Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded

David C. Cook Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded

Do contemporary believers live the radically committed life Jesus calls his followers to live? In this revised and updated edition of his best-selling wake-up call, Chan challenges church members to take responsibility for their apathy, engage in honest self-examination, and totally surrender to God's purpose. Includes a new preface by Chan and a new chapter in which he shares about the last five years since Crazy Love's first release.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Review 1 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenging and Thought provoking

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
sues
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the book to be an easy read. It was spiritually challenging and very thought provoking as to how I live out my Christian life in light of Christ's example. Most definitely a book I will re-read again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beverly Smelcer
Location:Fort Mill, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I purchased several books for Christmas gifts and pray the receipants learn and grow from it as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marie Christensen
Location:Austin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't go wrong with Frances Chan, personable and insightful, he tells it like it is. Help spread the good news and share God's love with someone you know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book Crazy Love

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Derinda Thiessen
Location:Near Phx, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is amazing, to think that God is so crazy about us. This book tells you all about the Love of God. How He wants a relationship with us. How He wants us to live for Him. It is a must read, so you can recognize the love of God for yourself, and totally surrender to Him.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is one of my favorite books ever :)

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brittany
Location:PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great if youre trying to strengthen your relationship with god and become a better christian. Francis chan is a brilliant man and the way he writes and speaks is so easy to follow and relate to and keeps your attention. i order all his books and pass them out to anyone who will read them :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good reminder

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Nanaimo, BC
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's easy to loose sight on the reality of what we're called to in our Christian Walk, and the love that is supposed to exist in our journey. This is one of those books that can give you a "swift kick in the rear" or simply remind you of the reality of what Jesus has done, and what our reasonable response should be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Painful

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amber
Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We did this book for our Women's group and I was so unimpressed. For being a New York Times Bestseller I was expecting great things but instead I found Chan preachy to the extreme of assuming he knows what God thinks!?! I would not recommend this book to anyone ever.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Help To Love God Back

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francis Chan with Danae Yankoski in their new book, "Crazy Love" published by David C. Cook gives us Overwhelmed by a Relentless God.
From the Back Cover: God is love. Crazy, relentless, all-powerful love.
Have you ever wondered if we're missing it?
It's crazy, if you think about it. The God of the universe--the Creator of nitrogen and pine needles, galaxies and E-minor--loves us with a radical, unconditional, self-sacrificing love. And what is our typical response? We go to church, sing songs, and try not to cuss.
Whether you've verbalized it yet or not, we all know something's wrong.
Does something deep inside your heart long to break free from the status quo? Are you hungry for an authentic faith that addresses the problems of our world with tangible, even radical, solutions? God is calling you to a passionate love relationship with Himself. Because the answer to religious complacency isn't working harder at a list of do's and don'ts--it's falling in love with God. And once you encounter His love, as Francis describes it, you will never be the same.
Because when you're wildly in love with someone, it changes everything.
Are we awed by God's unfathomable love for us? Are we seeing God accurately, loving Him passionately and taking the scriptures at face value in every area of our lives? If not don't fret Francis Chan has given us the ability in "Crazy Love". The book has eleven chapters, one new one for this revised and updated edition, that will push you into a deeper relationship with God. God loves us totally don't you think it is only right that we love God back in an equal manner? Pastor Chan believes so and works at it in his life and through many examples shows us how we can work at it and improve in our lives as well. Be prepared this book may irritate you and make you want to put it down and never open it again. Don't let that happen. Once you let the knowledge that God really loves you sink in you will want to read this book over and over just for the joy of it. You might want to get this book as a gift for friends and family so that they can learn and grow as well. They will thank you for it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from David C. Cook for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If Only We Could All Act On This Powerful Message!

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Woofiejo
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What could I even begin to say about this book that hasn't already been said? If you haven't had the chance to read this book, I would strongly recommend it. It will challenge you deeply about the core principles of Christianity and how we are to respond to God's great love for us. Too often we have become numb to God's creation, His majesty, His glory...when we should constantly be in awe of all that He has done. We throw around phrases like God is eternal, He is all powerful, He is all-knowing; but do we really stop to ponder what these things mean? Do we act like all of this is true? And one fact continues to haunt me....God created a caterpillar with 228 separate and distinct muscles in its head! If I were the Creator, I would think that one muscle would be enough to operate all things necessary in a tiny caterpillar's head; but God's creation has such amazing precision and purpose to each and every living thing.
Through this book, Francis Chan helps us to see the bigness of God. In comparison, all other things fall into the right perspective. "Worry implies that we don't quite trust that God is big enough, powerful enough, or loving enough to take care of what's happening in our lives. Stress says that the things we are involved in are important enough to merit our impatience, our lack of grace toward others, or our tight grip of control. Basically, these two behaviors communicate that it's ok to sin and not trust God because the stuff in my life is somehow exceptional." How selfish it is that we tend to make everything about ourselves....when really everything that we do should glorify God. Another key thought to ponder: "The irony is that while God doesn't need us but still wants us, we desperately need God but don't really want Him most of the time."
The last thing Jesus commanded us to do was to go and make disciples of all nations teaching them to obey all that He had commanded. But Jesus didn't go on to qualify this by saying that if this is too difficult it's ok to just be Christians and go to heaven without committing to anything else. Chan rightfully states that too many Christians wait to be "called" to do something or wait to have God "reveal something to them" before taking action. But often we are not "called' to watch TV, hang out with friends or many of the other things that we just decide to do anyway. If you are yielding to the Holy Spirit, you should be constantly evolving. Chan says, "When people tell me they don't feel close to God, I ask them how often they share their faith."
The overall point of this book is that if the "eternal Creator of the universe is in love with me. There is a response that ought to take place in believers, a crazy reaction to that love. Do you really understand what God has done for you? If so, how can your response possibly be lukewarm?"
Big, powerful thoughts to ponder in this book...and hopefully transform your way of thinking and your actions.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.