Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook

Tyndale House Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Review 1 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unrealistic

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Forgiveness is not the issue for any sin. Gayle's decision to forgive is commendable and biblical. However, her decision to stay in this marriage, based on reasons she gave is wrong. Furthermore, her "testimonial" sends the wrong message to other women regarding God's design of marriage. Not at all what I was expecting and incredibly disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally... the Haggards story

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
freetobeme
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For several years, there were many who attended New Life Church that wondered what really happened with Ted and Gayle and why the sudden departure. No matter the implications, what the overseers told us, or the media splashed... it just didn't make since if you really knew the Haggards. This book finally clears up so many questions. Read and grow in God :-)
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy
I felt she taught me along with millions who have read her book about forgiveness. Not how man forgiveness; How God's forgives and loves us. Tell me who has not sinned? For that person that hasn't sinned, then throw that first rock? Not at someone else, but at yourself, for we ALL have sinned. It's only by the grace of God that we will be saved IF we accepted Jesus into our lives. Mock all you want, but when you have that last breath do not call on Him to save you, if you can not see yourself as a sinner & needing to ask for forgiveness first and repent! If you can't, then you will know God's emptiness in Hell! Ted & Gayle may God continue to show the both of you how much He loves you and how much others have opened their hearts & eyes by your truth!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rose Hunking
This is a very honest book!! I am still reading it and as I read, I am thinking of all the people that I want to read this book!! As Drs. Les & Leslie Parrott write inside the front of the book, "You'll be hard-pressed to find a more vulnerable account of a marriage that's faced a dark night of the soul than this one. Gayle Haggard's courageous `risk of love` reveals a healing path that few would have ever predicted. Her authenticity is disarming. Her faith is inspiring. And her story will take you deeper into God's healing grace. You won't be able to put this book down." How true!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Lang
This book is one of the BEST I have found on FORGIVENESS. After all, Gayle went thru w/ her husband & with the LORD's guidance/help, she was still able to forgive him. If she can forgive hm after all they went thru--Together--anyone can follow her steps w/ the LORD to forgive another. Anyone struggling w/ forgiveness should, definitely, read this book!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
C Cole
Ouch! I so felt wierd about this book. Okay, we're to forgive - yes, got that. But Gayle is a doormat and so off. Sorry, if that stings, but really, is like accountability gone forever?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Typical whitewash applied to modern day adultery in order to save face. Huckabee's interview with Gayle was even sadder. Accountability is needed. Grace is from God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jane Fitzgerald
This book at times made me cringe. It's funny that the bible states that all homosexuals are not accepted by the church , however when a very famous pastor has a homosexual liasion is easily forgiven,has Ted changed his ways? OR has he repressed his sexual tendencies becuase of religion and fear. He at times still has these homosexual thoughts but seems to be able to pray them away. That didn't work for me and it makes me angry and outraged that now that a pastor has committed the sin all can be forgiven. Maybe the bible was written too many years ago and perhaps homosexualtiy for some is a healthy happy lifestyle. How about accepting that???
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Why I Stayed: The Choices I Made in My Darkest Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverly Taylor
This book outline the beauty and strength of choice. It left me DECIDING to love my husband in a much stronger way instead of relying on what the day was like. Thank you for being so transparent in your writing. I'm a better wife because of it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.