Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books The Duck Commander Family

Howard Books The Duck Commander Family

An up-close look at America's favorite backwoods family! Stars of A&E's hit television show Duck Dynasty, the Robertsons take you on a behind-the-scenes tour of their life and faith, sharing how they went from eating fried bologna sandwiches to consuming filet mignon by building a sport-hunting empire. Includes recipes and family pictures. 261 pages, hardcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Duck Commander Family
Review 1 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative book

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gayle Rector
Location:Denver, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just "discovered" Duck Dynasty through our local Family Christian Store since we do not have cable, and enjoyed learning more about this family through this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It makes it hard to take a break from it.

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
dear
Location:Lewistown, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a very informative book. Getting to know all about who you were really watching on the show. They are so down to earth with who they are. No swearing, no drinking, no smoking, no going behind each others backs & talking about them. They are a loving, kind, close & spiritually God fearing family. Exactly what is needed in this world today!!!!!!!
I do not miss any of the reruns or the new ones!!!
Thank-you for finally bringing a good show to watch & a good book to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is worth reading

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia Schemper
Location:sheldon, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Duck Dynasty fan so I had a strong desire to get the background story on the Robertson family. This book does just that. Is it the best book I have ever read? No, but if you are looking to get to know the Robertson's as they really are, you will. Alot of great photos of the family in here also. Reading it made me happy, happy, happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great read!

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for Father's Day. He read it in two days and thought it was funny and inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are fans of Duck Dynasty so we ordered this book. This is Willie and Korie's story, but the rest of the family is in the book too. The photos are a bonus (including one of Willie with no beard!). A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Duck Commander Family
This review is fromThe Duck Commanders - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heart warming read...

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
leeannlubi
Location:amherst, oh
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a heart warming read! Thanks to Willie and Korie for allowing us to peek behind the scenes of their lives and their families! I can hardly wait to read HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY by Willie's pa, Phil Robertson and then to read Si's installment! It's wonderful that Faith and Family are still very much cherished in the country! GOD BLESS the Robertson and Howard household and all those that they call "family"!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great outreach tool

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
jayjay
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a great first step for someone who would otherwise run from a "Christian-themed" book. As a result of giving this book to a friend, he is now reading other Christian literature. It opened the door. Next on the list to receive it as a gift is a family member. It's an easy read.
The Robinson family is not what we think of as a typical Christian family. The family recipes are a bonus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very intresting book!

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Happy
Location:Florence, MS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my husband's birthday because he loves the Duck Dynasty show. We both read it and it was very informative about the family and how it all got started. It helps you to understand each person a lot more. We both really enjoyed the book and recommend it to others highly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice book

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
debbie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just love Duck Dynasty! At first I thought someone was crazy to have these hillbillies on tv but they are so much fun, very spiritual and very family oriented. I enjoyed the book very much - some of it was pretty simplistic for an adult book but it was really interesting to read how differently Willie and Corey grew up and how they devote themselves to each other and their family. I'm keeping this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Family, Great Book

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
skibbie
Location:Severn, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love The Show and This Book Highlighted The Family and Was Very Interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Duck Commander Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book of Faith and Family!

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having seen all of Season 1 and a pre-screening of Season 2 Episode 1, I have been very excited about reading Willie and Korie's book.
Not only because our family relates so much to theirs but also because the Robertsons are a real family of faith, living life together and enjoying God's blessing every day.
I loved the book from the first page of the prologue which quotes one of my favorite parenting scriptures from Deuteronomy to the parenting philosophy on the third page that says, "...we (the kids) learned to be thankful and content with what we had and that the world didn't revolve around us."
Learning life lessons, sharing family recipes, teaching Biblical principles, being thankful for meager beginnings and honoring precious family time are all large pieces of the Robertson's book.
Honestly, reading this book was a breath of fresh air. Sometimes, as a parent in this culture, it feels like you are going against the grain to teach your kids that the world isn't all about them and that they can be thankful for what they have and they don't also need the next best thing out there. The Robertsons live that. They live the lessons of faith and family that I want to instill in my girls.
Korie, I would totally love a day with you. Mom to mom, wife to wife... you wrote from your heart in this book and I appreciated it. And, the Pastor's wife in me wants chat over coffee about motherhood and parenting!
Willie, having the courage to share Phil and Kay's testimony with the world... I'll be real... I cried. Such a precious story of God's mercy and grace and His mighty hand on your family even in the darkest times!
I love the part about summer camps. We were summer camp kids too. Running wild around camp while my mom cooked for the many summer camps in Northern Michigan. My kids are now camp kids too, enjoying weeks of camp each summer while Jeremy and I help at kids camps and family camps. Love that... such great childhood memories!
The book goes on to highlight many scripture verses, life stories and life challenges of the Duck Commander family. Their family beginnings, parenting style, and how their lives have changed with Duck Dynasty.
Themes of respect, faith, family, love and trust echo around the book in quotes, stories and memories.
The book is well-written, easy to read (I read through it pretty quickly. just one of those books you can't stop until the end :) and makes you laugh, cry and smile.
Feeling blessed to have read their story and excited to watch Season 2 with a new understanding of their family background.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.