 years for this Bible to come out. There is plenty of room for notes, the pages are heavier to prevent bleed through, the cover is exquisite, it is red letter and NASB. You can't ask for more from a Bible. The print is a little small, but they make reading glasses every day. The small print keeps the Bible thinner, lighter and easy to carry and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.