Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cambridge University Press NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black

Cambridge University Press NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black

Average Customer Rating:
4.042 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Review 1 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Bible!!!

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pglyph
Location:Lynnfield, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NKJV is my favorite translation. I purchased this Bible from CBD and I was very impressed with the quality of the concordance and the many references on every page to other scriptures. Personally I was not bothered by the margins or print size, but some reviewers may disagree with me. The paper quality, printing and binding are excellent. The goatskin leather edition which I chose is very high quality. I think this is a good Bible for someone like me who has the NKJV as their favorite translation and who is finally taking their Christian Walk seriously and trying to read the Bible more and increase their knowledge of it. I think that for the right person this Bible is the perfect match.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Durable and reasonably priced

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzie
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this as a gift to a Pastor... It was well received and with the craftsmanship of the book, it will be used for years to come... The print could be larger though...
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, quality Bible!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:Castle Rock, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a high quality Bible that would last me a long time, had lots of good study references, plenty of room to write notes, and no commentaries. This was a really good choice!
The leather is great and it's a pretty Bible. The red/gold edges on the paper look nice. The text is larger than I thought and the font is very readable. Before I purchased it, I saw reviews that the text was too small and it made me concerned. But those concerns were put to rest. Im used to having smaller bibles and this font size is very readable to me. It has larger text than the compact bibles I have been used to. But if you really want the text to be huge, this is not for you. Some Bibles have pages of faded text but not this one! It is also a very flexible Bible, with good binding. You can fold it pretty much any way you want - it falls open as if it has been well used. There are so many references - the number far exceeds my last, cheaper study Bible. Where my last study Bible had 1-2 references on a verse, often this Bible has more than double that.
Though it's a great Bible, there are a few things I had to get used to: The Bible is obviously bigger than what Im used to, but not much heavier. If you really like compact or slim Bibles this may not be for you. I have multiple Bibles and I still use my compact Bible when I want to just read for leisure. This Bible is for study purposes and I take notes in it at church, which works well. I really wanted wide-margin for note taking and this seems like a really good size for wide-margin. If you want to take lots of notes in your bible, this is a good choice even though it's a bit larger. In addition, I'm used to having one verse per line. This Bible puts most verses in paragraph form which makes verse numbers a little harder to find... But not much harder. The Psalms and some prophetic verses are still one verse per line though and they even change font style to help some verses stand out. There are also many references and you may confuse a verse number with a reference number. But as you get used to it, you can more quickly differentiate. For example, reference numbers are italicized and verses are not. The paper is a little different from what Im used to, but good for writing. As you become accustomed to this Bible, you see more and more value. This is quality and you definitely get what you pay for.
With so many tablet computers and e-readers around, I hope they don't stop making quality Bibles!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful book that will be a pleasure to read.

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
maryjoyce
Location:West Monore, LA.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Bible as a gift, and was greatly pleased with its appearance. It was all and more than I expected. Now I want one for me! My experience with your company was pleasantly positive from the ordering, the quick delivery, and the beautiful Bible. Thanks.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is an outstanding value.

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The beauty and craftsmanship of the book are outstanding. The quality of materials is the very best. The pages turn nicely and lay flat when the book is open to any location. The typography is elegant and legible. The type size is a little smaller than I expected, but I am getting used to it. Also, the verse numbers are embedded in the text in very small print, which makes verse references difficult to locate. The maps are excellent, as are the other reference features.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
veggie
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was a gift for a friend. She loved it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cambridge NKJV Wide-Margin

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
RickH
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has to be one of the nicest Bibles I have ever purchased. In addition to the references, it's concordance and binding, it lays flat when open. That has to be one of the best features of this Cambridge Bible. No more moving my head this way or that in order to continue reading the text.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite bible!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
JD Rhodes
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own bibles published by Nelson (signature), Allan, Oxford, etc. this is my favorite Bible. The leather is so soft you won't be able to set it down. The pages lay flat at any section as soon as you take it out of the box. It doesn't attempt to shut at front & back like so many books will.
Cambridge has become my preference. I use this Bible when preaching and for daily reading. I love the paper quality, the maps, 2 ribbon markers, art gilt pages, etc. I do wish the ribbon markers were more like Allan's (wider), but I love every detail of this Bible.
I also have the Pitt Minion which is a great companion bible. To those concerned about the price, consider this: many college text books are in the same price range & parents/students buy them without question. This is the word of God, and this Bible is made to last a lifetime. My only regret about buying this Bible is that I didn't buy it sooner!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Print too small

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor B
Location:CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The quality of the binding is as great as expected with a Cambridge Bible. Even the maps are a better quality than my last wide margin. But the problem I have with this is the font is too small. Also there is extra space added to the thickness of the Bible (almost 1/4 inch) with a blank pages section for notes. Notes are typically done on separate paper and not permanently in your Bible. There is plenty of space in the margins for notes and scripture references which is why I like the wide margin but reducing the print size to get the margin is a big disappointment.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mel B
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
It's everything I expected in a Cambridge. I love to read it and I even take it with me to church. The word of God is so precious, this goatskin binding makes it even more pleasing to read. Thank you for another remarkable work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charles Honeycutt
I purchased this Bible because I wanted the NKJV and I knew the quality would be excellent. Had I known the 6.75 font size was going to be difficult for me to see, that alone would have kept me from buying it. Also, I thought I could get accustomed to the paragraph syle without the line by line numbering, but couldn't. Hate to be so negative but I don't like the center column reference either. If Cambridge would offer the NKJV without the center column, with line by line numbering and a LARGER font size, I would spend the money, for they are very expensive, and buy another one!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
W.L.
Truly a beautiful Bible. However, font is too small, and I don't like the paragraph format. The old Nelson wide margin done in the early 80's had the perfect type face and font size. It lacks the feel and beauty of the Cambridge. Also, I like the blank pages at the rear of the Bible. So for all practical purposes, even though the Cambridge is beautifully done, I will have to pass on it because of the of the font and paragraph. Not likely, but I hope Cambridge will correct these concerns and issue a better edition.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lance Burgess
The quality of this Bible is superb. The goatskin covers and the binding are outstanding. The art-gilded (red under gold) page edges and the quality of the paper are of the highest level. I absolutely love mine and intend on using it as my main study Bible for years to come.Here are a couple of things you might want to consider before deciding if this is the Bible for you. These are all PRO or CON depending on what you're looking for:1) This is a very large Bible and the goatskin covers add quite a bit of weight to it.2) This Bible is in paragraph, not verse-by-verse format.3) The font in this Bible is about an 8.0 typeset.If you like how all that sounds or none of these three are a "deal breaker" for you, then by all means order one and you will not be disappointed. Again, this is a finely crafted Bible and I think worth every cent invested in it.This is a Bible that can be a "Best Friend" for many, many years.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diane
This is a beautiful and well constructed Bible. There is no doubt about that.Pros:It is a beautiful Bible.Quality construction.The wide margins are adequate for note taking.Quality paper for taking notes, decent heft.Additional lined pages in the back for more note taking.No commentary (this is a plus in my opinion as I find commentary distracting and there is a lot of error out there).Cons:The size of the font. My preferrence would be at least one size or preferrably two larger font print.This Bible has a center column for Scripture cross referrences. While I am glad there are Scripture cross referrences I am not a fan of the center column. I prefer the referrences at the end of the verse. This is the natural place for the eye, rather than having to keep checking the center column to see if there is a cross referrence.I really do not care for the paragraph layout.My preferrence is to have each verse as a new paragraph so that the verse number is in the center and you are not searching for the verse numbers within paragraphs and text. This preferrence is simply because I like to copy Scripture verses onto cards for memorizing. At the very least the verse numbers should have been bolded. The type set is tight which does not make for comfortable reading.I wish this Bible didn't have a concordance. Most Bible concordances are too limited to really be helpful, so I just consider them wasted space. I prefer to work with an exhaustive concordance (or concordance software) I don't need or want it in my Bible.I'm not a big map person. If you are you will appreciate that this Bible has 15 maps.This is a red letter Bible. I don't have a big preferrence on this either way. Actually red type tends to be a little hard on my eyes but I'm okay with the red letter.I found this Bible a disappointment for comfort and ease of readability/usability.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rino M. Dattilo
I so agree with the last two reviewers - I have never had such a beautiful Bible that I could not really use. Yes, I dont like the paragraph format - but it could be tolerable if the verse markers were not smaller than the already small text. When teaching it is almost IMPOSSIBLE to find your spot - even with reading glasses which I am WAY TOO YOUNG to wear! Also, why they used the paper they did, I do not know. Even writing lightly on the page it bleeds through. The cover, well it is AMAZING. The thought, the layout (except for the paragraph layout) is brilliant. But it is the prettiest Bible that sits on my desk, because it is just not user friendly to teach from. A big miss Cambridge. It is a study Bible, not a reading Bible. I wish I could get my money back, I feel like a very bad stuart on this purchase. And I tried diligently to use it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Esposito
I agree with the first reviewer that the biggest downside of this Bible is the paragraph format. It makes it much more difficult to add notes besides the verses. I also use my NKJV to teach out of in Church. So, I am back to using my old Nelson Wide Margin.One more issue: Why can't Cambridge use the same Bible paper it uses with their King James Wide Margin?The paper is not the same. As a result of the thin paper, the page curls up, if you have the same page open for any length of time.Overall a nice Bible, but not the same quality as the King James Version Wide Margin that Cambridge puts out.The quality of the Bible is outstanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erik Jones
Ever since Thomas Nelson stopped printing the NKJV Wide Margin, I have been eagerly awaiting it coming back into print. Last year, when I found out it would be printed by Cambridge, I was very excited. Cambridge is known for quality and craftsmanship. I ordered it last spring when it was released. When I received it, I was very impressed by the quality and craftsmanship. It is truly a wonderfully made Bible. The notepaper in the back is great, it has a very good concordance in the back, it is relatively thin, and the leather feels very high quality. Unfortunately, I have one issue with the Bible that is nearly a deal breaker for me. The paragraph format of the verses (as opposed to each individual verse having its own line) has made the Bible nearly useless to me. I speak in my Church and heavily rely on my Bible in my messages. I need to be able to find scriptures fast and be able to easily find and read them. This Bible makes using it from the lectern impossible for me. I have to look extra hard to find a particular verse...because it may be buried in a paragraph. The verse numbers are very hard to find. Plus the extremely small print (seemingly smaller than the Nelson NKJV wide margin) makes it very difficult to see. I was eagerly looking forward to using this as my primary study and preaching Bible, but because of this issue it is spent most of its time in the box on my bookshelf.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dan
Among the finest Bibles I've seen. The leather is extremely supple, but strong. The pagination is perfect for me. I love that the text is in paragraph format and the margins are just right. I particularly like the notes comparing differences in alternate source texts. Finally, the concordance is quite large for a back-of-the-book concordance. This is a fairly large bible, but is excellent for what it is. (Fred Simoneau couldn't have seen this exact Bible as it wasn't even printed when he reviewed it).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joel Smith
Great Bible thanks, Just what i was looking for. Service all the way to australia was also very good.Good work thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Wide-Margin Reference Bible--goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nick Mallos
love it, but I do expository teaching verse-by-verse, so wish it had been laid out by single verses to allow notes to be placed immediately adjacent to each verse, rather than 2-5 verses combined in each paragraph. "The Legacy Bible" by Hank Hanegraaff, published by Nelson is a good example of the lay out I'm referring to. Perhaps you could consider this for the next printing. There just isn't enough room provided for notes in the current format. grace and peace to you all,pastor nick malloscalvary chapel blythewood10700 farrow road, suite Dblythewood, sc 29016
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>