Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B. B. Kirkbride KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed

B. B. Kirkbride KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed

For years the unique Thompson Chain-Reference system has been a favorite study tool, and for good reason. Easy to learn and use, the Thompson Chain-Reference system contains over 100,000 topical references in over 8,000 chain topics, helping to make in-depth topical study and lesson preparation easier and more efficient. The Thompson Chain is also known for its excellent archaeological supplement and extensive collection of charts, diagrams, and other illustrations. Other features include a revised concordance, 16 pages of full-color maps, words of Christ in red, and Smythe Sewn reinforced tubular construction, which lies flat and provides a durable binding that will hold up to heavy use for years.

Features:

  • Thompson Chain-Reference System---over 100,000 marginal references covering 8,000 completed chain topics
  • Thompson instant-use guide included
  • KJV concordance
  • Numerical index of chain topics
  • Alphabetical index
  • Outline studies of the Bible
  • Bible character studies
  • Bible harmonies and illustrated studies
  • Hebrew calendar
  • Index to the Scriptures atlas
  • 9 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Wide margins
  • References in margins
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Subject headings
  • Concordance
  • Full-color maps
  • Archaeological supplement
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • Smythe Sewn
  • Black genuine leather
  • Capri grain
  • 10.5" X 7.5" X 1.75"
  • Thumb index

Average Customer Rating:
4.681 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
39 out of 4587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
NEW TO STUDY
Age:45-54
I too purchased this Bible for the large print and found that the print isn't as large as I thought it would be (not much larger than my other Bible) also the size is quite large and heavy. Hard to find a nice Bible cover for as well. Other than that I like the Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DeaconP
Location:Florence S.C.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave a couple bibles as gifts and the response was great but I liked the Thompson Chain study Bible personally
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was exactly what I wanted.

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
rose
Location:MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift and the person receiving it was well pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The scripture reference system is fabulous.

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:madison , ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very disappointed that the red words of jesus: Some were dark, red and bold. But others were very faded and hard on the eyes . I would have returned the bible, but it was imprinted with my name.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought this for a family member

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have now bought this bible for my husband and for my uncle and they both just love it. Great reference tool :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lot's of extra study helps

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wenceslaus
Location:Alberta,Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bible has a lot of extra study aids, references thro-out, and background information, great bible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

extremely helpful

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
sgillingham
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy my new Bible and find it to be extremely helpful with its thumb indexes and references. The large print is just the right size and the book itself, is of amazing quality. I would highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful, non biased study Bible.

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Wishram, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this KJV Thompson chain Bible. This large print Bible is Large, and heavy, and is full of food for the soul, and knowledge for the heart. I highly recommend this beautiful copy of GODS WORD. I pray that the LORD bless you with a deep understanding of His Word as you read it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is excellent.

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wifey
Location:Adrian, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is an example of high quality printing, and binding. The many helps are very helpful. It is extremely good for study.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
j robinson
Location:Grover, N.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed reading this Bible. Easy to read and find referances. Great value and prompt shipping.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good source of information

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stef
Location:San Clemente, CA
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For now this is my primary bible. I have been using it for a number of months and find the chain reference excellent reference material (more factual than opinion) but I would prefer that the margin also included more scripture references.
Many of the chain references are simply scripture references which it would be 'nice' to know before going to the chain reference section (frequently I don't want to take the time to look up the references but have to look up the chain reference to discover that I will have to now go look up and make notes to compare & discern the references).
The quality of manufacture is excellent. The typeface is not a great choice but at least I have the large print edition.
Probably no one bible will be my perfect study bible but this one comes pretty close.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best bible to use for study

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
lguse
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this bible for my personal studies over the years and In my opinion it's the best bible for topic studies. It's the only bible I give as a gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Reference Bible!

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bb993
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best Bible I've had. The chain references are great for studying, and allow you to find anything quickly. The many charts and other information are excellent resources for in depth research. I recommend this Bible to any teacher, pastor or scholar!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is perfect

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bamafever08
Location:cullman al
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone that want to know the BIBLE needs to get this one, it has everything you need easy to read good and study, i have a few bible that i study from this one is the best one of all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Leather KJV Study Bible!

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Jackson, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Genuine Leather Burgundy (Levant Grain) Thumb Indexed Thompson Chain Reference Bible is a larger Bible, and is pretty heavy. Its dimensions are 7x9.5x1.5 which make it similar in size to the ESV Study Bible (which hopefully will help you get an idea of the size of this Bible).
The leather is a beauty to behold. It is on the stiff side when brand new, but breaks in nice and soft. The leather lightens up a little with use. The grain is very attractive and looks high quality. Even the gold stamping on the spine and pages are high quality and attractive.
As far as I know, the Thompson's are still printed and bound in the USA. The layout is very easy to get the hang of, and lets Scripture interpret Scripture-- there are no biased doctrinal notes from others, merely references "chained" together by subject.
The text is on the smaller side, but is crisp and the print is dark. The red lettering is very consistent which is hard to find these days. The only complain I have with the print is that in the 3 of these that I have owned, the red print has been a little uneven with the rest of the text block. That may not matter to some.
This Bible has no presentation pages or family records pages, but does have a few extra blank pages at the front and back of the Bible.
The thumb indexes are black in the Old Testament and gold in the New Testament, which makes finding books easier in my opinion. They are cut out nicely and are placed on evenly unlike other Bibles that are thumb indexed.
The binding is a very nice and sturdy Smyth-sewn binding, and the bible really does lie flat down right out of the box from Genesis to Revelation.
The ribbon marker is very soft and thick, and doesn't fray as quickly after use like some others do (and won't fray at all if you take a lighter and burn the end of the ribbon to toughen it up).
The concordance and maps are superb. The archaeological helps in the back give you many interesting information at your fingertips that otherwise would required purchasing a lot of books to find. The back features other many priceless features and information that is key to diving in deeper to God's Word and better understanding it.
BUY THIS BIBLE! And buy it from Christianbook, the cheapest prices and best customer service on the planet.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Ultimate Bible

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
prayers4u
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is the most educationally complete Bible I have ever owned, it even surpasses an old one that use to be my dads of which I thought I would never find one so complete. I bought this one unseen online to replace the one my dad gave me before he passed away. I prayed it would be just as complete and it has truly surpassed every expectation.
First, I noticed the elegant leather cover and binding which feels good to the hand. This Bible is not small because it has large easy to read print and it has such an extensive reference library between its covers. It starts off with a wonderful mapping of the 400 silent years of the Bible in the very front. The thumb indexing is highly useful for going directly to scripture. In this Bible one can easily reference similar and supporting Bible verses using the chain index that lies on either side of each Bible chapter, which perfects the harmony that exist in the entire Bible. Speaking of "Harmony of the Gospels" there is a complete reference for that in the back on pages 1679- 1682.
This Bible also has a wonderful complete archaeological supplement in the back supported with black and white pictures. It also has a complete Illustrated studies of the Gospels along with Trees and maps of for example: A map of "Paul's Second Missionary Journey" and a "Tree of Paul's Life"along with an explanation of the Tree of Paul's Life. It has a break down of the Seven Churches of Asia along with maps and scenes in the life and ministry of Peter. It has maps of the Footprints of Jesus in His Last Months and during his popularity. It has a Bible concordance in the back as well.
This Bible has a complete linking of the prophecies concerning Jesus in the old testament and their fulfillment in the new testament. It has several portraits of Christ with a wheel outline using Isaiah that is matched with archival paintings in black and white.
This Bible has it all! It has complete Character Studies of the prominent figures of the Bible, outlines and analyses of the books of the bible, A complete index and Condensed Cyclopedia of Topics and Texts, Comprehensive Bible Helps, Principles of Bible Study and Best Methods of Study and a complete atlas of maps in full color along with an index of atlas study to go along with the maps.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality, Quality, Quality

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Location:Clinton, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is indeed a beauty to behold. The genuine leather is nice and flexible; however, it is not limp like calfskin, but you can tell that it will break in nicely over time.
The paper is some of the nicest paper I have seen in a Bible it is thin, strong, white and opaque. Even the gold on the end of the pages is very high quality. You can tell it was not sprayed on, but instead pressed on with gold foil.
The pages are smyth sewn, so the Bible opens flat from Gen. to Rev.
Even the thumb indexing is second to none!
Quality Edition!
Be Encouraged:-)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Study Bible

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Egbert Hasbrouck
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a graduation gift for one of my grandsons.We have several Thompson Chain Reference Bibles in our home.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great KJV Bible.

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frank
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Thompson's chain reference bible for several years. I Am replacing one with this new one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Large Print, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this bible is of good quality

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
maddog
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only thing that is on my plate, to understand the translation, the different way of speaking in comparison to New International Version...the study aspects are wonderful, alot more work involved...which I am up for the task...My armor needs to be bullet proof and I need to learn how through the word to take an armor piercing bullet as well...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.