Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2

David C. Cook Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2

People are sick and dying. Rumors are swirling. Some claim chemicals leaking from a manufacturing plant are causing the cancer that's crippling people on the poor side of Trenton City, Ohio. Yet nothing at the plant appears amiss. The problem remains a mystery until reporter Jack Crittendon's long-time mechanic falls ill and he investigates. Soon Jack becomes engulfed in a smokescreen of lies, setups, greed, and scandal. The deeper he digs, the more toxic the corruption he uncovers. As he faces off with the big-time players behind the scenes and tries to beat the clock before more people die, he realizes the chillingly unthinkable-he knows too much.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Review 1 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic Christian suspense novel!

Date:July 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Jack Crittendon is a reporter for the local paper in Trenton City, Ohio. At the start of the book he is taking his personal car to his regular mechanic for repairs. In talking with the mechanic he becomes aware of concerns about the health and safety of the people that live on the east side of town near a large manufacturing plant. So begins the roller coaster ride as he along with another reporter try to find out if this giant company is knowingly endangering people or not.
The plot is very intricately woven and at the beginning of the book it very slowly develops. As you get farther in it picks up speed as more and more details are revealed.
There is a wonderful cast of well developed and beautifully presented characters in this book. It is not just a couple of main characters and then small glimpses of side people. They cover a variety of personalities and most of them are easy to connect with.
I really liked the fact that Jack’s character is still working through the residue of emotions from the first novel in this series. He is a human being with all the faults and failures possible with that. It is nice to see him work through things with his wife and with God as the story progresses.
I received a free copy of this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jack Crittendon is back in the second book in the Crittendon Files. And if reading this book doesn’t whet your appetite, the third book in the series, “Sky Zone” is already out as well. Some great Summer reading is coming your way. These books are meant to be stand-alone books and the author does a good job of including history and back story to give the story a more steamlined feel. But why not just buy them all!
Fresh off of “Fear Has A Name”, Jack Crittendon is back in this new thriller. Jack is still drifting away from God due to the circumstances he and his family faced in the first book (no, I won’t tell you so that you can buy that book, too!) His work is suffering as he struggles along. A friend of his becomes ill and Jack attaches onto the illness as a much needed shot in the arm as an investigation. As he continues to dig, he finds more mysterious illnesses that seem to be connected to the manufacturing plant on the poor side of town. There’s a lot at stake as the investigation exposes greed and corruption concerning some several big players in the area. Is there a correlation between this plant and the cancer in the town? Does Jack’s friend recover from the illness? How far will Jack go to get to the bottom of this conspiracy? Can Jack finally forgive himself for what happened to his family? Put down the newspaper and go BUY THIS BOOK!!!
I love picking up a book that is filled with solid writing and with plot pacing that carries it smoothly from the start to finish. Creston Mapes beautifully blends Christian themes with a great investigative novel that isn’t preachy, but is a page-turner which shows every day Christian struggles with faith and family issues. When you mix in characters that grapple with very real issues such as forgiveness you get a book that is very powerful. Once you start this book, you won't want to put it down until you've turned the last page. As a disclaimer, the author is not responsible for the other areas of your life that you neglect while you read this book. So chose a nice weekend to begin to read because this book will have you hanging on right to the end.
Is this a "guy's book"? This book, in my opinion, is the essential book that every Christian man needs to read. Yes, yes, I know that there is a great plot and subplot involved too, but it always spreads the message that even as Christian men we struggle with things daily. Our weakness isn’t in asking someone else to help us as we struggle through these times, but our weakness is in not asking for help.
I received this book in partnership between the publisher and the Book Fun Network (bookfun.org) in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SUPER AWESOME MYSTERY!!!! 5 STARS!!!!!!

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tablet
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!! Creston Mapes has become one of my favorite authors!!! After reading his first book in this new series, FEAR HAS A NAME, I couldn't wait to get POISON TOWN. I was NOT disappointed!! Poison Town is a fast moving roller coaster ride--an awesome well written suspenseful mystery. The characters are well developed and have depth and are believable. The plot is fast paced and keeps you wanting to keep turning the pages to see what happens next. Once you start this book, you won't want to put it down until you've turned the last page. Get this book and put it on top of your "to be read pile". You won't regret it!!!!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from The Book Club Network for my honest review. Thank you Creston and TBCN!! tabby
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't miss this book!

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poison Town by Creston Mapes is as addicting as Fear has a Name, the first book in this series about Jack Crittendon, local reporter. Yes, there's suspicion that a manufacturing plant is manufacturing an illegal product and that it's poisoning the townsfolk who live nearby. But "there's more than one kind of poison in this town!" (as it says on the back cover). I don't quite know how to put into words the type of stories Creston Mapes weaves together. From the first page, the characters are engaging and real. His use of description puts you right in the middle of the scene. Things that pop up in the beginning of the story show up somewhere in the end. I'm talking about details that you don't think are important. But they are. You have to keep your eyes and ears open in this book or you'll miss something. Nothing was predictable. If you like John Grisham, you'll love Mapes! The only bad thing about this book is that it ended. I found myself staring at it on my desk wishing there was more to read. I cannot wait for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Edge of your seat Christian thriller

Date:April 6, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poison Town played out like an action packed thriller movie in my head. This is the first book I have read by Creston Mapes and it did not disappoint. I liked getting to know Jack Crittendon and his family and friends. Jack is really struggling with forgiveness and fear since the ordeal when his wife was kidnapped. This is then causing problems in his and Pam’s marriage. While that and more are going on in his personal life, he is having car trouble and goes to his mechanics. While there he learns that Galen, the father, has been really sick. While Galen was at the hospital someone had tried to poison him. This sets off a chain of events where Jack, who is an investigative reporter by profession, is trying to help his friends search for answers about their town being poisoned from a nearby factory. Jack and Derrick, his reporter friend/partner, begin to uncover some very shady dealings and a lot of corporate greed with people who really want this story silenced, that they will stoop to do anything to keep this quiet, including murder. There is a lot of stuff going on in this story and the last 80 pages or so had me on the edge of my seat. There are also quite a few characters, yet the author made them all stand out and we even got to know the minor ones well. This story takes place in my home state of Ohio which made the story even creepier for me. This is a second in the series and even though it is can be read as a standalone, the first book does deal with Pam’s kidnapping. I have not read the first one, but I do plan on going back and reading it. At the end of the book we get a sneak peak of the third Crittendon File. I am looking forward to reading that one as well. I received this book from The Book Club Network and the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Suspense Novel!

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like eerie suspense stories, this is one you should definitely pick up. The book stars Jack Crittendon, which many of you will remember from the first book, who follows another lead on a new story. Taking his car to the local mechanic starts to unravel a mystery that is killing people on the other side of his town. Needless to say there is a lot of political fallout and his world is thrown upside down as he races to find out why so many are dying. This is an excellent book with well written characters. Loved it!!
I received a copy of this book for my review purposes. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mapes has done it again

Date:March 8, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Creston has done it again…another amazing book.
I couldn’t say enough good things about the first book in this series, Fear has a Name. And honestly the same is true with this book.
From the beginning chapters you are thrown into the whirlwind of some kind of big cover-up for a major factory. Someone is working hard to make sure no one finds out anything. People or missing, dyeing or coming close to death.
If you read the first book you will be familiar with Granger Meade, the guy that stalked and then kidnapped Jack’s wife. He is released from prison and is showing up in there lives again. This is added tension to an already tense book.
Jack is struggling to forgive Granger, while Pam wants to believe the best. Can Jack forgive Granger for what he did? How far can forgiveness stretch? Has Granger really changed? Does he love Jesus?
To get the answers you will have to read the book. You won’t be sorry you invested time in this one, it is well worth it.
A copy of this book was given to my by the publisher through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense, Renewal of Faith, Forgiveness & Murder

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jack(investigative reporter for a newspaper) takes his car to the garage and hears that his mechanic is sick and showing the same symptoms that killed his wife. Jack is asked by the mechanic's sons to investigate. The more Jack discovers the more it looks like a cover-up and people start disappearing, having accidents, murdered. Meanwhile Jack and his wife have grown in different directions since her abduction in book one. Pamela has trusted in God and forgiven her abductor. No the same with Jack. His bitterness has put a wedge between him and God. He even goes so far to buy a guy and keeps it strapped to his ankle.
I identified with this story because I'm from a small town in the South that had a chemical company that swore there was no harm. It was there before I was born & I now have grandchildren. It came out that our small town had the highest cancer and handicapped children born than any of place in the US per capita. I wasn't sure how I would like this book when I first started it but wanted to see how the situation was handled. This is the first book I've read by Creston Mapes and it won't be the last. There is action, suspense, twists, turns, murder and forgiveness. There's a surprise for you too. I had a hard time putting it down and it kept my interest with the fast paced storyline, the characters were like most people. They are heroes because they push through their fear. I didn't read the first book and I was able to keep up with the continued storyline. There is enough background information to let you know what happened without telling the whole story from book one.
I received this book through www.bookclub.org, the author and publisher. I was asked to read the book, leave reviews and give my honest opinion. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

There is more than one type of poison in town!

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jack Crittendon has a new mission, as an investigative reporter for The Dispatch, he is turning the tables on the man he just interviewed Leonard Bendickson III, CEO of Demler-Vargas, the fiberglass manufacturer in Trenton City. Since taking the helm as CEO thirteen years ago, Bendickson has steered the Fortune 500 company to unfathomable heights. The $7.9 billion corporation has consistently surpassed Wall Streets expectations on its way to becoming one of the world's most prolific manufacturers of fiberglass - all kinds of fiberglass. Although Demler-Vargas has been the subject of complaints about air pollution from Trenton City neighbors over the years, Bendickson insists the company has worked diligently to comply with OSHA and the EPA.
But there is something sinister and unsettling when Jack discovers that those around him that he knows are dying from similar symptoms. He wondered just what the truth was. Were pollutants from Demler-Vargas hurting employees and neighbors? Were they what killed Travis Randall's mother and made his father, Galen sick? But if Demler-Vargas was hiding something, wouldn't OSHA and the EPA caught on and stopped them? Was Bendickson lying, or was he running a clean shop as he claims?
The more Jack tries to uncover the truth, the more it seems that someone is out to make sure those secrets stay buried. When it gets personal however, and his wife and mother-in-law become victims of a random car accident, Jack begins to dig deeper into the truth. He is aided by Derrick Whittaker, on of Jack's best friends who has been assigned that beat and together they slowly begin to uncover things that don't make sense, especially when their editor, Cecil Barton, will only allow them to spend no more than a hour a day working on this investigation. He seems to think that in the past, Amy Sheets has tried to do much the same thing, but now has moved away to be closer to her aging parents and discovered nothing. But is that really the reason why she is no longer working at the office?
I received Poison Town by Creston Mapes compliments of David C. Cook Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. This could be any real company today as chemicals continue to surface in our food sources and water supplies that are being linked to certain types of cancer and illness that seem to multiply the closer people come to living next to these manufacturing plants. In this case, it is more than just the poisons from the fiberglass plant that are infecting people, it's also greed and justice that are tearing families and businesses apart. But will Jack's now dormant faith come to light in time to save them all or will he fall victim to the same fate as everyone else? You'll have to pick this one up to find out. This is the second novel in the Crittendon Files and I'd rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars. The first novel in the series is Fear Has No Name in which the reader gains insight into the back story of the issues between Jack and his wife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action packed mystery

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Poison Town” is the second book in The Crittendon Files. I love a good mystery, and this one has definitely met that criteria! The story contains a wide variety of realistic issues involving crime, alcoholism, balancing family and work, forgiveness, and wondering how much God is really involved in ones day to day lives.
Creston Mapes not only deals with all those big issues, but he also adds suspense, suspicion, secrets and mystery. There are so many questions. Not enough answers. Who can you trust? Who might betray you? Or try to kill you to keep you quiet? What if you are wrong and cause harm to an innocent person?? Find out the answers to all these questions by reading “Poison Town.” I believe a person would be able to understand this book without reading the first one, but why? The first book in the series, “Fear has a Name” is also a great read.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than first in the series

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like suspenseful novels and this is a good one.
This is the second in The Crittendon Files. In the first novel, Fear Has a Name, Jack Crittendon went after the man who kidnapped his wife.
Now Jack, a reporter for a newspaper, is after a story his editor is reluctant to let him investigate. There is a major industry in the city that doesn't want the story printed at all. It looks like they will stop Jack from exposing their deadly greed no matter the cost.
This is a great novel that follows Jack on two levels. The first is his investigative work uncovering the deadly practices of a fiberglass manufacturing company in Trenton City. When Jack drops off his car to be repaired at a shop near the fiberglass plant, he finds out from his friends Travis and LJ that their dad is sick. The men are sure it is the same thing that killed their mom. The fiberglass manufacturer. Jack sets off to find the truth.
Underneath this level of the story is Jack's attitude toward the man who kidnapped his wife, Pam. Granger is out of prison, is being discipled by Evan and claims to be a new man. (See Fear Has a Name for the background on these people.) Pam has managed to forgive Granger but Jack struggles. He's not reading his Bible very much anymore. When Pam confronts Jack on his attitude, he realizes his unforgiveness is affecting his marriage and his trust in God.
This is a well written novel (better than the first in the series). Pam has matured as a character. She is a stronger woman because of her experience. Jack is dragging his feet. It takes some serious action to get him to the place he needs to be with his wife and with God.
There is plenty of suspense involved. Everyday people turn out to be bold and willing to pursue the truth. I was impressed with how Pam's mother rises to her responsibility.
And there is a little humor too. Travis and LJ, Jack's car repair friends, are quirky guys. They are devoted to their pappy and their friends. They bring a little levity and a “down home” attitude to a serious novel.
This is a great suspenseful continuation of Jack's story. You might be able to read this book on its own but would miss much without knowing the events from Fear Has a Name.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
This review is fromPoison Town: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!!!!

Date:April 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poison Town is the second book in The Crittendon Files. Creston Mapes is a new author to me but has been added to my list of authors to follow. The book was a page turner. It was a great mystery involving many current issues: alcoholism, forgiveness, crime, doubting how much God was really involved in our daily lives, balancing work and family and trust. Be prepared to want to read this all in one sitting. Once you read the first chapter, it is hard to put down.
I recieved this book from bookfun.org for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hang on for the ride!

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jack is angry and still wresting internally dealing with the kidnapping of his wife that happened months ago. He has purchased a gun without her knowledge, and has failed to put his faith in The Lord. His wife has forgiven the criminal and has used the circumstance to strengthen her faith. This is the backdrop of an investigation of a plant in town, Demler-Vargus. Some in town believe the plant is polluting the air causing breathing problems and even death. Yet, they have no hard evidence, and no one seems to want to talk. Before long, he and his partner are in over their heads. ( As a side note, nothing is mentioned that guns are wrong. Just that he had something he was trying hard to hide from his wife thus creating distance in their marriage). Will Jack be able to forgive and put the past where it belongs? Will he and his investigative partner be able to find answers for those suffering in town? How far up the chain does the lying and deceit go? All of these are answered in a well written, gripping tale combining suspense, mystery, and faith. I love suspense and mystery books, and I'm so glad to see some great ones that are CLEAN! This book will keep you turning the pages and on the edge of your seat. Hang on for a thrilling read! Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting, lightning-fast action!

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
‘Poison Town’ by Creston Mapes is the fast-paced second novel in The Crittendon Files series. As quickly and brilliantly as lightning flashes across the sky is the intensity of this novel about the possible cover-up of cancer-causing emissions being released from a local fiberglass manufacturing plant. This plant provides much of the employment in Trenton City, Ohio. Unfortunately, there is no traceable evidence that the carcinogen resulting in sickness and death comes from the plant.
Jack Crittendon and his team of reporters work at the Trenton City Dispatch, where he had recently written about Trenton City’s Man of the Year, Leonard Bendickson III, CEO of Demler Vargas – the plant where the fiberglass is manufactured and deadly emissions suspected. When Jack presented the concerns of the residents to his editor, the editor discouraged him from following up. After all, if this company that claimed to use green technology in their manufacturing had any skeletons, wouldn’t Jack have found them when he wrote the article?
Jack, always on the trail for truth, was convinced of suspicious activity by his friends and long-time mechanics, and talked to his close friend on staff, Derrick. They discussed what they could do to investigate the concerns. This was especially critical after someone had sneaked into the senior Mr. Randall’s room at the hospital and injected a poison into his IV line. Had Galen’s son Travis not been going to visit him and saw someone slip from his room, Galen would have died.
Jack was having his own crises, as well. The man convicted of kidnapping his wife was released from prison early. Jack felt he failed to be home to protect his wife from Granger Meade and changed his reliance from the Lord to the gun he had secretly purchased. What was more challenging – not only had Jack slowly and steadily turned away from the Lord in recent months, but his wife, Pamela, had actually forgiven Meade for his actions and didn’t understand why Jack could not. And Pamela’s mother, newly widowed, was living with them.
The tension coils as we see Jack following up with the Randall’s and others who were ill and lived near Demler-Vargas. He juggled this along with keeping track of the whereabouts of Granger Meade, and his need to protect his wife and children. We see Jack and Derrick making contact with various people, including a former reporter for the Dispatch who attempted to investigate Demler-Vargas in the past. The former reporter and former employees started over in different towns with huge sums of money – payoffs? The former employees died under suspicious causes, and the former reporter was living in fear. It seems that a cover-up is far reaching among community members.
The Randall family is holing up with assorted firearms and Jack has a showdown with Leonard Bendickson III that results in a death threat. A snowstorm is coming in … Pamela, their children and her mother are involved in a holdup at the home store … could Jack at least live long enough to rescue them?
Creston Mapes, a former reporter, is adept at pulling readers in and keeping them in. His characters are so well-defined that one quickly feels as if they have lived around and known these folks for years. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a top-notch thriller written by a Christian who does not preach, but demonstrates faith through the actions and words of the book’s characters.
I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian suspense thriller

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second in the Crittendon Files series. It continues the story of an investigative reporter, Jack, and his wife, Pam, and their two little girls. Although it could be a stand-alone, I strongly recommend reading the first, FEAR HAS A NAME, to really appreciate the impact of Jack and Pam’s history with Evan and Granger. That history has had long-turn effects on Jack’s faith and marriage. Added to dealing with Evan and Granger reappearing in his family’s life, Jack plunges into a dangerous and complicated investigation of a big and powerful corporation creating a health hazard in their community.
This book is a well-written thriller that creates a sense of desperation and menace that just builds as the action progresses; yet, interwoven into the storyline are sweet moments of family life with the children. The strain in Jack and Pam’s marriage-where love still is obvious- is contrasted with their generous acceptance of Pam’s mentally ill mother. The investigation and the resulting threats and increasing body count are frighteningly believable, and the reader easily becomes emotionally involved in the terrifying events. It is truly a heart-pounding experience.
It is impossible not to like and identify with the characters. Even the minor characters are well constructed. Jack’s struggles with his inability to forgive and failure to find comfort and guidance in his faith provide very human feet of clay to this tireless, brave crusader, and the reader will truly care about how all this will be resolved. There is a clear Christian message that is impossible to miss, but it neither distracts from or overwhelms the exciting storyline. Great thriller with likeable characters.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
This review is fromPoison Town: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I was expecting

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poison Town is the second in The Crittendon Files, thrillers about Jack Crittendon, a newspaper reporter for the Trenton City Dispatch. He’s still coping with the aftermath of the events in Fear Has A Name, and struggling with forgiveness issues, which is causing issues between him and his wife. This is a significant subplot, so I think it’s best to read the stories in order.
Anyway, the main plot in Poison Town is a potential cover-up by Demler-Vargus, a fiberglass manufacturer and the major employer in Trenton. Jack hears that many of the long-time employees are having health issues, which are being hushed up, and a former Dispatch reporter who investigated the problem has disappeared. Is there something dangerous in the air around Demler-Vargus causing lung problems, or is it all just a coincidence?
I’ve no doubt Poison Town will appeal to some readers. But it didn’t appeal to me. The writing was good enough and the Christian elements were there, but I think—based on the advance endorsements—I was expecting something a little more like a John Grisham novel (or perhaps a fictional Erin Brockovich). But that wasn’t what I got. Instead, I found characters I found difficult to empathise with and a plot which seemed to meander along, waiting for something to happen. I’m sure many people will enjoy this, but I didn’t, and I doubt I’ll bother with future books in the series.
Thanks to David C Cook and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Brake"-neck and break-neck action

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:SW MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The action never lets up in this exciting story of greed, unforgiveness, lust for power and the struggle between doing what's right and staying safe. Jack Crittendon is an investigative reporter in the town of Trenton City, OH. He is pursuing the story of a lifetime, as his car repairmen tell him the story of the local fiberglass plant, Demler-Vargus, that is knowingly releasing dangerous chemicals into the air that cause ill health and even death to some local residents. As Jack and his friend Derrick begin to follow up this story, they encounter threats, disappearing witnesses, and harrowing attempts on their lives. Will they live to expose the plant's dangers, or should they give up and possibly live out their lives rich as a result of kowtowing to the company?
While these dilemmas are going on, Jack is also facing his own personal demons. His wife, Pam, was recently kidnapped, and the kidnapper has been released and is living in town. Pam is willing to forgive and wants Jack to do the same. Jack feels he must protect his family in any way possible.
Who will escape Poison Town and who will end up being trapped? By the end of the book, you may be asking yourself some questions, such as: Can God truly change bad people's hearts? Do people deserve second chances? Can unforgiveness affect all areas of our lives? We all desire safety. What price should we be willing to pay? What was Jack's personal Poison Town? At this point, I feel the need to bow my head and ask God to search my heart for my own "poison towns."
This is the second book in the Crittendon Files. Enough back story is provided that it can stand by itself, but would be even better if read as part of its series.
I received this book from bookfun.org in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great christian mystery novel

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Creston Mapes has delivered another exciting action packed and intriguing thriller, There is suspense, danger, conspiracy, corruption, greed, love and forgiveness. Everything you would want in a christian mystery novel. The story captured me from the beginning.
In the first book of this series Jack Crittendon's wife was kidnapped. Pam was able to forgive the man who kidnapped her but even though he is a christian, Jack is full of anger and hate and unable to forgive the man. See how this effects his family and his relationship with God.
Upon learning that his friend is seriously ill, Jack who is a reporter starts to investigate a mega corporation that people believe is making them sick. Some are even dying. Is the company Demler-Vargus guilty of corruption and a cover up? Could they be responsible? His investigation brings danger to his family and friends.
I recommend you read this book and see what Jack's investigation reveals and if he is able to forgive.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my new favorites

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnitaC
Location:Knoxville,TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is definitely one of my new favorites. It kept me glued to the pages, I didn’t want to put it down. There are several different storylines going on at the same time, which makes it seem like a very fast paced book. Greed, alcoholism, lying to your spouse, forgiveness, romance – all have a part in this book. 5 stars!
I received this book for review purposes from The Book Club Network, Inc. for my honest opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Poison Town, Crittendon Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be prepared to be taken on a wild ride

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poison Town, book 2 The Crittendon Files by Creston Mapes
Wow be prepared to be taken on a wild ride with these faith filled characters. Set on the wrong side of the tracks in Trenton City, Ohio, Poison Town will intrigue you. Jack Crittendon a reporter for Trenton City Dispatch the local newspaper finds himself and those most precious to him in grave danger. Investigating the rumors about Demler-Vargus the local fiberglass plant Jack is faced with deception, lies and bribery. Who can he trust; the bad guys and the good guys are hard to tell apart. The further into the investigation he goes the larger the circle of corruption extends. I enjoyed seeing how the characters’ dealt with deception, anger, greed and bitterness. Any seeing the power of forgiveness and love was great.
This book started off with a bang and just kept going. I thoroughly enjoyed the fast paced nature, the suspense and action at every turn. This is the first book I have read by author Creston Mapes but it is sure not to be the last. Poison Town follows Fear Has A Name in The Crittendon Files series but it can be read as a stand along. I have not read the first book and had no trouble keeping up and following along. I give a high five to the author and publisher David C Cook for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. The Book Club Network Inc. provided me with this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for their, the author Creston Mapes and publishers generosity. I definitely am new fan of this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>