Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Her Mother's Hope - eBook

Tyndale House Her Mother's Hope - eBook

The first in an epic two-book saga by beloved author Francine Rivers, this sweeping story explores the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters over several generations. Near the turn of the 20th century, fiery Marta leaves Switzerland determined to find life on her own terms. Her journey takes her through Europe and finally lands her with children and husband in tow in the central valley of California. Marta's experiences convince her that only the strong survive. Hildie, Marta's oldest daughter, has a heart to serve others, and her calling as a nurse gives her independence, if not the respect of her mother. Amid the drama of WWII, Hildie marries and begins a family of her own. She wants her daughter never to doubt her love-but the challenges of life conspire against her vow. Each woman is forced to confront her faulty but well-meaning desire to help her daughter find her God-given place in the world.
Average Customer Rating:
4.743 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
42 out of 42100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Review 1 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Mother's Hope

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riveting, emotionally charged, gripping spell binding and an absolute masterpiece are the words I use to describe this book. Francine Rivers has blown me away with this book. I can honestly say that this is one of the best book I have ever read. I quite literally could not put it down. It is a definite must read. I don't want to give the details of the book but I will say you won't be disappointed. Francine Rivers deserves an award for such a well written book. I like the fact that she integrated history such as Pearl Harbour Bombing and Kennedy Assassination into the story. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!!!!

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jools
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh the emotions this book (and its sequel) brings, I couldn't put it down. Loved, Loved, Loved it and have recommended it to every person who has asked "what are you reading" I can't write anymore without giving anything away, but Ms Rivers, what an awe inspiring writer you are!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

thought provoking, entertaining.

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
junebug
Location:Cheyenne, Wy.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francine Rivers doesn't disappoint in this story of one family through four generations. I enjoyed the characters and the historical background. She has great insight into the complexity of human relationships. I loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Catz
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story is very captivating. I want to obtain the next book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read!

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shea
Location:Alpine Texas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book about grandmothers, mothers, and daughters. This book teaches you that you should want to have a good relationship with your mom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christian Bookworm
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Very interesting read. Even more so when you consider that it is roughly based on her own family history. The girl goes through alot of tough times. See what God can do with her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kris
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book by Francine Rivers. I can't wait to read the second one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put this one down.

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Location:North carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The characters became so real , the story line so engaging I
Could feel the emotion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Attn: Mothers & Daughters: Read this!

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this book up, knowing that it would be an enjoyable read, since it was authored by the incredible writer, Francine Rivers. Once again, Rivers has woven a completely riveting tale; this time it is one that spans generations and half the globe! I must admit, I was a little daunted by both of those facts and the fact that "Her Mother's Hope" was nearly 500 pages long. However, I grew to appreciate that fact as I delved into the story, not wanting it to end!
Rivers begins the tale of Marta in Switzerland in 1901 and the rest of this book takes her throughout Europe, across the Atlantic and into Canada, and then finally to California, where she resides by the conclusion of "Her Mother's Hope", 50 years later. All of these places and scenarios provide the backdrop for the riveting tale of a mother and daughter's lifelong relationship.
However, one of the many aspects of the novel that makes it distinctive is the fact that halfway through this book, the protagonist is actually swapped from Marta to her daughter, Hildemara Rose. It is for this reason that the tale of this mother-daughter relationship is so incredibly realistic and moving. Since we witness the passage of time from these two very different viewpoints, we are afforded a unique perspective, one that makes it so heart-breaking as the reader, to know where both the mother and daughter are coming from, although they themselves do not understand it.
I do not want to spoil any of the book for anyone, but I must say one element of this story that shocked me, as its one you rarely come across in novels, is the fact that the hero at the beginning of the book becomes, over the course of the story, the villain, a character you almost hate and wish to do away with! I guess that only goes to show that Rivers does her job so well that you become emotionally invested in the characters. :)
I believe this is a nearly universal read, one that most people would enjoy, and yet it has the potential to be a life changing tale. As someone who has had a strained and painful relationship with her mother, I saw so much of myself and my life in this story, and I came away with some real insight and understanding of my own past and present. For this reason I thank Ms. Rivers for her dedicated work and recommend that all mothers and daughters pick up this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent novel by a talented author

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Inspired by Fiction
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francine Rivers is my favorite author. Her latest novel, Her Mother's Hope, was not a disappointment. I loved it, and I cannot wait until Her Daughter's Dream releases in September.
These books tell a beautiful generational family drama. Her Mother's Dream starts with Marta's story, whose difficult childhood sends her traveling to reach her dreams. Tragedy back home just pushes her harder, and eventually she ends up in Canada, where she starts her own family. The second half of the book is about Marta's firstborn daughter, Hildemara. She reminds Marta of her sister, and Marta determines to force some fire into her. Hildemara's dream is to become a nurse, and she pursues that dream, facing a couple of obstacles along the way.
The mother daughter relationships are the focus of this incredible story, spanning both World Wars. The historical details added depth to the story. The characters were well-developed and three-dimensional. I always understood their behavior and decisions, and I could see both sides to each situation. The family interactions were extremely believable and realistic. I came away re-examining my own relationship with my parents and how that influences what type of parent I am.
I loved this book and would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. If you haven't read it...you should. It is a wonderful novel that demonstrates the importance of communication within families. Honestly, I would recommend any book written by Francine Rivers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lemix
Location:Southern New Jersey
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an inspiring book for mothers and daughters of all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Reccomended

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Location:South Carolina
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In some ways, Her Mother's Hope was a very hard book to read; it often reminded me of Eve's Daughters by Lynn Austen. Marta had such a terrible childhood (mainly her father's dislike and cruelty to her, as well as her sister Elise's suicide) that it profoundly affected the choices she made later in life and had the potential to destroy all the relationships dearest to her. Marta made me terribly angry several times the way she treated her daughter Hildegard. At the same time, it was easy to see why she did what she did, even if I can't say I ever really liked her. Because Marta could see many of Elise's personality traits in Hildegard, she determined that her daughter would never end up like her sister. Since Marta blamed her own mother for "coddling" Elise, she did the exact opposite with Hildegard, instead often singling her out from her other siblings to "toughen" up. Hildegard was easier to like, although I got annoyed at her a few times, too. I found the ending realistic, but hopeful, and I'm going to be sure to read the next book, Her Daughter's Dream, so I can find out how everything turns out! Her Mother's Hope was an amazing, rather epic look at family relationships and how even experiences from our earliest childhood can color our decisions made as adults.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
beatccr
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting FOREVER for a new full length Francine Rivers novel. We've had several novellas that were really good but they just aren't the same as a thick novel from Rivers. Well the wait was worth it. First off this is an almost 500 page tome plus it's the first book in a series so there's going to be more to come.
Many of Francine's books deals with mother-daughter relationships and this book is no exception. In fact this book is about her own family's story, involving her mother and grandmother's tale. As a daughter, and especially the daughter of an immigrant, I could really relate to the story about a mother wanting her daughter to succeed in their new country. I really liked the historical aspects of the story. I felt swept up in the saga and couldn't stop turning pages. For the most part, the story flowed very well and I liked seeing the different viewpoints from Marta and then Hildie.
I did get annoyed with Marta throughout the book. I understand her background and why she acted the way she did. I know that she wanted the best for kids especially for Hildie. I get that she wanted her to be brave and strong and not be a pushover. However, I felt that the way she went about it was all wrong. Throughout the beginning of the book, I could not stand Marta's father and I really thought that Marta would have learned from that. But throughout most of the book, she would act that exact same way towards her daughter. To me it was like it started from the beginning as soon as she was born. It seemed as if Marta loved Hildie because she was her daughter, but she didn't like her. She just really got on my nerves at the way she treated her and the favoritism she would show to the other kids. The only time we get to see the true nature of Marta's actions is in her letters to Rosie and even then they are only little snippets and not very frequent. If she had just told Hildie this from the beginning it would have made everything a lot easier, but pride stood in the way and ruined what could have been a good mother-daughter relationship.
Overall, I still enjoyed the book. Even with my qualms, it's a really engrossing read and takes the reader from Europe to Canada to the US. The reader sees what it's like to be an immigrant family and the hard work that had to be done to see how a family survives. I was especially glad to see talk about the Japanese internment mentioned because as I've said before it's usually glossed over in Christian fiction. My mother is a big Francine Rivers fan as well and she read the book right before I did. She enjoyed it too despite a few problems but we both agreed how immigrants who come to this country have high hopes for their kids. I cannot wait for the next book and luckily we don't have to wait TOO long this time. I think Francine is a key figure in Christian fiction and this book definitely could make the crossover into general market literary fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Her Mother’s Hope
A 2011 Retailers Choice Award Winner!!
Francine Rivers has an amazing ability to craft a story where you feel emotionally connected to each character and where you hope that the story will never end. Her Mother’s Hope takes you through the childhood of Marta and her experiences of growing up in Switzerland and yearning for something more to do with her life, and eventually follows her to California where she has settled and raised a family. In fear for her daughter and the similarities she possesses with Marta’s own sister she pushes her daughter Hildemara Rose away not realizing the rift that grows between them.
Marta’s life had been filled with so much heartache and struggle that she believes that only the strong survive, and while Hildemara comes off as shy reserved girl, Marta tries to push her hoping she will not fail. In a turn of events Marta and Hildemara are forced back together when they find that they need one another and they must learn from each other and realize they may have misunderstood each other the whole time.
This was only my first experience with a Francine Rivers novel and I am amazed at the quality of the stories that she writes. I tend to avoid historical books however Rivers has created a story where her characters jump off the page and make you feel as if you have known them forever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheryl Prestemon
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and it was hard to put down--also very sad at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nise
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have yet to read a Francine River's novel that I didn't like and Her Mother's Hope is no exception. I devoured this chunkster in just a few hours and loved being imersed in Marta's family, becoming emotionally involved with family members that I loved and at times didn't like. Relationships between Mothers and Daughters has always been a favorite subject to read about as they can be so complex and involved and this journey is no exception. I am looking forward to book two, Her Daughter's Dream.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tough Love

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
GAmomJill
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes when life is hard you have to raise your children to stand up for themselves.
That is the main theme for "Her Mother's Hope". Yes, some parts of the book are depressing, but overall I found the spirit of a woman who would not let anyone tell her how she was going to live her life.
Yes, the ending leaves you hanging, but most books with sequels do that, otherwise the book would be awfully long.
Overall I enjoyed this book and I think you will too. Just be prepared to read the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It Has Pros and Cons

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The writing and story were quite engaging, but there were a few scenes/words I could have done without, and at times I became frustrated with the arguing and push for women working outside the home. But the arguing is supposed to make you think, and it did, or at least something in the story did. Sometimes our words or lack of words can cause a chasm between us and people we love, intentionally or not. The story doesn't end with this book, so I'll have to wait and see how it all turns out in the second book. Then again, I'm not sure I want to read the second book after looking at some reviews of it, as it seems to have more sexual events, and even this book had me skimming over little parts like that, though it's not mainly a romance. In general, I'd say this book is something I'd possibly recommend to select friends who were struggling with family relationships to make them think about the behind the scenes and consequences of actions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Mother's Hope - great novel

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
chartless
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all I LOVE Francine Rivers. I have read just about each book that she has written since becoming a Christian, and I really enjoyed each one. Most of her novels are very allegorical (I think that's the right word for it) where the story clearly shows a very spiritual issue and causes you to think deeply about that issue. This series departs from that way of writing and is more of a historical fiction, which she explains is based loosely on her family's history.
The story follows Marta, a young girl born in Switzerland. Marta was treated very poorly by her father and eventually leaves home at a young age in search of making a better life for herself. She misses her mother and sister greatly, but realizes that if she ever were to come home her father would make sure that she never left again. Marta has great ambition and her drive to own her own business of a hotel and restaurant lead her around Europe and eventually lands her in America. The story is really interesting and really leaves you hanging and wanting to read the conclusion in the next novel.
As I mentioned I love Rivers work and this is also a wonderfully told story. The series deals with personal conflict between family members as well as some tough issues like abuse and family members who no longer speak to each other. Many of Rivers other novels wrap up very nicely in the end, but this one takes a more "real-life" approach to story telling and hopefully I'm not spoiling it by saying that while I found the story filled with hope, things don't wrap up as neatly in the end for everyone.
Overall, I'd greatly recommend this series to anyone that enjoys Rivers previous works or is just in the mood for a good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Her Mother's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Storytelling

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlogfulOfBooks
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Francine Rivers's writing style, and I love the way she interweaves the stories of the four main characters. There is just so much ... I'm not sure how to word it ... so much life told in these books. From war to death to child abuse to independence to love to ... the list could go on and on. Rivers is a wonderful storyteller, and I truly enjoyed reading this saga.
The only negative for me is that Rivers includes a very well described sex scene in Her Daughter's Dream (the second part), and I just can't understand that in a "Christian" novel. The scene does have importance to the rest of the book, and is thankfully only half a page in length (easy to skip over), but I don't know why she couldn't have just implied it and not written it out.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.