Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1

Abingdon Press A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1

When Jennie is injured in a car bomb attack overseas, she awakens beneath one of her grandmother's Amish quilts---and discovers something even more comforting: an invitation to recuperate back home in Lancaster County. Pennsylvania life proves healing in many ways---until she unexpectedly falls in love! After traveling the world, could she ever settle here? 320 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Review 1 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, love, love good free books!

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
22annie
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love getting free books from CBD. You don't have to worry about the content. Like this book. Like reading after this author. Thanks CBD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful faith based story

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeBlessed
Location:South
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the characters and writing style. I only wish the story had been longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara
Location:Victor, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice love story. Easy to read. I really enjoy any book relating to the Amish. Looking forward to reading Book #2. I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A gentle story of love conquering two worlds

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an interesting variation of the Amish genre which has become so popular in recent years. An international female reporter who has traveled the world as the main character was an intriguing twist.
The characters were true to life and their roles were richly woven into the fiber of this story of love between two lonely people from two vastly different worlds.
My only nagging doubt was that only one person objected to the relationship between the main characters. From the reading that I have done on this culture, there would not have been such quickness to accept and "redeem" this English woman.
Otherwise, it was a good read that warmed my heart with the goodness and gentle ways of the Amish culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
patticakes
Location:n.j.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely a "feel good" book. Heart warming. Can't wait to read the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not my cup of tea

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Obviously, I am the odd one out. I have to say right off I am not a big fan of amish books. Honestly how many love stories can you come up with when you are limited to such a narrow way of life. I do respect the amish people but why if you are a christian and happen to fall in love with an amish person do you have to live their way so strictly or you are frowned upon. Apoarently a lot of readers think it is romantic to call your children kinner, not be able to have pictures of remembrace of your times together and be marriedin a plain dress you know you are going to be buried in. I do not think of love, I think it is morbid. Also the story was very predictable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Insteresting Love Story!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, I'm a quilter and a huge fan of Amish fiction. So it stands to reason that this book appealed to me. I thought the love story between Jenny and Matthew was so sweet. This was the first time I'd read a Barbara Cameron solo work and I was not disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read! Don't Miss This One!!

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenny is a war correspondent who has been injured when a car bomb blew up near where she was standing. She goes to stay with her Amish Grandmother while she recuperates. Next door to her Grandmother's house lives Matthew a widower with three children. Jenny and Matthew became close in the past as teenagers when Jenny would visit her Grandmother in the summer time. Matthew's three children become quite smitten with Jenny and the feeling is mutual. Josiah a church elder isn't pleased that Jenny is around. He is afraid that she will bring the Englisch world into their Plain world. As the story line unfolds Jenny finds that she is in need of another surgery. Jenny has feelings for Matthew. She believes she can never have children because of the severe injuries that she suffered. How could Matthew love a woman so broken?
I found this book to be not only a good read but a fast one too. Once I started the book I couldn't put it down. Barbara Cameron is an excellent story teller that keeps you coming back for more. I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series, A Time to Heal. I highly recommend this series to all fiction Amish lovers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has a great story line.

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book caught me from the first page on. I read it in two days and it is making its way around my reading group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Barbara Cameron's A Time to Love

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: A Time to Love - Quilts of Lancaster County #1 - Barbara Cameron- October 2010
Isn' t it slightly odd , I seem to have a knack for reading series out of order and back to front as I have previously read and reviewed Book #2 of Quilts of Lancaster County - A Time to Heal on my blog and today readers, I have A Time to Love - Book #1.
In A Time to Love we are presented with war correspondent Jenny King , whom injured in the war has come back to stay with her grandmother in her Amish Community. For Jenny, this is a big step for her as she left along with her father , the Amish community when she was sixteen years old. However , in Jenny's time in the community she is about to get a blast from the past as she meets back up with Matthew , a father and a widow as his wife passed away and left him to raise his daughters. As the novel gets on, we see Matthew and Jenny's feelings for each other intensify and re-ignite what they had in the past , however Can Matthew get pass the scars on Jenny both physical and emotional and can he love her now that she is an Englischer and is Jenny ready to accept becoming a mother and having an instant family and is she ready to ease the Amish way of life back into her values and behaviours ?
Has too much time passed for Matthew and Jenny to be together or with God's help , can these two find their way back into each other's hearts ?
Find out in Barbara Cameron's A Time to Love , just what God ordered.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoy Amish Fiction

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan Gers
Location:Valrico, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am eagerly waiting for the next book in the series,
Quilts of Lancaster County. Since I lived in Pa. about 60
miles from Lancaster County, I appreciate the authencity
of the book. The author has depicted Amish life in
reality & the characters are artfully woven together in
this story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Time of Love and Healing

Date:November 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“A Time To Love “ is an awesome story that was very hard for me to put down. A story of faith, hope , love, and a second chance.
Jennie King although of the Amish faith has been raised in the English world. As a war correspondent she is severely injured when a car bomb explodes right in front of her. When she was returned to the states and woke up in the hospital after her surgery she finds herself covered with a quilt… Her grandmothers Amish quilt.
Returning to Lancaster County to heal at her grandmothers, she finds peace and Matthew, whom as a teenager had a crush on. As she continues with her therapy she is also healing another way. She is now realizing how peaceful and calm it is in the Amish community compared to the hustle and bustle of New York. As the attraction grows once again between Matthew and Jennie, she is also becoming attached to his three children as they are to her. When Matthew lost his first wife, Jennie also worries that she is not for him.. Could her injuries eventually take her life and leave Matthew a widower again and the children without another mother. Will she be accepted into the community and be baptized into the church.. Can she give up her job, friends and everything she had before she was hurt.. can she bridge the difference between the two worlds.
I have read several Amish books, but I have to say this one rates of one of the best. Ms. Cameron has a way of writing that keeps the reader interested from the very beginning and makes one feel as if they are right there amidst the characters. Its full of emotion and tender romance with a serious side to it. Excellent book and I will wait patiently for the second book in the series.
I would like to thank Abingdon Press and Net Galley for providing this free ARC for my reading pleasure. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own thoughts on the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could Not Put This Book Down

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pammy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great love story. Jenny meets Matthew when she is a teenager, but goes off to college and makes a life for herself as a jounalist, but when she is injured in a bombing while covering a story she just wants to go home to heal at her grandmother's house in the amish community. When Matthew and Jenny see each other these old feeling come back for both of them. Jenny goes through a lot, but by faith she finds peace, strength and love again. Great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AN AMAZING STORY OF LOVE,HOPE, HEALING AND SECOND

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A TIME TO LOVE by Barbara Cameron is an inspirational romance set in modern day Lancaster County, PA. It is the first in the Quilts of Lancaster County Series. It is well written with details and depth. It is a tender love story full of love, promise, hope, healing, faith,Amish, and second chances. It is the story of a journalist,Jenny, who is injured,from a bomb blast, while reporting on the conditions, and stories of children in war torn countries. Her father was Amish, but choose to live in the English world. She spent a few summers with her Amish grandmother. During her time with her grandmother she meets, Matthew, and quickly becomes friends. Then her father takes her back to the English world, where she goes to college and becomes a journalist. Matthew, her Amish friend, thought there was more between them,marries a year after Jenny leaves without any word from her. His wife dies of cancer. Leaving him with three little children. Jenny returns to Lancaster County, to her grandmother's house to recover from her injuries. Her and Matthew quickly falls back in love and decide to marry. Although, I enjoyed this story, I would have liked to seen a more of the ending for the young couple, as they start their life together. I would recommend this book especially if you enjoy Amish, a sweet tender love story, and the healing that can take place after tragic events in someone's life.This story is full of God's promises and faith. This book was received for review from Net Galley and details can be found at Abingdon Press and My Book Addiction and More.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Savage
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book. The author made what you read make you feel you were right there in the Amish Country. Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A deep story, touching on emotionally difficult topics, (the effects of war on people, disability, loss of self-esteem) yet skillfully done. It isn't an easy read, but I raced back to it whenever I had a few minutes. It brought me to tears and laughter. It isn't your typical fluffy Amish story, but much more serious then a lot of the Amish fiction available. I really enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
davmar4850
Location:Westfield, Massachusetts
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read every book I can get my hands on about the Amish way of life. This book was wonderfully written and kept me turning the pages. I have already pre-ordered the 2nd book in the series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fantastic Amish Novel from start to finish!

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is definitely a page turner!! Jenny, the main character is a war correspondent, who is injured in her line of duty- working with children in a war zone. She is fortunate enough to be about to go to her Amish grandmother's home to recuperate- a temporary time- she thinks!! Little does she realize, Jenny meets a man who she had a crush on as a teenager and has the challenge of bridging the life she has led as an Englisher to an Amish man and life. She also has her injuries to deal with and the recovery does not happen as easily as she had hoped.
I would highly recommend this book to readers of Amish ficition as well as those who like a good mystery. I did NOT want this book to end!!Will Jenny return to her job, or will she stay, settle and marry in the Amish community which she had left behind years before???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Redcurt
This book is a page turner. The storyline is wonderful but comes from a different perspective than I've ever read. BUT not to worry all Amish fiction readers, as I am one, too, this book stays true to the genre. The characters are many dimensional and REAL. You feel their pain, happiness and love. I didn't want it to end. It is excellently written and I highly recommend it. I can't wait for book two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Time to Love, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lois Klobucher
Barbara has really out done herself, this book is FANTASTIC, I did no want it to end, it really made you feel like you were right there with the characters, if I could give this book 10 stars I would, it is a must read, I can hardly wait for book 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>