Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House As Sure As the Dawn - eBook

Tyndale House As Sure As the Dawn - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Review 1 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touched my heart and soul

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
petunia
Location:Hanover, Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a wonderful read. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this was one of my favorites in the series, not because it was the most fast paced or exciting, but because of the characters! I LOVE Rizpah, Atretes and Theophilus! Their courage and burning desire to share the gospel is inspiring!
Rizpah is a true woman of faith, and her love for Atretes is beautiful! He's such a stubborn fool, and yet I love everything about him! He's so bitter and angry in the beginning, yet Rizpah never backs down from showing him Christ's courageous love. His stumbling walk with the Lord becomes that much more triumphant, because of all his weakness.
This book is SO worth reading! And although a few parts tend to get a little slow, it's still a fantastic book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
aneta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book made me want more from God and expect more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Part 3 of an incredible series!!

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy Hanck
Location:Tampa Bay, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was the 3rd & final one in a fantastic series by an anointed author. This book makes you feel you are living in the times of the early church; danger around every corner yet the faithfulness of the Lord is shone to those who put their trust in Him. A must read series!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darci
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have not enjoyed this book nearly as much as the first two. In fact, it was boring for me, hard to get through. But I do have to say that I do not think it is unrealistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Regina Wells
I almost did not read the last book of the Mark of the Lion series based on some reviews I read here. I was prepared to be disappointed. However, that is not the case. I read this book through at a faster pace than the other two books in the series. I loved watching Atretes transformation. His inner battle is something every Christian face and sometimes it takes tragedy to bring about somes transformation. I did not find the story to be unrealistic at all. Although most people may not be extreme in worshipping other gods, they are still subject to the influence to the god of this world and tempted to be drawn back into unrighteousness. Those that did not give a 5 star rating should read the book again with different eyes. Atretes is everyday people coming out of darkness into the marvelous light. Excellent series to learn spiritual truths.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Amazing love and grace abinds in this third book of the series. All three books a must have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anna
I loved the other two books in this series, but this one was a let down. It was so unrealistic. The writing didn't flow as well and some of the parts just seemed like filler. I wish I would have stopped after the first two!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alicia
I just finished this series, it was amazing. I know at times the story gets a little unrealistic, but my goodness. If I wanted something realistic, i wouldn't read fiction. Miracles do happen. and I prefer a happy satisfying ending, then everybody dyeing.Anyway, I loved all three books, the first two were my favorites, but the third one really does complete the whole thing.I highly recommend this series. It's an interesting look through Christian eyes in a different time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carla Sue Cox
I have read all three books in this series.It has been very enjoyable to read and tolearn more about the life during that time.The author has done a wonderful job withall the details. I have recommended thisto several friends. Really loved this seriesby Rivers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ariel
Great book, part of a most amazing series. I totally loved Rizpah and Caleb. Atretes is a great character too but I have to admit, he can be very frustrating! But I loved this whole novel and couldn't put it down. I remember being dissatisfied with the ending and that combined with my irritation of Atretes' attitude, particularly towards the last chapter, turns my 5-star rating down half a notch. But everything else in that story totally makes up for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janeen Tata
The whole series is absolutely amazing. Francine Rivers is an amazing author, who captures the imagination, and draws one into the era she so beautifully brings to life. I could not put the book down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
joey
eh... too drawn out, too different and, to me, unrealistic. The first two books are amazing, just wonderful. Some of my favorite books, but this was just strange. After Rizpah being resurrected once, and then again at the end, with Jesus appearing that time, it was just not how it should've been. Atretes was a brat the whole time, I just wanted to slap him in the face. It was slow, with nothing being resolved. I didn't know why the author wrote this book, Atretes story could've been summed up shorter. It was boring to me, I almost didn't finish it. It just wasn't well done. The one thing I did like about it was that one character actually did die, for the sake of God, and wasn't brought back to life. But other than that, I thought that it was a waste of time reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2007
Very, very different from the first two books, but in my opinion this was just as good. I missed reading about Hadassah and Marcus, but their stories were very much concluded in #2, whereas Atretes' story left off in the dark. I LOVED Rizpah. As much as I liked and admired Hadassah, I felt Rizpah was a much more realistic character... Hadassah was almost TOO perfect, while Rizpah had plenty of human faults as well as strengths. The storyline at points did get unrealistic (VERY), but I liked it - it was much more unusual and different than the first two. Each individual book in the trilogy was GREAT, and I totally recommend "The Mark of the Lion" trilogy to any historically-tuned reader. They are AWESOME!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2005
The third book in The Mark of the Lion series is good, but not nearly as captivating as the first two. Julia, Marcus, and Hadassah arent in it. Instead, it follows the journey of the enslaved gladiator from the Germanic Tribes. This book illustrates the trials and hardships endured by new Christians. Its a well-written book with excellent themes like not being prideful and trusting in God. There are a few parts in the book that seem a little far-fetched, but the story is still good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2004
Customer Avatar
Benjamin M. Pluym
Though I enjoyed the first two books of this series very much, I cannot say that this book is as well written as the other ones are. Rizpah's struggles are presented very well, but the overall quality of the book combined with the way Francine gives me the impression of having to have finished the book rather quickly, disappoints me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2004
Customer Avatar
Dency
This book was so completely awesome! And I am not just saying that. I could not put it down. I felt like I was there in the story along with the characters. Francine Rivers has a special talent, because the writing is unbelievably good. This book has everything; drama, adventure, and romance. It's a must read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sara
Like the first two in the series, this book was amazing! I found myself identifying with the characters' struggles, especially Rizpah's, as if they were my own. A very encouraging book and impossible to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for As Sure As the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2001
Customer Avatar
Wendy
The final part of THE MARK OF THE LION trilogy. This book follows the events in the life of Atretes, who was first introduced in VOICE IN THE WIND. The gutsy determination of Rizpah, along with the struggles she faces combine to make this a compelling story. The author takes us on a journey into a completely different culture and it is easy to become completely engrossed in the fascinating historical side to the story. You have to admire this lady for the hours of research she must have had to do to produce such a brilliant novel. A wonderful conclusion to a brilliant series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.